Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Guide to Citing Archival Records


Guide to Citing Archival Records

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 107

It is very important to correctly cite the archival sources used in any work that will be made available to others. You and future researchers need a complete and accurate citation to access or obtain copies of the same material.

Different disciplines and institutions may require differing citation styles. This guide suggests a style for citing archival records held by the Archives of Ontario. Each citation is tailored to the archival source being used.

Published sources from the Archives Library can be cited using the standard formats prescribed in guides like The Chicago Manual of Style.

Tip: An accurate citation starts when you order records in the Reading Rooms.
  • Fill out your request slips with as much information as possible, including the full Reference Code, Title and Date of the item being requested. Consult a Reference Archivist for assistance in filling out your request slip.
  • When you are finished with requested material, keep the yellow copy of your request slip; it will be helpful in writing your citation.
  • The Reference Code can also be found on the back of any copies you have ordered.

 

There are two types of citations:

Footnotes/Endnotes Bibliographic Entries

  • cite the specific source referred to in the work
  • information about the source is arranged from the specific to the general
  • each element of information is separated by a comma.

  • list the Fonds/Series consulted
  • information about the Fonds/Series is arranged from the general to the specific
  • each element of information is separated by a period.

Include the following elements of information in this order:

  1. Description of the item (creator, title, date, if known)
  2. Series title (for government records) or Fonds and Series titles (for non-government records)
  3. Reference Code - as complete as possible, including file, volume and box numbers when given (e.g., F 4335-0-2 or RG 1-16, vol. 6 or RG 13-345, box 22)
  4. Repository (Archives of Ontario).

Include the following elements of information in this order:

  1. Repository (Archives of Ontario)
  2. Reference Code of Fonds/Series (e.g., F 4335 or RG 1-16 or RG 13-345)
  3. Series title (for government records) or Fonds and Series titles (for non-government records)
  4. Optional - Description of the item (creator, title, date) [see example 8](if footnote/endnote is not created)

Citation Examples

(N) - Footnote/Endnote Citation (B) - Bibliographic Entry

If you need assistance with a specific citation, contact a reference archivist at reference@ontario.ca.

1. File in a series of government records:
N 1 Defendant: Mazur, Paul; Charged with High Treason, York County, 1915, Criminal Assize Clerk criminal indictment file, RG 22-392-0-9038, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. Series RG 22-392. Criminal Assize Clerk criminal indictment files.
2. File in a private fonds:
N 2 McKim Advertising - Barbara Streisand, 1965, Job files, Elliott Research Corporation fonds, F 245-23-0-20, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. F 245-23. Elliott Research Corporation fonds. Job files.
3. Item in a private fonds:
N 3 Diary entry, February 23, 1849, Sandford Fleming's diary, Sandford Fleming family fonds, F 711, Series B, box MU 1050, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. F 711 Series B. Sandford Fleming family fonds. Sandford Fleming's diary.
4. File in a government records series, available on microfilm:
N 4 Estate file for Lucy Maud Montgomery Macdonald, probated July 27, 1942, York County Surrogate Court estate files, RG 22-305, file #97664, Microfilm MS 584 reel 482, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. Series RG 22-305. York County Surrogate Court estate files.
5. Photograph:
N 5 Elizabeth Fry, [photograph], ca. 1850, Ontario Legislative Library print collection, RG 49-33-0-0-24, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. Series RG 49-33. Ontario Legislative Library print collection.
6. Map:
N 6 Plan of Lot on Black Bay, Lake Superior [Verso: "Surveyed for the Silver Islet Co. in 1871"], August 1871, Lake Superior Maps and Plans, Hugh Wilson fonds, C 271-1-0-0-14, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. C 271-1. Hugh Wilson fonds. Lake Superior Maps and Plans.
7. Architectural record:
N 7 Osgoode Hall (Toronto, Ont.), [architectural drawing], 1894-1895, Burke and Horwood series, J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood fonds, C 11-22, box K-17, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. C 11-22. J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood fonds. Burke and Horwood series.
8. Moving image:
N 8 Gene Autry at Farm, [motion picture film], 1940, Hepburn family sound and moving image material, Mitchell F. Hepburn fonds, F 10-1-0-4, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. F 10-1-0-4. Mitchell F. Hepburn fonds. Hepburn family sound and moving image material. Gene Autry at Farm [motion picture film]. 1940. (add item description if no footnote/endnote is created)
9. Sound recording:
N 9 Interview with Robert F. Nixon, [sound recording], 1978, Ontario historical studies series oral history program - political interviews, RG 47-27-1-71.1, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. RG 47-27-1. Ontario historical studies series oral history program - political interviews.
10. Documentary art:
N 10 "Burlington Bay", [watercolour], June 1796, Elizabeth Simcoe - Sketches, Simcoe family fonds, F 47-11-1-0-204, Archives of Ontario.
B Archives of Ontario. F 47. Simcoe family fonds. Elizabeth Simcoe - Sketches.