Government of Ontario Archives of Ontario
| Skip Navigation Menu | Ministry of Government Services home page. Government of Ontario Central Web Site. Contact us for questions and comments. Search the Ministry of Government Services Web site Site map for Archives of Ontario Website. Version français de cette page.
About the Ministry Services for Business Services for Individuals Employment in the Ontario Public Services Information Technology Archives of Ontario Related Sites
Location: Ministry of Government Services > Archives of Ontario > Services for the Public > Guides > Finding York County Divorce Files


Finding York County Divorce Files

Research Guides - Side Banner      

Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 211

Divorce files typically include the petition for divorce, affidavits, decrees nisi and absolute. Some files may also include examinations, documents relating to child custody, copies of marriage certificates, and photographs of the people involved.

For divorces occurring elsewhere in Ontario, consult Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario.

The chart below shows you where to find a York County divorce file.

When did the divorce take place? Location of divorce files
1867-1930
Only the Federal Parliament could grant a divorce.
Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel
Room 304, 3rd Floor, 222 Queen Street
Ottawa, ON, K1A 0A4
613-992-2416
1931-1978
Supreme Court of Ontario began to grant divorces in 1931.
Divorce files are available at the Archives of Ontario but are stored off-site (retrieval requires a minimum of 1 business day).

A certified copy of the Decree Absolute (final divorce judgement) is often sufficient for legal proof of the divorce (for remarriage, receipt of welfare, pension, passport or citizenship).

  • If you only need the Decree Absolute, refer to the guide How to Find a York County Decree Absolute, available in the Main Reading Room.
  • If you need to view the entire divorce file, go to STEP 1.
1979- May 1980 Files are in the custody of the Court. Family Law Office
Superior Court of Justice
393 University Avenue, 10th Floor
Toronto, ON, M5G 1E6
416-327-5542
June 1980 - present On June 1, 1980, York County was divided into two judicial districts: City of Toronto (formerly Metropolitan Toronto):
Family Law Office, Superior Court of Justice
393 University Avenue., 10th Floor
Toronto, ON, M5G 1E6
416-327-5542

Regional Municipality of York:
Civil Office, Superior Court of Justice
50 Eagle Street West, Room 2025
Newmarket, ON, L3Y 6B1
905-853-4809

Before contacting the Superior Court of Justice for post-1979 files, inquire at the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings for the file number and year the divorce case was started:
telephone: 613-957-4519 or fax: 613-941-2520.

STEP 1: To Order a Divorce File

You need to know:

the file number, and
Blue arrow
If you already have this information,
go to STEP 2.
the year that the divorce case began

This information is available from either of the following sources:

  • For divorces which began after June 1968:

    Contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings: Telephone: 613-957-4519 Fax: 613-941-2520

    Provide the Registry with the names of the divorcing parties, the approximate year of the divorce, where the divorce took place (York County), and, if known, the dates of birth and the year of marriage; they can supply the file number and year needed to retrieve the file.

  • For divorces granted from 1931-1978:

    Consult the Supreme Court Registrar's Office indexes to York County final divorce judgements (judgements absolute and decrees absolute) as listed in Table #1 below.

 

Table #1: Supreme Court Registrar's Office indexes to York County final divorce judgements - Series RG 22-5815 (Available on microfilm in the Archives' Main Reading Room)
Year Divorce Granted Microfilm Reel Year Divorce Granted Microfilm Reel
1931-1940 MS 5041 1967-1968 MS 5052
1941-1945 MS 5042 1969-1970 MS 5053
1946-1949 MS 5043 1971 MS 5054
1950-1952 MS 5044 1972 MS 5055
1953-1954 MS 5045 1973 MS 5056
1955-1956 MS 5046 1974 MS 5057
1957-1958 MS 5047 1975 MS 5058
1959-1960 MS 5048 1976 MS 5059
1961-1962 MS 5049 Dec. 1976-1977 MS 5060
1963-1964 MS 5050 1978 MS 7194
1965-1966 MS 5051    

Entries in the index are arranged first by year, then by the initial letter of the surname, and then by the exact date that the Judgement/Decree Absolute was granted.

If you find the couple's name, record the:

  • file number and year that the divorce case began from the "Writ. No." column (e.g., 1234/70 = divorce file # 1234 of year 1970), and the
  • date that the Judgement/Decree Absolute was granted, then go to STEP 2.

If you do NOT find the couple's name, it may be because they were not divorced in York County. To check if they ever petitioned for a divorce in York County, go to STEP 3. If the divorce occurred elsewhere in Ontario, consult Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario.

[Return to top of page]

STEP 2: Ordering a York County Divorce File

Divorce files can only be viewed in the Archives' Main Reading Room. They are stored off-site and require a minimum of 1 business day to retrieve.

  • For divorces started 1931- June 1968: At the Archives of Ontario fill out a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5800 Supreme Court Central Office action files, noting the specific file number, year, and the names of the parties involved. Submit the Slip to a Reference Archivist, who will add off-site location information.
  • For divorces started July 1968 -1978: Submit a Records Request Slip in the Main Reading Room at the Archives of Ontario for RG 22-5802 York Judicial District divorce petition files, noting the appropriate file number and year, and the names of the parties involved. Consult the section for York County in Inventory 22, Volume 22, Appendix B2, Supreme Court Post-1968 Divorce Files (one of the blue Government Records Inventory binders). Follow the instructions "How to Order Records" at the front of the binder.
Do you require a certified copy from the divorce file?

5 to 7 business days are needed to retrieve, copy, and certify the document(s). The Archives must receive payment of $25.00 (plus GST and postage) before the certified copy will be sent out. Photocopying charges may also apply.

NOTE: Before 1985, the Decree Absolute (or Judgement Absolute) is the document that actually grants the divorce (it is now called the Divorce Certificate). If an Application for a Decree Absolute was not made or if the Decree Absolute is not in the divorce file, the divorce proceedings were not completed and the couple may still be legally married. To confirm marital status, contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings by telephone: 613-957-4519 or by fax: 613-941-2520.

If you are unable to visit our Main Reading Room: You can order photocopies of the entire divorce file or of specific documents within the file. Indicate the file number and year, the names of the divorcing party, which documents are to be copied, and if a certified copy is required.
  • Telephone: 416-327-1600 or toll-free within Ontario at 1-800-668-9933
  • Fax: 416-327-1999
  • Write: Archives of Ontario, 77 Grenville Street, 3rd Floor, Toronto, ON, M5S 1B3
  • Email: reference@ontario.ca

or consult these online documents:

[Return to top of page]

STEP 3: What to Do if You Can't Find a York County Divorce Record

To determine if either spouse ever petitioned for a divorce in York County, follow these steps:

For divorces started 1931- May 1968:

  1. Check the microfilm copy of the Court of Chancery and Supreme Court Central Office indexes to civil actions and city suits (Series RG 22-5809), listed in Table #2 below.

     

    Table #2: Court of Chancery and Supreme Court Central Office indexes to civil actions and city suits - Series RG 22-5809 (Available on microfilm in the Archives' Main Reading Room)
    Year Case Started Microfilm Reel Year Case Started Microfilm Reel
    1930-1932 MS 2615 1957-1958 MS 2623
    1933-1935 MS 2616 1959-1960 MS 2627
    1936-1938 MS 2617 1961-1962 MS 4088
    1939-1942 MS 2618 1963-1964 MS 4088
    1943-1946 MS 2619 1965-1966 MS 4089
    1947-1950 MS 2620 1967 MS 4089
    1951-1953 MS 2621 1968 MS 4709
    1954-1956 MS 2622    

    For each year, entries on the reel are arranged first by the first letter of the surname of the plaintiff (in later years the names are placed in indented columns based on the first vowel that occurs after the first letter of the name), and then by the file number. This index includes all Superior Court civil actions (not just divorces); divorce cases can be spotted easily because, in most cases, the "Plaintiff" and "Defendant" columns will have the same surname (e.g., Fox vs. Fox).

  2. If you find the divorce case, write down - the file number (found to the right of the entry), and - the year (found at the top of the page).
  3. These files are stored off-site; retrieval will take a minimum of 1 business day. At the Archives of Ontario fill out a Records Request Slip for RG 22-5800 Supreme Court Central Office action files, noting the specific file number, year, and the names of the parties involved. Submit the form to a Reference Archivist, who will add off-site location information.

For divorces started June 1968 - 1978:

  1. Contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings by telephone: 613-957-4519 or by fax: 613-941-2520, to confirm whether the case was started and to obtain the file number, county or district, and the year the divorce case began.

    OR

    Submit a Records Request Slip in the Main Reading Room of the Archives of Ontario for Series RG 22-5814 York Judicial District indexes to divorce petitions noting the year the divorce case was started. For each year, entries in the index are arranged by first letter of the couple's surname. If you find the divorce case, note the file and the year.

  2. Submit a Records Request Slip in the Main Reading Room of the Archives of Ontario for RG 22-5802 York Judicial District divorce petition files, and the appropriate file number and year. Consult the section for York County in Inventory 22 Volume 22, Appendix B2, Supreme Court Post-1968 Divorce Files (one of the blue Government Records Inventory binders). Follow the instructions "How to Order Records" at the front of the binder. These files are stored off-site. Retrieval will take a minimum of 1 business day.

    If you still do NOT find the divorce case you are looking for, consult Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario, to see if a divorce case was started elsewhere in Ontario. Or, if the divorce action occurred after June 1968, contact the Central Registry of Divorce Proceedings by telephone: 613-957-4519 or by fax: 613-941-2520.

[Return to top of page]