Letter of Tom Elice (Ellis) to Mary Warner  

This one-page letter, dated 1854, believed to be from a runaway slave from Kentucky, describes his preference for his new country, Canada West.  The significance of the letter lies in the credible first hand account of a fugitive slave who traveled, in much probability, via the Underground Railroad to Chatham, Ontario. 

There are very few first-hand accounts from fugitive slaves at the Archives of Ontario making this letter an important item in the rich collection of materials documenting Black History in Ontario.

Despite the condition, it is remarkable that the letter has survived and it is hard not to be moved by the sentiment. It was written in manuscript ink (possibly iron gall ink) on blue wove paper. Scroll down to see the complete text.

Letter from Tom Elice to Mary Warner dated July 9, 1854
Letter from Tom Elice to Mary Warner dated July 9, 1854
Tom Elice (Ellis) letter
Reference Code: F 4536
Archives of Ontario, I0029599

Transcription of Letter


Please note that the transcription reflects the original spelling and grammar of the letter.

Chatum Canada West July the 9 1854

Dear Mary
I now take this opertunity to informe you that I am well at present and hope theas few lines will finde you [text obscured] and the reste are also well the girls hav joind the Meathedist Church and Al has got marid to Mrs Hopday I hav saw the moste of the folks from our parte of the Cuntry and I think it is one of the best cuntry I eve wos in thare is lots of culord peaple hear and a coming every day more or les O Dear Mary how I should like to see you I would giv all of the world to see you and I would com but I cant be a slave agane tell my master that I should like to see him and mistress and all the reste of the folks but give me my liberty before all the world giv my beste respects to all inquirrings freinds but giv my lov all to your self wright to me to Windsor C. West and let me no how all of the folks are agitting along I remane your truly til Death so may god bles you Dearist this is from your

Tom Elice to
Mary Warner

Definitions


  • Manuscript Ink

    A water-based home made ink, in contrast to printing ink which often contains oil.

  • Iron Gall Ink

    A specific manuscript ink, produced by the fermentation of ferrous sulphate in solution with tannin, mixed with a binder such as gum Arabic. Notorious in paper conservation for contributing to a chemical breakdown of cellulose fibres penetrated by the ink.

  • Blue Wove Paper

    A type of handmade or machine made paper in which the sheet is formed on a woven screen. (In the case of blue wove paper, the fibres simply were blue.)

Lettre de Tom Ellice (Ellis) à Mary Warner  

Cette lettre d’une page, écrite en 1854 et attribuée à un esclave Fugitive originaire du Kentucky, décrit sa préférence envers son nouveau lieu de résidence, Chatam [sic] au Canada Ouest. Cette lettre est importante parce qu’elle est un témoignage crédible de première main d’un esclave fugitif qui a, selon toute vraisemblance, utilisé le chemin de fer souterrain pour se rendre à Chatham, en Ontario.

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont peu de récits de première main par des esclaves fugitifs, ce qui fait de cette lettre un article important des collections des Archives relatives à l’histoire des Noirs en Ontario.

La lettre contient de nombreuses fautes, mais il est difficile de ne pas être touché par les sentiments exprimés. La lettre a été écrite à l’encre (probablement une encre gallo-ferrique) sur un papier vélin bleu. Le texte de la lettre se trouve ci-dessous.

Letter from Tom Elice to Mary Warner dated July 9, 1854
Lettre de Tom Ellice à Mary Warner, 9 juillet 1954
Code de référence : F 4536
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0029599

Transcription of Letter


Veuillez noter que la transcription anglaise et la traduction reflètent l'orthorgraphe et la grammaire originales de la lettre.

Chatam, Canada Ouest, le 9 juillet 1854

Chère Mary
J’ai maintenant l’opportunité de t’informer que je vais bien en ce momen, et je souhaite que tu [texte obscurci] et les autres vont bien aussi. Les filles ont join l’église métodiste et Al a marier madame Hopday J’ai vu la plupart des gens de notre coin de pays et je pense que ces le meilleur pays ou j’ai été Il y a beaucou de gens de couleur ici et il en vien presque tous les jours O chère Mary j’aimerais tan te voir je donerais le monde entier pour te voir et je viendrais mais je ne veux pas redevenir un esclave Dis à mon maitre que j’aimerais le voir lui et la maitresse et tous le monde mais ma liberté passe avant tout Salut tous les amis qui te questionnent à mon sujet mais done mon amoure tout à toi écrit moi à Windsor Canada Ouest et dis moi comment tous le monde va Sincèremen jusquà ma mort et que Dieu te garde ma chérie De ton

Tom Elice à
Mary Warner



Définitions


  • Encre manuscrite

    Encre à base d’eau de fabrication artisanale, en contraste avec l’encre d’impression, qui contient souvent de l’huile.

  • Encre ferro-gallique

    Un type spécifique d’encre manuscrite, produite par la fermentation de sulphates ferreux dans une solution de tanin, mélangé avec un liant tel la gomme arabique. Ce type d’encre est notoire dans la conservation du papier en raison d’une détérioration des fibres de cellulose pénétrées par l’encre.

  • Papier velin bleu

    Type de papier, fabriqué à la main ou à la machine, dans lequel la feuille est formée sur un écran tissé. (Dans le cas du papier velin bleu, les fibres étaient bleues, tout simplement.)