Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Customer Service and Research Guides


Customer Service and Research Guides

Customer Service and Research Guides - Side Banner      

The following documents are designed to aid you in the use of particular types of records or to provide information about policies and procedures. They can be downloaded in PDF format or viewed as HTML files. Hard copies of these documents are available free of charge in the Main Reading Room of the Archives. Please note that the electronic links contained in the documents may be available in the HTML versions only.

Link to Adobe Acrobat download siteYou must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the Portable Document Format (PDF) versions of these documents. This software is available without charge from the Adobe website.

Customer Service Guides
Guide Number Title
101 Reading Room Rules [HTML, PDF]
102 Sound and Moving Images Reading Room [HTML, PDF]
103 Special Collections Reading Room [HTML, PDF]
104 Research During Extended Hours [HTML, PDF ]
105 Reproduction Services and Fees [HTML, PDF]
106 How to Order Reproductions [HTML, PDF]
107 Guide to Citing Archival Records [HTML, PDF]
108 Copyright and Your Research [HTML, PDF]
109 Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy [HTML, PDF ]
110 Microfilm Interloan Service [HTML, PDF]
111 Genealogical Researchers in Ontario [HTML, PDF]
112 Freelance Researchers List [HTML, PDF]

Research Guides
Guide Number Title
201 What Records We Have… What Records We Don't Have [HTML, PDF]
202 Vital Statistics Bulletin [HTML, PDF]
203 Understanding the Vital Statistics Indexes [HTML, PDF]
205 How to Use the Ontario Land Record Index ca.1780-ca.1920 [HTML, PDF]
206 How to Find a Will [HTML, PDF]
207 Researching Ontario Bills and Statutes [HTML, PDF]
208 Records of Ontario Municipal Board Hearings [HTML, PDF]
209 Municipal Records at the Archives of Ontario [HTML, PDF]
210 Finding Divorce Files in Ontario [HTML, PDF]
211 Finding York County Divorce Files [HTML, PDF]
212 Newspaper Holdings of the Archives of Ontario [HTML, PDF ]
213 Records Relating to the War of 1812 at the Archives of Ontario [HTML, PDF ]
214 Municipal Land Use Planning [HTML, PDF]
215 From Grant to Patent: A Guide to Early Land Settlement Records, ca. 1790 to ca. 1850 [HTML,PDF]
299 Sources of Family History [HTML, PDF]

[Return to top of page]