games men cycling

Competing: Sports of the Games

Let the Games begin!

The arrival of athletes and fans for the TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games marks a new chapter in Ontario’s Sporting Past. The sports that make up the Games have a long history in Ontario - in some cases going back more than a century or even millennia.

TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games Legacy Logo

TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games Legacy Logo
Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (316K)
Renfrew County track meet, May 18, 1968
Bill Montaigne fonds
Reference Code: C 239-3-0-1586
Archives of Ontario, I0051992

Off to the finish line

Track and Field sports have tested running, jumping, and throwing skills for millennia. Although the Ancient Olympic Games in Greece provided the first documented instance of organized Track and Field events, the rise of recordkeeping and improved time measurement techniques over the past century has added a new dimension to the sport.

The joy of balance

The origins of modern gymnastics date back to the late 1700s and early 1800s with the work of German educators, who advocated for physical activity as part of the school day. As this photograph shows, both the YWCA and YMCA have played prominent roles in introducing the thrill of gymnastics to children in Ontario.

Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (381K)
Adult and child, Toronto, [ca. 1960s]
Young Women’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Toronto fonds
Reference Code: F 794-6-0-12
Archives of Ontario, I0009371
Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (316K)
Argonaut Rugby Team - Varsity Stadium, Toronto, 1926
Andrew Merrilees collection
Reference Code: F 1125-2-0-0-114
Archives of Ontario, I0030423

The 1926 Argos

The TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games includes two forms of rugby – rugby sevens and wheelchair rugby. Rugby developed in England during the 19th century as a form of football, and Toronto established its own squad in 1873 –the oldest existing professional sports team in North America that still has its original name.

Eight-man rowing team

Originally used solely as a means of transportation, rowing evolved into a competitive sport in England during the 18th century. Boat racing first appeared in Canada during the early 19th century, and Canadian rowers have gained international acclaim for their success in the sport.

Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (381K)
An aerial view of the Argonauts Rowing Club Junior eight-man boat, [ca. 1925]
John Boyd fonds
Reference Code: C 7-3-19777
Archives of Ontario, I0003678
Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (316K)
Yachting at the National Yacht Club, Toronto, Ont., [ca. 1940s]
Herbert Nott fonds
Reference Code: C 109 18-4-132 H
Archives of Ontario, I0008809

Hiking out to starboard

Two yachters lean out on the starboard (right) side to balance the force of the wind, a technique called ‘hiking out.’ Sailing has long been a form of wind-powered transportation, but became a competitive sport in the mid-19th century. The TORONTO 2015 Pan Am Games include ten sailing events, with sailboats plying Toronto Harbour as they have for more than a century.

Springboard launch

From swimming to kayaking, water polo to wakeboarding, a number of sports at the TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games are played in water. Competitive diving emerged in the 1880s as “plunging competitions,” growing out of the act of diving in the water at the beginning of swim races.

Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (381K)
Woman diving, Toronto, [ca. 1950-1970]
Young Women’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Toronto fonds
Reference Code: F 794-6-0-12
Archives of Ontario, I0009378
Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (316K)
Ontario vs PEI, Women’s Basketball, Canada Games, Saskatoon, August 16, 1989
Julien LeBourdais fonds
Reference Code: C 193-1-0-53
Archives of Ontario, I0051989

Jump shot!

Dr. James Naismith--born in Almonte, Canada West (now Ontario)--invented basketball in 1891 as a YMCA instructor in Springfield, Massachusetts. Naismith wanted to develop a team game that could be played indoors during the cold winter months. Since then, the sport has become popular across the globe.

Going in for the kill

Inspired by Dr. Naismith’s invention of basketball, William G. Morgan developed volleyball in 1895, while also working as a YMCA instructor in Massachusetts. Morgan created the sport as a less intense alternative to basketball for the YMCA’s older members.
Canada was the first country outside the United States to adopt volleyball. This photo depicts Canadian troops playing it at a First World War military base in England. The TORONTO 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games feature volleyball, beach volleyball, and sitting volleyball.

Picton Collegiate girls’ callisthenics class, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image (381K)
Soldiers playing volleyball, [ca. 1914-1918]
Young Men's Christian Association fonds
Reference Code: F 796-1-0-1-2880
Archives of Ontario, I0009232
Target shooter Laszlo Decsi, 1978
Click to see a larger image (68.8 KB)
Target shooter Laszlo Decsi, 1978
Ron Truman fonds
Reference Code: F 4625-1-0-23
Archives of Ontario, I0052068

Target shooter Laszlo Decsi

Pictured here is Canadian Paralympian Laszlo Decsi, who won silver and gold medals for shooting in the 1980 and 1992 Summer Paralympics.

Sports for athletes with disabilities became more common in the 1940s and 1950s as a way to help rehabilitate veterans and civilians who had been injured during the war. The first Paralympic Games were held in 1960, and the Parapan Am Games were established in 1999 as a qualifying event for the Paralympics. With 1500 athletes competing in 15 sports, the TORONTO 2015 Parapan Am Games is the largest to date.

Copyright:
  • Velodrome photograph courtesy of TORONTO 2015.
  • Gymnastics and diving photographs used with permission of YWCA Toronto.
  • Soccer match and volleyball photographs used with permission of the YMCA of Greater Toronto.

In this Exhibit -

La compétition : Les sports des Jeux

La compétition : Les sports des Jeux

Que les Jeux commencent!

L’arrivée des athlètes et des spectateurs pour les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de TORONTO 2015 ouvre un nouveau chapitre dans l’histoire des sports en Ontario. Les sports présentés aux Jeux ont une longue histoire en Ontario. Dans certains cas, ils datent de plus d’un siècle ou même de millénaires.

Marque de patrimoine des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015

Marque de patrimoine des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015
Renfrew County track meet, May 18, 1968
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (316K)
Rencontre d’athlétisme dans le comté de Renfrew, 18 mai 1968
Fonds Bill Montaigne
Code de référence : C 239-3-0-1586
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0051992

Vers la ligne d’arrivée

Les sports d’athlétisme présentent de la course, du saut et du lancer depuis des millénaires. Bien que les Jeux olympiques en Grèce antique soient la première instance documentée des épreuves organisées d’athlétisme, le perfectionnement des techniques de tenue des statistiques et des records, et de mesure des temps depuis un siècle a ajouté une nouvelle dimension à ce sport.

L’euphorie de l’équilibre

Les origines de la gymnastique moderne remontent à la fin du XVIIIe siècle et au début du XIXe siècle avec le travail des éducateurs allemands, qui avaient préconisé l’activité physique dans le cadre de la journée scolaire. Comme le montre cette photographie, les YMCA et YWCA ont joué un rôle majeur dans l’introduction des joies de la gymnastique aux enfants en Ontario.

Adult and child, Toronto, [ca. 1960s]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (381K)
Adulte et enfant, Toronto, [vers les années 1960]
Fonds Young Women’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Toronto
Code de référence : F 794-6-0-12
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009371
Argonaut Rugby Team - Varsity Stadium, Toronto, 1926
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (316K)
Équipe de rugby, les Argonauts – Stade Varsity, Toronto, 1926
Collection d’Andrew Merrilees
Code de référence : F 1125-2-0-0-114
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0030423

Les Argos de 1926

Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015 présentent deux formes de rugby : le rugby à sept et le rugby en fauteuil roulant. Le rugby est né en Angleterre au 19e siècle comme une sorte de football. Toronto a mis sur pied sa propre équipe en 1873, la plus ancienne équipe sportive professionnelle d’Amérique du Nord qui porte toujours son nom d’origine.

Équipe masculine d’aviron à huit

À l’origine, l’aviron n’était qu’un moyen de transport, mais il est devenu un sport de compétition en Angleterre au 18e siècle. Les courses sont apparues au Canada au début du 19e siècle, et les rameurs canadiens ont obtenu une renommée internationale grâce à leurs réussites dans ce sport

An aerial view of the Argonauts Rowing Club Junior eight-man boat, [ca. 1925]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (381K)
Vue aérienne d’une embarcation à huit rameurs, catégorie junior, Argonauts Rowing Club [vers 1925]
Fonds John Boyd
Code de référence : C 7-3-19777
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003678
Yachting at the National Yacht Club, Toronto, Ont., [ca. 1940s]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (316K)
Navigation à la voile au National Yacht Club, Toronto, Ont. [aux env. des années 1940]
Fonds Herbert Nott
Code de référence : C 109 18-4-132 H
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0008809

En rappel

Deux plaisanciers perchés à tribord (droite) cherchent à équilibrer la force du vent, une technique appelée « rappel ». La voile est un moyen de transport à l’énergie éolienne depuis bien longtemps, mais il est devenu un sport de compétition au milieu du 19e siècle. Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015 présentent dix compétitions de voile au cours desquelles les voiliers vogueront dans le port de Toronto comme ils le faisaient il y a un siècle.

Au tremplin

De la natation au kayak, du water-polo à la planche nautique, plusieurs sports aux Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de TORONTO 2015 ont lieu dans l’eau. Les épreuves de plongée ont commencé dans les années 1880 comme « compétitions de plongeon » issues de la plongée dans l’eau au début des courses de natation.

Woman diving, Toronto, [ca. 1950-1970]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (381K)
Femme qui plonge, Toronto, [vers 1950-1970]
Fonds Young Women’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Toronto
Code de référence : F 794-6-0-12
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009378
Ontario vs PEI, Women’s Basketball, Canada Games, Saskatoon, August 16, 1989
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (316K)
Ontario c. Île du Prince-Édouard, Basketball dames, Jeux d’été du Canada, Saskatoon, 16 août 1989
Fonds Julien LeBourdais
Code de référence : C 193-1-0-53
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0051989

Tir en suspension!

Le Dr James Naismith, né à Almonte, Canada-Ouest (maintenant l’Ontario), a inventé le basketball en 1891 à titre d’instructeur au YMCA de Springfield, au Massachusetts. Naismith souhaitait développer un sport d’équipe pouvant être joué à l’intérieur pendant les mois d’hiver. Depuis lors, le sport est devenu populaire partout dans le monde.

Coup imparable

Inspiré par l’invention du basketball du Dr Naismith, William G. Morgan a mis au point le volleyball en 1895, alors qu’il travaillait comme instructeur au YMCA, au Massachusetts. Morgan cherchait un sport moins intense que le basketball que pourraient pratiquer les membres plus âgés du YMCA.

Le Canada a été le premier pays à l’extérieur des États-Unis à adopter le volleyball. Sur cette photo, on voit des troupes canadiennes jouer au volleyball sur une base militaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, en Angleterre. Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015 présentent le volleyball, le volleyball de plage et le volleyball assis.

Soldiers playing volleyball, [ca. 1914-1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (381K)
Soldats jouant au volleyball [vers 1914-1918]
Fonds Young Men’s Christian Association of Metropolitan Toronto
Code de référence : F 796-1-0-1-2880
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009232
Target shooter Laszlo Decsi, 1978
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (68.8 KB)
Tireur sur cibles Laszlo Decsi
Fonds Ron Truman
Code de référence : F 4625-1-0-23
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Tireur sur cibles Laszlo Decsi

Sur la photo ici, le paralympien canadien, Laszlo Decsi, qui a gagné les médailles d’argent et d’or du tir aux Jeux paralympiques d’été de 1980 et de 1992.

Les sports pour athlètes handicapés se sont répandus dans les années 1940 et 1950 comme moyens de réhabilitation des anciens combattants et des civils qui avaient été blessés à la guerre. Les premiers Jeux paralympiques ont eu lieu en 1960, et les Jeux parapanaméricains ont été établis en 1999 comme épreuve de qualification aux Jeux paralympiques. Avec 1 500 athlètes en compétition dans 15 sports, Les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains TORONTO 2015 sont les plus gros à ce jour.

Droits d’auteur:
  • Photo du vélodrome gracieuseté de TORONTO 2015.
  • Les photographies de gymnastique et de plongeon utilisés avec la permission de la YWCA de Toronto.
  • Photographie de la partie de soccer utilisée avec la permission du YMCA du Grand Toronto.

Dans cette exposition -