CFPL Timeline - 1963


“By any measure, 1963 was a year brimming with great events – both good and bad. The most important was also the most universally tragic…. And the date…. November 22nd, will need not explanation for a long time to come.” The date referred to is the date that United States president John F. Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas Texas – an event that more than any other, defined 1963. But closer to home news events continued to shape the local landscape, as well.

Images from CFPL News 1963

National and International News Stories of 1963:


  • Ferguson Jenkins, from Chatham, Ontario is drafted and signed by the Philadelphia Phillies baseball team. Jenkins would go on to win the National League Cy Young Award in 1971 and pitch six seasons with 20 or more wins - the longest streak since Warren Spahn.

  • The federal Liberals return to power under Lester B. Pearson, who will lead two back-to-back minority governments. During this time new social programs are introduced including: Student Loans, Universal Health Care, and the Canada Pension Plan.

  • In her book, “The Feminine Mystique,” Betty Friedan refutes the notion that women find fulfillment only through childbearing and homemaking.

  • While riding in an open limousine in Dallas Texas, President John F. Kennedy is killed by a sniper’s bullets.

  • On the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, Martin Luther King Jr. makes his famous "I Have a Dream" speech, which is credited with mobilizing supporters of desegregation and prompting the 1964 Civil Rights Act. In 1964 King will be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1963 – Year End Show 1963 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-10
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1963 – Year End Show 1963 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1963 :


« L’année 1963 a été de loin une année débordante de grands événements, heureux ou non. Les plus importants sont également les plus tragiques dans l’ensemble... Et on n’aura pas besoin de préciser ce qui s’est produit le 22 novembre avant longtemps. » Cette date est celle où le président des États Unis, John F. Kennedy, a été assassiné à Dallas, au Texas - un événement qui, plus que tout autre, a défini 1963. Mais sur le plan local, des événements nous ont également touchés.
Montage d'images pour 1963

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1963 :


  • Ferguson Jenkins, de Chatham, en Ontario, est repêché par l’équipe de baseball des Phillies de Philadelphie , avec laquelle il signe un contrat. Jenkins gagnera le trophée Cy Young de la Ligue nationale en 1971 et lancera six saisons de 20 victoires ou plus - le plus grande nombre depuis Warren Spahn.

  • Les libéraux gagnent les élections fédérales, sous la direction de Lester B. Pearson, qui dirigera deux gouvernements minoritaires de suite. Pendant cette période, de nouveaux programmes sociaux sont mis en place, notamment les prêts étudiants, les soins de santé pour tous et le Régime de pensions du Canada.

  • Dans son livre The Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan réfute la notion selon laquelle les femmes s’épanouissent en ayant des enfants et en exécutant des tâches ménagères.

  • Au cours d’un trajet en limousine décapotable à Dallas, au Texas, le président John F. Kennedy est assassiné par un tireur embusqué.

  • Sur les marches du Lincoln Memorial, Martin Luther King Jr. prononce son fameux discours « I have a Dream » ( J’ai un rêve ), qui aurait mobilisé les partisans de la déségrégation et mené à la loi sur les droits civils de 1964. En 1964, King reçoit le prix Nobel de la paix.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1963 - bulletin de fin d'année 1963
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-10
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1963 - bulletin de fin d'année 1963
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario