Finding York County Divorce Files

Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 211

Divorce files are typically filed with the county courthouse where the divorce hearing took place. They may include the petition for divorce, affidavits, the degree nisi and the decree absolute (or judgement absolute). Some files may also include examinations, documents relating to child custody, copies of marriage certificates and photographs of the people involved. For divorces occurring elsewhere in Ontario, see Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario.

STEP 1: To Order a Divorce File

 

STEP 1: Finding a York County Divorce File

In order to find a divorce file, you need to know the date that the divorce proceedings began. If you already know the date, go to Step 2.

For divorces that were granted between 1867 and 1930:

Until 1930, only the Federal Parliament could grant a divorce in Ontario through a Resolution or an Act of Parliament. Couples had to have a private member’s bill (a bill that a Member of Parliament presented to the House of Commons) requesting that their divorce be granted.

All divorces granted by the Federal Parliament are indexed on the Library and Archives Canada's website. Divorces granted between 1867 and 1930 are also indexed in a book titled Index to Canadian Parliamentary Divorces, 1867-1930, by J. Brian Gilchrist and Nancy J. Duffy. This book is available in the Archives of Ontario’s Reading Room and in major public libraries.

Resolutions and Acts of the Federal Parliament have been published, and most major libraries should hold a copy of them; see the Library and Archives Canada's website for further information. For a certified copy of the Resolution or Act of Parliament for a divorce (needed for legal purposes), you must contact:

Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Senate of Canada
1310-40 Elgin Street
Ottawa ON K1A 0A4
613-992-2416

For divorces that were granted between 1931 and 1978:

Since 1930, the Supreme Court of Ontario has had the power to grant a divorce. The Archives of Ontario holds all 1931–1978 York County divorce files. Consult the Archives’ Indexes to York County Final Divorce Judgements as listed in Table 1 below.

Table 1: Supreme Court Registrar’s Office Indexes to York County Final
Divorce Judgements Series RG 22-5815
(available on microfilm in the Archives’ Reading Room)

Year Divorce Granted

Microfilm Reel

Year Divorce Granted

Microfilm Reel

1931-1940 MS 5041 1967-1968 MS 5052
1941-1945 MS 5042 1969-1970 MS 5053
1946-1949 MS 5043 1971 MS 5054
1950-1952 MS 5044 1972 MS 5055
1953-1954 MS 5045 1973 MS 5056
1955-1956 MS 5046 1974 MS 5057
1957-1958 MS 5047 1975 MS 5058
1959-1960 MS 5048 1976 MS 5059
1961-1962 MS 5049 Dec. 1976-1977 MS 5060
1963-1964 MS 5050 1978 MS 7194
1965-1966 MS 5051    



Entries in the index are arranged first by year, then by the initial letter of the surname, and then by the exact date that the Decree Absolute/Judgement Absolute was granted.

If you find the couple's name, record the:


• file number and year that the divorce case began from the “Writ. No.” column (e.g., 1234/70 = divorce file # 1234 of year 1970); and
• date that the Decree Absolute/Judgement Absolute was granted; and
go to STEP 2.

If you do NOT find the couple's name:

It may be because they were not divorced in York County. To check if they ever petitioned for a divorce in York County, go to STEP 3. If the divorce occurred elsewhere in Ontario, consult Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario.

There is also a small possibility that the divorce was granted through a resolution or act of Parliament. See the section on pre-1930 divorces above for more information.

For divorces that began after June 1968:

Contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings (CDRP). The CRDP, which maintains a Canada-wide index of divorces, was established in July 1968. If you provide it with the full name and birth date of one of the parties, the full name of the other party, and the approximate date of the divorce, the CDRP can supply the number of the courthouse where the divorce took place, and the file number and year that you need to get the divorce file, as well as the date the divorce was granted. Contact the CDRP at:

Department of Justice
Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings
339 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0H8 613-957-4519

If you contact the CDRP by telephone, you will be asked to leave a voice-mail message and a representative will return your call.

If you are looking for another person’s divorce file, you must use the RG 22-5814 York Judicial District Indexes of Divorce Petitions at the Archives of Ontario. For each year, entries in the index are arranged by the first letter of the couple’s surname. If you find the divorce case, note the file and year.

For divorces that were granted between 1979 to the present:

In 1980, the York County Judicial District was dived into two districts, Toronto and York Region (Newmarket). Divorce files from 1979 to May 1980, as well as the Toronto divorces after that date, are in the custody of the Superior Court of Justice in Toronto. York Region divorces files after May 1980 are in the custody of the Superior Court of Justice in Newmarket. Before contacting the court, contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings (see above, “divorces that began after June 1968”) for the file number and year that the divorce case was started. Please consult the Appendix at the end of this guide for more information.

 

STEP 2: Ordering a York County Divorce File From the Archives of Ontario

The Archives has the files for divorces granted from 1931 to 1978.

Once you have the file number, the year when the divorce case began and the date it was granted, you have the information to order the divorce file. At this point, you should decide what documents you need from the Archives.

Do you need a certified copy of the Decree Absolute or Judgement Absolute granting the divorce?

Microfilmed judgements for York County are available in the Reading Room for the years 1959 to 1978. If you need only a copy of a decree absolute or a judgement absolute, speak to the reference staff about how to access it. Otherwise, the Archives’ York County divorce files are stored at an off-site location and it can take up to 10 business days to retrieve copy and certify a Decree Absolute (or Judgement Absolute). There is a $25.00 fee (plus GST) for certification. The certified copy can be mailed to you or picked up in person.


OR

Do you need to see the entire file?

The Archives’ York County divorce files are stored at an off-site location. It takes at least one business day to retrieve them. Please note that original files can only be viewed only in the Archives’ Reading Room in Toronto. Copies can be ordered by telephone if you know which documents you need. There will be a charge for photocopying.

Completing an Archives Records Request for records stored off-site:

For divorces started between 1931 and June 1968:

Fill out and give the reference staff a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5800 Supreme Court Central Office Action Files. Make sure to include the file number, the year and the names of the parties involved.

For divorces started between July 1968 and 1978:

Fill out a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5802 York Judicial District Divorce Petition Files. Make sure to include the file number, the year and the names of the parties involved and speak to the reference staff before submitting the slip for retrieval.

To request a divorce file from a distance, contact the Archives of Ontario; contact information appears at the end

STEP 3: What to Do if You Can't Find a York County Divorce Record

To find out if either spouse ever petitioned for a divorce in York County, follow these steps:

For divorces started between 1931 and May 1968:

1. Check the microfilm copy of the Index to Civil Actions and City Suits as listed in Table 2 below.

Table #2: Court of Chancery and Supreme Court Central Office
indexes to civil actions and city suits - Series RG 22-5809
(Available on microfilm in the Archives' Reading Room)
Year Case Started Microfilm Reel Year Case Started Microfilm Reel
1930-1932 MS 2615 1957-1958 MS 2623
1933-1935 MS 2616 1959-1960 MS 2627
1936-1938 MS 2617 1961-1962 MS 4088
1939-1942 MS 2618 1963-1964 MS 4088
1943-1946 MS 2619 1965-1966 MS 4089
1947-1950 MS 2620 1967 MS 4089
1951-1953 MS 2621 1968 MS 4709
1954-1956 MS 2622    



For the years 1930 to 1968, the entries on the microfilm reel are arranged in alphabetical order, based on the first letter of the plaintiff’s surname. In later years, the names are placed in indented columns in alphabetical order, based on the first vowel that occurs after the first letter of the name, and then by the file number. This index includes all Superior Court civil actions, not just divorces. It is easy to find divorce cases because, in most (but not all) cases, the "Plaintiff" and "Defendant" columns will have the same surname.

2. If you find the divorce case, write down the file number (located at the right of the entry), and the year (located at the top of the page).

3. These files are stored off-site. It takes at least one business day to retrieve them. Fill out and give the reference staff a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5800 Supreme Court Central Office Action Files, noting the file number, year and the names of the parties involved.

For divorces that began between June 1968 and 1978 (and York Region divorces, June 1980-1984):

1. Contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings (CRDP) by telephone (613-957-4519) or by fax (613-941-2520) to confirm whether the case was started and to obtain the file number, county or district and the year the divorce case began. (Please see above for additional CDRP contact information.)

OR

Submit a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5814 York Judicial District Indexes of Divorce Petitions, noting the year the divorce case was started. For each year, entries in the index are arranged by the first letter of the couple’s surname. If you find the divorce case, note the file and year..

2. Complete a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5802 York Judicial District Divorce Petition Files, and list the appropriate file number and year. Speak to the reference staff before submitting the form for retrieval. These files are stored off-site. It takes at least one business day to retrieve them.

 

Making Contact

Ready and Willing

Although unable to do your land records research for you, our reference archivists are waiting to assist you. You may telephone or write to them by mail or email or - best of all - visit the Archives of Ontario.

Contact us

Telephone: 416-327-1600   Toll free (Ontario): 1-800-668-9933
Fax: 416-327-1999 Email: reference@ontario.ca
Address: Archives of Ontario, 134 Ian Macdonald Blvd., Toronto, ON M7A 2C5

Website

For information about the Archives holdings, as well as access to research guides and other customer service materials available through the Archives of Ontario, please visit our website www.ontario.ca/archives.

Customer Service and Research Guides

The Archives of Ontario has published a series of in-depth research guides on a variety of specific topics. For more information, please see Research Guides and Tools under Start Your Research on the home page of the Archives website.


 

Appendix: Locating York County divorce files

The date the
divorce was granted

Location of divorce files

1867-1930
Only the Federal Parliament could grant a divorce.

Consult the Index to Parliamentary Divorces, 1867-1930, compiled and edited by J. Brian Gilchrist and Nancy J. Duffy.

or

the Library and Archives Canada's website

To obtain a copy:

Consult the the Library and Archives Canada's website

Or write to

Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
1310-40 Elgin Street
Ottawa, ON, K1A 0A4
613-992-2416

1931-1978
Supreme Court of Ontario began to grant divorces in 1931.

 

Until July, 1969, some divorces were granted by the Federal Parliament

Divorces granted by the Court

Archives of Ontario (stored off-site; retrieval takes at least one business day)

Divorces granted by Parliament

See the information on 1867-1930 files above

1979- May 1980
Files are in the custody of the Court.

Family Law Office
Superior Court of Justice
393 University Avenue, 10th Floor
Toronto, ON, M5G 1E6
416-327-5542

June 1980 - present
On June 1, 1980, York County was divided into two judicial districts:

City of Toronto (formerly Metropolitan Toronto):
Family Law Office, Superior Court of Justice
393 University Avenue., 10th Floor
Toronto, ON, M5G 1E6
416-327-5542

Regional Municipality of York:
Civil Office, Superior Court of Justice
50 Eagle Street West, Room 2025
Newmarket, ON, L3Y 6B1
905-853-4809

*Before contacting the Superior Court of Justice for post–1979 files, contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings for the file number and year the divorce case was started. Telephone: 613-957-4519 or Fax: 613-941-2520 (See Getting Started section, Step 1 of this Research Guide.)