CFPL Timeline - 1958


“A year of great significance to the world in general and to Western Ontario in particular has just passed into history. It was a year that could be given many names: economically, it was the “year of the hidden recession… and the hidden recovery.” Politically, it was the “year of the landslide”… and in the fields of science and medicine it was a year of triumph and disaster... Through the eyes of CFPL-TV News, this is history revisited. This was 1958!!”

Image Placeholder

National and International News Stories of 1958:


  • The North American Aerospace Defence Command (NORAD) agreement is signed between the United States and Canada.

  • The Avro CF-105 Arrow, a delta-wing interceptor aircraft, designed and built by Avro Canada in Malton, Ontario flies for the first time. It is Canada’s first supersonic fighter plane and many believe it can become the fastest plane in the world and help solidify, for Canada, a place at the forefront of the aviation industry.

  • The most severe disaster in North American mining history occurs when part of a shaft collapses in a coal mine in Springhill, Nova Scotia. There are 174 miners working the mine at the time. Of those, 71 are killed and 100 are trapped, but eventually rescued. It is the third such disaster in the Springhill coalfield. Following this disaster the mining operations are closed and will never re-open.

  • Chinese leader Chairman Mao Zedong begins the “Great Leap Forward” an initiative to bring the nation quickly into the forefront of economic development. His goal is for China to become a leading industrial power, and to accomplish this he pushes for the construction of steel plants across the country.

  • A visiting Australian mentions to Californians Richard Knerr and Arthur "Spud" Melin that in Australia, bamboo hoops are used for exercises in gym class. Knerr and Melvin, founders of the Wham-O Manufacturing Company, run with the idea and soon the Hula Hoop is becoming an international phenomenon.

  • NASA, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration is formed to counteract the perception that there is a technology gap between the Soviets and the United States, and to lead the Americans into space.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1958 – Year End Show 1958 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-5
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1958 – Year End Show 1958 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1958 :


« Une année de grande importance pour le monde en général, et l’ouest de l’Ontario en particulier, vient de se terminer. Cette année aurait pu porter de nombreux noms : sur le plan économique, il s’agissait de l’année de la récession cachée. . . et de la remontée cachée. Sur le plan politique, c’était l’année du revirement. . . et dans le domaine de la science et de la médecine, c’était une année de triomphes et de désastres. Voici l’année 1958, captée par les caméras de CFPL-TV News! »

Montage d'images pour 1958

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1958 :


  • L’entente sur le Commandement de la défense aérospatiale de l'Amérique du Nord (NORAD) entre le Canada et les États-Unis est signée.

  • Le CF-105 Arrow d’Avro, un intercepteur à ailes delta, conçu et construit par Avro Canada à Malton, en Ontario, prend son premier envol. Il s’agit du premier avion de chasse supersonique du Canada et nombreuses sont les personnes qui croient qu’il peut devenir l’avion le plus rapide au monde et tailler une place au Canada à l’avant-plan de l’industrie de l’aviation.

  • La catastrophe la plus importante de l’histoire de l’exploitation minière en Amérique du Nord se produit lorsqu’un conduit s’effondre dans une mine de charbon de Springhill, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il y a 174 mineurs à l’intérieur. Sur ce nombre, 71 sont tués et 100 restent prisonniers, mais finissent par se faire évacuer. C’était la troisième catastrophe du genre dans le terrain houiller de Springhill. À la suite de cet événement, les activités minières cessent et ne sont jamais reprises.

  • Le président chinois Mao Tsé-Toung amorce l’initiative du « Greatbon en avant » pour que son pays passe rapidement au premier plan du développement économique. Il souhaite que la Chine devienne une puissance industrielle de pointe, et pour y parvenir, il favorise la construction d’aciéries partout au pays.

  • Un Australien en visite mentionne aux Californiens Richard Knerr et Arthur « Spud » Melin qu’on utilise en Australie des cerceaux de bambou pour les cours d’exercice physique. Knerr et Melvin, les fondateurs de la Wham-O Manufacturing Company, approfondissent l’idée, et bientôt le Hula-Hoop devient un phénomène international.

  • La NASA, la National Aeronautics and Space Administration, est formée pour contrer la perception qu’il existe un écart technologique entre les Soviétiques et les Américains, et que ces derniers participent à la course de l’espace.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1958 - bulletin de fin d'année 1958
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1958 - bulletin de fin d'année 1958
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario