Municipal Records at the Archives of Ontario


Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 209

The Archives of Ontario has a significant collection of local government records, ranging in date from approximately 1821 to 1971. Although the collection contains records from all regions of the province, it is by no means comprehensive and southern municipalities predominate. Lower tier municipalities, such as townships and villages, may be documented to some extent at the county level.

Municipal records can include minutes and by-laws, assessment and collectors rolls, and general financial and administrative records (see Definitions of municipal terms).

Many other archives in Ontario hold municipal records. The Municipal Archives Interest Group of the Archives Association of Ontario has produced a Directory of Municipal Archives which provides information on all repositories in the province that hold municipal records. Information on obtaining a copy of this Directory is found at the AAO web site.

How to Find Municipal Records at the Archives of Ontario

The Archives of Ontario holds originals and microfilmed records for the municipalities listed below. Click on the reference code to view a description of those records; alternatively, search the Archives Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions option).

Municipal Change and Evolution

The names of some municipalities, and their administrative levels, have changed considerably over the years. A permanent on-line exhibit on the Archives of Ontario web site, The Changing Shape of Ontario: a Guide to Boundaries, Names, and Regional Governments traces many of the highlights of municipal evolution.

Has the municipality you are looking for changed its name?

Sources available at the Archives for tracing the names of municipalities over time:

  • Successor and predecessor municipalities are mentioned in the detailed Administrative Histories provided for many of the municipalities listed below.
  • Series RG 19-20, Ontario Municipality Incorporation History files include historical background on all existing municipalities up to the early 1980s.
  • The annual Municipal Directory, produced by the Association of Municipal Managers, Clerks and Treasurers of Ontario (AMCTO), includes an excellent historical overview of amalgamations and name changes. The directory is available in the Archives’ Reading Room. It can also be ordered from the AMCTO; consult their web-site http://www.amcto.com/home.asp for ordering information.
  • There are numerous reference books on Ontario place names in the Archives’ Library, including Places in Ontario by Nick and Helma Mika and Place Names of Ontario by Alan Rayburn. Both are available in the Archives’ Reading Room.

Many places in Ontario were never incorporated as municipalities but included a post office or railway station. These places often are known by locally-recognized names. When trying to locate a hamlet, dispersed rural community or other small centre, consult the Gazetteer of Ontario (a copy is in the Archives’ Reading Room). Arranged alphabetically by geographic and settlement names, the Gazetteer will provide you with the township and county in which these small communities are located. With that information it should be possible to determine if relevant records are available.

Levels of Municipalities

Districts, 1793-1849

Districts were the original unit for municipal and judicial administration in Ontario. From 1793 to 1838 officials of the Districts were responsible for the assessment of real and personal property to undertake taxation for local improvements and district expenses. From 1793 to 1842, local Assessors reported to the magistrates of the Courts of Quarter Sessions of the Peace who were responsible for the municipal and judicial administration of the District. Beginning in 1842 District Councils were established to administer the collection of local taxes and to manage expenditures on local projects. The Districts were abolished under Ontario Statutes 1849, Chapter 78.

Districts, 1867-present

As the Province of Ontario expanded beyond the original boundaries of Upper Canada it established basic units of government for the thinly populated areas north of the settled areas. In the north, these Districts provide a basic administrative framework for municipal government similar to counties, though with less autonomy and of a far greater size.

Counties

Counties were originally the basis for ridings in the Legislative Assembly, but following the passage of the Baldwin Act, Canada Statutes 1849, Chapter 81, they assumed the role of upper tier municipality. Administratively townships, villages, and most towns and cities, form a part of the County. Counties are governed by councils composed of the Reeves and Deputy Reeves of the townships, villages, and non-separated towns and cities that form a part of the county.

Cities

As a unit of municipal government, cities pre-date both counties and townships (first incorporated city was Toronto in 1834). Traditionally, classification as a city has depended upon the size and density of a population. Cities are governed by elected councils consisting of a mayor and a number of councillors based on the population of the municipality. A number of cities in Ontario are classed as "separated", in that they no longer form a part of the County administration.

Towns

Like cities, a number of Towns were incorporated prior to the passage of the Baldwin Act reflecting significant urban concentrations within a geographic township. Towns are governed by elected councils consisting of a mayor and a number of councillors based on the population of the municipality. A number of towns in Ontario are classed as "separated", in that they no longer form a part of the County administration.

Villages

Like cities and towns, villages are incorporated when a community within a township reaches a certain population density that justifies the creation of a separate administrative structure. Villages are governed by elected councils consisting of a Reeve, Deputy Reeves and a number of councillors based on the population of the village. A village is part of the county administration but not part of the surrounding township.

Townships

Townships are incorporated to provide local municipal government for rural communities. Townships have a council consisting of an elected Reeve, Deputy Reeves, and councillors, the number of which depends on the population of the township. Townships have always formed a lower tier of government within the county.

Improvement Districts

Improvement Districts are a form of local government established in unorganized territory when a rural community reaches an established size. Although possessing similar powers to a Township, the Improvement Districts are administered by an appointed Board of Trustees which is responsible to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Police Villages

Police Villages were established under County By-Law which provided for the appointment of a Board of Police, for a specific area within the county, with limited powers to pass by-laws and regulations for public order and maintenance. They formed a part of the surrounding township for all other purposes. Police Villages had no elected council and no taxation powers.

Definitions of terms used in municipal records

Assessment Rolls

Assessment Rolls are used to record information about a resident's property in order to determine the amount of taxes payable on real property. The following information is recorded: land and building value; status as residence or business; religion (for school taxation purposes), age, and occupation of head of household; number of people living on the property. Other information is collected from time to time reflecting local or provincial requirements.

Board of Health

The Municipal Act requires local governments to establish Boards of Health to monitor and make recommendations to the municipal council regarding public health issues, including water quality and sanitation.

By-laws

By-laws are a form of legislation passed at the local level relating to matters under the jurisdiction of the municipality. For the most part they relate to land use, public order, road closings, some expenditures and similar issues. They are enforceable by the District Court although many classes of by-law have been subject to approval by the provincial government (eg. road-closings, capital expenditures and zoning by-laws).

Cash Books

Cash Books are used to record general cash transactions by the municipality, incoming and outgoing, relating to day to day business.

Clerk-Treasurer's Records

This is a generic term used to describe records such as Journals, Ledgers, Day Books, and Cash Books which record the day to day financial and administrative management of the municipality.

Collectors Rolls

These volumes record much of the same information found in Assessment Rolls, but provide additional information relating to payments and tax arrears.

Combined Rolls

Combined Rolls were introduced in many municipalities around the 1920s to replace the separate Assessment and Collectors Rolls.

Committee of Adjustment

These local committees were established to examine requests to make changes to properties or buildings that were in partial violation of existing planning by-laws and to negotiate agreements between neighbours over conflicts in these matters.

Council Minutes

Council Minutes record the decisions, sometimes with supporting documentation, reached by the Municipal Council.

Councillor

Municipal representative elected either at large or by ward.

Court of Revision

The hearings of this court relate to appeals against property tax assessments. In general the Court of Revision consist of the Mayor or Reeve and several councillors.

Debentures

Debentures are issued as a means of raising money, generally for the purposes of specific capital projects such as municipal roads or other types of infrastructure. Purchasers of debentures are paid back their initial investment plus a specified rate of interest over a period of years.

Journals

Journals are used to record day to day receipts and disbursements by the Municipality from all sources and in all forms.

Ledgers

Ledgers record credit and debit balances for the municipality and are used to maintain general control over the financial situation of the local government.

Legislative Franchise

Property/income qualifications for municipal elections remained in place in Ontario well into the 20th century. The Legislative Franchise rolls list individuals who qualified for the municipal franchise, with details extracted from the assessment rolls. The voters lists are a less detailed version of the same type of document.

Mayor

The elected head of a town or city.

Mother's Allowance Board

Provincial legislation allowed municipalities to establish local committees to assess applications for support by widowed or abandoned parents.

Municipality

Municipalities are incorporated organizations with broad powers to administer local affairs and to raise money for these purposes through direct taxation on property and through debentures. The Archives of Ontario has records relating to districts, counties, cities, towns, villages, townships and local improvement districts.

Old Age Pension Board

Provincial legislation allowed municipalities to establish local committees to assess applications for support by the elderly.

Reeve

The elected head of a village or township.

Statute Labour

Prior to the development of a comprehensive system of property taxes, repair work on bridges and roads was the responsibility of the fronting property owners. This work was described as statute labour. As an alternative, the property owner could make a cash payment in lieu of the physical work. Over time, the cash payments became the norm and the work was carried out by contract labour.

Ward

Electoral district within a municipality.

 

Making Contact

Ready and Willing

Although unable to do your land records research for you, our reference archivists are waiting to assist you. You may telephone or write to them by mail or email or - best of all - visit the Archives of Ontario.

Contact us

Telephone: 416-327-1600   Toll free (Ontario): 1-800-668-9933
Fax: 416-327-1999 Email: reference@ontario.ca
Address: Archives of Ontario, 134 Ian Macdonald Blvd., Toronto, ON M7A 2C5

Website

For information about the Archives holdings, as well as access to research guides and other customer service materials available through the Archives of Ontario, please visit our website www.ontario.ca/archives.

Customer Service and Research Guides

The Archives of Ontario has published a series of in-depth research guides on a variety of specific topics. For more information, please see Research Guides and Tools under Start Your Research on the home page of the Archives website.

 

List of Municipalities with Records at the Archives of Ontario

Click on a letter for a list of the municipalities starting with that letter of the alphabet; then click on the reference code to view a description and instructions for viewing the records. Alternatively, search the Archives Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions option) using the reference code or the name of municipality; for codes beginning with F, finding aids are also available in the Reading Room.

Please note that clicking on the municipality links below will open a new browser window.

Explanation of Reference Codes

F

(eg. F 1565 Township of Brunel fonds) - original records and/or microfilm created by the Archives of Ontario.

D

(eg. D 115 Village of Ayr diffusion material) - diffusion microfilm created by the Genealogical Society of Utah of records for which the Archives of Ontario does not hold the originals.

RG 21

formerly all municipal records had an RG 21 reference code. Some older microfilm and published material will use this old reference; however this listing uses current codes and titles.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Municipality
Ref. Code

A

Acton Town D 97
Adelaide Township D 98
Admaston Township D 99
Ailsa Craig Village D 100
Alice & Fraser Township D 101
Albemarle Township D 102
Albion Township D 103
Aldborough Township D 104
Alfred Township F 1510
Alvinston Village D 105
Amabel Township D 106
Amaranth Township F 1513
Ameliasburgh Township F 1514
Amherst Island Township F 1515
Amherstburg Town of D 107
Ancaster Township D 108
Anderdon Township D 109
Arran Township D 110
Artemesia Township F 1520
Arthur Township D 111
Athol Township F 1522
Augusta Township F 1523
Aurora Town D 113
Aylmer Town D 114
Ayr Village D 115
B
Bagot and Blythfield Township F 1527
Bathurst District F 1528
Bathurst Township F 1529
Bayham Township D 117
Beamsville Town D 118
Beaverton Village F 1532
Bedford Township D 119
Belle River Town D 120
Belleville City F 1535
Bentinck Township D 121
Bertie Township F 1537
Beverly Township D 123
Biddulph Township D 124
Binbrook Township D 125
Blanshard Township D 127
Blenheim Town D 128
Bolton Village F 1545
Bonfield Township F 1546
Bosanquet Township D 130
Bothwell Town D 131
Bowmanville Town F 1549
Brampton City D 132
Brant County F 1551
Brant Township F 1552
Brantford City D 133
Brantford Township F 1554
Bridgeburg Town F 1555
Brock Township F 1557
Brockville Town F 1558
Bromley Township F 1559
Brooke Township D 134
Bruce County F 1562
Bruce Township D 136
Brudenell and Lyndoch Township F 1564
Brunel Township F 1565
Burford Township F 1566
Burleigh and Anstruther Township F 1567
Burlington Town D 137
C
Caistor Township F 1569
Caistor Township D 138
Caledon Township D 139
Caledonia Village F 1572
Cameron Improvement District F 1573
Campbellford Town F 1574
Canborough Township F 1575
Cannington Village F 1576
Carleton County D 140
Caradoc Township D 141
Carrick Township D 142
Cartwright Township F 1580
Cayuga Village F 1581
Chaffey Township F 1582
Charlottenburgh Township F 1583
Charlotteville Township D 143
City of Chatham F 1585
Chatham Township D 144
Chinguacousy Township D 145
Chippewa Village D 146
Clarke Township F 1589
Clinton Township D 147
Clinton Village D 148
Cobalt Town F 1592
Cobourg Town F 1593
Colborne Village F 1594
Colchester Township D 150
Collingwood Township D 151
Conmee Township F 1597
Cornwall Town D 152
Cornwall Township F 1599
Courtright Village F 1601
Cramahe Township F 1602
Crowland Township F 1603
Crystal Beach Village F 1604
Culross Township D 154
D
Dalhousie & Sherbrooke Townships. D 155
Darlington Township F 1608
Dawn Township D 156
Delaware Township D 157
Delhi Town D 158
Derby Township D 159
Dereham Township F 1613
Dover Township F 1614
Drayton Village D 160
Dresden Town D 161
Drummond Township F 1617
Dundalk Village F 1618
Dundas Town D 162
Dunn Township F 1620
Dunnville Town F 1621
Dunwich Township D 164
Durham Town D 165
Dutton Village D 166
E
East Camden Township F 1625
East Flamborough Township D 167
East Garafraxa Township F 1627
East Gwillimbury Township F 1628
East Hawkesbury Township F 1629
East London Village D 168
East Luther Township F 1631
East Nissouri Township F 1632
East Oxford Township F 1633
East Sandwich Township D 169
East Toronto Village D 122
East Whitby Township F 1635
East Williams Township F 1636
East Zorra Township D 170
Eastern District F 1638
Eastnor Township D 171
Eastview Town F 1972
Egremont Township D 172
Ekfrid Township D 173
Elderslie Township D 174
Elgin County F 1643
Elizabethtown Township F 1644
Ellice Township D 176
Elma Township D 177
Elmira Village D 178
Elora Village D 179
Embro Village F 1649
Enniskillen Township D 180
Eramosa Township D 181
Ernestown Township F 1652
Esquesing Township D 183
Essex County F 1654
Essex Town D 184
Etobicoke Township D 182
Euphemia Township D 185
Euphrasia Township D 186
Exeter Town D 187
F
Fenelon Township F 1660
Fergus Town D 188
Fitzroy Township F 1662
Flos Township D 190
Fonthill Village F 1664
Forest Town D 192
Fort Erie Town F 1666
Front of Leeds and Lansdowne Township F 1668
Frontenac County F 1669
G
Gainsborough Township F 1670
Galt City D 195
Gananoque Town F 1672
Georgina Township D 196
Glencoe Village D 197
Glenelg Township D 198
Gloucester Township D 199
Goderich Town D 200
Gore District F 1679
Gosfield Township D 201
Goulbourn Township D 202
Grantham Township D 203
Grattan Township F 1683
Gravenhurst Town F 1684
Grey County F 1686
Griffith and Matawatchan Township F 1687
Grimsby Village F 1688
Grimsby Township F 1689
Guelph Township D 205
H
Hagersville Village F 1692
Haldimand County F 1693
Halton County F 1695
Hamilton City D 206
Hamilton Township F 1697
Harriston Town F 1698
Harwich Township F 1699
Hastings County F 1700
Hespeler Town F 1701
Hibbert Township D 208
Hillier Township F 1703
Hilton Township F 1704
Holland Township D 209
Holland Landing Village F 1706
Home District D 210
Hope Township D 211
Houghton Township F 1709
Howard Township F 1710
Hullett Township F 1711
Humberstone Township D 212
Humphrey Township F 1713
Huntley Township D 213
Huntsville Town F 1715
Huron County F 1716
Huron District
F 1718
I
Ingersoll Town F 1719
J
Jarvis Village F 1720
Johnstown District F 1721
K
Kennebec Township F 1723
Keppel Township D 215
Kincardine Township D 217
King Township D 218
Kingsville Town D 219
Kinloss Township D 220
Kitchener City D 221
Kitley Township F 1732
L
Lambton County D 222
Lanark County F 1734
Lanark Village D 223
Lancaster Township F 1737
LaSalle Town of F 1738
Leamington Town F 1739
Leeds and Grenville County F 1740
Lincoln County F 1741
Lindsay Township D 224
Listowel Town D 225
Lobo Township D 226
Lochiel Township F 1745
Logan Township D 227
London City D 193
London Township D 228
Longueuil Township F 1750
L'Orignal Village F 1751
Loughborough Township F 1752
Louth Township D 229
Lucan Village D 230
Luther Township D 231
M
Maidstone Township D 232
Malahide Township D 233
Malden Township D 234
Manvers Township F 1759
March Township D 235
Mariposa Township F 1761
Markham Township D 236
Markham Village D 237
Marlborough Township D 238
Maryborough Township D 239
Marysburgh Township F 1766
Matachewan Township F 1767
Matilda Township F 1768
McGillivray Township D 240
McKillop Township F 1771
McNab Township F 1772
Meaford Town D 241
Melancthon Township D 242
Merritton Village D 243
Mersea Township D 244
Metcalfe Township D 245
Middleton Township F 1779
Milton Town F 1780
Minto Township F 1781
Mitchell Town D 247
Mono Township F 1785
Montague Township F 1786
Moore Township F 1787
Mornington Township D 248
Morrison Township F 1789
Mosa Township D 249
Moulton Township F 1791
Moulton & Sherbrooke United Townships D 250
Mount Forest Town D 251
Mulmur Township D 252
Muskoka Township F 1795
N
Nassagaweya Township F 1796
Newboro Village D 253
Newboro Village F 1799
Newcastle District F 1800
Newcastle Village F 1801
Newmarket Town F 1803
Niagara District F 1804
Niagara Town F 1805
Niagara Township F 1806
Niagara Falls City D 256
Nichol Township D 257
Norfolk County F 1811
Normanby Township D 258
North Cayuga Township F 1813
North Colchester Township D 259
North Crosby Township D 260
North Dorchester Township D 261
North Dumfries Township D 262
North Easthope Township D 263
North Fredericksburgh Township F 1819
North Gosfield Township D 264
North Gower Township D 265
North Grimsby Township F 1822
North Marysburgh Township F 1824
North Monaghan Township F 1825
North Norwich Township F 1826
North Oxford Township F 1827
North Plantagenet Township F 1828
North Tilbury Township D 266
North Toronto Village D 255
North Walsingham Township F 1830
Northumberland and Durham Counties F 1831
Norwich Village F 1833
O
Oakland Township D 267
Oakville Town F 1835
Oil Springs Village D 268
Oneida Township F 1837
Onondaga Township D 269
Ontario County F 1839
Orangeville Town F 1840
Orford Township D 271
Orillia Town F 1842
Oshawa City F 1844
Osnabruck Township F 1845
Osprey Township D 272
Otonabee Township F 1847
Ottawa City D 274
Ottawa District F 1849
Oxford County F 1850
P
Pakenham Township F 1851
Paris Town D 275
Parkdale Village D 270
Parkhill Town D 276
Peel Township D 277
Pelee Township F 1855
Pelham Township F 1856
Pembroke Town F 1857
Percy Township F 1858
Perry Township F 1859
Perth Town F 1861
Petrolia Town F 1863
Pickering Township F 1864
Pickering Village D 63
Picton Town F 1865
Pilkington Township D 280
Pittsburgh Township F 1867
Plympton Township D 281
Point Edward Village F 1869
Port Colborne Town D 282
Port Dalhousie Town D 283
Port Dover Town F 1872
Port Hope Town F 1874
Port Perry Village F 1875
Port Rowan Village F 1876
Port Stanley Village D 285
Port Sydney Village F 1878
Prescott and Russell County F 1879
Preston Town F 1880
Prince Edward County F 1881
Proton Township F 1883
Puslinch Township D 286
R
Rainham Township F 1885
Raleigh Township F 1886
Ramsay Township F 1887
Reach Township F 1888
Rear of Leeds and Lansdowne Township. F 1889
Renabie Improvement District F 1890
Richmond Hill Town D 287
Rochester Township F 1893
Romney Township D 288
Roxborough Township D 289
Russell Township F 1896
Ryde Township F 1897
S
St. Catharines City D 290
St. Mary's Town D 291
St. Thomas City D 292
St. Vincent Township D 293
Saltfleet Township F 1902
Sarnia City F 1904
Sarnia Township D 294
Saugeen Township D 295
Scarborough Township D 296
Scott Township F 1908
Scugog Township F 1909
Seneca Township F 1910
Seymour Township F 1911
Sherbrooke Township F 1912
Shuniah Township F 1913
Smith Township D 297
Snowdon Township F 1916
Sombra Township D 298
Somerville Township D 299
Sophiasburgh Township F 1919
South Cayuga Township F 1920
South Colchester Township D 301
South Dorchester Township D 302
South Dumfries Township F 1923
South Easthope Township D 304
South Gosfield Township F 1925
South Grimsby Township F 1926
South Marysburgh Township F 1927
South Monaghan Township F 1928
South Norwich Township F 1929
South Plantagenet Township F 1930
South Sandwich Township F 1931
South Sherbrooke Township F 1932
South Walsingham Township F 1933
Southampton Town D 306
Southwold Township D 307
Stafford Township F 1936
Stamford Township D 308
Stephenson Township F 1938
Stisted Township F 1939
Stoney Creek Village F 1940
Stormont Dundas and Glengarry County F 1941
Storrington Township F 1942
Stouffville Village F 1943
Stratford City D 309
Strathroy Town D 310
Streetsville Town F 1946
Sturgeon Point Village F 1947
Sudbury Town F 1948
Sullivan Township F 1949
T
Talbot District F 1951
Teeswater Village D 313
Thamesville Village D 314
Thorah Township F 1954
Thornbury Town D 315
Thorold Town D 316
Thorold Township D 317
Timmins Town F 1958
Tisdale Township F 1959
Torbolton Township F 1960
Toronto City F 1961
Toronto City D 318
Toronto Township F 1962
Toronto Gore Township D 319
Townsend Township F 1964
Trafalgar Township F 1965
Trenton Town F 1966
Tuckersmith Township D 320
Tyendinaga Township F 1968
U
Usborne Township D 321
Uxbridge Town F 1970
Uxbridge Township F 1971
V
Vaughan Township D 322
Vespra Township F 1974
Victoria County F 1975
Vienna Village D 324
W
Wainfleet Township F 1978
Walkerton Town F 1979
Walkerville Town D 325
Wallaceburg Town D 326
Walpole Township F 1982
Walsingham Township F 1983
Warwick Township D 323
Waterdown Village D 327
Waterford Town F 1986
Waterloo City F 1987
Waterloo County F 1988
Waterloo Township F 1989
Watford Village D 330
Welland County F 1991
Welland Town F 1992
Wellesley Town D 332
Wellington County F 1994
Wentworth County F 1995
West Flamborough Township D 334
West Garafraxa Township D 335
West Gwillimbury Township F 1998
West Hawkesbury Township F 1999
West Nissouri Township D 337
West Oxford Township F 2002
West Sandwich Township F 2003
West Tilbury Township D 338
West Zorra Township F 2006
Western District F 2007
Westmeath Township F 2088
Westminster Township D 340
Weston Town D 341
Westport Village F 2010
Whitby Town F 2011
Whitby Township F 2012
Whitchurch Township F 2013
Williams Township D 339
Williams Township F 2015
Williamsburgh Township F 2016
Wilmot Township D 342
Windham Township D 343
Windsor City D 344
Wolfe Island Township F 2020
Wolford Township F 2021
Woodbridge Village D 345
Woodhouse Township F 2023
Woodstock City F 2024
Woolwich Township D 346
Worthington Township F 2026
Wyoming Village D 347
Y
Yarmouth Township D 348
York Township D 349
York County F 2074

[Return to top of Page]