Family History at the Archives of Ontario - The Records

The Records


The Archives of Ontario holds many different kinds of records, with a few of the most heavily used being listed below. They are the starting point for most genealogical investigations. Such records are generally indexed, and they are usually available on microfilm at the Archives or through Microfilm Interloan.

Our Sources of Family History research guide [Word, PDF] provides general information on records that may be of interest to your research. We have also published a series of in depth research guides on a variety of specific topics to help you with your research.

Vital Statistics - Birth, Marriage and Death Registrations


Vital statistics are government records pertaining to births, marriages and deaths within the province of Ontario. The Archives of Ontario has the following Vital Statistics microfilm available in the Reading Room and through our interloan program:

  • Births registrations and indexes [Word, PDF] – 1869 -1916

  • Marriage registrations

  • Death registrations [Word, PDF] - 1869-1941 plus deaths of Ontarians overseas, 1939-1946.

PLEASE NOTE:

The Archives of Ontario also holds the index books and registrations for the 1917 births, 1932 marriages and 1942 deaths, all of which are closed for scanning. It is planned that these records will be available to the public in a microfilm format later in 2014.

Other Sources for Birth, Marriage and Death Records


The Archives of Ontario hold some church records, as well as cemetery transcriptions done by the Ontario Genealogical Society and various other records documenting births, marriages and deaths.

Estate Files


Estate files contain wills, and documents pertaining to the disposition of a deceased person’s property. The Archives of Ontario holds estate files from roughly 1793 to about 1970.

Immigration Records


The Archives of Ontario hold records from the Toronto and Kingston Emigration Offices and the provincial Immigration Branch and Department of Immigration. These records primarily document immigrants who received financial assistance.
We also hold microfilm copies of federal passenger lists.

Land Records


Ontario land records fall into two main categories:

(i) Crown land records (for property owned by the Crown), which document the history of a property until it was granted or sold by the Crown; and

(ii) land registry records (for privately owned property), which document the history of a property after it was granted or sold by the Crown.

Crown land records

  • Research Guide 205 - How to Use the Ontario Land Record Index ca.1780-ca. 1920 - [Word, PDF] – this index documents land grants, as well as leases and sales of land by the Canada Company to settlers.

  • Crown Land Records: Introduction

  • Second Heir and Devisee Commission Case Files Database – this database indexes case files for land claims made by heirs, devisees or nominees of original nominees for grants of Crown land.

  • Research Guide 215 - From Grant to Patent: A Guide to Early Land Settlement Records, ca. 1790 to ca. 1850 - [Word, PDF]

  • Research Guide 225 - Researching Crown Land Records - [Word, PDF]

Land registry records

  • Research Guide 231 - Finding Land Registration Records [Word, PDF]

Other Records and Resources


After you have taken these initial steps, be prepared to go further. At the Archives of Ontario you may consult naturalization records, passenger lists, maps and tombstone recordings, as well as church, court, military, hospital and school records. You may also consult city directories and voters’ lists.

Family History Centres


FamilySearch (formerly known as the Genealogical Society of Utah, a Branch of the Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-Day Saints (the Mormons) has done extensive microfilming of family history-related records. This includes microfilm of records held by Archives of Ontario as well as Library and Archives Canada and some religious and local archives. This microfilm can be consulted at any of FamilySearch’s Family History Centres worldwide. All FamilySearch microfilm of Archives of Ontario records is also available in our Reading Room, and your library can order Archives material for you from through Microfilm Interloan.

For more information on the FamilySearch microfilm holdings, to consult their online indexes and databases, or to find the nearest Family History Centre, please visit www.familysearch.org. Addresses can also be found in the Yellow Pages, under “Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-Day Saints”. It is best to contact them before your visit as they have limited hours of opening, and microfilm reels may need to be ordered from the FamilySearch’s central repository in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Library and Archives Canada


Library and Archives Canada (the federal government archives) hold federal records such as censuses, military records, passenger lists, immigration and naturalization records, and land petitions. Some of these records are available on microfilm in the Archives of Ontario’s reading room. For information about Library and Archives Canada records and resources, please visit www.collectionscanada.gc.ca.

Découvrez votre famille : les documents

Les documents


Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario vous offrent divers types de documents. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des documents les plus utilisés. Ils sont le point de départ de la plupart des recherches généalogiques. Ces documents sont généralement indexés, et ils sont habituellement disponibles sur microfilm aux Archives publiques ou par l’entremise du Service interprêt de microfilms.

Notre guide de recherche Sources d’histoire familiale [Word, PDF] contient des renseignements des renseignements généraux sur divers types de documents qui pourraient être utiles pour vos recherches. Nous avons également publié une série de guides de recherche détaillés sur divers sujets spécifiques afin de vous aider dans vos recherches.

Enregistrements de l’état civil – naissances, mariages et décès


Les enregistrements de l’état civil contiennent des renseignements sur les naissances, les mariages et les décès survenus en Ontario.  Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario détiennent les documents de l’état civil mentionnés ci-dessous:

  • Enregistrements et index des naissances sur microfilm [Word, PDF (en anglais)] – 1869-1917

  • Enregistrements des naissances sur www.familysearch.org–[v. 1830]-1912 , principalement 1869-1912 (veuillez noter: ces documents incluent un petit nombre d’enregistrements pour des naissances qui ont eu lieu avant 1869)

  • Enregistrements des naissances sur www.ancestry.ca– 1869-1913

  • Enregistrements et index des mariages sur microfilm

    • [vers. 1801]-1869 [Word, PDF (en anglais)]

    • 1869-1932 [Word, PDF (en anglais)]

  • Enregistrements des mariages sur www.familysearch.org– [v. 1801]-1927

  • Enregistrements des mariages sur www.ancestry.ca– [v. 1801]-1928, 1933-1935

  • Enregistrements et index des décès sur microfilm, 1869-1942 [Word, PDF (en anglais)] plus les décès d’Ontariens outre-mer, 1939-1946.

  • Enregistrements des décès sur www.familysearch.org– 1869-1937 plus les décès d’Ontariens outre-mer, 1939-1947

  • Enregistrements des décès sur www.ancestry.ca– 1869-1938, 1943-1944, plus les décès d’Ontariens outre-mer, 1939-1947

Veuillez noter : En raison de changements aux règlements, les enregistrements et les index des naissances 1918 à aujourd’hui ne seront transférés aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario que 104 ans après l’année de l’enregistrement. Les enregistrements et les index des naissances de 1918 seront transférés aux Archives en 2023.

Les enregistrements de mariages de 1936 et 1936 et de décès de décès de 1946 sont présentement fermés pour numérisation.  Veuillez nous contacter si vous avez besoin de copies à des fins légales ou humanitaires.

Autres sources pour les naissances, les mariages et les décès


Les Archives publiques détiennent des documents d’églises, des transcriptions de pierres tombales de cimetières de la Société généalogique de l’Ontario et divers documents concernant les naissances, les mariages et les décès,

Dossiers de succession


Les dossiers de succession contiennent les testaments, et des documents relatifs à la disposition des biens des défunts. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario détiennent les dossiers de succession couvrant la période allant d’environ 1793 à environ 1975.

Dossiers relatifs à l’immigration


Les archives publiques de l’Ontario détiennent les dossiers des bureaux d’immigration de Toronto et de Kingston, ainsi que les dossiers de la Direction provinciale de l’immigration et du ministère provincial de l’Immigration. Ces dossiers se rapportent principalement aux immigrants qui ont reçu une aide financière.

Nous détenons également des copies sur microfilms des listes fédérales de passagers.

Documents fonciers


Les documents fonciers de l’Ontario sont divisés en deux catégories :

(i) documents sur les terres de la Couronne (pour les terres qui sont la propriété de la Couronne), qui documentent l’histoire des propriétés jusqu’à ce qu’elles aient été concédées ou vendues par la Couronne; et

(ii) les documents des bureaux d’enregistrement (pour les propriétés privées), qui documentent l’histoire d’une propriété après qu’elle ait été concédée ou vendue par la Couronne.

Dossiers des terres de la Couronne
  • Guide de recherche 205 - Comment se servir de l’index des documents relatifs aux terres de l’Ontario (v. 1780 – v. 1920) [Word, PDF] - cet index inclut des renseignements sur les concessions de terres par la Couronne, ainsi que les baux et les ventes de terres de la Canada Company aux colons.

  • Dossiers des terres de la Couronne: Introduction (en anglais)

  • Base de données des dossiers de la Seconde Commission des héritiers et légataires Cette base de données est un index des dossiers des demandes de terres déposées par les héritiers et les légataires des récipients originaux des concessions de terres.

  • Guide de recherche 215 - De l’acte de concession aux lettres patentes : Guide des premiers documents relatifs à la colonisation des terres (v. 1790 v. 1850) [Word, PDF]

  • Guide de recherche 225 - Recherche de documents relatifs aux terres de la Couronne [Word, PDF]

Dossiers des bureaux d’enregistrement immobilier

  • Guide de recherche 231 - Recherche de documents relatifs à l'enregistrement immobilier [Word, PDF]

Autres documents et ressources


Après avoir suivi ces étapes initiales, soyez prêts à aller plus loin. Aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario, vous pouvez consulter les documents portant sur la naturalisation, les listes de passagers, les cartes géographiques et les relevés des pierres tombales, de même que les documents provenant des églises, des tribunaux, de l’armée, des hôpitaux et des écoles. Vous pouvez aussi consulter les répertoires des villes et les listes des électeurs.

Centres d’histoire familiale


FamilySearch (anciennement connue sous le nom de Genealogical Society of Utah, une division de l’Église de Jésus-Christ des Saints des derniers jours (les mormons)), a microfilmé une énorme quantité de documents se rapportant à l’histoire des familles. Cette collection comprend des microfilms de documents, dont les Archives publiques de l’Ontario et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada ont la garde, ainsi que des archives de communautés religieuses et d’archives locales. Ces microfilms peuvent être visionnés à n’importe quel centre d’histoire des familles de FamilySearch, à travers le monde. Tous les documents des Archives publiques de l’Ontario qui ont été microfilmés par FamilySearch se trouvent également dans notre salle de lecture. D’autre part, vous pouvez demander à votre bibliothèque de commander des documents des Archives publiques par l’entremise du service interprêt de microfilms.

Pour en savoir plus sur les collections de microfilms de FamilySearch ou trouver un centre d’histoire des familles près de chez vous, visitez www.familysearch.org. Vous trouverez également leurs adresses dans les Pages jaunes sous la rubrique « Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-Day Saints ». Communiquez avec le centre avant de vous y rendre, car les heures d’ouverture sont limitées et il faudra peut-être qu’il commande les bobines de microfilms au dépôt central de FamilySearch, à Salt Lake City, en Utah.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada


Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (les archives du gouvernement fédéral) détient des documents fédéraux tels les recensements, des dossiers militaires, des listes de passagers, des documents relatifs à l'immigration et à la naturalisation, et des demandes de terres. Vous pouvez consulter des copies sur microfilms de certains de ces documents dans la salle de lecture des archives publiques de l’Ontario. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des documents et des ressources de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, veuillez visiter www.collectionscanada.gc.ca.