The Changing Shape of Ontario: a Guide to Boundaries, Names and Regional Governments - Page Banner
 

Sources of information


Economic Atlas of Ontario, 1969 (détail)

If you wish to research in more depth than the information provided on this web site we have assembled a brief list of sources - archival records, books, maps and web sites - used in preparing the guide. These sources are arranged under the headings General information; Counties, districts and regional municipalities; Townships, towns and villages.

Please note that most books mentioned in this section may also be available in other libraries in Ontario. Libraries that don't have them may be able to obtain them for you through inter-library loan.

General information


  • The Economic Atlas of Ontario, W. G. Dean, Editor; G. J. Mathews, Cartographer (Toronto: Printed by University of Toronto Press for the Government of Ontario, 1969) includes the maps on borders, early counties and districts, and Northern Ontario used in this guide. It also includes maps on the creation of municipalities and early land surveying. Some of the maps from this atlas are available in our Reading Room.

  • The annual Ontario Municipal Directory lists all municipalities, counties, districts and regional municipalities, and includes information on recent re-structuring and on amalgamation since 1900. The first Directory was published in 1950. The most recent edition is available in the Archives of Ontario Reading Room. Earlier editions are in the Archives' library (call number: Govt Doc MA).

  • The Gazetteer of Canada, published by the federal government, provides the geographical location of all existing townships, villages, towns, cities, counties, districts and regional municipalities. The 1962 and 1974 editions are available in the Archives' Reading Room. While the Gazetteer is no longer published in paper format, location information is available on the Natural Resources Canada website where you can either search geographical names or browse place names alphabetically.

Counties, districts and regional municipalities


  • Portions of Map 21-6 [Southern Ontario] by the Survey and Mapping Branch, Ministry of Natural Resources (revised and printed 1980) were used to show the limits of regional municipalities created during the 1950's, 1960's and 1970's. This map can be viewed in our Reading Room.

  • Frederick H. Armstrong's Handbook of Upper Canada chronology (revised edition) (Toronto: Dundurn Press, 1985) includes information on early county and districts, on government offices in Upper Canada and their holders, and on important events from 1791 to 1841. It is available in our Reading Room.

  • Early courts, in particular the Quarter Sessions of the Peace, served administrative as well as legal purposes. The borders of judicial districts correspond to those of counties, districts and regional municipalities. See Inventory 22 Court and related records (available in our Reading Room) or research RG 22 in our Archives Descriptive Database for further information on the justice system and its records.

  • The Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing and its predecessors have been responsible for most of the municipal restructuring that has occurred during the 20th century. See Inventory 19 Municipal Affairs and Housing records or research RG 19 in our Archives Descriptive Database for further information the ministry and its records. The Ministry's Web site http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page11.aspx includes information on municipal re-structuring since 1995.

Townships, towns and villages


  • The map Ontario. C. Tarling & Co. Map Mounters & Publishers, Toronto [between 1940 and 1951] was used to show local municipalities at the start of the post-World War II urban boom.

  • Two books available in the Archives' Reading Room give information on local municipalities and villages and their history. They are;

    • Mika, Nick and Helen. Places in Ontario: their Name Origin and History (Belleville: Mika Publishing, 1977; 3 vol.)

    • Rayburn, Alan. Place names of Ontario (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1997).

  • The Archives holds records of some municipalities. See the User's guide to municipal records at the Archives of Ontario (available in our Reading Room) or research the name of the municipality in our Archives Descriptive Database to find if we hold the records of a given municipality.

[Return to top of page]

L'Ontario en évolution : Guide des limites, des noms et des administrations régionales de l'Ontario
 

Sources d'information


Carte : Atlas économique de l'Ontario, 1969 (détail)

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements plus précis que ceux figurant dans le présent site Web, nous avons dressé une brève liste des sources d'information - documents d'archives, livres, cartes et sites Web - qui ont servi à préparer le présent guide. Ces sources sont classées selon les titres suivants : Renseignements généraux; Comtés, districts et municipalités régionales; Cantons, villes et villages.

Veuillez noter qu'il est aussi possible de consulter la plupart des livres mentionnés dans la présente section dans d'autres bibliothèques de l'Ontario, et qu'il est possible de les emprunter par interprêt.

Renseignements généraux


  • L'Atlas économique de l'Ontario, W.G. Dean, directeur; G.J. Mathews, cartographe, Toronto, imprimé par University of Toronto Press pour le compte du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 1969, renferme des cartes sur les limites, les premiers comtés et districts, et le Nord de l'Ontario utilisées dans le présent guide. Il renferme également des cartes sur la création des municipalités et sur les premiers travaux d'arpentage. Certaines des cartes de cet atlas sont disponibles dans notre salle de lecture principale.

  • Le répertoire annuel des municipalités de l'Ontario comprend des données sur l'ensemble des municipalités, des comtés, des districts et des municipalités régionales de l'Ontario, et fournit de l'information sur la récente restructuration des municipalités et sur les fusions depuis 1900. Le premier répertoire a été publié en 1950. Le plus récent numéro est disponible dans la salle de lecture principale des Archives publiques de l'Ontario. Les numéros antérieurs sont disponibles dans la bibliothèque des Archives publiques (cote : Govt Doc MA).

  • Le Répertoire géographique du Canada, publié par le gouvernement fédéral, donne l'emplacement géographique de tous les cantons, villages, villes, cités, comtés, districts et municipalités régionales existants. Les éditions de 1962 et de 1974 sont disponibles dans la salle de lecture principale des Archives publiques. Bien que le Répertoire ne soit plus disponible en format papier, l’information sur les lieux géographique se trouve sur le site Web de Ressources naturelles Canada ; vous pouvez y effectuer une recherche topographique ou consulter une liste alphabétique de noms de lieux.

Comtés, districts et municipalités régionales


  • Des sections de la carte 21-6 [Sud de l'Ontario] rédigée par la Direction des levés et de la cartographie du ministère des Richesses naturelles (révisée et imprimée en 1980) ont été utilisées afin d'illuster les limites des municipalités régionales constituées au cours des années 1950, 1960 et 1970. Cette carte peut être consultée dans notre salle de lecture principale.

  • Un livre de Frederick H. Armstrong, Handbook of Upper Canadian Chronology, (édition révisée), Toronto, Dundurn Press, 1985, comprend de l'information sur les premiers comtés et districts, sur les fonctions gouvernementales au Haut-Canada et leurs titulaires et sur les événements d'importance de 1791 à 1841. Il est disponible dans notre salle de lecture principale.

  • Les premiers tribunaux, plus particulièrement les « Quarter Sessions of the Peace », servaient à des fins administratives tout autant que judiciaires. Les limites des districts judiciaires correspondaient à celles des comtés, des districts et des municipalités régionales. Consultez l'instrument de recherche 22, Court and related records, disponible dans notre salle de lecture principale, ou cherchez RG 22 dans notre base de données des descriptions des documents d'archives (
    Ce document est disponible en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le système judiciaire et ses documents.

  • Le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement et les ministères qui l'ont précédé sont responsables de la plupart des initiatives de restructuration des municipalités qui ont eu lieu au cours du XXe siècle. Consultez l'instrument de recherche 19, Municipal Affairs and Housing records, ou cherchez RG 19 dans notre base de données des descriptions des documents d'archives (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le ministère et ses documents. Le site Web du ministère, renferme de l'information sur la restructuration des municipalités depuis 1995.

Cantons, villes et villages


  • Nous avons utilisé la carte de l'Ontario par C. Tarlin & Co., dessinateurs et imprimeurs de cartes 94, rue Market, Toronto [entre 1940 et 1951] pour montrer les municipalités locales qui existaient au début du boom urbain qui a suivi la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

  • Deux livres disponibles dans la salle de lecture principale des Archives publiques de l'Ontario fournissent de l'information sur les municipalités et les villages, et leur histoire. Il s'agit des livres suivants :

    • Mika, Nick et Helen. Places in Ontario: their Name Origin and History, Belleville, Mika Publishing, 1977, 3 vol.

    • Rayburn, Alan. Place names of Ontario, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1997.

  • Les Archives publiques conservent les documents de certaines municipalités. Consultez le User's Guide to Municipal Records des Archives publiques de l'Ontario (disponible dans notre salle de lecture principale) ou cherchez le nom de la municipalité dans notre base de données des descriptions des documents d'archives pour déterminer si nous sommes en possession des documents d'une municipalité donnée.

[Retour au haut de la page]