Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Ontario Vital Statistics Bulletin


Ontario Vital Statistics Bulletin

Research Guide - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 202

Records at the Archives of Ontario as of May 2008

What the Archives Holds

The Archives of Ontario has the Indexes (where they exist) and Registration Books from the Office of the Registrar General of Ontario for:

  • Births: 1869-1911
  • Marriages: 1801-1926
  • Deaths: 1869-1936

All of these records are publicly available on microfilm. Another year of records is sent annually to the Archives. These are restricted until they have been made available on microfilm. The latest transfers (1912 births, 1927 marriages, and 1937 deaths) are being filmed and will be available on microfilm sometime in 2009. If you require a photocopy of a 1912 birth, 1927 marriage or 1937 death registration for legal or humanitarian reasons, please consult one of the Reference Archivists.

Availability of Microfilm

The Ontario Vital Statistics microfilm is publicly available:

  • In our Main Reading Room at: 77 Grenville Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada. This room is open weekdays 8:15am-10:30pm and Saturday 10:00am-8:00pm.
  • By Interloan from the Archives of Ontario to your public library (limit of 3 reels per researcher will be sent).
  • On loan through the Family History Centres of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS). To find a Family History Centre in your area, contact your local Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, visit the Family Search Internet Genealogy Service web site or, in Canada and the United States, call the LDS' Family History Support line 1-800-346-6044. You must visit the Centres as they do not accept written inquiries. Telephone first to confirm their hours.

The Archives does not do searches

Searches can be done by the public using the Vital Statistics microfilm in the Archives’ Reading Room or on loan to the nearest public library or Family History Centre. Genealogical researchers can also be hired to do searches (write for, or see: the Archives of Ontario's Customer Service Guide No. 111 Genealogical Researchers in Ontario).

The Archives does not issue Birth, Marriage, or Death Certificates

The Archives will only certify photocopies of registrations produced in the presence of Archives' staff in our Main Reading Room. For Vital Statistics records held by the Archives, the Office of the Registrar General will not issue Death Certificates and will issue Birth and Marriage Certificates only to the person identified on the record.

Sale of Vital Statistics Microfilm

Microfilm copies of vital statistics indexes and registrations for Ontario births (1869-1911), marriages (1869-1926) and deaths (1869-1936) are available for purchase directly from the Ontario Genealogical Society. For information on how to place an order, visit the Ontario Genealogical Society (OGS) website or contact the OGS at:

Ontario Genealogical Society
40 Orchard View Blvd. Suite 102
Toronto ON M4R 1B9
Phone: 416-489-0734
Fax: 416-489-9803
E-mail: provoffice@ogs.on.ca

How the Registrations are Indexed

  • All registrations (except Marriages before 1873): There are computerized printout Indexes sorted: first, by surname initial; then, by year of event; lastly, alphabetically by the person's full name. The Indexes give: full name, date and place of the event, Registration Number and Registration Year. To order the correct Registration microfilm, you must have the Registration Number and Registration Year. For further details see: Research Guide No. 203: Understanding the Vital Statistics Indexes.
  • Marriages 1801-June 1869: These registrations are recorded in the District Marriage Registers 1801-1857 or the County Marriage Registers 1858-June 1869. The Registers and corresponding Indexes (where they exist) were filmed together.
  • Marriages July 1869-December 1872: As NO computer printout Index was created, the microfilm of the Original Indexes must be searched (MS 938 Reel 1 for July-December 1869; MS 941 Reel 1 for 1870-1872). Each Index is sorted: first, by year; within by surname initial; then, grouped by County/ District. You need the Liber (volume) and Folio (page) numbers listed to order the correct Registration microfilm.

What was Recorded in the Registrations

Births:
Year of birth; name; gender; father's name; mother's maiden name; father's rank or occupation; signature and residence of informant (usually a relative); accoucheur's name (person assisting with the birth); registration date; registrar's signature; County/ District of registration (an exact city, town or township is normally not given for the earliest years).
 
Marriages (1801-June 1869):
The information recorded varies widely and could be very limited in the early years (e.g. name of groom, bride, and clergy; location, date, and religion of ceremony).
 
Marriages (July 1869-1926):
About each person: Name; age: place of residence and birth; marital status (bachelor/ widower; spinster/ widow); occupation; fathers' name; mothers' maiden name; and religious denomination. About the marriage: Location and date marriage occurred; witnesses' names and residences; name of clergy conducting the marriage; whether marriage was by issuance of a marriage license or publication of banns; registration date.
 
Deaths:
Name; age; sex; religious affiliation; rank or profession; birth place; cause of death; name and description of informant; registrar's name; date registered; County/ District of registration. After 1907, the place of burial and the name of the parents were also requested.

All the above information was requested but was not always recorded in the registration. The data entered can be incomplete, entered on the wrong line, or incorrect. If the computer-generated Index does not list a registration, order the Original Index for that year.

Office of the Registrar General

The Office of the Registrar General maintains records of:
  • Births - 1913-present
  • Marriages - 1928-present
  • Deaths - 1938-present

For information on obtaining copies of these records, contact:

Office of the Registrar General
Box 4600
Thunder Bay, ON
P7B 6L8
http://www.serviceontario.ca/index.html

416-325-8305
1-800-461-2156 (toll-free, Ontario only)