| Archives
of Ontario
Research Guide 215
Contents
1. Introduction
2. Getting Started: The Ontario
Land Records Index
3. Applying for a Land Grant: Land
Petitions
4. First and Second District Land
Board Records
5. Settling Disputed Land Claims:
The Heir and Devisee Commission Records
6. Promoters of Land Settlement:
The Canada Company, Thomas Talbot, and Peter Robinson
7. Township Papers
8. Researching the Land: Descriptions,
Surveyor’s Notes and Diaries, and Crown Lands Correspondence
9. Maps and Plans
10. Acquiring Ownership of the
Land: The Patent
11. Land Registry Office Records
12. Further Reading: Resources
on Early Land Settlement

1. Introduction
The Crown Land Records of Upper Canada date to the eighteenth
century, when the American Revolution started the flood
of immigrants from the American colonies who wanted to settle
on British territory. The land that was to become known
under the Constitutional Act of 1791 as Upper Canada was
to be distributed under the control of, and according to
regulations developed by, the Crown or representatives of
the Crown. By 1795, a complex system of land titles and
ownership had been established in the province under the
direction of the surveyor general. Throughout the pre-Confederation
period (prior to 1867), land policy and distribution remained
one of the central occupations of the Crown Lands Department.
The Archives of Ontario holds most of the records relating
to Crown land in Upper Canada, Canada West (the new name
of the colony after the Union Act of 1840), and Ontario
(the name that came into effect in 1867). The Library and
Archives Canada (LAC) also holds some records - predominantly
the Crown Land Records of the Executive Council of Upper
Canada. Copies of most of these records are found at the
Archives of Ontario on microfilm.
Crown Land records can be used for the study of a wide
range of subjects such as family history, land use, local
history, settlement patterns, and more. This Guide will
provide researchers with a brief synopsis and links to the
different series of Crown Land Records that can be used
primarily in researching family history. Because of the
large volume and range of records found among the Crown
Land Records, the Guide will introduce the researcher to
Crown Land Records related to grants and patents from the
eighteenth century to the mid- nineteenth century. It does
not encompass all the land records available to researchers.
The Archives Descriptive Database (ADD)
This Guide is designed to be used with
the Archives of Ontario’s Archives Descriptive Database
(ADD). Most of the records mentioned in the Guide are described
in more detail in the ADD, making the latter a valuable
tool in understanding the Crown Land Records and how to
use them. It is recommended that researchers read the descriptions
of the records in the ADD, which will explain the records
in their relation to other records as well as indicating
what information is being recorded. It should be noted that
there are revised reference codes for many of the Crown
Land Records series; however, the microfilm reels and the
Ontario Land Records Index (OLRI) still use the old codes.
The old codes can be searched in the ADD using the keyword
search. There is also a conversion
list available.
Steps in Acquiring Crown Land.
The procedure in land granting by the Crown evolved greatly
over time. In very general terms, however, the following
steps were involved in land acquisition:
- If an individual wished to apply for a land grant from
the Crown, he (or she) may have submitted a petition to
the Crown.
- If the petition was successful, the Crown would then
have issued a land grant to the petitioner. It was a complex
process to receive a land grant. Many offices were involved
and each office (Executive Council Office, Receiver General's
Office, Attorney General's Office, Surveyor General's
Office, Provincial Secretary's Office, etc.) maintained
its own numbering system for the documents it generated
or received relating to these transactions.
- If the settler took up residence on the land and fulfilled
certain settlement duties, he or she would have ended
up owning the land, in which case that person would have
been issued a patent, indicating that the ownership of
the land had passed from the Crown to a private individual.
- If there were any later transactions relating to that
property (e.g., sale to another individual, taking out
a mortgage on the property, etc.), they would be documented
in the records of the county Land Registry Offices (LROs).
return to top of page

2. Getting Started: The Ontario Land Records Index
In land-records research, it is useful to know the township,
concession, and lot to which a person or corporation was
associated. Although such information is not critical to
researching all land records, a significant number of the
records are arranged by the lot and concession numbers.
If the location of the grant is unknown for a particular
settler, it is best to consult first the Ontario Land Records
Index. With that knowledge, a variety of other records can
be consulted that may cast further light both on the settler
involved and on the land that setter received.
The Ontario Land Records Index, ca. 1780-ca. 1920, is an
index of settlers who received Crown land in Ontario by
grant, lease, or purchase. The information is compiled from
Crown Land Records, as well as some records from the Canada
Company fonds and the Peter Robinson fonds. It is indexed
by surname and township of homesteaders who obtained permission
to live on a specific piece of Crown land. Also included
are settlers sponsored by Peter Robinson and those individuals
who obtained land from the Canada Company. The index is
useful in determining whether a settler received a grant
of land from the Crown and where the land was located. It
provides the settler’s name and residence (if known);
the township, concession, and lot of the Crown property;
the date and type of grant; and the archival reference code
to the source of the data. These records to which the Index
refers are available on microfilm in the Main Reading Room
and through microfilm
interloan, with the exception of the Fenian
land grants (RG 1-99-8, former code RG 1 C-VII-8).
The Index is available on self-service microfiche in the
Main Reading Room’s Genealogy Reference Area. It has
also been distributed to libraries, archives, and family
history centres across Canada and in some parts of the United
States. Refer to Research
Guide 205: How to Use the Ontario Land Records Index
for further information on how to use the index.
Once you have identified a settler or location of interest
from the OLRI, there are a variety of options on how to
proceed:
- You can look up the original record on microfilm that
is referenced by the OLRI to determine any more information
or confirm the information found in the OLRI. However,
this record often does not contain any information other
than that found in the OLRI.
- You can read the description of the referenced record
in the ADD to determine if there are related records with
more information about the land grant. This is especially
the case for references to series of records that are
registers of fiats or warrants (documents created in the
process of land granting). There may be a corresponding
sub-series of the copybooks of fiats or warrants that
may contain further information on a particular settler.
- If the settler received the land as a grant, you can
look up the petition
(application) the settler most likely submitted to the
Crown to have received the grant.
- If you wish to determine if the settler ended up owning
the land, you can search for a land patent.
- You can research the specific lot of land by using
the following records: Township
Papers (RG 1-58), Survey
Notes and Diaries (RG 1-59), and Descriptions
(RG 1-53).
- If you wish to know the history of the buying and selling
of a particular property, you can consult the Land
Registry Office records.
- In the OLRI, in cases where the type of free grant
listed is COMM (granted through the Heir and Devisee Commission),
you can consult the records of the Commission.
return to top of page

3. Applying for a Land Grant: Land Petitions
Settlers wishing to obtain a land grant had to submit a
petition to the Crown stating the basis for their claim.
Land petitions can be found predominantly in two series
of records: Upper Canada Land Petitions (LAC RG
1, Series L 3) and Petitions for Land (RG
1-54).
Upper Canada Land Petitions, ca.1790-ca.1867
The series of the records called the Upper Canada Land
Petitions were addressed to the Executive Council of Upper
Canada and the originals are at the Library and Archives
Canada. These records and their accompanying index are
available on self-service microfilm in the Main Reading
Room of the Archives of Ontario or through the Library and Archives Canada Interloan Service. Petitions
submitted in Upper Canada are, for the most part, individual
petitions, which often contain information about the petitioner
and his or her family. Loyalists and discharged soldiers
often mentioned the regiment in which they served. Sons
and daughters of Loyalists gave their father's name. Civilian
petitioners sometimes indicated their country or place
of origin. Further information that can be found in some
of the petitions is the following:
- arrival date in Canada;
- previous residence;
- date and place of birth;
- age;
- marital status and names of other family members;
- oaths of allegiance, and
- character references
The index for the Upper Canada collection includes references
to two series:
Entries from the Land Books (RG 1 L1) indicate name, date,
land book, and page number; and entries for Land Petitions
(RG 1 L3) give name, place, date, bundle, and petition
number (e.g., B12/43 indicates bundle B12, petition number
43). After consulting the index, refer to the list of
microfilm reel numbers for the actual records:
List
of Microfilm Reel Numbers for Index
List
of Microfilm Reel Numbers for the Land Books
Lists
of Microfilm Reel Numbers for the Land Petitions
Petitions for Land, 1827-1856
Between 1827 and 1856, some petitions were referred by
the Office of the Lieutenant Governor to the commissioner
of Crown lands. They are in the possession of the Archives
of Ontario in RG
1-54, Petitions for Land. These petitions
are arranged in alphabetical order and are available on
self-service microfilm in the Main Reading Room and through
the microfilm
interloan.
Orders-in-Council, 1827-1904
If it is believed that a petition may have been filed
but is found to be missing, it is worth consulting the Orders
in Council (RG 1-50). Orders-in-Council were
issued by the lieutenant governor, on the recommendation
of the surveyor general or the commissioner of Crown lands,
authorizing the sale, lease, or free grant of Crown lands.
Other Records
Other series also contain copies of petitions, the following
of which have been identified as such:
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Correspondence and memoranda received by the Surveyor
General’s Office |
1764-1800 |
RG
1-1 |
| Register of memorials, petitions and letters referred
to the Surveyor General’s Office by Government
House |
1833-1836 |
RG
1-4 |
| Crown land administration subject files |
1790-1924 |
RG
1-9 |
| Reports on petitions for grants of land prepared
by the Executive Council by the Commissioner of Crown
lands |
1832-1835 |
RG
1-13-1 |
| Lists of petitions or applications for land heard
by members of the Executive Council |
1824 |
RG
1-324 |
return to top of page
4. First and Second District Land Board Records
The records of the land boards of Upper Canada may provide
useful information on an early settler. While many of these
records dealing with individual settlers are indexed in
the Ontario Land Records Index, it appears that, in the
case of the Second District Land Boards, there is settlement
information that is not indexed in the OLRI.
First District Land Boards
Two sets of district land boards existed in the Upper
Canadian period. The first dated from 1789 to 1794. During
this time, there were four administrative boards: Hesse,
Nassau, Mecklenburg, and Lunenburg. They oversaw land matters
in their districts and in general facilitated settlement
in the districts by granting certificates of location to
the early settlers.
The records include minutes, reports, correspondence, and
instructions or regulations for the operations of the land
boards. The Library and Archives Canada holds most of the
records of the First District Land Boards. Their records
contain a nominal index that identifies the name, the volume
and page, and the microfilm reel numbers corresponding to
the records. On 6 November 1794 the land boards were abolished
and land management was centralized through the Executive
Council. To find out more about these records, please consult
the Canadian
Genealogy Centre’s website. These records
are also available in the Main Reading Room of the Archives
of Ontario (consult inventory D 359).
The Archives of Ontario holds other records relating to
the First District Land Boards, as listed in the following
tables.
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Nassau District Land Board minutes |
1788-1792 |
RG
1-177 |
| Hesse District Land Board records |
1789-1794 |
RG
1-178 |
| Schedules, returns, and lists of certificates of
occupation issued by magistrates, surveyors, and the
First District Land Boards |
1789-1816 |
RG
1-30 |
| Upper Canada land board minutes and records diffusion
material [contains records of First District Land
Boards for the Hesse, Nassau, Lunenburg, and Mecklenburg
districts, consisting of minutes, reports, instructions
to the boards, and correspondence, which can be found
at the Library and Archives Canada as RG 1, L 4] |
[Microfilmed 19--], (originals, 1765-1804) |
D 359 |
Second District Land Boards
Under an order-in-council dated 13 March 1819, land boards
were again established in each of the districts of Upper
Canada (with the exception of Niagara, where no grantable
land was left) in order to expedite the process whereby
settlers were located on land, since the abolition of the
First District Land Boards was seen as slowing down the
land-granting process. These land boards did not deal with
applications from United Empire Loyalists or military claimants,
who were responsible for going to York (Toronto), the colony’s
capital, in person. Instead, the boards handled applications
from prospective settlers from the United States and granted
land to these settlers if they could produce certificates
of British birth. It also seems that the boards granted
land to some post-War of 1812 immigrants as well.
The boards were required to record the applicant’s
age, birthplace, and date of entry into the province. Each
applicant was required to supply a declaration that he or
she had not previously received land from the Crown and
to take an oath of allegiance. Once these terms and conditions
were met, the applicant could be located upon a 100-acre
lot after paying a fee provided to the board for the hearing.
On 31 December 1825 the land boards were abolished.
The following series lists the settlers located by the
Second District Land Boards. Although most of the records
are not indexed in the OLRI (with the exception of RG
1-161-2-1 ), a number of the volumes in the
series do contain nominal indexes.
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Second District Land Boards, returns of locations |
1819-1826 |
RG
1-176 |
| Fiats for land grants - Second District Land Boards |
1820-1854 |
RG
1-161 |
| List of locations to emigrants at the late land
board, Bathurst District |
1823-1824 |
RG
1-12-2-2 |
return to top of page
5. Settling Disputed Land Claims: The Heir and Devisee
Commission Records
The Heir and Devisee Commissions were created by the government
to settle disputes over who was entitled to receive the
letters patent for a parcel of land. This issue arose in
the Upper Canadian period when many individuals applied
for and were located on land but did not go through with
the process of actually obtaining the letters patent transferring
ownership to them from the Crown. By the early 1790s, government
officials were noticing that many location certificates
had passed out of the hands of the original nominees to
other individuals. In some cases, the original nominees
had died without a will or had “devised,” or
willed, their land to another person; in other cases, land
certificates had been exchanged between or assigned to other
individuals, or sold or mortgaged, sometimes several times
over.
The Archives of Ontario's holdings of the Heir and Devisee
Commission Records consist of a small number of records
of the first commission (1797-1804) and most of the records
of the second commission (1805-1911).
When to Use the Heir and Devisee Commission Records
Use these records when you know or suspect that there
was a dispute surrounding the ownership of the land. You
would also want to use these records when the Ontario Land
Records Index refers to the type of free grant received
as COMM, meaning Heir and Devisee Commission (RG
1-150-2, volumes 90-92).
The First Heir and Devisee Commission (1797-1805)
In 1797 the government created the First Heir and Devisee
Commission. The commission acted as a Court of Equity, with
jurisdiction to review and adjudicate claims to land in
cases where letters patent had not been issued. Decisions
of the commission could be appealed to the Executive Council,
which also heard claims for larger tracts of land.
The Library and Archives Canada holds most of the records
of the first commission (1797-1804) and some of the records
of the second commission (1805-1911). These records are
available on self-service microfilm in the Main Reading
Room of the Archives of Ontario and through the Library
and Archives Canada’s interloan service.
Consult Inventory D 352, First Heir and Devisee Commission
diffusion material, in the Main Reading Room, or the Canadian
Genealogy Centre’s website for more information
about these records.
The records of the First Heir and Devisee Commission do
not contain a nominal index nor are there individual case
files. The minutes and reports may contain some information
on settlers.
The following tables contain references to records that
are predominantly composed of material created by or relating
to the First Heir and Devisee Commission. Please see the
series descriptions for more information about these records:
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| First Heir and Devisee Commission diffusion material |
[Microfilmed 1981], (originals 1777-1854) |
D 352 (inventory available in the Main Reading Room)
|
| Eastern District Clerk of the Peace Heir and Devisee
Commission claims books |
1797-1803 |
RG
22-610 |
| Minutes of search |
1797-1806 |
RG
1-16-2 |
| Reports on land claims arising out of the First
Heir and Devisee Commission |
1797-1803 |
RG
40-2 |
| Heir and Devisee Commission reports submitted to
the Surveyor General |
1802-1805 |
RG
1-15-1 |
| Copies of Heir and Devisee Commission reports prepared
by the Surveyor General |
1797-1803 |
RG
1-15-2 |
| Memoranda of undescribed land claims and related
orders arising out of the First Heir and Devisee Commission |
1803-1804 |
RG
40-1 |
| [Register of] original nominees claimed under the
First Heir and Devisee Commission |
ca. 1808 |
RG
1-15-3 |
| Miscellaneous documents collected by the First Heir
and Devisee Commission |
1796-1805 |
RG
40-3 |
| Schedule of descriptions issued by the Surveyor
General’s Office which clash with Heir and Devisee
Commission reports |
1797-1804 |
RG
1-17 |
The Second Heir and Devisee Commission (1805-1911)
In 1805 new legislation was passed establishing what is
generally referred to as the Second Heir and Devisee Commission.
The Act specified the role of this commission to be that
of affording “relief to those persons who may be entitled
to claim lands in this Province as heirs or devisees of
the lands” (Statutes of Upper Canada, 45 Geo. III,
c. 2.). The new commission heard the claims of the heirs,
devisees, and assignees of the original nominees. Supporting
submissions included anything that had a bearing on the
claimant’s right to a particular lot of land, such
as genealogical information about family relationships and
individual land transactions. A separate report was prepared
for each session of the commission. Within each report,
each claim heard was assigned a unique number, beginning
with the number one. In some cases a second application
was made to the commissions by the heirs of the heirs of
the Crown’s original nominee. While the last meeting
of the commission occurred in 1896, the commission was not
formally abolished until 1911 with the passing of the Ontario
Act.
Second Heir and Devisee Commission Database
To determine if someone made a claim to the Second Heir
and Devisee Commission, use the searchable
online database, which serves as an
index to the 5,184 case files that document claims made
to the commission. Detailed search results will provide
information about a particular case file: the name or names
of the applicant, the township or town of concern, the year
of application, and the case file number. The search result
will also show the microfilm reel upon which the case file
is located. These reels are available in the Main Reading
Room and on interlibrary
loan, and they can also be borrowed through
family history centres.
Determining who received land as a result of an Heir and
Devisee claim is made difficult by the fact that it is the
descendant of the original claimant who would have submitted
a claim, and the descendant may not have the same surname.
One way to determine the name of a claimant is by consulting
the OLRI for the name associated with the lot of interest
(if known), as well as checking the index to patents by
township and the Abstract Indexes (part of the records of
the Land Registry Offices) to get the name of the person
who received the patent. With the name of the claimant,
a search for the commission case file can take place.
Other Heir and Devisee Commission Records
The following tables contain references to records that
are predominantly composed of material created by or relating
to the Second Heir and Devisee Commission. Please see the
series descriptions for more information about these records:
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Commissions of appointment to the Second Heir and
Devisee Commission |
1840-1879 |
RG
40-4 |
| Correspondence and miscellaneous records of the
Second Heir and Devisee Commission |
1805-1891 |
RG
40-11 |
| Certificates of search |
1832-1872 |
RG
1-16-1 |
| Reports or certificates of search submitted to the
Second Heir and Devisee Commission by the Crown Lands
Department |
1844-1868 |
RG
40-8 |
| Minutes of the Second Heir and Devisee Commission |
1810-1895 |
RG
40-6 |
| Indices to claims made to the Second Heir and Devisee
Commission |
[ca. 1850-ca. 1889] |
RG
40-12 |
| Second Heir and Devisee Commission case files |
1804-1895 |
RG
40-5 |
| Draft reports of proceedings of the Second Heir
and Devisee Commission |
1857-1891 |
RG
40-9 |
| Heir and Devisee Commission reports submitted to
the Inspector General |
1823-1840 |
RG
1-18 |
| Heir and Devisee Commission reports submitted to
the Surveyor General |
1802-1886 |
RG
1-15-1 |
| Copies of Heir and Devisee Commission reports prepared
by the Surveyor General |
1811-1868 |
RG
1-15-2 |
| Certificates documenting the fulfilment of settlement
duties and the payment of fees on lands awarded by
the Second Heir and Devisee Commission |
1846-1848 |
RG
40-10 |
| Lists of land claimed under the Second Heir and
Devisee Commission |
1805-1876 |
RG
40-7 |
| Registers of fiats for land grants - Heir and Devisee
Commission |
[ca. 1800]-1854 |
RG
1-150-2 |
| Individual fiats for land grants - Heir and Devisee
Commission |
1812-1854 |
RG
1-150-1 |
| Western District Heir and Devisee notices and land
claims |
1838-1858 |
RG
22-1899 |
| Eastern District Clerk of the Peace Heir and Devisee
Commission claims books |
1806-1812 |
RG
22-610 |
return to top of page
6. Promoters of Land Settlement: The Canada Company, Thomas
Talbot, and Peter Robinson
Non-governmental records can also be a valuable tool in
early land research. One such fonds is the Canada Company
fonds (F 129). The London (England)-based Canada Company,
established in 1825, was granted large tracts of land (approximately
2.5 million acres) in southwestern Ontario (much of which
comprised the Huron Tract) during the 1800s which it then
leased or sold for settlement. The principle aim of this
company was to obtain land in Canada and to promote its
sale to prospective settlers. It was also expected to build
roads on its land to make the land more accessible.
Several series of records in the fonds can be used for
family-history research. One series in the Canada Company
fonds is the Canada Company registers of contracts and leases
(F 129, Series B-3, Vols 19 to 41), which is indexed in
the OLRI. The sale, lease, and deed number provided by this
series allows one access to the books of sales, leases,
and deeds, all of which provide more information on the
property. Other series of records of the Canada Company
fonds are applications for deeds (F 129, B-3, Vols. 42 to
48), registers of wills (F 129, A-5-13) power-of-attorney
files and burial certificates (both found in F 129, A-5-14,
A-5-15 and A-5-16). For further information on how to access
these series, see the series descriptions in Inventory F
129, located in the Main Reading Room.
In addition to its land business, the Canada Company acted
as a remittance agent for its settlers when they wanted
to send money to friends and family, and, acting in the
same capacity, it arranged for money to be made available
to settlers when they travelled outside Canada. The Remittance
Books (F 129, C-7, vol. 1- 7) states the name of the settler
who gave the money, the name of the place where he or she
lived in Canada, the name and place of residence in Great
Britain of the person to whom he or she was sending the
money, the amount of money sent, and all relevant dates
with regards to this transaction. For further information
on how to access these series, see Inventory F 129. Some
of the records from this series are also indexed in Ruth
Holt and Margaret William’s
Genealogical Extractions and Index of the Canada
Company Remittance books, 1843-1847 (Weston,
Ont.: R. Holt, 1990), available in the Main Reading Room’s
Genealogy Publications bookcase.
The Canada Company fonds also contains a significant amount
of manuscript and printed township and town surveys. These
plans may show the names of owners as well as details concerning
the shape, size, and location of lots, and they are particularly
useful when used in conjunction with the company’s
textual records. A listing of the plans is available in
the F 129 inventory in the Special
Collections Reading Room.
In southwestern Ontario between 1802 and 1837, approximately
one-half-million acres were entrusted to the control of
Colonel Thomas Talbot, a successful and remarkable settlement
promoter. Large portions of the so-called “Talbot
Tract” remained unimproved by 1837, when the Talbot
agency was transferred to the Crown. By this date, however,
Talbot had managed to settle approximately 6,000 families
in the present-day counties of Norfolk, Elgin, Middlesex,
Kent, and Essex. The forty-nine Talbot town and township
plans (F
501-1) held by the Archives of Ontario contain
entries relating to the initial acceptance, retention, rejection,
or replacement of settlers. Talbot pencilled in the names
of settlers, and, in many cases, this information was subsequently
erased or scratched out and replaced with the names of new
locatees. Often a date, probably the date of location, appears
beside the settler’s name. Although settlers received
their land patents from the Crown, Talbot reportedly exercised
control over them. As with other township plans, clergy
reserves are shown in grey, Crown reserves in red.
Also part of the Talbot fonds is a register or lease book
(F
501-2) containing information relating to leases
in ten townships in which Talbot oversaw settlement: Aldborough,
Bayham, Charlotteville, Dunwich, London, Malahide, Southwold,
Townsend, Woodhouse, and Yarmouth. This register is not
indexed in the OLRI. See the series
description for more information on this record
and how to access it.
Records Relating to the Peter Robinson Settlers
In 1823, as a form of poor relief, the imperial government
began a program to assist individuals from southern Ireland
to immigrate to Canada. The settlement of these immigrants
was entrusted to the civil administration of Upper Canada,
and Peter Robinson, the brother of Attorney General John
Beverley Robinson, was placed in charge of organizing and
supervising the undertaking. He assisted with two waves
of immigration. The first group of immigrants, arriving
in 1823, were located largely in the townships of Ramsay,
Huntley, Pakenham, and Goulbourn in the Bathurst District
of Upper Canada. A second, much larger, group of immigrants
was brought over in 1825, locating in townships in the Peterborough
area, most notably, Douro, Otonabee, Asphodel, Smith, Emily,
Ennismore, and Ops. Immigrants were given free transportation
to Upper Canada, provisions during the voyage and for an
additional year following their location on the land, and
the tools and utensils required for settlement. Each male
immigrant between the ages of eighteen and forty-five was
to receive a location ticket for seventy acres of land,
with the option of purchasing an additional thirty acres
at a later date.
The Archives of Ontario’s Peter Robinson fonds (F
61) includes microfilmed records from the Peterborough
Centennial Museum. Among this collection are
lists of immigrants by ship (1823) and embarkation cards
for 1825. There are also alphabetical lists of immigrants
by township, giving birthplaces in Ireland; location lists
specifying the tools, livestock, and clothing granted; and
applications from intended immigrants, arranged alphabetically
and often accompanied by letters of recommendation. Original
records held by the Archives of Ontario contain correspondence
from mostly, it seems, settlers whom Peter Robinson had
assisted and who were now writing to him for additional
help. For more information about these records, consult
the inventory F 61 in the Main Reading Room, which contains
a detailed list of the correspondence as well as copies
of ship passenger lists. Note that the Peter Robinson settlers
listed in this fonds are indexed in the OLRI.
Other records created by Peter Robinson are found among
the Crown Land Records and are listed in the table below.
Note that the records contained in RG
1-84-0-2 are indexed in the OLRI.
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Fiats for land grants - Peter Robinson settlers
|
1833-1862 |
RG
1-162 |
| Returns of settlers in the Newcastle District |
[ca. 1836]-1869 |
RG 1-84 |
| Records relating to the Peter Robinson settlers |
[ca. 1823]-1835 |
RG
1-163 |
return to top of page

7. Township Papers
The series of Crown Land Records entitled the Township
Papers (RG
1-58) consists of a miscellaneous collection
of documents relating to land which were brought together
by staff of the Department of Lands and Forests as a means
of sorting and arranging otherwise unrelated land records.
They date from ca.1783 to ca.1870. If an individual document
dealt specifically with a particular piece of property and
did not appear to fit within another records series, it
was placed within the Township Papers. After the series
was transferred to the Archives of Ontario, staff archivists
continued to file miscellaneous material within the series.
The Township Papers include copies of orders-in-council,
location certificates and tickets, assignments, certificates
of settlement duties, correspondence, and even some wills.
The records are arranged by township, town, or village and,
within each township, by concession and then lot number.
Once you know the particular lot of land the settler was
granted, it is worth looking at the Township Papers since
there may be documentation among the records of the lot
in question that will provide information about the settler.
This series is available on interlibrary
loan or in the Main Reading Room on microfilm.
return to top of page

8. Researching the Land: Descriptions, Surveyor’s
Notes and Diaries, and Crown Lands Correspondence
Descriptions
The Crown produced a description of the land after it
had been granted to an individual or corporation. The series
titled Descriptions (RG
1-53) can be consulted to determine the metes
and bounds (boundary) of a particular grant of land as well
as some (or all) of the following information: name of the
grantee (or assignee); place of residence and profession;
name of the original nominee; reason for the grant (e.g.,
as a discharged soldier); relationship between the nominee
and the grantee; location of the lot granted (lot, concession,
township); number of acres; details on clergy reserves;
date of the order-in-council; date of location ticket; surveyor
general's fiat number; warrant number; description number;
and details regarding the performance of settlement duties.
The descriptions are arranged by the more than thirty different
types of land grants and leases in existence at various
times. See the sub-series
descriptions for more information. Domesday
Books (RG
1-63) can serve as indexes to the Descriptions
as well as the Lists and Indexes to Descriptions in RG
1-53-1.
Surveyor Notes and Diaries
Another series of Crown Land Records that provide details
of the land granted to a settler or corporation is the Crown
Land Survey Diaries, field notes and reports (RG
1-59). Each surveyor was directed to keep a
diary and a field book that documented vegetation cover,
topography, and soil type, with remarks on the suitability
of the land for agriculture. The records are grouped together
by geographic location/general subject. The Archives of
Ontario does not hold all the surveyor diaries and field
notes. The Crown Surveys Office of the Ministry of Natural
Resources, located in Peterborough, also holds a large volume
of them. To access these records, contact the Ministry
of Natural Resources in Peterborough.
Surveyor General and Commissioner of Crown Lands Correspondence
Correspondence of the surveyor general and his successor
as commissioner of Crown lands can also be a valuable source
of information about a particular piece of land or individual
settlers or corporations in Upper Canada. Correspondence
from and to the surveyor general/commissioner of Crown lands
relates to all aspects of land administration and includes
letters from individual settlers.
Much of the correspondence is arranged in chronological
order. However, if the date of a possible piece of correspondence
is unknown, a researcher can consult the Crown Land Papers
Card Index available in the Genealogy Reference Area of
the Main Reading Room. This catalogue indexes mainly records
from the series Correspondence and memoranda received by
the Surveyor General relating to surveys and land administration
(RG
1-2), created between the late eighteenth century
and 1868. It does not appear, however, that all correspondence
created during this period was indexed. The Index provides
a brief description of the piece of correspondence and a
reference to the volume in which the correspondence is found.
Among the index terms used are names of correspondents and
the names of townships, counties, districts, etc.
Crown land correspondence can be found in numerous series
of records. Some of the earlier correspondence is found
in the following series:
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Correspondence and memoranda received by the Surveyor
General's Office |
1764-1800 |
RG
1-1 |
| Correspondence and memoranda received by the Surveyor
General relating to surveys and land administration |
1777-1905 |
RG
1-2 |
| Outgoing correspondence from the Surveyor General's
Office |
1792-1908 |
RG
1-3 |
| Register of memorials, petitions, and letters referred
to the Surveyor General's Office by Government House |
1833-1836 |
RG
1-4 |
| Outgoing correspondence from the Office of the Commissioner
of Crown Lands |
1827-1874 |
RG
1-6 |
| Registers of letters received by the Commissioner
of Crown Lands |
1837-1869 |
RG
1-7 |
return to top of page
9. Maps and Plans
Maps and plans prepared for the Crown detailing land distribution
in Ontario date to the eighteenth century. Maps produced
by the Surveyor General’s Office of the Department
of Crown Lands are split between the Archives of Ontario
and the Crown Survey Records Office of the Ministry of Natural
Resources, located in Peterborough. The Crown Survey Records
Office retains the main group of Crown land maps, including
original town and township surveys, road and exploration
surveys, maps of Indian lands, resurveys of disputed boundaries,
and the like. Maps and plans held by the Crown Survey Records
Office are considered, for legal purposes, to be the first
or the official map or plan. The Archives of Ontario holds
largely those maps and plans considered for legal purposes
to be copies. They can be accessed in the Special
Collections Reading Room.
Survey Plans of Townships
Early survey plans of townships show the lot and concession
gridlines. Often, however, plans were used as office or
working copies and had additional information inscribed
upon them. Crown and clergy reserves, swampy areas, and
bodies of water were identified on township plans through
the use of different colours of ink: grey for clergy reserves,
red for Crown reserves, a yellowish green for swamps, and
blue for water. Frequently, the names of occupants were
superimposed on the survey grids.
Survey plans showing lots and concessions and additional
information inscribed upon them will be found in the collection
titled the Township Plan Collection (C
277) and the government series titled the Ministry
of Natural Resources township survey plans (RG
1-470 ).
Patent Plans
Patent plans (RG
1-100) are another important record created
as part of the process of documenting the distribution of
Crown lands. Patent plans show the status of alienation
of Crown lands, that is, whether a lot was patented, leased,
or under a licence of occupation. When a lot, or a portion
of a lot, was patented, the name of the patentee (the grantee)
was inscribed on the plan in the appropriate place. Sometimes,
other information was recorded, such as order-in-council
number, the licence of occupation number, or a lease reference.
As with township plans, colours were used to distinguish
Crown and clergy reserves. Patent plans are particularly
useful when examined in conjunction with textual records
such as land petitions and the index to land patents, since
names mentioned on a particular lot of land on a patent
plan did not guarantee that the person received the patent.
There are approximately 5,600 patent plans. The patent plans
are listed in Inventory 1 Appendix A30, titled the “Vault
Index” by the Department of Lands and Forests, which
is available in the Main Reading Room and the Special
Collections Reading Room. The Domesday Books
(RG
1-63 ) are also referenced with this Index.
return to top of page

10. Acquiring Ownership of the Land: The Patent
To determine if a settler received the official title of
land from the Crown, a researcher can consult the land patents.
The Crown issued the patents once the administrative fees
were paid and the settlement duties were completed. Land
Patent Books, 1793-1984 (RG
53-1) contain copies of letters patent. Indexes
to the patent books include the Index to land patents by
township, 1793-1852 (RG
53-55) and the Index to land patents by name,
1826-1967 (RG
53-56); they are available on self-service
microfilm in the Main Reading Room and through microfilm
interloan. The Indexes provide the name of
the patentee, the date of the patent, the lot and concession
number, the township, the type of transaction, the liber
(book) and folio (page) numbers where the patent was located
in the original patent books, and the number of acres obtained.
The patent books themselves tend not to provide further
information on the settler.
return to top of page

11. Land Registry Office Records
Once the patent for a particular lot of land is issued,
any future transactions regarding that piece of property
will be documented in the Land Registry Offices. A land
registry system was established in Ontario in 1795 to document
land ownership. Under this system, land transactions are
registered in county, district, and regional LROs. A variety
of records have been produced documenting the transfer of
ownership from and to individuals or corporations. To find
out more about these records, please consult the Research
Guide 299, Sources of Family History.
return to top of page

12. Further Reading: Resources on Early Land Settlement
Books
- Clarke, John. Land,
Power, and Economics on the Frontier of Upper Canada.
Montreal and Kingston: McGill-Queen's University Press,
2001.
- Coleman, T. Canada
Company. [Stratford, Ont.] : Published by
the Corporation of the County of Perth in Co-operation
with the Perth County Historical Board and Cumming Publishers,
1978.
- Gates, Lillian F. Land
Policies of Upper Canada. Toronto: University
of Toronto Press, 1968.
- Merriman, B.D. Genealogy
in Ontario. Toronto: Ontario Genealogical
Society, 2002
- Winearls, Joan. Mapping
Upper Canada: 1780-1867. Toronto: University
of Toronto Press, 1991.
Published Articles
- Elliott, Bruce S., and Fawne Stratford-Devai. “Upper
Canada Land Settlement Records: The Second District Land
Boards, 1819-1825.” Families
34, no. 3 (1995): 132-37.
- Gundy, H. Pearson. “The Family Compact at Work:
The Second Heir and Devisee Commission of Upper Canada,
1805-1841.” Ontario
History 66, no. 3 (1974): 129-46.
- Kennedy, Patricia. “Deciphering the Upper Canada
Land Books and Land Petitions.” Readings
in Ontario Genealogical Sources. Oakville,
Ont.: Conference on Ontario Genealogical Sources, 1979:
41-64.
- Mezaks, John. “Records of the Heir and Devisee
Commission.”
Families 16, no. 4 (1977): 199-206.
Archival Documents
| Title of series / sub-series |
Dates |
Reference code |
| Reports relating to the Surveyor General’s
Office made to the Commission to Investigate and Report
to the Public Departments |
1839 |
RG
1-12-3 |
return to top of page
|