Records Relating to the War of 1812 at the Archives of Ontario
Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 213
This research guide provides
a brief synopsis of the War of 1812 records in the
Archives of Ontario collections. This guide covers
only original material, not material
that is a microfilm or photocopy of original records.
In this guide, you will find
information on the following topics:
GETTING STARTED
THE RECORDS
1. The Participants
2. General Collections
3. Remembering the War of 1812
4. Government
5. Illustrating the War of 1812
6. Archives of Ontario Library
7. Table of Fonds and Collections Relating to the War Of 1812
MAKING CONTACT
Getting Started
Between 1812 and 1814, Upper Canada was the major
theatre of operations in the war between Great
Britain and the United States. Almost all the land
battles were fought in Upper Canada or along the
American side of the St. Lawrence, Niagara and
Detroit Rivers. Many individuals who played
important roles in the government and economy of the
province in later years first came to prominence
during the war, including John Beverley Robinson and
Bishop John Strachan.
The War of 1812 was a destructive conflict. It
damaged the limited infrastructure of the province
and disrupted the main agricultural economy for
three years. At the same time, the war led to the
development of a provincial patriotism and
nationalism that grafted the successful defence of
Upper Canada to the existing Loyalist tradition.
The Archives of Ontario has a rich and diverse
collection of records related to the War of 1812.
They include:
- original private correspondence from
contemporaries
- official records relating to the
administration of justice in wartime
- documents describing how later generations
perceived the war.
Visit our website (www.ontario.ca/archives) to
view an exhibit about the War of 1812. It features
many of the fonds and collections that this research
guide describes. This research guide notes where a
specific fonds or collection is in the exhibit.
The Records
This section of this guide provides a brief
summary of the War of 1812 fonds and/or collections.
It is arranged into six categories: the
Participants, General Collections, Remembering the
War of 1812, Government, Illustrating the War of
1812 and the Archives of Ontario Library.
Table 1, at the end of this guide, tells you how
to access the records that you need.
1. The Participants
Most of the War of 1812 material in the Archives
of Ontario’s collection is original correspondence,
written by the people who lived through the
conflict. These letters are an invaluable source of
information on the life of Upper Canadian civilians
and soldiers during wartime. They also give insight
into the views of American citizens. Today, much of
this correspondence would be considered “official
records.” However, at the time, local officials and
militia officers kept the records in their personal
papers. The records are in the following fonds:
F 17 William Baldwin Family Fonds
William Baldwin (1775-1844) was a lawyer and
businessman in Upper Canada during the war. Most of
the correspondence on the War of 1812 in this fonds
relates to the war’s effect on the state of business
in the province.
F 20 Henry John Boulton Fonds
Henry John Boulton (1790-1870) was a member of
the Legislative Assembly for Upper Canada and served
as Solicitor General and Attorney General for Upper
Canada. The records include correspondence on
life
in Upper Canada during the War of 1812.
F 37 Mackenzie-Lindsay Family Fonds
William Lyon Mackenzie (1795-1861) was a
newspaperman and politician in Upper Canada and
leader of the Rebellion of 1837. There are a few
letters in the fonds telling about the destruction
of the original Brock’s Monument in 1840 during the
final stages of the rebellion. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 43 Thomas Ridout Family Fonds
The Thomas Ridout fonds is the Archives’ most
significant holding on the War of 1812 because of
its breadth of coverage of the war.
Thomas G. Ridout (1754-1829) served as a militia
officer throughout the War of 1812, primarily in the
commissariat (or supply) department. His family
letters for the period 1812-1815 are a great source
of information on the impact of the war on
individuals and their families. There are also
first-hand descriptions of the battles at Queenston
Heights and at Crysler’s Farm. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 44 John Beverley Robinson Family Fonds
John Beverley Robinson (1791-1863) served as a
militia officer during the War of 1812 and as the
Acting Attorney General through most of the
conflict. He served as the lead in the prosecution
of those accused of treason in 1814 for aiding the
American invaders. The correspondence in this fonds
is very informative on the general administration of
justice and the investigation of treason. (See the
Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 429 Duncan Clark Fonds
Duncan Clark (1785-1862) was a militia officer
and fur trader who served during the War of 1812.
This fonds includes records describing the action at
the battle of Lundy's Lane and the siege of Fort
Erie. It also includes an account that Duncan Clark
wrote on 25 July 1814, called "The Battle of Lundy's
Lane."
F 440 John Norton Fonds
John Norton (1790-1821) was a leader of the
Mohawks of the Grand River during the War of 1812.
Norton achieved the rank of Major in the conflict.
Most of the documents relating to the war are
testimonials to his service.
F 483 Ford Family Fonds
Nathan Ford (1763-1829) was an American citizen
who lived in Ogdensburg, New York during the War of
1812. His family correspondence comments on the
insecurity of civilian life in wartime and on the
activities of his neighbours in providing supplies
to the British Army in Upper Canada. (Ogdensburg was
a major wartime smuggling depot.) The fonds is a
vital source of information on wartime conditions
along the frontier and the way that trade frequently
trumped security during this war. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 504 Urquhart Family Fonds
This fonds documents the activities of a farm
family in Glengarry County, Upper Canada in the
early 19th century. It includes several documents
relating to militia service during the War of 1812.
F 515 Gilkison Family Fonds
William Gilkison (1777-1833) served as an
assistant quartermaster-general with the rank of
Captain in the War of 1812. The fonds includes
militia documents relating to his service during the
war.
F 536 Joel Stone Family Fonds
Joel Stone (1749-1833) was a businessman and
militia officer in Gananoque, Upper Canada. He
served in the local forces throughout the war. The
correspondence and reports in his papers relate to
the issue of supply and defence along the line of
the St. Lawrence River. After the war, Stone worked
as a Commissioner under the Alien Act to review
cases of suspected disloyalty during the conflict.
(See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 542 Robert Nelles Family Fonds
Robert Nelles (1761-1842) was a local official
and landowner in the Niagara area during the War of
1812. Most of the war-related records in this fonds
are concerned with the experiences of his son
Captain Henry Nelles, who was a prisoner of war in
the United States after the Battle of Lundy’s Lane.
(See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 543 Abraham Nelles Family Fonds
Abraham Nelles (1775-1839) was a surveyor, militia officer
and member of the Legislative Assembly. He served
throughout the War of 1812. His correspondence
relates to concerns such as obtaining supplies for
the British and Canadian troops, damage to his
property and the administration of the local
militia. There are also records of his work as a
Commissioner under the Alien Act after the war. (See
the Archives’ on-line exhibit, The War of 1812)
F 547 Samuel Street Fonds
Samuel Street (1775-1844) was a lawyer and
moneylender in the Niagara area. The records include
material documenting the damage to Street’s property
during the American occupation of the Niagara region
in 1813 and 1814.
F 548 John Macdonell Fonds
John Macdonell (1768-1850) was a fur trader and
militia officer. The fonds includes a few militia
orders and some correspondence relating to the
American attack on York (Toronto) in 1813.
F 549 George Crookshank Fonds
George Crookshank (1773-1859) was a businessman,
office holder and politician in York (Toronto)
during the early 19th century. Crookshank served as
the Assistant Commissary General during the war. His
fonds includes several letters on the supply issue
in the Northwest. There is also correspondence on
rumours of peace (1813) and speculation on the
actual peace talks at Ghent in the fall of 1814.
F 556 Ely Playter Fonds
Ely Playter (fl. 1801-1853) was a farmer and
militia officer near York (Toronto) during the War
of 1812. He left a diary that details much of the
day-to-day life during the war, and provides
interesting information on the impact of the 1813
American raid on York on the townsfolk. (See the
Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 662 William Hamilton Merritt Family
Fonds
William Hamilton Merritt (1793-1862) served as a
Captain in the Company of Provincial Dragoons
(cavalry) during the War of 1812. Of particular
interest in his correspondence are the letters he
exchanged with his future wife, Catherine
Prendergast, while he was a prisoner of war in the
United States after the Battle of Lundy’s Lane. Also
of interest is the material relating to the
construction and rededication of the new Brock’s
Monument at Queenston Heights in the 1840s and
1850s. As a leading businessman of the province and
a veteran, Merritt played a major role in the
project. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 902 William Marr Button Family Fonds
The William Marr Button family lived in Markham
Township, York County during the 19th century and
was involved in politics, the military and land
development. The fonds includes York Militia orders
dating from 1812 to 1815.
F 917 David Kinnear Fonds
Lieutenant David Kinnear was a British Army
officer who served in Spain, France and Bermuda
during the Napoleonic Wars and in North America
during the War of 1812. The fonds holds Kinnear’s
personal diary. The diary makes references to the
Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812, including the
burning of Washington. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 955 Gordon Drummond Fonds
General Sir Gordon Drummond (1772-1854) served as
the senior British military commander in Upper
Canada during the last year of the War of 1812. In
the absence of the Lieutenant Governor of the
province, he was also the acting President of the
Executive Council (or head of the government). The
fonds consists of copies of outgoing correspondence
sent by Drummond’s civil secretary, R.R. Loring. The
correspondence deals mainly with matters of civil
government, but there are some items on militia
orders and related issues. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 983 John Strachan Fonds
John Strachan (1778-1867), the first Anglican
Bishop of Toronto, took a leading part in promoting
the defence of the province during the War of 1812.
The records in this fonds document his efforts to
raise morale and promote the welfare of militiamen
and their families through the Loyal and Patriotic
Society of Upper Canada. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 1107 John Galt Fonds
John Galt (1779-1839) was a novelist and a
founder of the Canada Company. The records include
correspondence relating to Galt’s claims for
compensation for damage to his property during the
War of 1812.
F 2128 Jacques Duperon Baby Family Fonds
Jacques (James) Duperon Baby (1762-1833) was a
public servant, office holder, judge, landowner and
a militia officer. The records include accounts of
his experiences during the War of 1812 and claims
for compensation for damage to his property.
F 4140 Battle of Lundy's Lane Letter
This single document is a letter dated 30 March
1815 from an American Lieutenant, C. Blake, to his
brother describing his experience at the Battle of
Lundy’s Lane. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 4421 Crysler Family Fonds
The Crysler family of the Niagara peninsula was
one of the first Loyalist families to settle in that
area. The fonds is related to the Crysler family who
owned Crysler’s Farm, the location of one of the
major battles of the war. The records include
military accounts by Captain John Crysler,
regimental orders and field returns for the 2nd
Lincoln.
2. General Collections
Over the years, the Archives of Ontario has
obtained many miscellaneous records that
organizations or individuals interested in a
specific geographic area or subject collected. The
Archives itself has compiled several miscellaneous
collections to organize the many single items that
have been received from donors. Some of these
include records relating to the War of 1812.
F 378 Hiram Walker Collection
The Hiram Walker Collection contains many records
relevant to the history of south western Ontario
that the Hiram Walker Museum in Windsor originally
collected. It has a few documents on the War of
1812. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit, The War of
1812)
F 775 Miscellaneous Collection
The Archives of Ontario has compiled this
chronologically arranged general collection. It
includes a number of documents relating to the
surrender of Fort Detroit to General Brock in 1812
and some militia documents. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 895 Military History Collection
This collection has a group of miscellaneous records
arranged chronologically, including a number of
documents relating to the War of 1812. Most
interesting among these records is a journal of a
staff officer that records most of the major
military actions in the Niagara area in 1813-1814.
Another item of note is a prize list for militiamen
who participated in the capture of Fort Detroit in
1812.(See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 992 Lee Pritzker Collection
This is a scrapbook with many newspaper clippings
relevant to the War of 1812 and the Napoleonic wars.
It is an interesting snapshot of war news
distribution in the early 19th century.
3. Remembering the War of 1812 
A number of fonds at the Archives of Ontario
document the careers of historians and organizations
with an interest in the War of 1812.
F 1076 William Kirby Fonds
William Kirby (1817-1906) was a novelist,
historian and preservationist. The fonds includes
correspondence between Kirby and The Lundy’s Lane
Historical Society on monuments and memorials about
the War of 1812. There is a file on his efforts to
protect War of 1812 battlefields and forts in the
Niagara area from destruction. There is also a file
of correspondence with Colonel James Fitzgibbon on
his role in the war and the Battle of Beaver Dams.
In addition, Kirby was in contact with Sarah Ann
Curzon and Emma A. Currie, authors of works on Laura Secord.
F 1081 Ferdinand Brock Tupper Fonds
Ferdinand Brock Tupper (b. 1795), Sir Isaac Brock’s
nephew, wrote biographies of General Brock and
compiled research material and correspondence on his
life. The fonds has correspondence with participants
in the war such as James Fitzgibbon, J.B. Robinson
and General Roger Hale Sheaffe. As part of his
research, Tupper collected a few original letters
relating to the War of 1812. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 1137 The Lundy’s Lane Historical Society Fonds
The Lundy’s Lane Historical Society (founded
1887) was established to commemorate the War of 1812
and the Niagara area through historical publications
and markers. The records at the Archives of Ontario
include posters, pamphlets and other materials
concerned with events and programs that the Society
organized. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 1151 Brock Monument Committee Fonds
The Brock Monument Committee (established 1840)
was formed to organize the reconstruction of Brock’s
Monument following the destruction of the original
structure in the aftermath of the 1837 Rebellion.
The records include accounts of donations and
expenditures, correspondence, minutes and
resolutions, resolutions from First Nations and some
material on design ideas for the new tower,
completed in the 1850s. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 1194 C.H.J. Snider Fonds
C.H.J. Snider (1879-1971) was a journalist and
historian who wrote articles for the Toronto
Telegram on Great Lakes marine topics and the
general history of Ontario. His columns, “Schooner
Days” and “Faded Flag of Fadeless Fame”, include
many accounts of incidents from the War of 1812.
4. Government 
Overall responsibility for managing the war
effort fell on the imperial government in London, as
represented by senior officials and officers in the
Canadas. The role of the civil authorities in Upper
Canada was to support the commissariat (supply)
department and maintain the militia. The government
was also responsible for the maintenance of law and
order. Investigating and punishing disloyalty was an
important wartime aspect of this duty. The province,
through the control of Crown lands, was also able to
reward those who supported the war effort. In later
years, particularly in the 1930s, the government of
Ontario provided support for the commemoration of
the war by creating battlefield parks, markers and
memorials (e.g., Fort Erie).
4.1 Treason Trials
During the American occupation of Niagara in the
spring and summer of 1813 and the Western District
in the fall of the same year, individuals
sympathetic to the United States provided direct
support to the invaders by gathering intelligence or
joining their military forces. After the withdrawal
of American troops, there were a number of arrests
and fifteen men were tried for treason (eight were
eventually executed). The following records document
the trials:
RG 4-1 Pre-Confederation Records of the Attorney
General
The series consists of miscellaneous correspondence
relating to the administration of
justice in Upper
Canada. It includes correspondence on the conduct of
the Treason Trials at Ancaster in 1814. (See the
Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
RG 22-134 Assize Minute Books
The series has the central minute books of the Court
of Queen's Bench civil and criminal assizes. Each
year, commissions of assize were issued for the
trial of superior court criminal and civil cases in
the district towns. Volume 4 has the minutes of the Ancaster Treason Trials.
RG 22-143 Court of King's Bench Records of High
Treason Trial of 1814
The series has the few remaining records of the High
Treason Trials held at Ancaster during May and June
1814. These records relate to individuals who were
accused of treason but never captured and the
confiscation of lands of individuals charged under
the Alien Act.
4.2 Alien Act
The Legislative Assembly passed the Alien Act in
March of 1814 to permit the seizure of lands
belonging to residents who left the province in
wartime for the United States. Persons found guilty
were declared aliens and therefore were ineligible
to hold land in the province. The following records
document this process:
RG 22-144 Alien Act Commissions, Inquisitions and
Related Records
The series has commissions with attached
inquisitions (investigations), some correspondence
of the Clerk of the Alien Act Commission (J.B.
Macaulay) and the proceedings of the Home District
Alien Act Commission at York (Toronto) in May and
November of 1822.
RG 22-678 Johnstown District Alien Act Inquisition
Extract Register
The series has a register that the Clerk of the
Peace in Johnstown District kept, documenting
inquisitions for property seizures made under the
Alien Act. The register’s column headings are:
names, additions, "late places of abode", real
estate vested in His Majesty, date of inquisition
and names of Commissioners.
RG 22-3768 Newcastle District Clerk of the Peace
Inquisition to Declare Certain Persons Alien
The series has two extracts of inquisitions held in
Newcastle District under the authority of "An Act to
declare certain persons therein described Aliens and
to vest their Estates in His Majesty, Whereby any
real Estate or Estates have been vested in His
Majesty" (Statutes of Upper Canada 1814, chap. 9).
RG 22-3782 Newcastle District Clerk of the Peace
High Treason in War of 1812 Poster
The series has a broadside (an advertisement or
public notice printed on one side of a large sheet
of paper) entitled, "Names of Persons who have been
attained of High Treason committed in Upper Canada,
or who have been returned as having absconded from
the Province during the late War with the United
States of America". (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
4.3 Land Grants
After the war, the Legislative Assembly of Upper
Canada made provisions for the granting of land to
veterans of the militia. At least part of the land
distributed to the veterans came from the
confiscation of estates under the Alien Act:
RG 1-9 Crown Land Administration Subject Files
The series has general correspondence related to
the administration of the Crown Lands system,
which was
received in the office of the Commissioner of Crown
Lands. It includes a file of correspondence about
requests for land grants for militia service during
the War of 1812.
RG 1-54 Petitions Relating to Land Received by the
Crown Lands Department
The series has alphabetically-arranged
petitions for
land grants of all types. It includes petitions from
veterans of the War of 1812. These petitions may
provide details on military service.
RG 1-100 Patent Plans
The series has township plans showing the sale or
lease of Crown Lands to individuals and corporate
bodies. The maps can be useful in documenting the
location of lands granted to veterans for militia
service during the War of 1812. (See the Archives’
on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
RG 1-152 Registers of Militia Grants
The series has registers of those receiving land
grant certificates from the provincial government in
recognition of their service in the militia,
provincial dragoons or provincial marine during the
War of 1812. The registers record the individual’s
name, rank, unit and the acreage to which he was
entitled. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
4.4 Remembering the War
The provincial government has been involved in the
preservation of historic sites since the late 19th
century. The series described below provides
information on Ontario’s efforts to remember the War
of 1812 through parks, memorials and historic sites:
RG 5-4 Correspondence of the Minister of Tourism and
Information
The series has correspondence between the Minister
of Tourism and Information and various tourist
organizations and agencies, tourists and tourist
operators about tourism, heritage and general
political matters. It documents provincial
involvement in the promotion of historical tourism
and the development of sites, including those
related to the War of 1812.
RG 5-54 Administrative Records of the St. Lawrence
Parks Commission
The series has administrative records that the St.
Lawrence Parks Commission created during the time it
was responsible for the planning, construction,
management and operation of Ontario’s parks and
historic sites. The series is particularly useful
for information on the Cryslers Farm Battlefield
Park at Upper Canada Village.
RG 38-3 Subject Correspondence of the Niagara Parks
Commission General Manager
The series has correspondence created and or
maintained by the Office of the Superintendent and,
later, the General Manager of the Niagara Parks
Commission. There is extensive correspondence on the
development of historic sites and reconstructions
along the Niagara River relating to the War of 1812.
RG 38-17 Niagara Parks Commission Historical Records
The series has records on the history of the
Niagara
Parks Commission, hydro-power development, monuments
and historic sites in the Niagara Falls Park and the
landscape and environment in the Niagara Falls area.
The records include reports and original documents
on early preservation efforts for War of 1812 sites
located along or near the Niagara River.
RG 65-35 Tourism Promotion Photographs
The series has photographs created and used to
market, advertise and promote tourism in Ontario.
The photographs were maintained and indexed in a
photo library that the Department of Travel and
Publicity established in the late 1940s or early
1950s. The photographs document all regions of
Ontario and include many photographs of historic War
of 1812 sites.
5. Illustrating the War of 1812
Official war artists, unlike those of the two World
Wars, did not document the War of 1812. The province was
a thinly populated, largely agricultural society. There
was little time during peace for artistic pursuits and
still less in the midst of war. The following are
potential sources of illustrations for those interested
in the War of 1812:
5.1 Government of Ontario Art Collection
The Government of Ontario Art Collection has a number of
works related to the War of 1812. As the province grew
in wealth and population during the 19th century, there
was increasing interest in documenting the key figures
in Upper Canadian history, including those involved in
the War of 1812. George Theodore Berthon (1806-1892) was
commissioned to paint official portraits of long-dead
lieutenant governors and administrators who had been
directly involved in the war. Berthon’s subjects
included senior military officers Sir Isaac Brock, Sir
Gordon Drummond and Sir George Prevost. Other artists
were commissioned to create portraits and busts of such
figures as Tecumseh and Laura Secord.
Equally important in the holdings of the art collection
are the paintings and drawings of Charles William Jefferys (1869-1951). Created in the first decades of
the 20th century, these works of historical imagination
illustrate battles and incidents like Laura Secord’s
journey to warn the British.
A selection of images from the collection can be
searched using the Government of Ontario Art Collection
Database, on our website. For an overview and catalogue
of the artworks in the collection, please refer to Fern
Bayer’s The Ontario Collection, Toronto: Fitzhenry and
Whiteside, 1984. This book is available in the Archives
Library, Call # 708.113 B39. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
5.2 Documentary Art Fonds
There are several collections of documentary art at the
Archives of Ontario which help us get a better
understanding of the appearance of the province shortly
before and after the War of 1812 and illustrate many
places mentioned in the correspondence from the war
period.
C 1 Thomas Burrowes Fonds
Captain Thomas Burrowes (b. ca. 1796) served as an
engineering officer during the building of the Rideau
Canal and during its operation between 1826 and 1846.
During this period, he painted many watercolours of the
Rideau Canal and the St. Lawrence River. These images
are valuable sources of information on early riverain
settlements and places that played a part in the War of
1812. All of Burrowes’ watercolours in the Archives’
collection may be viewed in the Archives of Ontario
Visual Database. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 47 Simcoe Family Fonds
Elizabeth Posthuma Simcoe (1766-1850), the wife of Upper
Canada’s first Lieutenant Governor, was a prolific and
talented artist. Her watercolours and sketches of the
province in the 1790s are the earliest graphic images of
many of the locations that became famous during the War
of 1812, including Queenston Heights, Kingston and York
(Toronto). All of her work in the Archives’ collection
may be viewed in the Archives of Ontario Visual
Database. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 596 Thomas Glegg Fonds
Captain Thomas Glegg (b. ca. 1825) was an engineer in
the British army. He was in Canada West (Upper Canada)
in the period 1841-1842 to assist in the construction of
the New Fort in Toronto. He sketched a number of scenes
of the province, including Brock’s monument following
the explosion that ruined the original structure. Some
of Glegg’s sketches may be viewed in the Archives of
Ontario Visual Database. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 4516 Attack on Fort Oswego, on Lake Ontario, North
America. May 6th, 1814 / Drawn by Captain Steele;
engraved by R. Havell and Son and
F 4517 Storming Fort Oswego, on Lake Ontario, North
America. May 6th, 1814 / Drawn by Captain Steele;
engraved by R. Havell and Son
These two engravings illustrate the battle for Fort
Oswego, in 1814. They were produced shortly after the
war, in 1817.
5.3 Photographic Records
Photography was invented well after the War of 1812 but
the Archives holds many images that document
battlefields, monuments and some of the people who
participated in the war. The work of the following
photographers may be of particular interest to War of
1812 researchers. Please see the section on government
records for photographs created by the provincial
Department of Travel and Publicity.
C 7 John Boyd Fonds
John Boyd (1865-1941) was a railway employee and amateur
historian. He took many photographs around Ontario in
the first decades of the 20th century. His work
documents some of the sites related to the War of 1812
and the defence of Upper Canada. Some of Boyd’s
photographs may be viewed in the Archives of Ontario
Visual Database. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit, The
War of 1812)
C 57 Eric Arthur Fonds
Eric Arthur (1896-1982) was an architect and
photographer. He captured images of many of the
surviving buildings from the War of 1812 era. Some of
his photographs may be viewed in the Archives of Ontario
Visual Database. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit, The
War of 1812)
F 1075 M.O. Hammond Fonds
M.O. Hammond (1876-1934) was a journalist and amateur
historian. He photographed many of the battlefields and
monuments of the War of 1812 during the early years of
the 20th century. His black and white images captured
these sites before they were restored or turned into
parks, providing an interesting comparison for those
visiting them today. Hammond also made photographic
portraits of artists C.W. Jefferys and G.T. Berthon.
Hammond kept a diary that has insights into his
historical interests and travels. Hammond’s photographs
may be viewed in the Archives of Ontario Visual
Database. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit, The War of
1812)
5.4 Architectural Plans and Drawings
Few original drawings or plans dating from the War of
1812 are available to researchers. The fonds described
below include some material related to the war and to
the efforts to reconstruct some of the historic sites
associated with the war.
C 23 McMurrich and Oxley Fonds
The fonds has architectural drawings of the firm,
McMurrich and Oxley and their predecessor, Sommerville,
McMurrich and Oxley. This firm was involved in planning
for the reconstruction of a number of historic sites in
Ontario, including Fort George and Fort Erie in the
Niagara area. Drawings and plans relating to these
projects are in the fonds. (See the Archives’ on-line
exhibit,
The War of 1812)
F 360 Mrs. Edward Kemp Collection
Mrs. Edward Kemp (1814-1896) donated this miscellaneous
collection of historical records to the Archives of
Ontario. It includes drawings of a bateau and of what is
believed to be one of the vessels built at the Kingston
Naval Yard in 1814. (See the Archives’ on-line exhibit,
The War of 1812)
6. Archives of Ontario Library 
The Library of the Archives of Ontario holds many
publications relating to the War of 1812, including
works of popular and academic history, pamphlets,
compilations of documents concerning the war and
biographies of participants. These items range from
broad accounts of the war through detailed campaign
and battle micro-histories. Information on many
historic plaques in Ontario, including those
describing events of the War of 1812, is available
through the Library.
In conducting your research:
- Do keyword searches on BIBLiON, the Library’s
on-line catalogue, using the names of battles,
individuals or places.
- Please note that not all publications in the
Library are described in the BIBLiON database. Check
the card catalogue available in the Archives’
Reading Room for additional resources. The web
exhibit,
The War of 1812, includes a list of a few
of the publications on the war that are in the
Library collection.
7. Table of Fonds and Collections Relating to the War Of
1812
For conservation reasons, you will need to
conduct your research using microfilm records, when
they are available, rather than original records.
With the exception of the microfiche for the Hiram
Walker Collection, all microfilms are available in
the Reading Room on a self-service basis. For
records that are not available on microfilm, please
consult a staff member in the Reading Room to
request records retrieval from storage. To see the
detailed description in our database, please click
on the entry in the Reference Code column in Table
1, below.
Reference Code |
Title |
Where to Find 1812 Records |
C 1 |
Thomas Burrowes Fonds |
All Burrowes’ watercolours are on the
Visual Database. |
C 7 |
John Boyd Fonds |
Some of John Boyd’s photographs are in the
Visual Database. |
C 23 |
McMurrich and Oxley Fonds |
Project 409, Fort George and Fort Erie restorations. Available through the Reading Room. |
C 57 |
Eric Arthur Fonds |
Some of Eric Arthur’s photographs are in the
Visual Database. |
F 17 |
William Baldwin Family Fonds |
Correspondence 1812-1815 on microfilm MS 88, reel 1. |
F 20 |
Henry John Boulton Fonds |
Correspondence 1812-1815, on microfilm MS 525, reel 1. |
F 37 |
Mackenzie-Lindsay Family Fonds |
Correspondence 1839-1841, on microfilm MS 516, reel 6. |
F 43 |
Thomas Ridout Family Fonds |
Correspondence 1812-1815 on microfilm MS 537, reel 1. |
F 44 |
John Beverley Robinson Family Fonds |
Correspondence 1812-1815 microfilm MS 4, reel 1. |
F 47 |
Simcoe Family Fonds |
Elizabeth Simcoe’s sketches and watercolours are on the
Visual Database. |
F 360 |
Mrs. Edward Kemp Fonds |
Drawings are available Reading room. |
F 378 |
Hiram Walker Collection |
Microfiche 20-231 (request from stacks). |
F 429 |
Duncan Clark Fonds |
Request F 429, box MU 572. |
F 440 |
John Norton Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 94, reel 1. |
F 483 |
Ford Family Fonds |
Use microfilm MS 7695. |
F 504 |
Urquhart Family Fonds |
Request F 504, box MU 3053. |
F 515 |
Gilkison Family Fonds |
Use microfilm MS 497, reel 1. |
F 536 |
Joel Stone Family Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 519, reel 1. |
F 542 |
Robert Nelles Family Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 503, reel 1. |
F 543 |
Abraham Nelles Family Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 502, reel 1. |
F 547 |
Samuel Street Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 500, reel 1. |
F 548 |
John Macdonell Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 821. |
F 549 |
George Crookshank Fonds |
Request F 549, box MU 5928. |
F 556 |
Ely Playter Fonds |
Diary on microfilm MS 87, reel 1. |
F 596 |
Thomas Glegg Fonds |
Sketches are on the
Visual Database. |
F 662 |
William Hamilton Merritt Family Fonds |
For Brock’s Monument see Package 8 on microfilm MS 74, reel 2; for wartime correspondence see Packages 42 and 43, microfilm MS 74, reel 5. |
F 775 |
Miscellaneous Collection |
Request F 775, boxes MU 2102 and MU 2143. |
F 895 |
Military History Collection |
Request F 895, boxes MU 2035, MU 2036 and MU 2037. |
F 902 |
David William Marr Button Family Fonds |
Request F 902, box MU 453. |
F 917 |
David Kinnear Fonds |
Request F 917, box MU 841. |
F 955 |
Gordon Drummond Fonds |
Request F 955, box MU 8191. |
F 983 |
John Strachan Fonds |
Correspondence on MS 35, reel 1.
|
F 992 |
Lee Pritzker Collection |
Request F 992, box MU 2635. |
F 1075 |
M.O. Hammond Fonds |
M.O. Hammond’s Photographs are in the
Visual Database. Diaries describing his photographic expeditions are in F 1075, boxes MU 1292 and MU 1293. |
F 1076 |
William Kirby Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 542, reels 1, 3 and 4. |
F 1081 |
Ferdinand Brock Tupper Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 496, reel 1. |
F 1107 |
John Galt Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 861, reel 1. |
F 1137 |
The Lundy’s Lane Historical Society Fonds |
Request F 1137, box MU 1747. |
F 1151 |
Brock Monument Committee Fonds |
Use microfilm MS 7690 and Ms 7691. |
F 1194 |
C.H.J. Snider Fonds |
A searchable index to Snider’s “Schooner Days” is available through the website of the
Marine Museum of the Great Lakes, |
F 2128 |
Jacques Duperon Baby Family Fonds |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 498 reel 1. |
F 4140 |
Battle Of Lundy's Lane Letter |
Request F 4140, box 1. |
F 4421 |
Crysler Family Fonds |
John Crysler (1765-1838) records, series F 4421-3, container B407684; |
F 4516 |
Attack On Fort Oswego, On Lake Ontario, North America. May 6th, 1814 / Drawn By Captain Steele; Engraved By R. Havell And Son |
Request container B411759
|
F 4517 |
Storming Fort Oswego, On Lake Ontario, North America. May 6th, 1814 / Drawn By Captain Steele; Engraved By R. Havell And Son |
Request container B411759 |
RG 1-9 |
Crown Land Administration Subject Files |
Correspondence on microfilm MS 892, reel 6. |
RG 1-54 |
Petitions Relating To Land Received By The Crown Lands Department |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. |
RG 1-100 |
Patent Plans |
Review plans for townships of interest to you. A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. |
RG 1-152 |
Registers of Militia Grants |
Use microfilm MS 693, reel 40. |
RG 4-1 |
Pre-Confederation Records Of The Attorney General |
Use microfilm MS 8752. |
RG 5-4 |
Correspondence of the Minister of Tourism and Information |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. |
RG 5-54 |
Administrative records of the St. Lawrence Parks Commission |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. |
RG 22-134 |
Assize minute books |
Use microfilm MS 530, reel 1. |
RG 22-143 |
Court of King's Bench Records of high treason trial of 1814 |
Use microfilm MS 7237. |
RG 22-144 |
Alien Act Commissions, Inquisitions and related records |
Use microfilm MS 8751. |
RG 22-678 |
Johnstown District alien act inquisition extract register |
Use microfilm MS 8751. |
RG 22-3768 |
Newcastle District Clerk of the Peace inquisition to declare certain persons alien |
Use microfilm MS 8751. |
RG 22-3782 |
Newcastle District Clerk of the Peace high treason in War of 1812 poster |
Request RG 22-3782. |
RG 38-3 |
Subject Correspondence of the Niagara Parks Commission General Manager |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. Search by a name or location for the best results, for example Fort Erie. |
RG 38-17 |
Niagara Parks commission historical records |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. Search by a name or location for the best results, for example Fort Erie. |
RG 65-35 |
Tourism promotion photographs |
A detailed listing is available on the Files and Items portion of the Archives Descriptive Database. Search by place name for the best results. Available through the Reading Room. |
Making Contact
Ready and Willing
Although unable to do your land records research for you, our reference archivists are waiting to assist you. You may telephone or write to them by mail or email or
- best of all - visit the Archives of Ontario.
Contact us
Telephone: 416-327-1600 Toll free (Ontario): 1-800-668-9933
Fax: 416-327-1999
Email: reference@ontario.ca
Address: Archives of Ontario, 134 Ian Macdonald Blvd., Toronto, ON M7A 2C5
Website
For information about the Archives holdings, as well as access to research guides and other customer service materials available through the Archives of Ontario, please visit our website
www.ontario.ca/archives.
Customer Service and Research Guides
The Archives of Ontario has published a series of in-depth research guides on a variety of specific topics. For more information, please see
Research Guides and Tools under
Start Your Research on the home page of the Archives website.