Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > What Records We Have . . . What Records We Don't Have


What Records We Have…
What Records We Don't Have

Research Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 201

This document provides an overview of our collections and how to get more information about them. It also includes a list of some of the most commonly requested records in our custody, as well as those that are accessible at other government offices.

Ontario Government Records

  • Most of the records held by the Archives were created by the government of Ontario and its predecessors. They date from the 1700s to the present era.
  • These records provide:
    • documentation on political and legal decisions
    • an account of the evolution of provincial administration
    • a record of the interaction between the government and its citizens
    • key evidence of the rights and responsibilities of Ontarians.
  • Most of these records are accessed through the Archives' Main Reading Room.

Private Sector Records

  • The Archives holds the records of over 2600 private individuals, businesses, clubs and associations, labour and political organizations.
  • Most of these records are accessed through the Archives' Main Reading Room.

Special Collections
(Photographs, Documentary Art, Architectural Drawings, and Maps)

  • The Archives holds photographs, documentary art, and architectural and cartographic records that have been created and collected by both private individuals and the Government of Ontario documenting the people, places and events in the province from as early as the 1600s to the present era.

Sound and Moving Images

  • The Archives holds audio and video recordings and motion picture film material created and collected by both private individuals and the Government of Ontario, dating from the 1920s to the present era.


Archives of Ontario Library

  • The Archives of Ontario Library is a non-circulating research and reference collection of approximately 70,000 items, relating primarily to the history of Ontario.
  • Library items are accessed through the Archives' Main Reading Room.


How To Get More Information About These Records

You can get more information about these records from the following sources:

  • The Archives' website at www.archives.gov.on.ca. The website contains up to date information about our collections and services, and includes the following databases:
    • Archives Descriptive Database (ADD): descriptions of Ontario Government Records, Private Sector Records, Special Collections, and Sound and Moving Images.
    • BIBLiON: our library catalogue.
    • Visual Database: includes images of selected items from our Special Collections (photographs, documentary art, maps and architectural records).
  • Paper Finding Aids, Inventories, and Card Catalogues in our Reading Rooms.
  • Archives Staff, who can be contacted by phone, fax, mail, e-mail, or in person (see contact information).

Type of Record Available
at the
Archives of Ontario
Available Only
at Other
Government Offices
Vital
Statistics

The Archives holds indexes and registrations of:

  • Births, 1869-1911
  • Marriages, 1801-1926 (predominantly 1869-1926)
  • Deaths, 1869-1936

Note: Births, 1911; Marriages, 1926; and Deaths, 1936 are closed until they are available on microfilm later in 2008.

The Office of the Registrar General holds indexes and registrations of:

  • Births, 1912-present
  • Deaths, 1937-present
  • Marriages, 1927-present
For further details and contact information for the Office of the Registrar General, see:
Research Guide 202: Ontario Vital Statistics Bulletin
 
Divorce
Files

The Archives holds:

  • Divorce Files for all of Ontario, 1931-1978.
  • In addition: microfilm copies of Decrees
  • Absolute and Nisi from York County (including Toronto), 1959-1978.

The local Courthouses of the Superior Court of Justice hold:

  • Divorce Files, 1979-present.

The Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel holds:

  • Resolutions or Acts of Parliament re: divorces, 1867-1930
For further details and contact information for local Courthouses and the Office of the Law Clerk, see:
Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario
Research Guide 211: Finding York County Divorce Files
 
Estate Files (including Wills)

The Archives holds:

  • Estate Files for most of Ontario, ca.1793-1963 (except Prince Edward County, which is on microfilm up to 1930 only).
  • In addition: York County (including Toronto) Estate Files on microfilm up to 1967.

The County and District Surrogate Courthouses hold:

  • Estate Files, 1964-present (except for York County which is available at the Archives on microfilm until 1967).

Note: The Prince Edward County Archives in Picton holds original estate files for Prince Edward County up to 1963.

For further details and contact information for local Courthouses, see:
Research Guide 206: How To Find A Will
 
Partnership/ Sole-Proprietorship Registrations

The Archives holds:

  • Registrations for all of Ontario, 1855-1991 (predominantly 1870-1991).

For details, see Inventory 55, vol. 1, available in the Main Reading Room.

The Companies Branch of the Ministry of Consumer and Business Services holds:

  • Registrations, 1992-present

Contact:
Companies Branch
393 University Ave., 2nd Floor, Suite 200
Toronto, ON, M5G 2M2
Phone: 416-314-8880

 
Corporations Files

The Archives holds:

  • Corporations Files and Charter Books for companies that were defunct as of 1907.
  • Post-1907 files: only files of defunct companies with Corporations File Numbers TC1 to TC3155.
  • Charter Books, 1907-1971. (Note: the more complete corporations files from Companies Branch should be used in preference to the Charter Books).

For details, see Inventory 55, vol. 2, available in the Main Reading Room.

The Companies Branch of the Ministry of Consumer and Business Services holds:

  • Corporations Files, 1907-present
  • Corporations Files of defunct companies beginning with file number TC3156.

Contact:
Companies Branch
393 University Ave., 2nd Floor, Suite 200
Toronto, ON, M5G 2M2
Phone: 416-314-8880

 
Crown Land Records

The Archives holds extensive Crown Land records, including those relating to the granting of Crown Land to private citizens. Commonly requested records include:

  • Ontario Land Records Index, ca.1780-ca.1920
  • Land petition
  • Land patent indexes
  • Patent plans, [178-]-1977
  • Township papers, ca.1783-ca.1870
  • Survey diaries, field notes, reports [incomplete], 1780-1930

For more information on using these and other Crown Land records for genealogical research, consult Information Research Guide 299: Sources of Family History, section 11.

The Ministry of Natural Resources:

  • issues copies of patents
  • has within its holdings a large quantity of Crown land survey diaries, field notes and reports, in addition to the ones held by the Archives
For copies of patents, contact:
Ministry of Natural Resources
Lands and Waters Branch
Crown Land Registry
300 Water Street, P.O. Box 7000
Peterborough ON, K9J 8M5
Phone: 705-755-2104
Fax: 705-755-2181
For information on survey diaries, field notes and reports, contact:
Ministry of Natural Resources
Information Resource and Management Branch
Crown Land Surveys
300 Water Street, P.O. Box 7000
Peterborough ON, K9J 8M5
Phone: 705-755-2100
Fax: 705-755-2149
 
Land Registry Offices Records

The records of Land Registry Offices (LROs) document transactions relating to privately owned land. The Archives holds the following LRO records:

  • Original Records
    -instruments and deeds up to 1867
    -copybooks up to 1955 (many have been placed on
    long- term loan with local repositories)
    -some post-1867 instruments and deeds, where the
    copybooks are missing
  • Microfilm Copies
    -copybooks, abstract indexes, and alphabetical indexes,
    ca.1795-ca.1960, predominantly to ca.1880

Original records are closed for conservation reasons. Microfilm only can be used. For details on our microfilm holdings, see Inventory 61, or the Land, Church, and Municipal Records Card Catalogue, both of which are available in the Main Reading Room.

Land Registry Offices (LROs):

  • LROs are responsible for maintaining a complete set of land registry records.
  • In cases where the LRO has transferred original records to the Archives or to a local institution, the LRO should have copies of those records on microfilm.
  • LRO addresses and phone numbers can be found in the "Blue Pages" of Telephone Directories, the Government of Ontario Telephone Directory, or the Government of Ontario website www.gov.on.ca

Note: Some original copybooks, abstract indexes, and other documents have been placed by the Archives or by the LROs in local archives, museums, and other repositories