Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Microfilm Interloan Service


Microfilm Interloan Service

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 110

The Archives of Ontario's Microfilm Interloan Service enables researchers to borrow microfilmed archival records through a library or other institution that participates in the Interinstitutional Loan Service. This international system of co-operative agreements allows one institution to borrow material from another participating institution. The Archives' Microfilm Interloan Service does not lend microfilm directly to individuals and is not able to conduct research on researchers' behalf. Direct requests from individuals will not be accepted. The Archives of Ontario does not charge for its Interloan service. Please ask at your local library/institution about their interlibrary loan policies.

What is available for loan:

Only microfilm listed in the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Catalogue is available for loan. The Catalogue can be found on the Archives' web site at the following address:

http://www.archives.gov.on.ca/english/interloan/index.html.

Approximately 17,500 reels of our most popular microfilm, including Vital Statistics, Land Records, Wills and Estate Files, Court of General Sessions of the Peace Records, Municipal Records, Education Records, and some non-Government records are available for interloan. The Archives of Ontario does not loan original documents for research purposes.

How to order microfilm through the Interloan service:

Researchers must submit requests for microfilm reels through a participating library or institution. Requests must include the complete Microfilm Reference Number as listed in the Microfilm Interloan Catalogue and brief identifying information (e.g., MS 935 Reel #52 Volumes E-H, Death Registrations for 1888). Incomplete requests will be returned to the borrowing institution. If you need copies of documents from the microfilm, please submit your request to a library/institution which has a microfilm reader/printer. Libraries can submit requests through the following methods: 1) Use AMIS, our password-protected database, accessible through our website. 2) SOLS and OLS-N libraries should use the VDX system. 3) Via fax, email or by regular mail but we strongly encourage you to use AMIS for more efficient and prompt service.

Conditions of loan:

The loan period is 4 weeks for Canada, 5 weeks for the US and 6 weeks for the rest of the world. Microfilm must stay in the borrowing library or institution during the loan period.

For more information, contact:

Archives of Ontario
Microfilm Interloan Service
77 Grenville Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 1B3
Tel: 416-327-1018
Toll-free in Ontario: 1-800-668-9933, ext. 1018
Fax: 416-327-1999
E-mail: interloan@ontario.ca

Microfilm Interloan Catalogue:

http://www.archives.gov.on.ca/english/interloan/index.html.

[Return to top of page]