How to Find a Will


Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 206

Are all Wills in the court records?

No. If the deceased's estate consisted ONLY of real estate (e.g., farmers), the original Will may have been deposited in the local Land Registry Office to transfer the land to the heirs. Some Land Registry Offices hold over 60% of all surviving Wills. Because they were never probated, these Wills are not indexed or registered in the court records. Consult Inventory 61 (Private Property Registrations) for further details.

Why should I be looking for an "Estate File" rather than a Will?

An Estate File contains the documents used by the Surrogate Court to disperse the deceased's estate, whether he/she died with (testate) or without (intestate) a Will. The contents can include: Petition for Probate (with Will) or Administration (without Will), the original Will, the executors' or administrators' oaths, and an inventory of the assets (see the glossary at the end of this Guide for further details).

Step #1: When was the deceased's estate dispersed?

ca. 1793-1858

These Estate Files are held by the Archives of Ontario. Go to Step #2.

1859 - 1963

The Archives of Ontario holds original Estate Files for all Counties and Districts in Ontario with the following exception: Prince Edward County (files up to 1930 are available at the Archives of Ontario on microfilm; original estate files up to 1960 are available at the Prince Edward County Archives in Picton).

If you know which County or District Surrogate Court handled the estate, go to Step #3. If you do not know which Court handled the estate, go to Step #4.

1964-present

The Estate Files are only available through the County or District Surrogate Courthouse that handled the dispersal of the estate (except for York County which is available at the Archives on microfilm until 1967). Table #1 at the end of this Guide is a list of Courthouse addresses and telephone numbers. While most Courthouses have the original Indexes for 1964-present, the Archives may have a microfilmed copy covering up to 1967. If you are looking for an Estate File number during this period, go to Step #3. If you do not know which Courthouse handled the estate, go to Step #4.

Step #2: Using The Indexes To Find An Estate File Before 1859

Before 1859, estates were dispersed either by the provincial Court of Probate or the local Surrogate Courts. The Court of Probate (Series RG 22-155) handled estates with property in two or more Districts valued over 5. The Surrogate Courts handled estates with property within one District. With the abolition of the Court of Probate in 1858, the Surrogate Courts assumed complete responsibility for estate actions.

Search the Archives Descriptive Database (Files and Items option) for the name of the deceased. Alternatively, search one or both of the following paper indexes in the Reading Room.

The Archives has created two surname Indexes of Estate Files before 1859.

Inventory 22, Appendix A1 (formerly Appendix F) (Court of Probate) and
Inventory 22, Appendix A25 (formerly Appendix H) (Surrogate Courts)

These Indexes are available on self-serve microfilm in the Reading Room or through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service. Look up the deceased's name in both Indexes, checking every possible spelling or typographic error.

If the deceased's name is in Inventory 22, Appendix A1 (Court of Probate), the microfilm reel number will be listed in the margin.

If the deceased's name is in Inventory 22, Appendix A25 (Surrogate Courts), record the County and year in which the court action took place.

  • If the "No." column is blank (e.g., Philip Wolf, Wellington Co., ____, 1843), the Estate Files for that County are arranged by surname or by the year and surname. Copy down the information given and go to Step #5.
  • If the "No." is given (e.g., Abner DeCow, Haldimand Co., #74, 1855), the Estate Files for that County are arranged by the Estate File number. Copy down the information given and go to Step #5.

If I know the County and number or year of a pre-1859 Estate File, can I go straight to the microfilm?

Yes. The GS 1 microfilm of most pre-1901 Estate Files are available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service. This microfilm is arranged by the County and then by the Estate File number.

Step #3: Using The Indexes To Find An Estate File After 1858

If you are looking for an Estate File between 1859-1900 from a County listed below, the Archives of Ontario has alphabetical Indexes in the Reading Room bookcases. If you find the deceased's name, record the Estate File number and year, then go to Step #5. If your County or District is not listed below or if you are looking for an Estate File after 1900, go to the next paragraph.

Brant
Bruce
Carleton
Dufferin
Elgin
Essex
Frontenac
Grey
Haldimand
Halton
Hastings

Huron
Kent
Lambton
Lanark
Leeds & Grenville
Lennox & Addington
Lincoln
Norfolk
Northumberland & Durham
Ontario
Peel

Perth
Peterborough
Prescott & Russell
Prince Edward
Renfrew
Simcoe
Stormont, Dundas &
Glenngarry
Victoria
Waterloo
Welland
Wellington

The Archives of Ontario has microfilmed most of the Surrogate Court Indexes up to 1967. In the Reading Room, consult the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels and look up the table for the appropriate County/District. Available indexes appear at the start of each table. Record the microfilm reel code for the appropriate index. Index microfilm is available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service.

Does every courthouse have a straightforward Index of its Estate Files?

Unfortunately, no. Because court files were stored in local Registry Offices, the Courthouse only kept a transcript of the Will in the on-site Register Books (see the glossary at the end of this Guide). Some Courthouses only listed the Estate File number in these Registers. If no Index is listed in the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels for a particular County, retrieve the microfilm reel of the Register for the appropriate years. The Estate File numbers will either be listed in the Index at the beginning/end of the volume or in the margin of the page indicated.

Were all estates dispersed shortly after the owner died?

No. Many estates were not dispersed until the spouse had also died or the children had come of age. Delays of several decades are not unusual.

Should I also record the year that the courts handled the estate?

Yes. Some Counties restarted sequentially numbering their Estate Files every January 1st. More populated Counties restarted every couple of decades when the Estate File numbers became too unwieldy.

Does every Index list the Estate File numbers in the same column?

No. Courthouses used different columns in their Indexes to list the Estate File number beside the deceased's name. See the header for each County/District in the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels if you have trouble determining which column to use.

Once you have found the deceased's name, record the corresponding Estate File number and, if given, the year of the court action and go to Step #5. If you do not find the deceased's name, go to Step #4.

Step #4: Finding Which Courthouse May Have Dispersed an Estate

If you are unsure which Courthouse dispersed the deceased's estate, check the Applications for Probate - Application Books and Index Books (Series RG 22-514) which list every 1859-1982 Estate File and the Courthouse which handled it.

If the Surrogate Court action occurred between 1859-1964, start with the Application for Probate - Index Books. Go to the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels and consult the Surrogate Court of Ontario table. The Indexes have been microfilmed on MS 404, Reels 1 to 5 and 20 to 31. Record which Index Book you need. This microfilm is available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service.

  • If you find the deceased's name, record the application number and year, then return to the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels. The Applications for Probate - Application Books have been microfilmed on MS 404, Reels 6 to 19 and 32 to 78. Record which Application Book you need. This microfilm is available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service.

    Look up the year then the application number. Amongst the information recorded will be the Courthouse where the application was made. Once you have this, go to Step #3 and look up the Estate File number. The Estate Files ca. 1793-1963 are available only at the Archives of Ontario; 1964-present, only at the Courthouse that handled the action (except York County, which the Archives has on microfilm up to 1967). Table #1 at the end of this Guide is a list of Courthouse addresses and telephone numbers.
  • If you do not find the deceased's name, that means the estate was never handled by the courts.

NOTE: The deceased's application number has no relation to his/her Estate File number. Application numbers are assigned by the Office of the Surrogate Clerk of Ontario; the Estate File numbers by the local Surrogate Court.

If the Surrogate Court action occurred between 1965-1982, start with the Applications for Probate - Application Books. Go to the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels and consult the Surrogate Clerk of Ontario table. These Application Books have been microfilmed on MS 404, Reels 79 to 85 and are in the cabinet in the Reading Room. Within each year, the applications are alphabetically arranged by the deceased's name and will list the Courthouse where the application was made.

  • If you find the deceased's name listed between 1965-1967, the Estate File will be at the Courthouse that handled the action (except York County which the Archives has on microfilm up to 1967). Table #1 at the end of this Guide is a list of Courthouse addresses and telephone numbers. However, go to Step #3 to see if the Archives has a microfilm copy of their Surrogate Court Indexes.
  • If you find the deceased's name listed between 1968-1982, the Estate File will be at the Courthouse that handled the action. Table #1 at the end of this Guide is a list of Courthouse addresses and telephone numbers.
  • If you do not find the deceased's name, that means their estate was never handled by the courts.

Step #5: Ordering Estate Files at the Archives of Ontario

Does the Estate File date from before 1931 (or for York County before 1968)?

These records have been microfilmed. Go to the User's Guide to Surrogate Courts and Surrogate Clerk Microfilm Reels and look up the appropriate County or District. The Estate File [Wills] entries appear below the Index and Register cards. Each row lists the year(s) covered and the number of the first and last Estate File on each reel. Record which reel you need.

The GS 1 microfilm of pre-1901 Estate Files, the MS 887 microfilm of 1901-1930 Estate Files, and the MS 584 microfilm of 1900-1930 York County Estate Files are available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service. The MS 584 microfilm of 1931-1967 York County Estate Files are available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room only.

If I know the County and number of a pre-1900 Estate File, can I go straight to the microfilm?

Yes. The GS 1 microfilm of pre-1901 Estate Files are available on self-serve reels in the Reading Room and through the Archives of Ontario Microfilm Interloan Service. The microfilm is arranged in the cabinets in the Reading Room by the County then by the Estate File number.

On the microfilm of the Estate Files, where do I find the Estate File number?

When Estate Files were folded and filed, a small wrapper was placed around the bundle. In most cases, only the wrapper will list the Estate File number. On most Estate File microfilm, the wrappers are smaller papers preceding the larger legal-sized pages of the file itself.

Does the Estate File date from 1931 to 1963?

These Estate Files records are held by the Archives but have not been microfilmed (except for York County which is available at the Archives on microfilm until 1967). They are stored at an off-site location and a minimum of one business day is required to retrieve them to the Archives of Ontario. Original files can only be viewed in the Archives' Reading Room in Toronto, Ontario. Copies can be ordered by telephone if you know which documents are required. Photocopying charges may apply.

Does the Estate File date from 1964-present?

You must go to the County or District Surrogate Court (currently, the Superior Court of Justice) that handled the deceased's estate. With the exception of York County records on microfilm until 1967, Estate Files are only available through that Courthouse. See Table #1 at the end of this Guide for a list of Courthouse addresses and telephone numbers.

Glossary of Legal Terms

Administrator/Administratrix: man/ woman appointed by the Courts to distribute the estate of a person who died without a Will.

Dependents' Relief Act: Ontario law permitting a spouse or child to obtain benefits from an estate if not provided for in the Will.

Encroach: paying out of money or assets held in trust to a beneficiary.

Escheat: appropriation by government of an estate without a Will or next-of-kin.

Estate File: contains all documents needed to grant Letters Probate or Letters of Administration. Includes the petition for probate or administration, the original Will, oaths of executors or administrators, tally of assets, and related evidence.

Executor/Executrix: man/ woman named in a Will to distribute the estate.

Index: organized by surname initial and date. Gives the number of the deceased's Estate File and/or the Register and page number.

Intestate: a person, or the act of dying, without a Will.

Letters of Administration; with Will Annexed: court grant appointing an administrator to distribute the estate of a person dying without a Will; the same in cases where the Executor named in the Will has since died.

Letters Probate: court grant confirming the Executor named in the Will. Includes the official transcript of the will.

Life interest: benefits awarded by a Will to be enjoyed only during the beneficiary's life.

Register: contains a transcription of the Will (if it exists) and the Court's copy of the grant of probate or administration. Some Counties had separate Probate and Administration Books (the Will is in the former).

Succession Duty Act (1892): Ontario law requiring duty be paid on estates. The Act dictates a full valuation be made of the estate with a beneficiaries roll listing their relation (if any) to the deceased. Proof of payment of all duties had to be filed with the Court before the estate could be finally probated.

Testate: a person, or the act of dying, with a Will.

Testator/Testatrix: man/ woman who makes a Will.

Will: a deposition made before witnesses, outlining the deceased's final wishes. May include later codicils (amendments). The original was filed in the Estate File and a transcription copied into the Register. Early courts allowed Wills to be registered "in anticipation" but this does not mean they were eventually probated.

TABLE #1: Ontario Courthouse Addresses and Telephone Numbers

This Table lists the Courthouse address and telephone numbers for each of Ontario's Counties and Districts.

Table #1: Ontario Courthouse Addresses and Telephone Numbers
County/ District Courthouse Address
Algoma

Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
426 Queen Street East
PO Box 550
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
P6A 1Z7
705-945-8000,ext. 450

Brant Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
70 Wellington Street
Brantford, Ontario
N3T 2L9
519-752-7828
Bruce Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
207 Cayley Street, PO Box 39
Walkerton, Ontario
N0G 2V0
519-881-1052
Carleton Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
161 Elgin Street, 2nd Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2K1
613-239-1560
Cochrane Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
149 Fourth Avenue
Cochrane, Ontario
P0L 1C0
705-272-4256
Dufferin Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
10 Louisa Street, 1st. Floor
Orangeville, Ontario
L9W 3P9
519-941-5802
Durham, United Counties of Northumberland & - see Northumberland & Durham
Durham, Regional Municipality of Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
605 Rossland Road East
P.O. Box 640
Whitby, Ontario
L1N 9G7
905-430-5800

Before 15/10/1973, known as County of Ontario, see Northumberland & Durham

Elgin Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
145 Curtis Street, P.O. Box 310, Station Main
St Thomas, Ontario
N5P 3T9
519-633-1720
Essex Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
245 Windsor Drive
Windsor, Ontario
N9A 1J2
519-973-6620
Frontenac Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
5 Court Street
Kingston, Ontario
K7L 2N4
613-548-6811
Glengarry - see Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry
Grenville - see Leeds
Grey Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
611 9th Avenue East
Owen Sound, Ontario
N4K 6Z4
519-370-2430
Haldimand Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
55 Munsee Street,
Cayuga, Ontario
N0A 1E0
905-772-3335
Haliburton - see Victoria
Halton Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
491 Steeles Avenue East
Milton, Ontario
L9T 1Y7
905-878-4165
Hamilton Wentworth - see Wentworth
Hastings Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
235 Pinnacle Street
Belleville, Ontario
K8N 3A9
613-962-9106
Huron Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
1 Court House Square,
Goderich, Ontario
N7A 1M2
519-524-2519
Kenora Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
216 Water Street,
Room 211
Kenora, Ontario
P9N 1S4
807-468-2842
Kent Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
425 Grand Ave. West
Chatham, Ontario
N7M 6M8
519-355-2200
Lambton Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
700 Christina Street North,
Sarnia, Ontario
N7V 3C2
519-333-2950
Lanark Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
43 Drummond Street East
Perth, Ontario
K7H 1G1
613-267-2021
Leeds &
Grenville
Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
41 Court House Square
Brockville, Ontario
K6V 7N3
613-341-2800
Lennox & Addington Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
41 Dundas Street West
Napanee, Ontario
K7R 1Z5
613-354-3845
Lincoln/Niagara North Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
59 Church Street,
1st floor
St. Catharines, Ontario
L2R 7N8
905-988-6200
Manitoulin Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
27 Phipps Street
Gore Bay, Ontario
P0P 1H0
705-282-2461
Middlesex Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
80 Dundas Street
London, Ontario
N6A 6A3
519-660-3000
Muskoka Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
3 Dominion Street North
Bracebridge, Ontario
P1L 2E6
705-645-8793
Niagara North - see Lincoln
Niagara South - see Welland
Nipissing Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
Court House
360 Plouffe Street,
North Bay, Ontario
P1B 9L5
705-495-8309
Norfolk Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
530 Queensway West
Level 3
Simcoe, Ontario
N3Y 4L2
519-426-6550
Northumberland
& Durham
Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
860 William Street
Cobourg, Ontario
K9A 3A9
905-372-3751

After 15/10/1973, see Durham

Ontario (pre- 1974 files) - see Durham
Ottawa - Carleton - see Carleton
Oxford Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
415 Hunter Street
P.O. Box 70
Woodstock, Ontario
N4S 7W5
519-539-6187
Parry Sound Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
89 James Street
Parry Sound, Ontario
P2A 1T7
705-746-4251
Peel Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
7755 Hurontario Street,
Brampton, Ontario
L6W 4T6
905-456-4744
Perth Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
17 George Street, West
Stratford, Ontario
N5A 1A6
519-271-1850
Peterborough Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
470 Water Street
Peterborough, Ontario
K9H 3M3
705-876-3816
Prescott &
Russell
Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
59 Court Street
L'Original, Ontario
K0B 1K0
613-675-4567
Prince Edward Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
44 Union Street
Picton, Ontario
K0K 2T0
613-476-6236
Rainy River Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
333 Church Street
Fort Francis, Ontario
P9A 1C9
807-274-5961
Renfrew Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
31 Riverside Drive
Pembroke, Ontario
K8A 8R6
613-732-8581
Simcoe Unified Family Court
114 Worsley Street
Barrie, Ontario
L4M 1M1
705-739-6111
Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
29 Second Street West
Cornwall, Ontario
K6J 1G3
613-933-7500
Sudbury Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
155 Elm Street
Sudbury, Ontario
P3C 1T9
705-564-7600
Thunder Bay Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
277 Camelot Street
2nd Floor
Thunder Bay, Ontario
P7A 4B3
807-343-2700
Timiskaming Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
393 Main Street,
PO Box 609
Haileybury, Ontario
P0J 1K0
705-672-3321
Victoria Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
440 Kent Street West
Lindsay, Ontario
K9V 6G8
705-324-1400
Waterloo Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
20 Weber Street
Kitchener, Ontario
N2H 1C3
519-741-3200
Welland/Niagara South Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
102 East Main Street
Welland, Ontario
L3D 3W6
905-735-0010
Wellington Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
74 Woolwich
Guelph, Ontario
N1H 3T9
519-824-4100
Wentworth Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
55 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario
L8P 1H4
905-645-5252
York
1967-1980 City of
Toronto 1980-present
Superior Court of Justice - Estates Division
330 University Avenue,
7th floor
Toronto, Ontario
M5G 1R7
416-326-2940
York, Regional Municipality
1980-present
Civil Office
Superior Court of Justice
50 Eagle Street West
Room 2025
Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 6B1
905-853-4809