Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > How to Order Reproductions


How to Order Reproductions

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 106

This guide outlines the procedures for requesting reproductions of archival and/or library materials. To request reproductions of sound and moving image material, please consult the Sound and Moving Images Reference Archivist. See the section "Flagging Special Collections Material" below for instructions pertaining to special collections material.

Flagging Material for Copying: "GREEN for GO, PINK for STOP"

Placing coloured flags around the material to be copied is the best way to let the reprographic technician know exactly what you wish to have copied while also preserving the original order of the records. It is your responsibility to indicate clearly what is to be copied.

Identify the material to be copied by placing a green flag where you wish the copying to begin, and a pink flag where you wish the copying to end. Please do not use post-it notes to flag documents.

If you have more than one item to copy per box, don't worry; flagging can occur many times within a box, volume, file, or publication

  • Example: You wish to have pages 5-6 of a book copied. Put a green flag before page 5 and a pink one after page 6. Writing clearly, indicate on the top of the green flag, "pp.5-6 only".
  • Example: You wish to have certain files within a box copied. Put a green flag where you want the copying to begin and a pink flag where you want copying to end. Do the same for papers within a file.

Always place the flags vertically within a file, so they can be easily seen by the person who will be filling your order.

Like this: Image of correct position of filing flag Not like this: Image of incorrect position of filing flag

Put the files/envelopes back in the proper order in their containers. Fill out a Request for Reproduction Services form (available in the Reading Rooms) and submit it with the records. See below for assistance in filling out and submitting this form.

Flagging Special Collections material

This includes all materials accessed through the Special Collections Reading Room.

Fold a flag (either green or pink) over the item in the container. Should you request a reproduction of more than one item in the same folder or envelope, please flag each item individually.

Filling Out a “Request for Reproduction Services” Order Form

Complete a separate form for each type of reproduction (i.e., one for photocopies, one for whiteprints, one for photographic reproductions).

  1. Fill out your name, address, contact telephone number, etc. at the top of the form.
  2. Indicate what type of reproduction you require: photocopies, photographic processes, etc.
  3. Complete the "Reference Code" and “Description” columns, using the following information (the same information you used to order the material):
    • Reference Code:  which may consist of an RG, F or C number, an A, B or C number for maps, or an S,L, or ST number for photographs, plus a box and/or file or item number.
    • Description: The files or documents/items titles.  The documents must be identified at least to the file level.
  4. Mark 1 in the "Quantity" column (we can provide only one copy of each document).

    Example:

    Reference Code Description Quantity
    F 1217, MU 4055 Presidents correspondence, 1955 1
    RG 1-42-1, Box 7 Department of Highways Signs Committee 1
    RG 22-5802 D 99999/99. York County divorce file 1
    A 66 Map of Smith Township, 1866 1
  5. Specify in the shaded area on the top right the delivery type you prefer: pickup, mail, etc.
  6. Explain any special instructions in the shaded box on the left bottom side. If certification is required, check off the appropriate box in the same area.
  7. Read the Terms and Conditions on the back, sign the form at the bottom, and provide your registration number and the date.
  8. Submit your completed order form, with the records, to a Reference Archivist (or to a technician for the twice daily Reading Room photocopy service). He or she will ensure that the records are flagged and your form is filled out correctly and that the records can be reproduced. You will be given the yellow copy for your records.

In the evening or on Saturdays, leave the form on one of the reference desks and ask the security guard to store the records. A Reference Archivist will process your request the following working day.

Please see our Customer Service Guide 105: Reproduction Services and Fees for current fees for services.

If you have any questions about these procedures, please
send an enquiry to reference@ontario.ca