James Bay Treaty Signing Locations

The James Bay Treaty (Treaty No. 9) was the first major treaty in Ontario in which the treaty signing took place in many locations, rather than at a single event.



B eginning in early July 1905, commissioners representing the Canadian and Ontario governments arrived via rail at the Dinorwic Canadian Pacific Railway station. From there, they journeyed northeast on the Albany River in 30-foot Hudson's Bay Company canoes to Osnaburgh Post, Fort Hope Post, and Marten Falls Post, then to the river's delta at Fort Albany Post. They arrived at Moose Factory Post following a trip along the James Bay coast in York boats, before a stop at New Post. By late August, they continued south to the railhead at Haileybury, where they took the train back to Ottawa.

he 1906 expedition made the following treaty-signing stops: Abitibi Post, Matachewan Post, Mattagami Post, Flying Post, New Brunswick House Post, and Long Lake Post.

To learn more, visit the James Bay Treaty (Treaty No. 9) online exhibit on the Archives of Ontario website: **ontario.ca/archives**.

1905 Treaty Signing Locations:

 Osnaburgh Post Mishkeegogamang First Nation

- 2 Fort Hope Post Eabernetoong First Nation
- 3 Marten Falls Post Ogoki First Nation
- Fort Albany Post Kashechewan First Nation
- 6 Moose Factory Post Moose Cree First Nation
- 6 New Post Taykwa Tagamou First Nation

1906 Treaty Signing Locations:

- Abitibi Post Abitiwinni + Wahgoshig First Nations
- 2 Matachewan Post Matachewan First Nation
- Mattagami Post Mattagami First Nation
- I Flying Post Flying Post First Nation
- 6 New Brunswick House Post New Brunswick House First Nation
- 6 Long Lake Post Ginoogaming First Nation



Basemap: Map of the Province of Ontario: Dominion of Canada, including notes on treaties by J.L. Morris, 1930-1931 J.L. Morris family fonds • F 1060-1-0-51 • 10030958



