Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Sound and Moving Images Reading Room


Sound and Moving Images Reading Room

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 102

Our Mandate and Holdings

The Sound and Moving Images (SMI) Portfolio identifies, acquires, preserves and makes available audio, video, and motion picture film recordings that convey the history of Ontario. Holdings are acquired from both government and private sources. Examples of government productions include video broadcasts of debates and hearings of the Legislative Assembly, promotional films, public service announcements, and recordings of royal commissions. Examples of recordings from private sources include home movies, oral history interviews, and corporate productions, including collections from creators of mass media.

Using the SMI Reading Room

Location: 2nd Floor, 77 Grenville Street, Toronto, ON, M5S 1B3

Hours of operation: Use of facilities and equipment in the Sound and Moving Images Reading Room is by appointment only. Hours of operation are 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday, closed for statutory holidays.

Procedures for using the Reading Room:

  • Call the reference archivist at 416-327-1551 to make an appointment. The toll-free number within Ontario is 1-800-668-9933. We would appreciate notification if you must cancel an appointment.
  • All new researchers must register at the Registration Desk at the entrance to the Archives' Main Reading Room.
  • On arrival, sign the Main Reading Room Log at the Registration Desk and the SMI Researcher Log.
  • Coats and bags must be left in the Main Reading Room Registration area; lockers are available there.
  • You will be given basic instructions for operation of audio and video equipment. Archivists operate all film equipment.

Accessing the Records

Finding Aids: The Archives Descriptive Database (ADD) provides descriptions of our holdings, and, for SMI material, searches may be limited to sound recordings or moving images. Descriptions are available at the item level (choose the “Files and Items” option) and at the series, fonds or collection level (choose the “Archival Descriptions” option). The ADD can be accessed off-site or on the public computer terminal monitors in the Main Reading Room. Until the ADD is completely populated with all of our holdings, paper inventories are another tool for accessing the records you seek. Inventories are available in both the Main Reading Room and the Sound and Moving Images Reading Room.

Legal Restrictions: Access to some records may be restricted because the Archives must comply with provincial and federal legislation; however, most legal restrictions are time limited. For terms regarding specific records, see access and copyright terms in the finding aid descriptions or talk to the Sound and Moving Images reference archivist for details. Access to some government records is restricted under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. Access is restricted to some private records by third parties, i.e. donor restrictions.

Restrictions on Reproduction: The Archives must abide by Copyright laws, as follows. Please consult Customer Service Guide 105: Reproduction Services and Fees and Customer Service Guide 108: Copyright and Your Research for details.

  • Researchers may order copies for personal research or study.
  • The Sound and Moving Images Reading Room can produce copies for researchers in a limited number of formats only. If other formats are required, SMI staff may be able to arrange for a copy to be produced at an off-site lab. Please speak to the SMI reference archivist for details.
  • Before obtaining copies for inclusion in new productions, researchers must comply with copyright requirements.

Restrictions Due to Preservation: Access is also occasionally restricted for preservation purposes.

  • We provide public access to reference copies of original material.
  • Where reference copies of original audio and video recordings have not already been made, the Archives will require extra time to prepare these reference copies. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee that reference copies can be made in every circumstance.