The War of 1812 - Page Banner

The War of 1812

The late 18th and early 19th century was an era of conflict. The war between Great Britain and France raged between 1793 and 1815 with few interruptions. As a part of the British Empire, Upper Canada was unable to escape this broader conflict and when, on June 18, 1812, the United States declared war on Britain, Canada was brought to the front line of what had become a world war.

Just like armed conflict in any part of the world, the War of 1812 had a significant effect on the local population. This exhibit focuses on the impact of the War on those living in Upper Canada at the time of the conflict and on later generations who sought ways to remember it. It documents how the war was fought both within the province and in locations beyond its borders, and it examines the War's later image in the popular imagination.

The exhibit also provides an opportunity for the Archives of Ontario to shed light on invaluable documents from its rich collections, many of which have never been published and are made widely available to the public for the first time.

Correspondence and diaries contemporary to the war tell the story in the words of those who lived through it. A broad variety of documentary art, illustrations drawn from the work of artists and later photographers has been selected to help bring these contemporary words to life, and sound bites recreate a flavour of the times.

The exhibit provides some of the highlights of the collection of the Archives of Ontario relating to the War of 1812. Please see the sources section for information on published material relating to the War of 1812 which covers many of the topics in greater detail.

Drawing: The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]
The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [ca. 1921]
C. W. Jefferys
Pen and Ink Drawing
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 621234

| Home | Next

In this Exhibit -

La guerre de 1812 - bannière

Table des matières


Lettre C’est à l’enseigne du conflit que se sont déroulés la fin du 18e et le début du 19e siècle. La guerre entre la Grande-Bretagne et la France a fait rage de 1793 à 1815, à quelques interruptions près. Dans le cadre de l’empire britannique, le Haut-Canada ne pouvait guère échapper à ce conflit général : le 18 juin 1812, lorsque les États-Unis déclare la guerre à la Grande-Bretagne, le Canada va passer à l’avant-plan de ce qui devenait une guerre mondiale.

À l’instar de tout conflit armé, quelle que soit la partie du monde où il a lieu, la guerre de 1812 a eu des retombées significatives sur la population locale. La présente exposition met en lumière l’impact de la guerre sur la population haut-canadienne de l’époque et sur les générations ultérieures, qui ont cherché à en préserver le souvenir. On y documente la manière dont la guerre s’est déroulée, tant au sein de la province qu’au-delà de ses frontières, et l’on s’y penche sur l’imagerie ultérieure de la guerre dans l’imagination populaire.

L’exposition présente aussi aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario l’occasion de faire connaître de précieux documents tirés de ses riches collections, dont un bon nombre n’ont jamais été publiés et qui sont ici accessibles au public pour la première fois.

La correspondance et les journaux personnels contemporains de la guerre en font le récit dans les termes de ceux qui l’ont vécu au quotidien. Une large gamme de pièces d’art documentaire, d’illustrations tirées de l’œuvre d’artistes et, plus tard, de photographes a été retenue afin de faire revivre ces textes des contemporains et des passages sonores aident à restituer l’ambiance de l’époque.

L'exposition fait valoir quelques-uns des meilleurs documents de la collection des Archives qui se rapportent à la guerre de 1812. On se reportera à la section relative aux sources pour la référence des publications qui portent sur la guerre de 1812 et qui traitent en plus grand détail d'un bon nombre de ses aspects.

Dessin : The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)

The Battle of Lundy's Lane, [vers 1921]
C. W. Jefferys, O.S.A., A.R.C., S.C.P.A. (1869-1951)
dessin à la plume et à l'encre rehaussée au blanc de Chine
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 621234