Sources of Family History
 |
|
|
|
Archives of Ontario
Research Guide 299
Table of Contents
Introduction
1. Aboriginal People, Records of
2. Birth, Marriage and Death Records (Vital Statistics)
3. Cartographic Records
4. Census Records
5. Criminal Justice System Records
6. Divorce Records
7. Education
Records
8. Guardianship
and Adoption Records
9. Health Records
10. Immigration, Naturalization and Citizenship Records
11. Land Records
12. Library Holdings
13. Loyalist Sources
14. Militia and Military Records
15. Municipal Records
16. Newspapers
17. Wills and Estate Records
18. Other Sources
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
Introduction
The Archives of Ontario preserves the province's documentary
heritage and makes it available to the public. Since 1903
it has been collecting historically valuable records created
by both the Ontario government and the private sector. Records
from businesses, clubs and associations, labour and political
organizations, and private individuals complement the official
government records.

Using this Research Guide
This research guide provides information about sources available
at the Archives of Ontario that may help with your family
history research. It is arranged alphabetically into sections
corresponding to various types of sources. Each section provides
summary information about the sources and how to access them.
Please keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list of
sources available at the Archives of Ontario. As well, only
those sources available through the Archives are mentioned
in this research guide. Please note that the information in
this research guide is current as of July 2006.
The following prefixes and terms appear throughout this research
guide:
Archival Reference
Code or Term |
Explanation |
Examples |
F (fonds) /
C (collection) |
The records of an individual, non-government organization
or corporation. |
F 229, T. Eaton Co. fonds |
| RG |
The records of the Government of Ontario. |
See "Series" below |
| Series |
Records that have been filed together because they
relate to the same activity, function or subject. |
RG 80-2, Registrations of births and stillbirths
F 229-167, Eaton's employee application forms, retirement
and death notices |
Inventory /
Finding Aid |
A written description of archival or library holdings. |
Inventory 80, Records of the Office of the Registrar
General
Finding Aid L 15, Toronto City Directories on Microfilm |
| MS / GS MS |
Microfilm reels |
934, reel 1
GS 539, Township of Blanshard censuses |
| NA MG |
Non-government records held by Library and Archives
Canada |
NA MG 14, Loyalist Claims and Conversion List |
| NA RG |
Government of Canada records held by Library and Archives
Canada |
NA RG 19, Board of Claims for War of 1812 Losses |
Throughout this research guide, researchers are directed
to the following research tools for further information and
instruction on how to access archival records:
- The Archives Descriptive Database (ADD) describes
archival records held by the Archives, as well as the government
offices, organizations, corporations, and individuals that
created the records. Not all records in the Archives’
holdings have been included in the ADD to date. The ADD
is available on the Archives’ web site at http://www.archives.gov.on.ca
and on-site at the Archives.
- BIBLiON is a searchable database that describes most of the holdings
of the Archives of Ontario Library acquired since 1989 as
well as the Archives’ complete pamphlet collection.
Pre-1989 library holdings are gradually being added to BIBLiON. BIBLiON is available on the Archives’ web site and on-site
at the Archives.
- Finding aids, inventories and card catalogues provide descriptions
of records held by the Archives, records from other institutions
available on microfilm at the Archives and some of the Archives’
library holdings. Most finding aids and inventories can
be consulted on-site at the Archives only.
- Research Guides and Customer
Service Guides provide information on the Archives’
services, procedures and records of general interest. They
are available on the Archives’
web site and on-site at the Archives.

Getting started with family history research
When beginning family history research in Ontario,
consider doing one or more of the following:
- Gather any records held by your family documenting its
presence at a certain time and place, such as family Bibles,
birth, marriage and death records, deeds, wills, photograph
albums, scrapbooks, military records, letters, school diplomas,
yearbooks or awards. Ask relatives for information and documents.
- Consult publications that provide information and guidance
on researching Ontario ancestors. Many libraries, including
the Archives’ library, hold some of these publications.
The biggest collection of published material on Ontario
genealogy is the Canadiana
Collection, North York Central Library Branch, Toronto Public
Library (5120 Yonge Street, North York, Ontario,
M2N 5N7, 416-395-5623, http://www.tpl.toronto.on.ca).
It includes the book collections of the Ontario Genealogical
Society, the Canadian Society of Mayflower Descendants,
the Jewish Genealogical Society of Canada (Toronto region)
and the Société franco-ontarienne d’histoire
et de généalogie (Toronto chapter).
- Contact organizations such as the Friends of the
Archives of Ontario (77 Grenville Street, 3rd Floor,
Toronto, Ontario, M5S 1B3, 416-325-4930), which offers workshops
on research at the Archives of Ontario, or the Ontario
Genealogical Society (main office: 40 Orchard
View Blvd., #102, Toronto, Ontario, M4R 1B9, 416-489-0734,
http://www.ogs.on.ca),
which provides workshops and general advice on genealogical
research.
- Visit the Archives of Ontario web site
at http://www.archives.gov.on.ca. It provides
information on the Archives’ holdings and services,
as well as links to outside resources.
- Employ the services of independent genealogical researchers.
Refer to Customer
Service Guide 111: Genealogical Researchers in Ontario
for more information.

Accessing the sources
Records held by the Archives can be consulted
in the Archives’ reading rooms. Microfilm reels are
available on a self-service basis. Original records
must be retrieved for you. For each retrieval, a
Records and Papers Request Slip must be submitted.
Many records are located off-site and a minimum of 1 business
day is needed to retrieve them. Please note that access restrictions
apply to some of the records mentioned in this research guide.
For information on accessing records that are restricted under
provincial legislation, refer to Customer
Service Guide 109: Freedom of Information and Protection of
Privacy.
Some of the microfilm held by the Archives can also be borrowed
and consulted in public and university libraries, through
the Archives’ Microfilm Interloan Service program. Refer
to Customer
Service Guide 110: Microfilm Interloan Service
or consult the Microfilm
Interloan Service section of the Archives’
web site for more information.
Library and Archives Canada (NA MG and NA RG)
records mentioned in this research guide are available on
self-service microfilm on-site at the Archives of Ontario.
For information about Library and Archives Canada’s
holdings and services (including interloan), contact the Genealogy
Unit, Researcher Services Division, Library
and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
(395 Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0N3, 1-866-578-7777
toll-free within Canada and the United States, http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/).
The Family History
Centers of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day
Saints (LDS) hold copies of some of the microfilm described
in this research guide. For the nearest Family
History Center, refer to the LDS’
web site or call 1-800-346-6044 in North America.
Books mentioned in this research guide are available from
the Archives of Ontario Library and may be available at other
libraries also. Some of the books are available on self-service
bookcases in the Archives’ Main Reading Room, while
others can be retrieved for you from the library stacks. Please
note that copies held by the Archives are for reference purposes
only.

Archives of Ontario hours of operation
Main Reading Room (researcher registration,
textual records, library materials, self-service microfilm,
guides, finding aids, inventories, card catalogues, online
access to web site and databases)
- Regular hours (reference and hourly retrieval
services, last retrieval at 4:00)
- Monday to Friday 8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
- Extended hours (no reference or retrieval services)
- Monday to Friday 5:00 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.
- Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Special Collections Reading Room (architectural,
cartographic, documentary art and photographic records, related
finding aids, inventories and card catalogues, online access
to web site and databases)
- Monday to Friday 8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (reference and
retrieval services; retrieval service ends at 4:00 p.m.)
Sound and Moving Images Reading Room (film,
video, sound recordings, related finding aids, reference and
retrieval services)
The Archives of Ontario is closed on Sundays and
statutory holidays.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
1. Aboriginal People, Records of
Holdings of genealogical interest regarding aboriginal people
in Ontario include: birth, marriage and death records; birth,
marriage and death registers from churches and missions serving
aboriginal communities; lists of reserve residents; wills
and estate files; land records; as well as non-government
records of fur trade posts. These records are described in
Aboriginal
peoples in the Archives: a guide to sources in the Archives
of Ontario (Toronto: Ministry of Culture
and Communications / Archives of Ontario, 1992). This guide
is available in the Main Reading Room’s General Reference
Books bookcase as well as on the Archives’ web site.
See also Section 2 Birth, marriage and death records,
Section 11 Land records and Section 17 Wills and estate records
of this research guide.
Indian Affairs records (NA RG 10) include
the records of the federal departments with responsibility
for Indian affairs. Inventory D 9 Records pertaining
to Indian affairs describes the records of the
Department of Indian Affairs. These records include some enfranchisement
(renunciation of Indian status) records, birth, marriage and
death records, pension records for veterans, school records,
as well as land records.
Bill Russell’s Indian Affairs records at
Library and Archives Canada: a source for genealogical research
(Toronto: Ontario Genealogical Society, 1998) provides general
information on federal records pertaining to Indian Affairs.
Russell’s book also includes information on how to conduct
research on aboriginal ancestors; a self-service copy is available
from the Main Reading Room’s General Reference Books
bookcase.
Aboriginal communities may hold genealogical records and
information. For the addresses and historical profiles of
Ontario aboriginal communities, see Akwesasne
to Wunnumin Lake: Profiles of Aboriginal Communities in Ontario
(Toronto: Ontario Native Affairs Secretariat and Ministry
of Citizenship, 1992); this book is available from the Main
Reading Room’s General Reference Books bookcase. |
| [Return to top of page]

|
2. Birth, Marriage and Death Records (Vital Statistics)
2.1 Records of the Office of the Registrar General
The Archives of Ontario holds microfilm copies of indexes
to registrations (where they exist) and registrations for
the following years:
The Archives also holds registrations of Ontario
overseas deaths (RG 80-21), 1939-1947, which
document the deaths of Ontario residents overseas (mostly
during military operations) during and immediately after the
Second World War.
Microfilm copies of these records are available in the Main
Reading Room as well as through the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. Consult the Birth, Marriage
and Death binders of Inventory 80 Records of the Office of
the Registrar General or the Vital
Statistics pages on the Archives’ web site
for microfilm reel listings. Birth,
Marriage
and Death
Pathfinders provide step-by-step instruction on how to find
registrations; they are available in the Main Reading Room
and on the Archives’ web site. Refer to Research
Guide 202: Ontario Vital Statistics Bulletin
for general information on these records and their availability.
Vital statistics records transferred to the Archives of Ontario
in 2008 (1912 births, 1927 marriages and 1937 deaths) are
currently closed for microfilming, and will
be available sometime in 2009. For information on vital statistics
records not yet transferred to the Archives, contact the Office
of the Registrar General, Box 4600, Thunder Bay, Ontario,
P7B 6L8, www.cbs.gov.on.ca
416-325-8305 within Toronto or 1-800-461-2156 toll-free within
Ontario.
Some published indexes and transcripts for pre-1874
marriage registrations are available in the Main
Reading Room’s Genealogical Reference Area. Consult
the Guide to published transcripts and indexes to the
pre-1874 marriage records (also available in the Genealogical
Reference Area) for further information.

2.2 Other sources for births, marriages and deaths
- Cemetery tombstone recordings: The Ontario
Genealogical Society has recorded the information found
on tombstones throughout Ontario. Microfilm of these recordings
is available on self-service reels in the Main Reading Room
and through the Archives’ Microfilm Interloan Service.
For a listing of this microfilm, consult Inventory
F 977 Ontario Genealogical Society’s cemetery
recordings collection in the Archives'
Main Reading Room or the Microfilm
Interloan Service section of the Archives’
web site. The complete recordings on paper, including those
not yet available on microfilm, are part of the
Canadiana Collection, North York Central Library Branch, Toronto Public Library (5120 Yonge Street, North York, Ontario,
M2N 5N7, 416-395-5623, http://www.tpl.toronto.on.ca).
The Mount Pleasant Group of Cemeteries
(65 Overlea Boulevard, Suite 50, Toronto, Ontario, 416-696-7866)
provides the names and date of death and burials of individuals
buried in some of Toronto’s major cemeteries. Consultation
of this information is by appointment only.
- Church records: The Archives holds a
few parish registers and other church records. As well,
we hold baptism, marriage and burial records of travelling
ministers who were not attached to a particular parish or
congregation. Some of these church records are available
on self-service microfilm in the Main Reading Room and through
the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. Search the Archives Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code
F
978 for the Archives' Church records collection,
or see the listing in Inventory F 978.
Most church records that still exist are in the custody
of the archives of each religious denomination. You will
need to know the denomination of the persons involved and
the location of the event to determine which religious archives
to contact. Please consult with a Reference Archivist for
more information.
- Court records: A limited number of marriage
bonds as well as returns of births, baptisms, marriages,
deaths and burials for various counties and districts throughout
Ontario are in the following series:
- Eastern
District marriage bonds
(RG 22-4993), 1806-1807
- Essex
County Clerk of the Peace birth, baptism, marriage and
burial returns
(RG 22-1897), 1826-1858
- Johnstown
District Clerk of the Peace baptism, marriage and death
returns
(RG 22-2986), 1831-1862, 1870-1875
- Leeds
and Grenville United Counties Clerk of the Peace marriage
register
(RG 22-2985), 1950-1956 (this register
is subject to the same access restrictions as those
noted for RG 80 in Sub-section 2.1 of this research
guide)
- Perth
County Clerk of the Peace baptism, marriage and death
records
(RG 22-4286), 1853-1871, 1896-1899
- Western
District Clerk of the Peace marriage bonds
(RG 22-1818), 1826-1828, 1835
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the archival reference codes given above, or
consult the series descriptions in Inventory 22 Courts and
related officers records.
- Local records: The following birth, marriage and death
records are also available.
- Haldimand County: burial register,
1851-1865; register of marriages, births, baptisms,
and deaths, 1914-[ca.1929]
- Leeds and Grenville Counties: marriage
registers, 1805-1850 and 1869-1873 (on microfilm reel
MS 187)
- Morrison Township: registers of
births, marriages, and deaths, 1895-1949
- Niagara, Town of: registers of births,
marriages, and deaths, 1848-1856; and correspondence
and returns relating to vital statistics, 1848-1910
(on microfilm MS 178 Reel 16)
- Pittsburgh Township: registers of
births, deaths, and marriages, 1869-1891 (on microfilm
MS 225 Reels 7 and 8)
- Raleigh Township: births, 1868-1949;
marriages, 1857-1949; deaths, 1895-1945
- Ryde Township: register of births,
marriages, and deaths, 1876-1884
- South Walsingham Township: births,
[ca.1860-ca.1905]; deaths, [ca.1860]-1919; and marriages,
[ca.1860]-1932
- Waterloo County: marriage returns
to County Clerk, 1858-1869
Microfilm is available in the Main Reading Room or through
the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. For access to other records,
please consult a Reference Archivist. Access to the following
records is restricted: births, from 1911 onward; marriages,
from 1926 onward; and deaths, from 1936 onward.
- Upper
Canada marriage bonds (D 354), 1803-1848: Marriage
bonds were documents issued prior to the issuance of a marriage
license. They were signed by two friends or relatives of
the couple, who assumed liability in case of impediment
to the marriage. Marriage bonds contain little information
besides the names of the betrothed and the guarantors, their
places of residence and the date and value of the bond.
Most bonds are in the custody of Library and Archives Canada.
The Archives of Ontario holds microfilm copies of the bonds
for Upper Canada (arranged in chronological order) and the
corresponding alphabetical indexes. These records are available
on self-service microfilm in the Main Reading Room. Search
the Archives Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code D
354 for information on how to access this microfilm.
Bonds for the years 1803-1834 are transcribed and indexed
in Thomas A. Wilson, Marriage bonds of Ontario, 1803-1834
(Lambertville, N. J.: Hunterden House, 1985); this book
is available in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy
Publications bookcase.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
3. Cartographic Records
The cartographic holdings of the Archives of Ontario include
maps, plans and atlases documenting land ownership, occupancy
and use. Most maps and atlases can only be consulted in the
Special Collections Reading Room.
Cartographic records pertaining to family history research
include:
- County atlases: Published for the most
part in the late 1870s, county atlases show land occupancy
and contain information about early settlement. Some of
these atlases are also available in the Main Reading Room.
As well, some county atlases have been microfilmed (microfilm
number: B 34, reels 1-4); this microfilm is available both
on self-service reels in the Main Reading Room and through
the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service.
- Township
plan collection (C 277), Township
plans (RG 1-470), and Township
plans in the Thomas Talbot fonds (F 501-1):
These plans were prepared by the Office of the Surveyor
General and its successors as well as by surveyors working
for private individuals such as land developers. All plans
consist of a survey grid showing concessions and lots; on
some plans, additional information is inscribed, such as
the names of occupants, dates of occupation, the location
of crown and clergy reserves, and mill sites. For more information
about these records, search the Archives Descriptive Database
(Archival Descriptions search option) using the archival
reference codes given above. Alternatively, consult
Inventory C 277 Township plan collection, Series
RG 1-470 in Inventory 1 Crown land and resources records,
and Series F 501-1 in Inventory F 501 Thomas Talbot
fonds.
- Town
and city plan collection (C 295) and Town
and city survey plans (RG 1-471): These plans
show the layouts of cities, towns and villages. In addition
to showing street layouts, plans may also provide additional
information such as ward boundaries and may depict the locations
of prominent structures, parks and green spaces. For more
information about these records, search the Archives Descriptive
Database (Archival Descriptions search option) using the
archival reference codes given above. Alternatively, consult
Inventory C 295 Town and city plan collection
and Series RG 1-471 in Inventory
1 Crown land and resources records.
- Patent plans (RG 1-100), [178? - ca.1978]: These plans were drawn at the time a township was surveyed; subsequently, the names of individuals located on the land (often the original grantees) were written on the occupied lot. Over
time, information such as patent numbers and references
to other land records were added on some of the plans. For
more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search option)
using the archival reference code RG
1-100, or consult the series description in
Inventory 1 Crown land and resources records.
Joan Winearls' Mapping Upper Canada, 1780-1867:
an annotated bibliography of manuscript and printed maps
(Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1991) describes pre-1867
maps of Ontario; this book is available in the Special Collections
Reading Room and from the Archives' library (call number:
016.912713 W55).
For further information about the Archives’ cartographic
holdings and how to access them, please consult the Special
Collections Reference Archivist. |
| [Return to top of page]

|
4. Census Records
Starting in 1793, districts and municipalities in Upper Canada
were mandated to conduct annual censuses. Colony-wide censuses
were carried out in Canada West (current-day Ontario south
of the Muskoka and Haliburton areas) in 1842, 1851-1852 and
1861. The federal government has conducted a Canada-wide census
every tenth year since 1871.
4.1 Pre-1851 census records
These records often consist of statistical information with
no names or only the names of family heads.
The following municipal fonds include pre-1851 census records
for many Ontario townships and communities:
With the exception of Talbot District, these censuses have
been microfilmed and are available on self-service reels in
the Main Reading Room and through the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. For a detailed list of this
microfilm, consult the Microfilm Interloan Service section
of the Archives’ web site. You may also search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the archival reference codes given above for
each district or township.
For other early Ontario census records, consult the finding
aid Ontario census returns, 1842-1901 (available
in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy Reference Area).
The Archives also holds copies of Genealogical Society of
Utah microfilm of censuses for the Township of Binbrook,
1837-1839 (microfilm number: GS 1436)
and the Township of Blanshard, 1848 and 1850
(microfilm number: GS 539). This microfilm is available in
the Main Reading Room and through the
Family History Centers of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day
Saints.
An index to the 1848 and 1850 censuses for the Districts
of Huron, Johnstown and Newcastle is available on
self-service microfiche in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy
Reference Area. The University of Western
Ontario’s D. B. Weldon Library holds District
of Huron censuses indexed on microfiche.
In addition, militia muster rolls served
as county- or province-wide censuses of the adult male population.
See Sub-section 14.1 Militia records
of this research guide for further information.

4.2 Post-1850 census returns
The Archives of Ontario holds microfilm copies of the personal
census returns for Canada West/Ontario for 1851-1852, 1861,
1871, 1881, 1891 and 1901, as well as the 1861 and 1871 agricultural
census returns for Canada West/Ontario. The returns are arranged
by county, then by town and township.
The personal returns usually record a person's age, country
of birth and origin, religion, and occupation; the type and
amount of information vary from one census to another. The
agricultural returns record the concession and lot, buildings
and livestock owned by farmers.
The microfilmed censuses are available on self-service reels
in the Main Reading Room, as well as from Library and Archives
Canada through interloan. Archives of Ontario finding aid
Ontario census returns, 1842-1901
(available in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy Reference
Area) lists this microfilm by town and township. This finding
aid is an annotated abstract of Thomas A. Hillman's Catalogue
of census returns on microfilm, 1666-1891 / Catalogue des
recensements sur microfilm, 1666-1891 (Ottawa: National
Archives of Canada, 1987), which is available in most libraries.
A separate finding aid Toronto Census Aid
(also available in the Genealogy Reference Area) lists the
reels for the census returns for each Toronto ward and includes
maps showing ward limits at the time of each census.
The following indexes are available:
- 1851: An index and transcript on microfiche
of the 1851 census for Middlesex County
is available in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy
Reference Area. The 1851 census for Bruce, Grey,
Lennox & Addington, and Wellington Counties
is indexed in Renie A. Rumpel’s Index to the 1851
of Canada West (Ontario) (Waterloo, Ontario: Ontario
Indexing Services, 2001), 3 vol.; this index is available
in the Main Reading Room’s Genealogy Reference Area.
- 1861: The 1861 census for Lennox
and Addington County is indexed in Linda Corupe's
Index to the 1861 Census of Lennox and Addington Co.
(self-published); it is available in the Main Reading Room's
Genealogy Reference Area.
- 1871: A surname index for the 1871 census
for all of Ontario has been published by
the Ontario Genealogical Society (30 vols., 1986-1992) and
is available in the Genealogy Reference Area as well as
on the Library
and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.
- 1881: An index of all names found in
the 1881 census for all of Canada has been compiled by the
Church
of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and is available on
their website.
- 1901: See http://automatedgenealogy.com/
The Archives of Ontario also holds microfilm copies of the
1871 census returns for Quebec. Consult the
finding aid Listing of the microfilm of the 1871
census for Quebec (available on the Main Reading
Room) or Hillman's book mentioned above. |
| [Return to top of page]

|
5. Criminal Justice System Records
The Archives of Ontario holds some of the records created
from the time police undertake an investigation into a criminal
act to the end of a jail sentence, probation or parole.
Records in this section may be subject to access restrictions.
Please consult with a Reference Archivist for further information.
5.1 Investigation records
The Archives of Ontario holds records pertaining to investigations
and inquests by the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP), coroners,
the Medico-Legal Laboratory, and the Fire Marshall.
These records include:
- Ontario Provincial Police investigation records,
1901-1989
- Criminal investigation records and reports (RG
23-26), 1901-1921 (predominant, 1909-1921)
- Major criminal investigation case files (solved
cases) (RG 23-29), 1922-1969
- OPP members’ diaries and notebooks/journals
(RG 23-30), 1925-1989
- Special Investigations Branch crime reports (RG
23-49), 1936-1984
- Criminal investigations reports and files (RG
23-50), 1922-1970
- Major occurrence reports (RG 23-51),
1969-1983
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the archival reference codes given above. Alternatively,
consult the series descriptions in Inventory 23 Records
of the Ontario Provincial Police.
Please note that the Archives does not hold records of local,
regional and national police services.
- Coroners’ records (various series in RG
22 and RG 33), 1830-1965: Include records of investigations
(informal) and inquests (formal) held in cases of suspicious
or unexplained deaths. Consult Inventory 22 Courts
and related officers records and Inventory 33 Preliminary
Inventory of the records of the Ministry of the Solicitor
General for further information, or search
the
Archives Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the keyword "coroner*"
(including the asterisk) and archival reference codes RG
22* or RG 33* (including the asterisk)
to identify series that contain these records.
- Medico-Legal Laboratory early case files (RG 33,
Series H-1), 1931-1961: Document forensic services
provided by the Laboratory to police services. Consult the
series description in Inventory 33 Preliminary
Inventory of the records of the Ministry of the Solicitor
General for further information.
- Office
of the Fire Marshall investigation case files (RG 33-30),
1929-1988: Document investigations of fires resulting
in death or large scale property loss. For more information
about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code RG
33-30.

5.2 Prosecution and indictment records
These records document the work of the Crown Attorneys in
indicting and prosecuting criminal offences. They include:
- Early Crown prosecution case files (RG 4-1, Boxes
7 and 8), 1794-1865: For more information, see
Inventory 4 Records of the Ministry of the Attorney
General.
- Supreme
Court Central Office Criminal Assize Clerk criminal indictment
case files (RG 22-392), 1853-1929:
To find a particular file, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Files and Items search
option) using the last name as a keyword and the archival
reference code RG 22-392* (including the
asterisk). Alternatively, see Appendix A22
in Inventory 22 for an alphabetical listing by surname.
- Supreme
Court Registrar’s criminal indictment files (RG 22-517),
1930-1979: For more information, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code RG
22-517 or consult the relevant series description
in Inventory 22 Courts and related officers records.
- Crown Attorney prosecution case files (various
series in RG 22), 1865-1971: These files contain
documentation used by Crown Attorneys in prosecuting criminal
offences. There are gaps for records other than those of
the Superior Courts, and most files document indictable
offences. To identify series that contain these records,
search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the keywords prosecution case
files, or consult the Guide to criminal
justice records at the Archives of Ontario
(available in the Main Reading Room).
- Central
registry criminal and civil files (RG 4-32):
These files contain correspondence and documentation about
major criminal and civil cases referred to or reviewed by
the Department of the Attorney General’s Crown Law
Office in Toronto. Search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code RG 4-32,
or consult the relevant series description in Inventory
4 Records of the Ministry of the Attorney General.

5.3 Court records
Various courts have had jurisdiction for criminal cases over
time. Court records in the Archives’ holdings predominantly
range from 1792 to 1979, with exceptions and gaps. They include:
- Docket books: List in chronological
order all cases heard before a criminal court.
- Minute books: Provide a brief chronological
outline of all cases heard before a criminal court.
Consult the Guide to criminal justice records
at the Archives of Ontario (available in the
Main Reading Room) for a list of series for these records;
then refer to the series descriptions in Inventory
22 Courts and related officers records
for further information. Alternatively, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the keywords docket books or minute books and
archival reference code RG 22* (including
the asterisk).

5.4 Correctional records
The Government of Ontario is responsible for incarcerating
individuals awaiting trial, those sentenced to a prison term
of less than two years, and young offenders. The Archives
holds some records from provincially managed correctional
facilities, dating from 1832 to 1986 with gaps. They include:
- Adult inmate records (RG 20-26-1), 1933-1961,
1971-1983: Consist of legal documents regarding
the incarceration of adult inmates in provincial institutions.
They are partially indexed in the Index to adult inmate
records (RG 20-26-2).
- Registers (various series in RG 20):
Record information about inmates, reasons and conditions
of incarcerations. They were used in all penal institutions.
- Case files (various series in RG 20):
Include custodial and medical information supplementing
the content of the registers.
- Other records, such as Surgeon’s registers,
Punishment registers and Log books
of daily occurrences (various series in RG 20).
For a list of series for these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the name of the correctional facility in the
"Keyword in Title" field, or appropriate keywords
(registers, case files, etc.) and the archival
reference code RG 20* (including the asterisk).
Alternatively, consult the Guide to criminal justice records
at the Archives of Ontario (available in the Main Reading
Room), then refer to the series descriptions in Inventory
20 Records related to correctional services functions
for further information.

5.5 Probation and parole records
Records containing personal information about paroled inmates
include:
- Selected case files from the Ontario Board of
Parole and the Probation and Parole Field
Offices of the Ministry of Correctional Services,
from the early 1950s to the 1980s. To identify series that
contain these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the appropriate keywords (parole,
probation, Board of Parole, etc.) and the archival
reference code RG 20* (including the asterisk).
Alternatively, consult the Guide to criminal justice
records at the Archives of Ontario in the Main Reading
Room for a list of series for these records; then refer
to the series descriptions in Inventory 20 Records
related to correctional services functions.
- Ontario
Board of Parole minute books (RG 8-53), 1910-1932:
Information recorded in these books includes names of inmates
appearing before the Board and Board decisions.
- Ticket
of leave register (RG 8-55), 1911-1915: “Ticket
of leave” was an early term used to refer to parole.
-
Extra-mural employment of sentenced persons register (RG
8-57), 1921-1922: This register documents individuals
who were allowed to work and live outside the prison while
still officially serving their sentence.
- Ontario
Board of Parole register (RG 8-59), 1917-1921:
This register was used by the Board of Parole to document
all prisoners committed to penal institutions in Ontario.
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the archival reference codes above, or consult
the series descriptions in Inventory 8 Records
of the Department of the Provincial Secretary.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
6. Divorce Records
From 1867 until 1931, Ontario divorces were granted by the
Federal Parliament and printed in the Canada Gazette,
available at most major libraries. For a copy of the Resolution
or Act of Parliament granting a divorce, contact: Office
of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel, Senate of Canada, 1310-40, Elgin St., Ottawa, ON, 613-992-2416..
In 1927, the Supreme Court of Ontario was given the power
to annul marriages and, in 1931, to grant divorces, alimony,
and child custody. The Archives of Ontario holds files for
divorce actions initiated between 1931-1978.
Each divorce file typically includes the petition for divorce,
affidavits, and judgements/decrees nisi and absolute. Some
files also may include examinations, documents relating to
child custody, copies of marriage certificates, and photographs
of co-respondents (defendants).
For instructions on accessing divorce files, refer to
Research Guide 210: Finding
Divorce Files in Ontario or Research
Guide 211: Finding Divorce Files in York County.
To view files for divorce actions initiated after
1978, contact the county or district courthouse where
the divorce was filed. For a listing of courthouse addresses,
consult Table
#2 in Research Guide 210: Finding Divorce Files in Ontario.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
7. Education Records
Education records pertaining to family history research include:
- Local school board records: The Archives
of Ontario holds pre-1969 records for a limited number of
local school boards across Ontario. These records may include
daily attendance registers, general registers (recording
passage from one grade to another), minute books of boards
and ratepayers meetings, and administrative records. Registers
may contain students’ names and ages, parents’
or guardians’ names, as well as information on school
attendance, graduation and moves.
For access to records 100 years old or less that contain
personal information, researchers must obtain written
permission from the District School Board with jurisdiction
over the territory of the former local school board. Local
school board records not in the custody of the Archives
of Ontario may be in the custody of the District School
Board or local repositories. Please contact the Reference Archivist
for more information on local school
board records.
- Records of the Ministry of Education (RG 2):
Reports of academic standing / student records
(RG 2-133): These records provide exam results
of students who wrote the various provincial-wide examinations
between 1867 and 1917. The reports document the student’s
name, age, where the exam was written, when it was written
and the grades the student received on the exams. Some
of the reports also contain additional information such
as comments by the examiners about the student and any
previous schools attended by the student.
Dissolved school board records, 1848-1986:
In the 1980s certain school boards in remote areas of
Ontario ceased to exist, and their records were transferred
to the Archives of Ontario. Records of these school boards
may include attendance and general registers, lists of
students, minute books of boards and ratepayers meetings,
and administrative records. The following series contain
records of dissolved school boards:
- Midnorthern Ontario dissolved school board records
(RG 2-277)
- Northeastern Ontario dissolved school board records
(RG 2-275)
- Northwestern
Ontario dissolved school board records (RG 2-246
- Ottawa Valley Region dissolved school board records
(RG 2-277)
Normal and model school student records:
Normal School records contain information on individuals studying
to become teachers in Ontario. Model School records contain
information on children who were taught by student teachers.
The following series contain student records from the Normal
and Model Schools:
- Hamilton Normal School student records (RG 2-340),
1908-1977
- Lakeshore Teachers' College student records (RG
2-269), 1959-1968
- London
Normal School student records (RG 2-349), 1900-1973
- Model schools student teachers’ registers
(RG 2-360), 1908-1914
- Normal Schools applications records (RG 2-361),
1869-1872, 1897-1921
- North Bay Normal School admissions register (RG
2-252), 1909-1923
- Ontario Normal College student records (RG 2-357),
1895-1908
- Ottawa
Model School student records (RG 2-256), 1880-1939
- Ottawa Normal School Student records (RG 2-368),
1875-1974
- Peterborough Normal School admissions register
(RG 2-348), 1908-1923
- Stratford Normal School student records (RG 2-254),
1908-1972
- Toronto Model School student records (RG 2-321),
1853-193
- Toronto
Normal School student records (RG 2-12), 1847-1974
Grammar
school trustees’ half-yearly reports (RG 2-21),
1854-1871: Provide the names and ages of students
and the names of teachers across Ontario.
Algoma Public School Inspectorate School trustees’
half-yearly reports (RG 2-98-1), 1862-1885: Provide
the names and ages of students and the names of teachers for
schools in the area between Lake Nipissing and Lake of the
Woods.
Department of Education superannuation applications
files (RG 2-114-1), 1820-1919: Include information
submitted by retired teachers and school inspectors regarding
their career in education.
Teacher and Principal certification registers (various
series within RG 2): Contain information on individuals
who obtained certificates allowing them to teach or to become
principals in Ontario. The registers include the individual’s
name, qualification and type of certificate he or she possessed.
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search
option) using the archival reference codes given above, or
consult the series descriptions in Inventory 2 Records
of the Ministry of Education. Please note that
access to records 100 years old and less that contain personal
information is governed by the Freedom
of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.
Please consult with a Reference Archivist for further information.
- Published lists of teachers: Schools and
Teachers in the Province of Ontario was published
annually by the Department of Education between 1911 and
1966, except for 1933 (see below). It lists all teachers
in Ontario by the school at which they taught in the fall
school term of each year. These lists are available on self-service
microfilm in the Archives’ Main Reading Room (microfilm
numbers: MS 7254 to MS 7293).
See description in BIBLiON
for details, or see Inventory L24 Schools and Teachers.
The Archives also holds the manuscript version of the unpublished
1933 edition of Schools and Teachers
in Ontario. Consult the series description for
Schools and teachers with inspectorates registers
(RG 2-365) in Inventory 2 Records of the
Ministry of Education.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
8. Guardianship and Adoption Records
Beginning with the Guardianship Act (1827) and until
the Adoption Act (1921), guardianships
(child custody without the right of inheritance) were granted
through the local Surrogate Court. While not listed in most
Surrogate Court indexes, guardianship matters are recorded
in Surrogate Court registers, and later, for some counties,
in separate Surrogate Court guardianship books. To identify
series that contain these records, search the
Archives Descriptive Database (Archival
Descriptions search option) using the keyword guardianship*
(including the asterisk), the name of the county
or district, and the archival reference code RG 22*
(including the asterisk). Alternatively, consult
Inventory 22 Courts and related officers
records, vol. 1, for instructions on how to
identify and access these records.
The Archives holds no adoption files, only
guardianship records. Adoptions occurring before April 8,
1921 were made through an Act of the Ontario Legislature and
are extremely rare. For instructions on finding an Act, refer
to Research Guide
207: Researching Ontario Bills and Statutes.
Since 1921, adoptions may have occurred through a local Children's
Aid Society, a private licensed agency or individual, or through
a private adoption which does not involve government agencies.
For information on accessing and researching adoption files,
contact the Adoption Disclosure Section,
Ministry of Community and Social Services,
2 Bloor Street West, 24th Floor, Toronto, Ontario, M7A 1E9,
416-327-4730.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
9. Health Records
9.1 Patient Records
The Archives holds patient records from the following government-run
medical facilities:
- Psychiatric Hospitals: Patient records
may include case files, admission registers and discharge
registers. For more information, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the name of the hospital or the keywords
psychiatric hospital or mental
health centre in the "Keyword in Title"
field; or consult Inventory 92 Records
of Ontario Psychiatric Hospitals in the Main Reading
Room.
- Tuberculosis Hospitals: Patient records
are generally restricted to case files. Consult Thematic
Guide 10 A Guide to Tuberculosis Records
in the Main Reading Room for a list of records series; some
descriptions of records are available by searching the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the name of the hospital or the keyword
sanatorium* (including the asterisk).
- Centres for Developmentally and Emotionally Disabled
Individuals: Patient records are generally restricted
to case files. For a listing of series containing patient
records from facilities for developmentally and emotionally
disabled individuals, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the name of the institution or the
keyword centre in the "Keyword in Title" field
and the archival reference code RG 29*
(including the asterisk); or consult Inventory 29
Records of the Ministry of Community and Social
Services in the Main Reading Room.
Access to patient records 100 years old and less that contain
personal information is governed by the Freedom
of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.
Please consult with a Reference Archivist for further information.

9.2 Records of Physicians, Nurses, and other Healthcare Practitioners
- Physicians: The Archives holds the records
of more than fifty prominent Ontario physicians, ranging
from the late 1700s to the late 1970s. For a listing of
fonds containing physicians’ records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the keywords doctor or physician and
the archival reference code F* (including
the asterisk); or consult Thematic Guide T 8
Guide to Physician’s Papers in the
Main Reading Room.
The A.D. Campbell fonds (F 1382) includes
biographical sketches of physicians in Waterloo
County from 1824-1924, as well as Campbell’s
index cards listing physicians in Upper Canada to 1867.
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference code F
1382.
The publication Ontario Medical Registers, 1867-1954
(with gaps) consists of directories of physicians and surgeons
practicing in Ontario. They are available on self-service
microfilm reels MS 7155 and MS 7156
in the Archives’ Main Reading Room. See the catalogue
entry in BIBLiON
for more information.
- Nurses: The Archives also holds the
records of two nursing schools:
For more information about these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions search option)
using the archival reference codes given above.
- Healthcare Practitioners: The Archives
holds the Ontario Health Insurance Plan Practitioners Registry
Catalogue, 1977-1991 (RG 30-20). The catalogue
lists all practitioners who are participants in the OHIP
plan. Consult Inventory 30 Records of the Ontario
Health Insurance Program in the Main Reading Room
for more information about these records.
|
| [Return to top of page]

|
10. Immigration, Naturalization and Citizenship Records
10.1 Ontario Government immigration records
The Government of Upper Canada opened an Emigrant Office
in Toronto in 1833, mostly to assist immigrants to the colony.
Offices and agents were later added elsewhere in Ontario as
well as in some European cities. After Confederation (1867),
the Ontario and federal governments were jointly responsible
for immigration.
Immigration records for the Province of Ontario (RG
11) document the involvement of the Government of
Ontario and its predecessors in immigration, from 1833 to
1901.
- Series
RG 11-1 to RG 11-7 (1835-1892), also known
as the Hawke Papers,
mostly document the activities of the Toronto Emigrant Office
under A. B. Hawke (agent from 1831 to 1864) and his successors
to 1892. These records are available on self-service microfilm
in the Archives’ Main Reading Room as well as through
the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. For more information about
these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference codes given
above, or consult Inventory 11 Ontario
immigration records.
- Series RG
11-8 to
RG 11-25 (1862-1901) include correspondence,
letterbooks, arrival and destination registers, and various
records regarding bonus schemes. These records were produced
by federal and Ontario immigration agents, mostly in Toronto
but also in Kingston, Quebec City, Montreal and Paris (France).
Many of these records have been microfilmed and are available
on self-service reels in the Archives’ Main Reading
Room as well as through the Archives’ Microfilm
Interloan Service. For more information about
these records, search the Archives
Descriptive Database (Archival Descriptions
search option) using the archival reference codes given
above, or consult Inventory
11 Ontario
immigration records.

10.2 Federal Immigration Branch records
- Central registry files, 1873-1979: Document
various subjects related to immigration and contain lists
of immigrants. Consult Inventory
D 8 Records of the Immigration Branch
for more information about these records.
- Juvenile immigration records, 1892-1932,
including the Registry of British children immigrating
to Canada, 1878-1920: Some of these records contain
references to records that are part of the Central
registry files (see above). Consult Inventory
D 10 A guide to juvenile immigration records in the
records of the Immigration Branch for
more information about these records.
Some records from the private agencies that organized
juvenile immigration still exist. They may contain information
on children’s dates and places of birth, and their
families. Most of these agencies are located in Great
Britain and must be contacted directly.
-
Border entry lists, 1908-1919 and Ships’
manifests, 1865-1920 listing passengers: These
records are arranged by point of entry, then by year and
date, and then (for ships’ manifests) by ship; no
surname index exists. Consult Inventory
D 20 Ship passenger lists and border entr | | |