Services to the Public

Archives of Ontario Speakers Bureau


The Archives of Ontario maintains a dynamic and informative Speakers Bureau, and our staff experts deliver engaging presentations, free of charge, to interested organizations and groups.

All of our presentations run from 40 to 60 minutes. Our presenter can bring all required technology (laptop, projector, speakers) if necessary.

There is no charge for any of our presentations, but please note that we require at least one month’s advance notice and a projected group size of at least 30 people.

We offer seven different presentation topics:

1. Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150

This presentation will focus on stories of four family groups in Ontario at the time of Confederation, and how their lives intersected with larger historical forces of the era. Based on our exhibit Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150 this presentation will also touch on themes of early photography in Ontario, communication, social change, and the value of genealogy in studying the past.

2. Dear Sadie: Love, Lives and Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War

This WWI-themed presentation focuses on our exhibit commemorating the WWI centennial.  The exhibit highlights the unique, personal stories underlying the war, and is based on a series of letters exchanged between Harry Mason, a Canadian soldier fighting overseas, and Sadie Arbuckle, his sweetheart back home.  More information is available through the related online exhibit on our website.

3. Accessing and Preserving Family Heirlooms

This presentation is of particular interest to genealogical researchers, and explores best practices for storing personal treasures, with a particular focus on paper records. Participants will learn how to care for their family history documents at home, including detailed instructions on proper storage and handling. The presenter will offer advice about where to acquire archival supplies or the help of an independent conservator. This presentation also includes information about digitizing private collections to ensure they will be available for future generations.

4. A Century of Ontario Photographs

This presentation examines some of the highlights of our extensive photograph collections, and explains how these records are managed and preserved.

5. Lights, Camera, Archives

This presentation is one of our most popular, and features historical film clips from our collection.  The films were all produced by the Government of Ontario, and subjects include health promotion, tourism, education, and OPS staff training.

6. Doing Research from a Distance

This presentation is well-suited to researchers who are unable to travel to Toronto to visit the Archives of Ontario in person.  The speaker focuses on using our website and our Microfilm Interloan program to access our collections, and explains which services are available from anywhere in Ontario.  This program usually includes a comprehensive tour of the Archives’ website.

7. An Introduction to the Archives of Ontario

This presentation is useful for researchers who are new to the Archives, and are looking for an overview of our collections and services.  The speaker outlines a typical visit to our facility, and explains how to access our most frequently used records.

For more information, or to book a presenter, please contact us:

Tel: 416-327-1600
Toll free: 1-800-668-9933 (Ontario residents)
Email: reference@ontario.ca

Services to the Public

Bureau des conférenciers des Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario sont dotées d’un Bureau des conférenciers dynamique et informatif. Nos experts offrent des présentations intéressantes et gratuites aux organismes et aux groupes intéressés.

Toutes nos présentations durent entre 40 et 60 minutes. L’animateur peut apporter tout le matériel nécessaire (ordinateur portatif, projecteurs, haut-parleurs).

Toutes nos présentations sont gratuites, mais il nous faut un préavis minimum d’un mois et le groupe prévu doit compter au moins 30 personnes.

Nous présentons les sept sujets suivants :

1. Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans

Cette présentation mettra l'accent sur des histoires de quatre groupes de la famille en Ontario au moment de la Confédération , et comment leurs vies ont été touchées par des forces historiques plus importantes de l'époque. Sur la base de notre exposition – Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans - cette présentation abordera également les thèmes de la photographie au début de l'Ontario, la communication, le changement social , et la valeur de la généalogie dans l'étude du passé .

2. Chère Sadie : amours, vies et souvenirs ontariens de la 1re Guerre mondiale

Cette présentation porte principalement sur notre exposition commémorative du centenaire de la 1re Guerre mondiale, qui met en valeur des récits uniques et personnels sur fond de guerre. Elle rassemble une série de lettres échangées entre Harry Mason, soldat canadien parti combattre à l’étranger, et Sadie Arbuckle, sa bien-aimée restée en Ontario. Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements sur le site de notre exposition en ligne.

3. Accès aux objets de famille et préservation

Cette présentation intéressera particulièrement les généalogistes. Elle décrit les pratiques exemplaires de conservation des trésors personnels, notamment les documents sur papier. Les participants apprendront comment préserver chez eux les documents de l’histoire de leur famille en suivant des directives détaillées sur la façon de les conserver et de les manipuler. Le conférencier indiquera aussi aux participants où trouver des fournitures d’archives et à qui s’adresser pour engager les services d’un restaurateur indépendant. Cette présentation aborde également la numérisation des collections privées afin de pouvoir les préserver pour les générations à venir.

4. Un siècle de photos de l’Ontario

Cette présentation examine certains éléments saillants de nos vastes collections de photos et explique comment ces documents sont gérés and préservés.

5. Éclairage, caméra, archives

Cette présentation est la plus prisée. Elle offre des extraits de films historiques de notre propre collection. Tous les films ont été produits par le gouvernement de l’Ontario et traitent de sujets divers parmi lesquels la promotion de la santé, le tourisme, l’éducation ou la formation du personnel de la fonction publique de l’Ontario.

6. Recherche à distance

Cette présentation est destinée aux chercheurs qui ne sont pas en mesure de se rendre aux Archives publiques, à Toronto. Le conférencier explique comment utiliser notre site Web et notre service interprêt de microfilms pour accéder à nos collections, et décrit les services offerts dans l’ensemble de la province. Ce programme comprend habituellement une visite guidée complète du site Web des Archives publiques.

7. Présentation des Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette présentation sera utile aux chercheurs qui n’ont jamais travaillé avec nous auparavant et qui souhaitent avoir un aperçu de nos collections et de nos services. Le conférencier décrit le déroulement d’une visite type des Archives publiques et explique comment accéder aux documents d’archives les plus souvent consultés.

S’il vous plaît, notez que toutes les présentations sont en anglais.

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements ou inviter un conférencier, veuillez communiquer avec nous :

Tél. : 416 327-1600
Sans frais : 1 800 668-9933 (résidents de l’Ontario)
Courriel : reference@ontario.ca