Motion Pictures banner

Genealogy Day at the Archives





When: Thursday, April 5, 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Location: George Spragge Classroom, Archives of Ontario, 134 Ian Macdonald Blvd., Toronto

In collaboration with the Ontario Genealogical Society (OGS), the Archives of Ontario is excited to host a series of presentations about how researchers use archives to study genealogy.




Motion Pictures


Time             Presentation & Presenter/s

9:30 am         
Registration and Access Pass Retrieval


10:00 am      
Opening remarks from John Roberts & Patti Mordasewicz, President, The Ontario Genealogical Society.

10:10 am       
Janice Nickerson:  Using the Archives of Ontario for Family History Research. Janice will start off the presentations with an introductory session on Using the Archives of Ontario for Family History Research.  Her presentation will encompass how to prepare for a visit, how to determine in advance what resources will help you get answers, how to use finding aids, reading the on-site information to help you use the resources, and where and how to get help onsite.

11:00 am      
Aaron Hope, Archivist – What’s New at the Archives Highlighting new collections acquired by the Archives that are available for research.

11:45 am      
Panel Discussion:  Alan Campbell, Past President of OGS and professional researcher based in Sarnia, Roger Robineau, Director on the OGS Board and enlightened amateur family historian based in Oakville. Ontario Genealogical Society members who have done research at the Archives will talk about what resources they used and how those resources helped them in their family history research. 

12:30 pm        Break for lunch.


1:00 pm         
A
sk an Archivist/Ask a Conservator in the Alexander Fraser Reading Room. Get your questions ready and book an Ask an Archivist appointment.  A Conservator will also be available in the Reading Room for questions  – no appointment needed.


Take a tour of the Archives facility, including the award-winning Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150 exhibit.
Register for Genealogy Day at the Archives and Ask an Archivist

Journée de la généalogie

Journée de la généalogie aux Archives publiques





Quand : Jeudi 5 avril, de 9 h 30 à 12 h 30

Lieu : Salle George Spragge, Archives publiques de l’Ontario – 134, boul. Ian Macdonald, Toronto

En collaboration avec l’Ontario Genealogical Society (OGS), les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont le plaisir d’offrir une série de présentations sur la façon dont les chercheurs utilisent les archives pour étudier la généalogie.






Journée de la généalogie aux Archives publiques


Heure             Présentation et présentateurs

9 h 30         
Inscription et récupération du laissez-passer

10:00 am       
Allocution d’ouverture des Archives publiques de l’Ontario - John Roberts et
Patti Mordasewicz, présidente, The Ontario Genealogical Society

10 h 10   
Janice Nickerson : Utiliser les Archives publiques de l’Ontario pour faire des recherches sur l’histoire familiale. Janice présentera l’allocution d’ouverture sur l’utilisation des Archives publiques de l’Ontario pour faire des recherches sur l’histoire familiale. Elle expliquera comment préparer une visite, déterminer à l’avance les ressources susceptibles de fournir des réponses, utiliser les instruments de recherche et lire les informations sur place pour s’initier à l’utilisation des ressources, ainsi que comment et où obtenir de l’aide sur place.

11 h      
Aaron Hope – Quoi de neuf aux Archives publiques? Les nouvelles acquisitions des Archives publiques qui sont à la disposition des chercheurs.

11 h 45      
Table ronde : Alan Campbell, de Sarnia, ancien président de l’OGS et chercheur professionnel, Roger Robineau, d’Oakville, membre du conseil de l’OGS et historien amateur spécialisé en généalogie. Des membres de l’Ontario Genealogical Society qui ont effectué des recherches aux Archives publiques parleront des ressources qu’ils ont utilisées et de la façon dont ces ressources les ont aidés à faire des recherches sur l’histoire de leur famille.

12 h 30        Pause pour le dîner.


13 h         
Interroger un archiviste / Interroger un restaurateur
dans la salle de lecture Alexander Fraser. Préparez vos questions et réservez un rendez-vous avec un archiviste. De plus, un restaurateur vous attendra dans la salle de lecture pour répondre à vos questions sans rendez-vous.


Inscrivez-vous à la Journée de (en anglais seulement) la généalogie aux Archives publiques et demandez un rendez-vous avec un archiviste.