Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Reading Room Rules


Reading Room Rules

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 101


Researchers are reminded that they are working with historical records which are unique and often very fragile. These rules outline your responsibilities as a researcher to help us preserve the holdings of the Archives of Ontario. Please note that these rules apply to all the Reading Rooms of the Archives of Ontario, and apply to both researchers and staff.

  1. Personal belongings including briefcases, oversize purses, backpacks, folders, umbrellas, and outerwear such as overcoats and raincoats must be stored in the cloakroom and/or lockers in the Registration area on the ground floor.
  2. Small purses, wallets, research notes, personal computers, and personal dictation or recording machines may be taken into the reading rooms. Cameras, including digital cameras and video cameras, are not permitted in the Reading Rooms. For preservation reasons, the use of digital scanners is prohibited. The Archives of Ontario is not responsible for lost or stolen items.
  3. Eating and drinking are prohibited in the Reading Rooms. This includes chewing gum and candy. Smoking is prohibited throughout the building. Eating is permitted in the Registration area at the tables provided, and smoking is permitted outside the building.
  4. Archives of Ontario material MUST NOT be removed from the Reading Rooms. We reserve the right to inspect bags and folders when you leave the Reading Room.
  5. Records are delivered to researchers in the Reading Rooms upon submission of a request slip for each container/volume required. Only six containers/ volumes will be supplied to a researcher at one time in the Main Reading Room, and only one container/volume at a time in the Special Collections Reading Room. Please speak with a Reference Archivist for more information.
  6. The Archives of Ontario provides various copying services subject to copyright, donor agreements and the physical condition of the records. If you require reproductions please refer to Archives of Ontario Customer Service Guides 106: How to Order Reproductions, and 105: Reproduction Services and Fees or speak with a Reference Archivist.
  7. All researchers are responsible for refraining from discrimination and harassment, including sexual harassment, offensive remarks or other actions that create intimidating or hostile conditions for other researchers or Archives staff.

Handling Archival Records

  1. Before examining archival records, users should remove any dangling jewellery, identification cards, etc., which may come in contact with the record.
  2. Do not apply hand lotion or cream prior to handling archival records. After eating, wash and thoroughly dry hands before working with archival records.
  3. ONLY PENCILS MAY BE USED TO TAKE NOTES. The only exception is for Archives staff who may need to sign documents with pens.
  4. Archival records should only be viewed on the research tables available in the Reading Rooms that provide clean, uncluttered surfaces with adequate note-taking space.
  5. Please leave archival records flat on the table surface as much as possible. Avoid letting records overhang past the table's edge.
  6. Use the white cotton gloves provided. These may be required for some records in the Main Reading Room, and are required for ALL records in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  7. Always handle archival records with both hands to ensure the safety of the record. Only one archival record should be handled at a time. If records are kept in files, handle only one file at a time. Do not remove documents from folders. If you have a question about a document, ask the Reference Archivist to come to your table; do not bring the document to the Reference Desk.
  8. Handle records carefully and deliberately. Never flip archival records like magazine or newspaper pages. Move the records by sliding them from one pile to another. Replace them in the same way when you are finished, sliding them back into their original order.
  9. It is imperative that you maintain the order of the archival records you are using. Do not change the order of the files within a container, or items within a file.
  10. Do not write on archival records. Avoid placing your note-taking pad on top of records or leaning directly on archival records. Tracing maps or other records, or the use of “post-it” or other self-sticking notes, staples or paper clips on archival records is not permitted.
  11. Avoid forcing volumes open to 180º so they lie flat. Preserve the binding of volumes by using Reading Room equipment such as weights, book cradles or book wedges. The Reference Archivist or Archival Assistants will demonstrate the proper use of these aids.
  12. Certain types of archival records, such as rolled items, blueprints and glass plate negatives, have special handling needs. The Reference Archivist or Archival Assistants will offer guidance to researchers handling these records.

If you have any questions about handling archival material, staff would be happy to answer your questions or assist you in any way.

The use of Archives of Ontario materials and facilities is your right. However, we reserve the right to cancel user privileges should any violation of the above regulations take place. All researchers, by signing their registration, agree to abide by the above-mentioned regulations.