Newspaper Holdings of the Archives of Ontario
Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 212
This research guide will help you find newspapers in
the Archives of Ontario collection as well as locating
newspapers that are not in our collection.
The Archives of Ontarios newspaper holdings include:
- newspapers, in both original and microfilm
format, from most Ontario cities and towns dating
from 1793 to approximately 1930
- a unique collection of multilingual newspapers
from Ontarios multicultural communities, dating
from 1930 to 1987
- a number of non-Ontario and speciality
newspapers, such as labour movement newspapers.
Most newspapers in the Archives holdings can only be
consulted in our Reading Room. Microfilmed newspapers
are available on a self-serve basis. It takes one to two
business days to retrieve newspapers that are not on
microfilm. Newspapers in our multicultural newspaper
collections are also available on microfilm and through
our interloan.
Holdings of the major current Toronto newspapers are
limited to the Globe and Mail, 1844 to 1917 and
1928 to 1931.
The Toronto Reference Library has copies of the
Star,
the Telegram, the Sun, current issues of the
Globe and
Mail and other more recent Ontario newspapers.
Other public libraries, local history centres or
archives may also have collections of newspapers.
THE RECORDS
To find a newspaper in the Archives collection you
need to know its name (or masthead) and where it was
published.
|
Research Topic |
Resources |
Locating the Place of Publication |
-
See the Title Index in Section 2 of Brian Gilchrists
Inventory of Ontario Newspapers, Toronto: Micromedia Limited, 1987, available in the Reading Room.
|
Finding if a newspaper is in the Archives collections |
-
See Finding Aid L 23 Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections
[MS Word (3.6M),
PDF (964K)] in the Archives of Ontario (on our Web site or in the Genealogy Reference Area of the Reading Room). Refer to Appendix A5 for lists of newspapers available on microfilm. They are organized alphabetically by place of publication.
-
If the newspaper is listed, note the microfilm N number. (e.g., N 481). Find the microfilm in the newspaper microfilm cabinets (cabinet numbers 33 to 46, with green labels) that are arranged by N number. If there is more than one reel of microfilm for the newspaper, the label on each microfilm box will tell you the exact dates of newspapers that are on each reel.
|
|
-
If the newspaper is not listed as part of our microfilm collection, see
Appendix A2 of Finding Aid L 23 [MS
Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)] . It lists original newspapers by place of publication. Original Toronto newspapers are listed by name in Appendix A3. If a newspaper is listed as part of our collection of original documents, note the container number in the far right hand column (e.g., 13-2). Arrange to have the newspaper retrieved for you by submitting a Records Request Form to the Circulation Desk. (You can also e-mail or phone us in advance). Please give the newspaper name, years requested and container number.
|
|
-
For our multicultural newspaper collection, see the Multicultural Newspapers Microfilming Project Binder (available in the Archives Reading Room), or the Microfilm Interloan Catalogue (on our Web site). Both are arranged according to the name of the newspaper. There is a community and language index at the front of the binder.
|
Finding Newspapers Published Outside of Ontario |
-
If you know the place of publication, see
Finding Aid L 23 [MS Word (3.6M),
PDF (964K)] , Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections in the Archives of Ontario, Appendix A5. It lists microfilmed newspapers alphabetically by place of publication.
|
|
-
If the newspaper is not listed in
L 23, Appendix A5 [MS Word
(3.6M), PDF (964K)] , see Non-Ontario Newspapers, 2 volume (available in the Reading Room). It lists original newspapers within our holdings by jurisdiction (province, region, country) and then alphabetically by the name of the newspaper.
|
Finding a newspaper that is not in the Archives collection |
Consult these other sources:
-
Canadian Newspapers on Microform held by Library and Archives Canada: http://www.collectionscanada.ca/. Library and Archives Canada has the countrys most extensive and up-to-date collection of newspapers on microfilm. Their holdings are available on inter-library loan.
-
Brian Gilchrists Inventory of Ontario Newspapers, Toronto: Micromedia Limited, 1987 (available in the Reading Room) to determine which organizations have the newspaper.
-
Union List of Canadian Newspapers, 1988 (available in the Reading Room) to determine which repositories hold non-Ontario newspapers.
-
The Toronto Reference Library Newspaper Collection, especially for more current newspapers:
www.tpl.toronto.on.ca/
-
Local libraries and archives
-
The Toronto Star makes available on the Internet, for a fee, Pages of the Past,
a digitized version of each of its issues from 1894 to 2002. http://pqasb.pqarchiver.com/thestar/about.html
|
Researching newspaper publication and ownership history |
See the Newspaper Collections: Microfilm Introductions binders (available in the Reading Room). These binders contain a brief history of the ownership, publication and historical context of some microfilmed newspapers and a list of contents indicating which editions are missing. The entries are listed by microfilm reel number (for example, N 11). To find the N number, see
Finding Aid L 23 Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections
in the Archives of Ontario [MS
Word (3.6M), PDF (964K)] , Appendix A5.
The history and list of contents are also on the microfilm, at the beginning of each newspaper. |
Making Contact
Ready and Willing
Although unable to do your land records research for you, our reference archivists are waiting to assist you. You may telephone or write to them by mail or email or
- best of all - visit the Archives of Ontario.
Contact us
Telephone: 416-327-1600 Toll free (Ontario): 1-800-668-9933
Fax: 416-327-1999
Email: reference@ontario.ca
Address: Archives of Ontario, 134 Ian Macdonald Blvd., Toronto, ON M7A 2C5
Website
For information about the Archives holdings, as well as access to research guides and other customer service materials available through the Archives of Ontario, please visit our website
www.ontario.ca/archives.
Customer Service and Research Guides
The Archives of Ontario has published a series of in-depth research guides on a variety of specific topics. For more information, please see
Research Guides and Tools under
Start Your Research on the home page of the Archives website.
[Return to top of page]