Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Newspaper Holdings of the Archives of Ontario


Newspaper Holdings of the Archives of Ontario

Research Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 212

The Archives of Ontario holds newspapers, in both original and microfilm format, from most Ontario cities and towns. The collection dates from 1793 to approximately 1930. The Archives also has a unique collection of multilingual newspapers from Ontario’s multicultural communities, dating from 1930 to 1987, as well as a number of non-Ontario and speciality newspapers, such as labour movement newspapers.

Holdings of the major current Toronto newspapers are limited to the Globe and Mail, 1844 to 1917; and 1928 to 1931. The Toronto Reference Library has copies of the Star, the Telegram, the Sun, current issues of the Globe and Mail, and other more recent Ontario newspapers.

Finding Newspapers at the Archives of Ontario

To find a newspaper within the holdings of the Archives of Ontario, you usually need to know where the newspaper was published. If you do not know where the newspaper was published, there are indexes available that will help you find this information.

  1. Do you know where the newspaper was published?
  2. If not, do you know the name of the newspaper (masthead)?
  3. Do you want to find a multicultural newspaper?
  4. Do you want to find a newspaper published outside of Ontario?
  5. Are you interested in the publication and ownership history of a newspaper?
  6. What if the Archives of Ontario does not hold the newspaper you need?

1. Do you know where the newspaper was published?

Consult Finding Aid L 23 Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections in the Archives of Ontario [MS Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)] (in the Genealogy Reference Area of the Main Reading Room). Refer to Appendix A5 for lists of newspapers available on microfilm, organized alphabetically by place of publication.

If the newspaper is listed:

  • Note the microfilm N number (e.g. N 481). Find the microfilm in the newspaper microfilm cabinets (cabinet numbers 33 to 46, with green labels) which are arranged by N number. If there is more than one reel of microfilm for the newspaper, the label on each microfilm box will tell you the exact dates contained on that reel.

If the newspaper is not listed as part of our microfilm collection:

  • Consult Appendix A2 of Finding Aid L 23 [MS Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)] which lists original newspapers by place of publication. Original Toronto newspapers are listed by name in Appendix A3.

If listed as part of our collection of originals1:

  • Note the container number in the far right hand column (e.g. 13-2).
  • Arrange to have the newspaper retrieved for you by submitting a Records and Papers Request Slip to the Circulation Desk. Use the container number as the reference code.

2. Do you know the name of the newspaper (masthead)?

To find the place of publication, consult the Title Index in Section 2 of Brian Gilchrist’s Inventory of Ontario Newspapers, Toronto: Micromedia Limited, 1987, available in the Main Reading Room.

Once you know the place of publication, follow the directions described in Step 1 above.

3. Do you want to find a multicultural newspaper?

If you know the place of publication, follow the directions described in Step 1 above.

If you only know the name of the newspaper, or if you want to locate the newspaper for a specific ethnic group, consult one of the following:

  • The Archives of Ontario website, where multicultural newspapers are arranged according to language and community group

    These multicultural newspapers can be consulted on microfilm in our Main Reading Room, or at your local library through the Archives’ Microfilm Interloan Service

  • Multicultural Newspapers Microfilming Project (available in the Main Reading Room), which is arranged by name of the newspaper and has a community and language index at the front.

4. Do you want to find a newspaper published outside of Ontario?

If you know the place of publication, consult Finding Aid L 23 Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections in the Archives of Ontario , Appendix A5 [MS Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)], which lists microfilmed newspapers alphabetically by place of publication.

If the newspaper is not listed in L 23 , Appendix A5 [MS Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)], consult:

  • Non-Ontario Newspapers, 2 volumes, (available in the Main Reading Room) which list original newspapers within our holdings by jurisdiction and then alphabetically by the name of the newspaper.

For other sources of newspapers published outside Ontario, see point 6 below.

5. Are you interested in the publication and ownership history of a newspaper?

Consult Newspaper Collections: Microfilm Introductions (available in the Main Reading Room). These binders contain a brief history of the ownership, publication and historical context of most microfilmed newspapers, as well as a list of contents indicating which editions are missing. The entries are listed by microfilm reel number (for example, N 11). To find the N# consult Finding Aid L 23 Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections in the Archives of Ontario, Appendix A5 [MS Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)].

The history and list of contents are also on the microfilm, at the beginning of each newspaper.

6. What if the Archives of Ontario does not hold the newspaper you need?

Consult these other sources:

Notes:

  1. Please note that we also hold the original newsprint for many of the microfilmed newspapers; however to preserve the originals, researchers must use the microfilm. The listings in Appendices A2 and A3 are of newspapers for which we hold only the newsprint.

[Return to top of page]