|
Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 210
STEP 1: When Did the Divorce Take Place?
1867-1930: Only the Federal Parliament could grant a divorce in
Ontario. Couples had to have a private members' bill requesting their
divorce passed, usually without debate, through the Legislature. For a copy
of the Resolution or Act of Parliament, you must contact:
Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Senate of Canada
1310-4 Elgin Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4
613-992-2416
1931-1978: Since 1930, the Supreme Court of Ontario has had the power
to grant a divorce. The Archives of Ontario holds all 1931-1978 divorce
files (except for Wentworth County divorce files which are available from the Archives up to and including 1979).
- If the divorce occurred in York County (Toronto), please contact
the Archives of Ontario Reference Desk at 416-327-1582/3 or toll-free within
Ontario at 1-800-668-9933.
- If you only know the approximate year or location where the
divorce occurred, go to Step 2.
- If you know the County/District, the file number, and the year of
the divorce, go to Step 3.
1979-Present: You must go to the local Courthouse of the Superior Court of Justice where the divorce was filed. The divorce files are only
available through that Courthouse. See Table #2
at the end of this guide for a list of Courthouse addresses and
telephone numbers. However, to first find the file number and year of the
divorce case, go to Step 2.
[Return to top of page]
STEP 2: Use the Indexes to Find the Divorce File
To locate a divorce file, you need the file number, the year of the divorce, and the name of the County or District where the divorce took place. Depending on when the divorce occurred,
use the appropriate index below.
1931-May 1949: Go to the Archives or the appropriate Courthouse for the
Index. While divorce files for these years are only available through
the Archives, we do not have a province-wide index for them. The only
indexes that were created were the local procedure/judgement books of Supreme Court
Actions in each County or District Courthouse. While some of these books
are at the Archives of Ontario, most are still at the local Courthouse where the divorce was filed. For the location of these index books for specific
years, see Table #2 at the end of this
guide.
June 1949-1969: Go to the Archives for the Index. For these years,
there are Province-Wide Indexes to Applications for Decrees Absolute
(Series RG22-5816) listing all the Decrees Absolute applied for in Ontario.
The Indexes contain the names of the spouse seeking the divorce and the
defendant(s); the application date for the Decree Absolute; the
city where the application was filed; and the application number
issued by the court. This Index is available on microfilm in the Archives'
Main Reading Room, weekdays 8:15am-10:30pm and Saturday 10:00am-8:00pm. To
use the Index, follow the instructions below.
NOTE: Before 1985, the Decree Absolute (or Final Judgement) is
the document that actually grants the divorce. If an Application for a
Decree Absolute was not made or the Decree Absolute is not in the divorce
file, the divorce proceedings may not have been completed and the couple may still be legally married.
For the years June 1949-October 1964: Using Table #1
below, find the microfilm reel containing the Index for the year that the
Decree Absolute was applied for (usually the same year that the divorce was granted) and look up the married surname. Record the application date
of the Decree Absolute and the city where the divorce was granted. Unfortunately, the Index does not give
the file number which is necessary to order the Divorce File. For
this information, consult the "County/District" column of
Table #2 at the end of this guide to find which Courthouse
handled the divorce proceedings. The Table will say whether the index
for the year needed is at the Archives or still at the Courthouse.
For the years November 1964-1969: Using Table #1
below, find the microfilm reel containing the Index for the year that the
Decree Absolute was applied for (usually the same year that the divorce was
granted) and look up the married surname. Record the file number
(generally the number on the first line), the year, and the city
from the "Place-Writ No." column. Once this information is recorded, go
to Step 3.
(Available on microfilm in Archives' Main Reading Room)
TABLE #1: Province-Wide Indexes to Applications for Decrees Absolute
| Year(s) Indexed |
Microfilm Reel |
Year(s) Indexed |
Microfilm Reel |
| 1949-1951 |
MS 5077 |
1962 |
MS 5086 |
| 1951-1952 |
MS 5078 |
1963 |
MS 5087 |
| 1953-1954 |
MS 5079 |
1964 |
MS 5088 |
| 1955-1956 |
MS 5080 |
1965 |
MS 5089 |
| 1957 |
MS 5081 |
1966 |
MS 5090 |
| 1958 |
MS 5082 |
1967 |
MS 5091 |
| 1959 |
MS 5083 |
1968 |
MS 5092 |
| 1960 |
MS 5084 |
1969 |
MS 5093 |
| 1961 |
MS 5085 |
1970-1978* |
MS 5094 |
| * The Index for these years list divorce actions begun before June 1968 but where the Application for the Decree Absolute was not completed until 1970-1978. |
July 1968-Present: Call the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings. This is a Canada-wide index of divorces begun in July 1968. By providing the Registry with the names of the divorcing parties (including the wife's maiden name if known), they can supply the number of the Courthouse where the divorce took place, and the file number and year needed to retrieve the file. They can be reached at:
Department of Justice Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings
339 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0H8 613-957-4519
The pre-1979 divorce files are only available through the Archives of Ontario, post-1978 divorce files are only available through the local Courthouse where the divorce was filed. See Table #2 at the end of this Pathfinder for a list of Courthouse numbers, addresses and telephone numbers.
[Return to top of page]
STEP 3: Ordering a 1931-1978 Divorce File at the Archives of Ontario
Once you have the file number, the year when the divorce case began, and the County or District where the divorce took place, you have the information needed to order the divorce file. At this point, you should decide:
Do you need a certified copy of the Decree Absolute granting the divorce? If so, divorce files are stored at an off-site location and 5 to 7 working days are needed to retrieve, copy and certify a Decree Absolute. There is a $25.00 fee (plus GST and postage) for certification. The certified copy can be mailed to you or picked-up in person.
Do you need to see the entire file? If so, divorce files are stored at an off-site location and a minimum of 1 business day is needed to retrieve them to the Archives of Ontario. Original files can only be viewed in the Archives' Main Reading Room in Toronto, Ontario. Copies can be ordered by telephone if you know which documents are required. Photocopying charges may apply.
To request a divorce file, contact the Archives of Ontario as follows:
- Telephone: (416) 327-1600 or toll-free within Ontario at 1-800-668-9933..
- Fax: 416-327-1999.
- Mail:
Archives of Ontario
77 Grenville Street
3rd Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5S 1B3
- Email: reference@ontario.ca
[Return to top of page]
TABLE #2: Ontario Courthouse Locations and Supreme Court Indexes
This Table lists: Ontario's Counties and Districts; the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings' number for each Courthouse; each Courthouse's address and telephone number; and the location of the Supreme Court indexes.
- If the index for the County/District and year(s) that the divorce took place is listed as being at the Archives of Ontario ("At AO"), the Table below will give the Reference Code and title of the index that you need (e.g. Series RG22-1117, Judgement Books 1931-1954). The Reference Archivists in the Archives' Main Reading Room will show you how to order this material.
Once you have the file number, the year the divorce case began, and the County or District where the divorce took place, return to Step 3.
- If the index for the County/District and year(s) that the divorce took place is not at the Archives, contact the local Court Registrar for access to their indexes. You will need the file number and the year the divorce case began.
Pre-1979 divorce files are only available through the Archives of Ontario, while post-1978 divorce files (post-1979 in the case of Wentworth County) are only available through the local Courthouse of the Superior Court of Justice where the divorce was filed.
TABLE #2: Ontario Courthouse Locations and Supreme Court Indexes
| County/District |
Courthouse Address |
Indexes are located at: |
Algoma
Court #3539 |
Superior Court of Justice
426 Queen Street East
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
P6A 1Z7
705-945-8000, ext. 450 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Brant
Court #3505 |
Superior Court of Justice
70 Wellington Street
Brantford, Ontario
N3T 2L9
519-752-7828 |
At AO: Series RG22-1117
Judgement Books, 1931-1954
After 1954, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Bruce
Court #3544 |
Superior Court of Justice
207 Cayley Street Walkerton, Ontario
N0G 2V0 519-881-1052 |
At AO: Series RG22-1204
Procedure Book, 1932-1954
After 1954, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Carleton
Court #3528 |
Superior Court of Justice
161 Elgin Street, 2nd Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 2K1 613-239-1560 |
At AO: Series RG22-1304
Procedure Books, 1930-1971 |
Cochrane
Court #3510 |
Superior Court of Justice
149 Fourth Ave.
Cochrane, Ontario
P0L 1C0 705-272-4256 |
At AO: Series RG22-1404
Procedure Book, 1921-1938
After 1938, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Dufferin
Court #3527 |
Superior Court of Justice
10 Louisa Street, 1st Floor
Orangeville, Ontario
L9W 3P9
519-941-5802 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
| Durham, United Counties
of Northumberland & - see Northumberland &
Durham |
Durham
Court #3546 |
Superior Court of Justice
605 Rossland Road East
Whitby, Ontario
L1N 9G7 905-430-5800 |
At AO: Series RG22-1604
Procedure Books, 1931-1970
Series RG22-1603
Divorce Procedure Books, 1971-1976
After 1976, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Elgin
Court #3537 |
Superior Court of Justice
145 Curtis Street
PO Box 310, Station Main
St. Thomas, Ontario
N5P 3T9 519-633-1720 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Essex
Court #3547 |
Superior Court of Justice
245 Windsor Avenue
Windsor, Ontario
N9A 1J2 519-973-6620 |
At AO: Series RG22-1804
Procedure Books/Indexes, 1931-1978 |
Frontenac
Court #3519 |
Unified Family Court
469 Montreal Street
Kingston, Ontario
K7K 3H9 613-548-6789 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
| Glengarry - see Stormont,
Dundas & Glengarry |
| Grenville - see Leeds
|
Grey
Court #3529 |
Superior Court of Justice
611- 9th Avenue East
Owen Sound, Ontario
N4K 6Z4 519-370-2430 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Haldimand
Court #3507 |
Superior Court of Justice
55 Munsee Street
Cayuga, Ontario
N0A 1E0 905-772-3335 |
At AO: Series RG22-2104
Procedure Book, 1931-1967
After 1967, consult the Province-Wide Indexes to Applications
for Decrees Absolute (Step 2 in this guide). |
| Haliburton - see Victoria
|
Halton
Court #3524 |
Superior Court of Justice
491 Steeles Avenue East
Milton, Ontario
L9T 1Y7 905-878-4165 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
| Hamilton-Wentworth - see
Wentworth |
Hastings
Court #3502 |
Superior Court of Justice
235 Pinnacle Street
Belleville, Ontario
K8N 3A9 613-962-9106 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Huron
Court #3513 |
Superior Court of Justice
1 Courthouse Square Goderich, Ontario
N7A 1M2 519-524-2519 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Kenora
Court #3518 |
Superior Court of Justice
216 Water Street, Room 211
Kenora, Ontario
P9N 1S4 807-468-2842 |
At AO: Series RG22-2504
Procedure Books, 1931-1959
After 1959, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Kent
Court #3508 |
Superior Court of Justice
425 Grand Ave. West
Chatham, Ontario
N7M 6M8 519-355-2200 |
At AO: Series RG22-2604
Procedure Books, 1931-1959
After 1959, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Lambton
Court #3538 |
Superior Court of
Justice
700 Christina Street North
Suite 106
Sarnia, Ontario
N7V 3C2 519-333-2950 |
Contact the Reference Archivist for further information. |
Lanark
Court #3532 |
Superior Court of
Justice
43 Drummond Street East
Perth, Ontario
K7H 1G1 613-267-2021 |
Contact the Reference Archivist for further information. |
Leeds & Grenville
Court #3506 |
Superior Court of Justice
41 Court House Square
Brockville, Ontario
K6V 7N3
613-345-2800 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Lennox & Addington
Court #3525 |
Unified Family Court
41 Dundas Street West
Napanee, Ontario
K7R 1Z5
613-354-3845 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Lincoln
Court #3536 |
Superior Court of Justice
59 Church Street, 1st Floor
St. Catharines, Ontario
L2R 7N8 905-988-6200 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Manitoulin
Court #3514 |
Superior Court of Justice
27 Phipps Street
Gore Bay, Ontario
P0P 1H0 705-282-2461 |
Contact the Reference Archivist for further information. |
Middlesex
Court #3522 |
Unified Family Court
80 Dundas Street
Unit A
London, Ontario
N6A 6A3
519-660-3044 |
At AO: Series RG22-3304
Procedure Books, 1931-1975
Series RG22-3308
Divorce Procedure Book, 1976
After 1976, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Muskoka
Court #3503 |
Superior Court of Justice
3 Dominion Street North
Bracebridge, Ontario
P1L 2E6 705-645-8793 |
Contact the Reference Archivist for further information. |
| Niagara North - see
Lincoln |
| Niagara South - see
Welland |
Nipissing
Court #3526 |
Superior Court of Justice
360 Plouffe Street
North Bay, Ontario
P1B 9L5 705-495-8309 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Norfolk
Court #3540 |
Superior Court of Justice
50 Frederick Hobson VC Drive
Simcoe, Ontario
N3Y 4L5
519-426-6550 |
At AO: Series RG22-3604
Procedure Books, 1931-1965
After 1965, consult the Province-Wide Indexes to Applications
for Decrees Absolute (Step 2 in this guide). |
Northumberland &
Durham
Court #3509 |
Superior Court of Justice
860 William Street
Cobourg, Ontario
K9A 3A9 905-372-3751 |
At AO: Series RG22-3723
Procedure Books, 1931-1969 |
| Ontario (Pre-1974 files)
- see Durham |
| Ottawa-Carleton - see
Carleton |
Oxford
Court #3548 |
Superior Court of Justice
415 Hunter Street, PO Box 70
Woodstock, Ontario
N4S 7W5 519-539-6187 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Parry Sound
Court #3530 |
Superior Court of Justice
89 James Street
Parry Sound, Ontario
P2A 1T7 705-746-4251 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Peel
Court #3504 |
Superior Court of Justice
7755 Hurontario Street
Brampton, Ontario
L6W 4T6 905-456-4744 |
At AO: Series RG22-4104
Procedure Books, 1931-1966
After 1966, consult the Province-Wide Indexes to Applications
for Decrees Absolute (Step 2 in this guide). |
Perth
Court #3541 |
Superior Court of Justice
17 George Street West
Stratford, Ontario
N5A 1A6 519-271-1850 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Peterborough
Court #3533 |
Superior Court of Justice
470 Water Street
Peterborough, Ontario
K9H 3M3 705-876-3816 |
All files are arranged alphabetically by
defendant name. |
Prescott & Russell
Court #3523 |
Superior Court of Justice
59 Court Street, 2nd Floor
L'Orignal, Ontario
K0B 1K0 613-675-4567 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Prince Edward
Court #3534 |
Superior Court of Justice
44 Union Street
Picton, Ontario
K0K 2T0 613-476-6236 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Rainy River
Court #3512 |
Superior Court of Justice
333 Church Street
Fort Frances, Ontario
P9A 1C9 807-274-5961 |
At AO: Series RG22-4604
Procedure Book, 1931-1934
After 1934, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Renfrew
Court #3531 |
Superior Court of Justice
31 Riverside Drive
Pembroke, Ontario
K8A 8R6 613-732-8581 |
At AO: Series RG22-4704
Procedure Books, 1934-1969 |
Simcoe
Court #3501 |
Unified Family Court
114 Worsley Street
Barrie, Ontario
L4M 1M1 705-739-6111
ext. 5062 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Stormont, Dundas
& Glengarry
Court #3511 |
Superior Court of Justice
29 Second Street West
Cornwall, Ontario
K6J 1G3 613-933-7500 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Sudbury
Court #3542 |
Superior Court of Justice
155 Elm Street
Sudbury, Ontario
P3C 1T9 705-564-7600 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Thunder Bay
Court #3535 |
Superior Court of Justice
277 Camelot Street
2nd Floor
Thunder Bay, Ontario
P7C 4B3
807-343-2700
807-343-2710 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Timiskaming
Court #3516 |
Superior Court of Justice
393 Main Street
PO Box 609
Haileybury, Ontario
P0J 1K0 705-672-3321 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes |
Victoria
Court #3521 |
Superior Court of Justice
440 Kent Street West
Lindsay, Ontario
K9V 6G8 705-324-1400 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Waterloo
Court #3520 |
Superior Court of Justice
20 Weber Street East
Kitchener, Ontario
N2H 1C3 519-741-3200 |
At AO: Series RG22-5405
Judgement Books, 1929-1949
Series RG22-5404
Procedure Books, 1949-1968
After 1968, contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Welland
Court #3545 |
Superior Court of Justice
102 East Main Street
Welland, Ontario
L3D 3W6 905-735-0010 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
Wellington
Court #3515 |
Superior Court of Justice
74 Woolwich Street
Guelph, Ontario
N1H 3T9 519-824-4100 |
Contact the Courthouse for indexes. |
| Wentworth Court #3517
(Supreme Court of Ontario)
Court #3549
(Unified Family Court) |
Filed before July 1979:
Superior Court of Justice
45 Main Street East
Hamilton, Ontario
L8P 1H4 905-645-5252
Filed after June 1979:
Unified Family Court
55 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario
L8P 1H4 905-645-6250 |
At AO: Series RG22-5704
Procedure Books, 1927-1970
After 1970, contact the relevant Courthouse at left for
indexes. |
York
Court #3543 |
Family Law Office
393 University Avenue
10th Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M5G 1E6 416-327-5542 |
Consult with a Reference Archivist for more
information. |
[Return to top of page] |