CFPL Timeline - 1960


“1960 – the first year of a new decade – has slipped from the last page of the calendar. But can we call it history yet? The veil of time is still too thin to have dulled the sheen of achievement, and the cutting edges of tragedy….1960 has meant something to each of us; to some, its highlights are reflected in the shiny surfaces of progress. Some see 1960’s most unforgettable moment etched in fire, or in pain. All of these -- the good and the bad, the happy and the sad -- have left, as well as memories, vivid records captured by the eye of the television news camera.”

Images from CFPL News 1960

National and International News Stories of 1960:


  • Some 137 years after an 1823 constitutional bill had proclaimed its construction, Brasilia, the new capital of Brazil is inaugurated. Built by President Kubitschek deep in the interior of the country, it is largely inaccessible.

  • The horror film genre is redefined with the release of Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho. The infamous shower scene remains one of the most unforgettable scenes ever filmed.

  • By shining a high-powered flash lamp on a ruby rod with silver-coated surfaces, Theodore Maiman creates the first laser.

  • The first televised presidential debates take place in the United States. Those that hear the debates on radio feel that Nixon is the winner, but television viewers like what they see in the tanned and fit looking Kennedy and proclaim him the winner by a large margin. And while the televised debates are popular, they would not be used again until 1976.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1960 – Year End Show 1960 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-7
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1960 – Year End Show 1960 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1960 :


« 1960 - Nous venons de tourner la dernière page du calendrier de la première année d’une nouvelle décennie. Mais fait-elle réellement partie du passé? Le voile du temps est trop mince pour avoir terni l’éclat de la réussite, et émoussé le tranchant des tragédies. . . 1960 a une signification pour chacun d’entre nous. Pour certains, ses points saillants sont reflétés dans les progrès. Pour d’autres, les moments inoubliables de 1960 sont marqués par le feu ou la douleur. Tous ces événements, les bons et les mauvais, les joyeux et les tristes, sont partis, tout comme les souvenirs, des images vives captées par l’œil des caméras de nouvelles. »
Montage d'images pour 1960

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1960 :


  • Quelque 137 ans après le projet de loi constitutionnelle de 1823 qui avait proclamé sa construction, on inaugure Brasilia, la nouvelle capitale du Brésil. Construite par le président Kubitschek au milieu des terres du pays, elle est peu accessible.

  • Le genre des films d’horreur est raffiné par la parution de Psycho, d’Alfred Hitchcock. La fameuse scène de la douche demeure l'une des scènes les plus inoubliables jamais filmées.

  • En envoyant les rayons d’une lampe éclair de forte puissance sur un barreau de rubis plaqué argent, Theodore Maiman crée le premier laser.

  • Le premier débat présidentiel télévisé a lieu aux États-Unis. Ceux qui écoutent le débat à la radio ont l’impression que Nixon est le gagnant, mais ceux qui regardent la télévision aiment l’image que projette Kennedy : un homme bronzé en santé. Ils le proclament gagnant avec une bonne avance. Et bien que les débats télévisés soient populaires, ils ne sont pas réutilisés avant 1976.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1960 - bulletin de fin d'année 1960
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1960 - bulletin de fin d'année 1960
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario