FRANÇAIS
Ontario Archives of Ontario
about the ministry of Government Services   |  ministry programs  |  news  |  location & hours   |  contact us |  Site map
Skip Navigation Links

Start Your Research - Page Banner/>
</h1>
    </div>
    <div id=
Skip Navigation Links
Home
Learn About UsExpand Learn About Us
Start Your ResearchExpand Start Your Research
Look For ImagesExpand Look For Images
Visit Our ExhibitsExpand Visit Our Exhibits
Education and OutreachExpand Education and Outreach
Discover Your Family HistoryExpand Discover Your Family History
Donating to the ArchivesExpand Donating to the Archives
How to Access Your RecordsExpand How to Access Your Records
Government Recordkeeping
Feedback
Archives in General
Our Vision and Mission
Us and Our Collection
Scroll up
Scroll down
Research Guides and Tools
Archives Descriptive Database
Vital Statistics: Birth, Marriage and Death Registrations
BIBLiON Library Catalogue
Immigration Records
Second Heir and Divisee Commission Case Files Database
Electronic Records Online
Black and White Aerial Forestry Photos
Scroll up
Scroll down
Visual Database
Government of Ontario Art Collection
Scroll up
Scroll down
Art
Black History
Colouring Books
Donors and Partnerships
Early Ontario
Eaton's
Ontario Government
Ontario Growing Up
Personalities
War and Remembrance
Scroll up
Scroll down
All About Teaching with Primary Documents
Instant Lesson Plans for Grade 3-12
OISE/UT
Ontario History Quest
Our Outreach Services
Travelling Exhibits
Scroll up
Scroll down
Getting Started
The Records
Scroll up
Scroll down
Information on Donating to the Archives of Ontario
See Yourself in the Archives - Diversifying Our Collections
Acquisition Mandate of the Archives of Ontario and
the Donation of Private Records
Individuals
Corporations and Groups
Library Donations
Government of Ontario Art Collection
Scroll up
Scroll down
Visiting the Archives
From a Distance
Microfilm Interloan Catalogue
Scroll up
Scroll down

Understanding the Archival Reference Code in the Ontario Land Record Index

Each entry in the Ontario Land Record Index includes a reference to the original record from which the reference was taken. This record can be viewed on self-service microfilm.

The Archival Reference Code is found on the far right of each entry in the Ontario Land Record Index. The first column in the 'ARCHIVAL REF' is labelled 'RG', the second column 'SER'. Use the table below and proceed to the appropriate section of this guide.

PLEASE NOTE THAT MOST, BUT NOT ALL, MICROFILM REELS ARE AVAILABLE FOR INTER-INSTITUTIONAL LOAN. PLEASE CONSULT THE
ARCHIVES OF ONTARIO’S ONLINE
INTERLOAN CATALOGUE
AT
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION.

 

What are the codes in the RG and SER columns?

RG Series Go to Section
01 AIV (A-IV) 01 AIV (Schedules and Land Rolls)
01 CI3 (C-I-3) 01 CI3 (Fiats and Warrants)
01 CI4 (C-I-4) 01 CI4 (Locations)
01 CI5 (C-I-5) 01 CI5 (Assignments)
01 CII2 (C-II-2) 01 CII2 (Leases: Fiats)
01 CIII3 (C-III-3) 01 CIII3 (Sales of Clergy Reserves)
01 CIII4 (C-III-4) 01 CIII4 (Sales of Crown Lands)
01 CIII6 (C-III-6) CIII6 (Sales of School Lands)
01 CIII7 (C-III-7) CIII7 (Sales of Indian Lands)
CC     CC (Canada Company, Registers of Contacts)
PR     PR (Peter Robinson Papers)

Note: Often, numerous volumes have been filmed on each reel. Make sure you are looking at the correct volume. The last entry in the ARCHIVAL REF column is 'PG'. This refers to the page number in the volume that will contain the reference that you are looking for.

RG 1 Crown Land Records

01 AIV (Schedules and Land Rolls)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
Vol. 1 MS 400 reel 6
Vol. 2 MS 400 reel 6
Vol. 8 MS 400 reel 7
Vol. 9 MS 400 reel 7
Vol. 11 MS 400 reel 7
Vol. 55 MS 400 reel 13

01 CI3  (Fiats and Warrants)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
13 MS 693 Reel 20
14 MS 693 Reel 20
15 MS 693 Reel 21
17 MS 693 Reel 22
18 MS 693 Reel 22
32 MS 693 Reel 46
33 MS 693 Reel 46
34 MS 693 Reel 46
35 MS 693 Reel 46
54 MS 693 Reel 69
80 MS 693 Reel 105
81 MS 693 Reel 105
82 MS 693 Reel 105
83 MS 693 Reel 106
84 MS 693 Reel 106
85 MS 693 Reel 106
90 MS 693 Reel 114
91 MS 693 Reel 114
92 MS 693 Reel 114
96 MS 693 Reel 119
97 MS 693 Reel 119
101-108 MS 693 Reel 120
123 MS 693 Reel 138
124 MS 693 Reel 139
125 MS 693 Reel 139
132 MS 693 Reel 140
133 MS 693 Reel 140
134 MS 693 Reel 141
138 (Nos. 1-599) MS 693 Reel 140
(Nos. 600-1093) MS 693 Reel 145
146 MS 693 Reel 151
149 MS 693 Reel 153
150 MS 693 Reel 154
152 MS 693 Reel 155
154 MS 693 Reel 156

 

01 CI4 (Locations)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
1 MS 693 Reel 156
2 MS 693 Reel 157
3 MS 693 Reel 157
4 MS 693 Reel 157
6 MS 693 Reel 158
9 MS 693 Reel 158
11 MS 693 Reel 158
20 MS 693 Reel 159
23 MS 693 Reel 159

01 CI5 (Assignments)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
1 MS 693 Reel 163
2 MS 693 Reel 164
3 MS 693 Reel 164
4 MS 693 Reel 165
5 MS 693 Reel 165
6 MS 693 Reel 166
14 MS 693 Reel 177

01 CII2 (Leases: Fiats)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
3 MS 693 Reel 184
7 MS 693 Reel 187

01 CIII3 (Sales of Clergy Reserves)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
1 MS 693 Reel 190
2 (pp. 1-396) MS 693 Reel 190
(pp. 397-end) MS 693 Reel 191
3 MS 693 Reel 191

01 CIII4  (Sales of Crown Lands)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
10 MS 693 Reel 194
11 MS 693 Reel 194

CIII6  (Sales of School Lands)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
1 MS 693 Reel 199

CIII7  (Sales of Indian Lands)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
3 MS 693 Reel 200
7 MS 693 Reel 200

 

CC  (Canada Company, Registers of Contacts)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
19 MS 729 Reel 1
20 MS 729 Reel 1
21 MS 729 Reel 1
23 MS 729 Reel 2
24 MS 729 Reel 2
25 MS 729 Reel 2
26 MS 729 Reels 2 and 3
27 MS 729 Reel 3
28 MS 729 Reel 3
29 MS 729 Reel 3
30 MS 729 Reels 3 and 4
31 MS 729 Reel 4
32 MS 729 Reels 4 and 5
33 MS 729 Reel 5
34 MS 729 Reels 5 and 6
35 MS 729 Reel 6
36 MS 729 Reels 6 and 7
37 MS 729 Reel 7
38 MS 729 Reel 7
39 MS 729 Reel 7
40 MS 729 Reel 8
41 MS 729 Reel 8

PR (Peter Robinson Papers)
Volume Number Microfilm Reel
4 (Location Tickets Issued to Settlers) MS 12 Reel 2
5 (Emigrants Located in Twps. of Ramsay, Packenham and Huntley) MS 12 Reel 2
6 (Schedule of Location of 1823 Emigrants) MS 12 Reel 2

 

[Return to top of page]

HOME  | CONTACT US  | SITE MAP  | FRANÇAIS  | ONTARIO.CA

This site maintained by the Government of Ontario

Privacy | External Links Disclaimer

Copyright 2009 Queen's Printer for Ontario

Last Modified: 2/14/2012 3:07:27 PM