The Law Society of Upper Canada, the governing body of the legal profession in Ontario, was the sole owner of Osgoode Hall until 1874. The Society had been trying to entice the provincial epilogue into sharing accommodation since the late 1820s, but it was only in the mid-1840s that the courts finally moved in.

The agreement stipulated that the epilogue would help pay for renovations and expansion of the building necessary to accommodate them, but the Law Society was ultimately responsible for providing suitable accommodation for its tenant.

The picture below shows Osgoode Hall as it appeared in 1855. It was already a grand public building but the expanding court system required more space, and the Law Society was reminded of its obligations. Plans for expansion were put in motion. The existing dome was said to be leaky and would disappear from the new design.

Drawing: Front elevation of Osgoode Hall, June 1855
Click to see a larger image (154K)
Front elevation of Osgoode Hall, June 1855
Hopkins, Lawford & Nelson
J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-483-0-1, 453(5)
Archives of Ontario
Drawing: Victoria County Court House and Jail; plan no. 8, depicting longitudinal section, 1861
Click to see a larger image (56K)
Victoria County Court House and Jail; plan no. 8,
depicting longitudinal section, 1861
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B. & E. C. Horwood Collection
Drawing
Reference Code: C 11-112-0-1, (127) 26
Archives of Ontario, I0005437

The Law Society selected the firm of Cumberland and Storm for the expansion project. The partners, singly or as a firm, had designed many significant buildings in Toronto such as University College, St. James Cathedral, the 7th Post Office, and several county courthouses, schools, and private homes in Ontario.

Their prominence and their experience with both educational and public institutions may have influenced their selection by the Law Society.

Watercolour: University College; watercolour perspective, north side, [ca. 1856-ca.1859]
Click to see a larger image (278K)
University College; watercolour perspective, north side, [ca. 1856-ca.1859]
Cumberland and Storm
Watercolour
Reference Code: C 11-101-0-5, (107A) 2
Archives of Ontario, I0005481

Le Barreau du Haut-Canada, corps dirigeant des avocats de l’Ontario, était propriétaire unique d’Osgoode Hall jusqu’en 1874. Le Barreau tentait de convaincre le gouvernement provincial de partager les locaux depuis la fin des années 1820, mais il a fallu attendre le milieu des années 1840 pour que les tribunaux emménagent.

Selon l’accord, le gouvernement payait une partie des coûts de la rénovation et de l’agrandissement du bâtiment, mais le Barreau était ultimement chargé de fournir des locaux convenables à son locataire.

Le dessin ci-dessous montre Osgoode Hall en 1855. C’était déjà un majestueux édifice public, mais le système judiciaire en croissance avait encore besoin d’espace. Le dôme, qui fuyait selon certains, a disparu dans les nouveaux dessins.

Dessin : Osgoode Hall : élévation avant, juin 1855
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (154ko)
Osgoode Hall : élévation avant, juin 1855
Hopkins, Lawford et Nelson
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-483-0-1, 453(5)
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Dessin : Palais de justice et prison, comté de Victoria, plan no 8, section longitudinale, 1861
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (56ko)
Palais de justice et prison, comté de Victoria,
plan no 8, section longitudinale, 1861
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Dessin
Code de référence : C 11-112-0-1, (127) 26
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005437

Pour réaliser l’agrandissement, le Barreau a choisi la firme Cumberland and Storm Ses partenaires avaient conçu, ensemble ou séparément, nombre d’édifices importants de Toronto, comme le University College, la cathédrale St. James et le 7e bureau de poste, ainsi que plusieurs palais de justice, écoles et maisons privées de l’Ontario.

Leur célébrité et leur expérience dans le domaine des établissements scolaires et publics ont peut-être motivé le choix du Barreau.

Aquarelle : University College, aquarelle, perspective, côté nord [vers 1856-1859]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (278ko)
University College, aquarelle, perspective, côté nord [vers 1856-1859]
Cumberland and Storm
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 11-101-0-5, (107A) 2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005481