Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Genealogical Research > Guides > Genealogical Researchers in Ontario


Genealogical Researchers in Ontario

Customer Service Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Customer Service Guide 111

The Archives of Ontario supplies this list of independent researchers as a reference tool for the general public.

Individuals who are certified by the Board for Certification of Genealogists or who are members of the Association of Professional Genealogists are identified below. Please visit the Board for Certification of Genealogists Website for further information on finding a certified individual and the Association of Professional Genealogists Website for complete member information.

Disclaimer: The individuals listed below are neither employees nor agents of the Archives of Ontario and should be consulted personally about their fees and services. The Archives of Ontario does not certify or confirm the credentials of any of the individuals named on this list. The Archives of Ontario cannot be held responsible for any claims, damages or losses howsoever resulting from the use of this list, or any part thereof, by any person. The information contained in this list is supplied to the Archives by outside individuals and may not be complete or current.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Barbara B. AITKEN, B.A. (Hon.), B.L.S., CG
Tracing Your Roots in Ontario
4242 Bath Road, Kingston, Ontario K7M 4Y7
E-mail: barbageneal@sympatico.ca
Vital Statistics registrations; censuses, newspapers, cemetery
transcriptions especially in Kingston and Frontenac County and Lennox &
Addington County.
Certified by the Board for the Certification of Genealogists. Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Margaret E. ALDRIDGE, B. Math, M.Sc., B.Ed., A.P.
44 Queens College Drive, Richmond Hill, Ontario L4B 1P7, Tel. 905-709-3152
E-mail: jamaldridge@rogers.com
Over 35 years experience; Vital statistics registrations, Census records, Public Archives; All Willoughby families. Member of Ontario Genealogical Society; Involved in IT field for over 25 years, able to assist with most genealogical software packages and Internet searching; Specializing in First Nation research issues in Ontario.
 
 
Ruth Blair, PLCGS
Blair Archival Research, 200 North Service Road W, Unit 1, Suite 129, Oakville, ON L6M 2Y1, Tel. 905-808-3963, E-mail: info@familyhistorysearches.com,
website: www.familyhistorysearches.com
Genealogist with 20 years experience in Ontario, Irish, English and Scottish records. Ontario Records: Vital statistics registrations, census, probate and land records, newspapers and directories. See website or write for details. Member of the association of Professional Genealogists, University of Toronto Professional Learning Certificate in Genealogical Studies for Canada, Ireland and England.

 
 
Ruth BURKHOLDER
RMB Genealogical Services, 103-12140 Ninth Line, Stouffville, Ontario L4A 1L2,
Tel. 905-640-7391, Fax 905-640-9359, E-mail: ruth.burk@sympatico.ca
Vital Statistics Registrations; census; land records; church records; consultation and problem solving.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Hilary J. DAWSON
283 Deloraine Avenue, Toronto, ON M5M 2B2, Tel, 416-481-6622,
E-mail: dawsonbh@rogers.com
Over 20 years experience in genealogical and historical research in Ontario records. Specialities: Greater Toronto Area (York, Halton, Peel, Simcoe Counties) ; Afro-Canadian families.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists
Susanna de Groot
Windmill Genealogy Services, 11 Howland Rd., Toronto, Ontario, M4K 2Z4, Tel 647-221-7891, Email: researchbysue@sympatico.ca,
Website: http://windmillgenealogy.com/
Genealogy research in Ontario includes:  vital statistics; census; land records; wills & estate files; cemetery records; newspapers; directories; assessment rolls and church records.  Experienced with Dutch genealogical records.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.  National Institute for Genealogical Studies (partners with University of Toronto) – Canadian Records

Lee DICKSON
29 McCaul Street, Apt. 403, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1T7, Phone/Fax 416-977-3392
E-mail: lee.dickson@sympatico.ca
Vital Statistics Registrations; census; immigration & land records; church records; city directories, newspapers; United Empire Loyalists; problem solving.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
Althea DOUGLAS
525 Hilson Avenue, Apt. 3, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 6C9, Tel. 613-722-9807, Fax. 613-722-7946
18th-19th century records at Library and Archives Canada, WWI records, shipping registers and passenger lists; fluent in French.
 
 
Edward ENRIGHT
2900 Yonge Street, Suite 404, Toronto, Ontario M4N 3N8, Tel. 416-482-9357
E-mail: edwardenright@look.ca
Vital statistics registrations; probate records; censuses; land records; cemetery transcriptions; immigration and passenger lists; newspapers; interment records; city directories; on-site assistance.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Robert C. FREEMAN
7 Triller Ave. Toronto, Ontario M6K 3B7, E-mail: trcf@aol.com
Specialties: Finding the members of entire families - ancestors and
descendants - including missing heirs, when the family is or was based in
Ontario.

Sandra FULLER
SMF Heritage Services, 127 Joseph Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 4H3, Tel. 905-895-4783
e-mail smfuller@neptune.on.ca
Genealogical researcher - local and provincial research including archives collections, census, church records, city directories, cemetery transcriptions, land & probate records, newspapers, etc.
Elizabeth HANCOCKS, U.E.
172 King Henrys Boulevard, Agincourt, Ontario M1T 2V6, Tel. 416-291-5213
E-mail: libbyhancocks@rogers.com
Consultation on the United Empire Loyalists.
Steve HANEY
Ontario Genealogy Services, PO Box 93, 31 Adelaide St East., Toronto, ON, M5C 2H8
Tel 416- 921-0504, Tel and Fax 1-866-212-9952.
E-mail: stevenh@ontariogenealogyservices.com
Website: www.ontariogenealogyservices.com
I will do your searches for Vital Statistics including birth, marriages and deaths, as well as land records, wills/estates, censuses, cemetery look ups, newspapers, church records and burials. I will be happy to answer any questions you may have and to provide expert guidance along the way, both in the search results and creating your Family Tree.
Current Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists and enrolled in Canadian Studies Certificate, the National Institute for Genealogical Studies.
 
Grant KARCICH
530 Drew Street, Oshawa, Ontario L1H 5B7,
E-mail: gkarcich@durham.net
Genetic applications in ancestor identification; personal assistance.

 
 
Dana KING, House Historian
Every House Tells a Story, 713-2040 Don Mills Road, Toronto, ON, M3A 3R7, Tel 416-441-6017
E-mail: dana@househistory.ca
Website: http://www.househistory.ca
Experienced house history researcher, specializing in Toronto and GTA properties. My business, Every House Tells a Story , has been in operation since 2003.

Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists, Heritage Toronto, and the Ontario Genealogical Society.
 
 
Janet E. KING
209-2 The Donway East, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1X7, Tel. 416-444-1997
E-mail: janetking@rogers.com
Vital statistics registrations, censuses, Ontario church records, newspapers, directories, and bilingual searches done within Toronto and surrounding area.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Elizabeth LADOUCEUR, PLCGS
2181 Parent Avenue, Windsor, (Ontario), N8W 2E2, Tel: 519 551-1530
E-mail: ladoucer@MNSi.net,
Website: www.familyhistoryresearch.ca
Professional genealogist with 21 years of experience in Vital statistics; census; land, court, and church records; directories; newspapers; Ontario (Essex County) / early Detroit, Michigan, Canadian, US and UK records research.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists. Graduate of the National Institute for Genealogical Studies (2003). Genealogical Instructor at St. Clair College (Windsor, Ontario). Member of the Genealogical Speakers Guild.
 
Jean LAWSON
104-10A Brooks Street, Barrie, ON L4N 5L3, Tel 705-721-4195,
Email: mjclawson@sympatico.ca
Over 40 years experience. Specializing in Ontario records. Vital statistics; census; land, wills, cemeteries, church records.Graduate of National Institute for Genealogical Studies, Canadian Records. Started the Hamilton Branch of the Ontario Genealogical Society. Specialities – Simcoe, Bruce, Grey, Dufferin, York, Norfolk and Huron Counties.
 
 
Geraldine LITTLE
P. O. Box 191, Toronto, Ontario M3C 2S2
E-mail: gerilittle41@hotmail.com
Over 20 years experience. Ontario/U.S. census, cemetery records, vital statistics, wills, consultation and advice.
Member of the Ontario Genealogical Society, Ottawa, Quinte and Nipissing Branches of the OGS and the New England Historical Genealogical Society.
 
 
 
Elayne LOCKHART, M.Ed.
Family Stories, 234 Strathmore Blvd., Toronto, Ontario M4J 1P6, 416-463-4806,
E-mail: info@familystoriesresearch.com, Website: www.familystoriesresearch.com
Census, vital statistics, church records, directories, newspapers, immigration and passenger records, cemetery transcriptions.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
 
Ann LOGAN, PLCGS
Ontario Origins, 58-2006 Glenada Crescent, Oakville, Ontario L6H 5R9, 905-845-7755,
E-mail: ontarioorigins@yahoo.com, Website: www.ontarioorigins.com
Vital statistics registrations, census, newspapers, church records, cemeteries, land and probate records for all of Ontario.  Over 25 Years of experience in Canadian, British and U.S. family history research, including families migrating from Quebec to Ontario or Ontario to the U.S.
University of Toronto/National Institute of Genealogical Studies, Profession Learning Certificates in Genealogical studies for Canadian Studies and American studies.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
 
Marg MELDRUM
364 O’Leary Avenue, Peterborough, ON K9K 1E3, Tel 705-742-3218
E-mail: marg@genealogyresults.com
Website: http://www.genealogyresults.com
I am a genealogist with 25 years experience in Ontario, USA, England, Scotland and Ireland research. I will research and build your family tree with thorough back-up documentation. See my website for details or contact me via e-mail or phone for further details.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists as well as various regional historical societies.
 
D. Russell MORTON
131 Blackmore Avenue, Richmond Hill, Ontario L4B 2B1( 905-881-9921, Fax 905-881-5702
E-mail: drmorton@sympatico.ca
Specialties: Northwestern Ontario, Victoria County, school records, locating descendants. Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Bruce MURDUCK, UE, B.A.
820 Allum Avenue, Kingston, Ontario K7M 7A1, Tel. 613-389-9839
E-mail: murduckb@kingston.net, Website: www.ikweb.com/murduck/genealogy/research/
Ontario Archives, National Archives, and other eastern locations. Historical, geographical and genealogical research utilizing all standard sources and some more unusual and unique local collections. Consultation and problem solving, with special interest in residential movement patterns and UEL lineage. Reply to all inquiries.
 
 
Sharon L. MURPHY
Timelines Genealogical Research, c/o Sharon Murphy
153 King Street, Port Hope, Ontario, L1A 2S2, Business Tel. 905-885-7626, Fax 905-885-2043 E-mail: timelines@sympatico.ca
Website: www.timelinesresearch.com
Genealogical researcher specializing in Ontario. Will do specific genealogical projects and general research relating to births, marriages, deaths and land records, etc. Phone inquiries welcome.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Brian K. NARHI, M.A.
62 Jarrow Road, St. Catharines, ON L2M 1B6, Tel 905-934-1744
E-mail: briannahri@aol.com
Over 25 years experience in all genealogical and historical research; estates; land registry; assessment records; maps; directories; census; court records; statutes; church records; cemeteries; vital statistics; Loyalist lineages; Niagara, Hamilton, London and Toronto specialty areas; on-site assistance at Toronto area archives; Scandinavian research.
 
 
Janice NICKERSON, M.A.
33 Isabella Street, Suite 2807, Toronto, Ontario, M4Y 2P7, Tel. 416-920-2206
E-mail: janice@uppercanadagenealogy.com, Website: www.uppercanadagenealogy.com
Genealogist with experience in Canadian (all provinces except Quebec), American and British records. Specializing in early Ontario (Upper Canada and Canada West). All types of records searched, including exclusive indexes to early census and assessment rolls, jail registers and government correspondence (see Website or write for details).
Chair of the Ontario Chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Katharine ORR
KORR Services, #405 - 100 Maitland Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1E2, Tel.416-944-1794, Fax 416-944-3632,
E-mail: kathie.orr@sympatico.ca
Vital statistics registrations; census; land records; court records; church records; directories; United Empire Loyalists; consultation and problem solving.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Lorelei OWEN
50 Baif Boulevard #106, Richmond Hill, ON L4C 5L1Tel 905-508-9859
E-mail: roehampton@idirect.com
20 years experience, Vital Statistics registrations; Probate, census, and land records; newspapers, city directories, and Church records, cemetery transcriptions & funeral records.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
Jean-Yves PELLETIER
130-207 Bank Street, Ottawa, ON  K2P 2N2
E-mail: j.y.pelletier@hotmail.com
Historical and genealogical research, with particular interest in Ontario and Quebec records as well as French records (France’s Central region) – Archives communales and départmentales, XVII-XXth centuries. Family history and genealogy at Library and Archives Canada (Ottawa), Archives of Ontario, City of Ottawa Archives, Ottawa Room of the Ottawa Public Library, Archives nationales du Québec = Centre de l’Outaouais (Quebec National Archives, Gatineau), University of Ottawa’s Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture. 25 years of experience: vital statistics, censuses, newspapers, directories, cemetery records and transcriptions, church records and religious orders (Catholic Church).

Life member of La Société franco-ontarienne d’histoire et de généalogie, co-founder of Le Regroupement des organismes du patrimoine franco-ontarien.
Carol SCHIAVETTO
19 Hiltz Avenue, Toronto, ON M4L 2N6, Tel. 416-466-1494
Archival research, photographs, genealogical research and government records, urban archaeology.
 
 
Wanda SINCLAIR
178 Elmhurst Drive, Rexdale, ON M9W 2L1, Tel 416-741-1306,
E-mail: wanda_sinclair@hotmail.com
Vital statistics registrations, census, land records, cemetery transcriptions, probate records, city directories. All Sinclair and Fike/Fykes families. Over 24 years experience.
Member of the Ontario Genealogical Society, United Empire Loyalist, Clan Sinclair of Canada.
 
Michael C. STEPHENSON
1174 Royal Drive, Peterborough, ON K9H 6R1, Tel. 705-743-6423, Email: michael@ontariogenealogy.com, Website: www.ontariogenealogy.com
Genealogical Researcher for Victoria, Peterborough, Northumberland & Durham, Haliburton, Hastings, and Ontario Counties.
 
 
Dan WALKER, B.A.
159 Ann Street, Delhi, Ontario N4B 1H8, Tel. 519-582-1422
E-mail: danialw@execulink.com
Censuses; court records; land records; passenger lists; Vital Statistics records; immigration records; United Empire Loyalists; newspapers; cemeteries; church records; assistance.
 
 
Barbaranne WRIGHT, U.E.
10 Amberwood Court, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 7E1, Tel. 905-935-3027
E-mail: bwright.ue@sympatico.ca
Specialize in early Upper Canada (Loyalist and early settlers) with a primary interest in Lincoln and Welland Counties. Publisher of 1. Loyalist children of Upper Canada, 2. United Empire Loyalists and military claimants, 3. Loyalists* military* settlers to Upper Canada.
Member of the Association of Professional Genealogists.
 
 
Researchers listed above may request updates to their information by contacting the Archives of Ontario's Customer Services Enquiry Officer.