CFPL Timeline - 1968


1968 was the year of the first successful heart transplant, and it was the year of Trudeaumania. “Reflection ’68 is exactly as it sounds --- a look back at some of the major events that made up 1968 in southwestern Ontario. All the events we’re going to recall this afternoon affected us all – either tangibly through participation and the accompanying joy, hardship, or grief, or intangibly, in sympathy or shock.”

1968 Collage Image

National and International News Stories of 1968:


  • Pierre Trudeau wins the 1968 Liberal Party leadership convention replacing Lester Pearson. Trudeau goes on to win the Federal election with a majority government. This is the first majority government of the 60s.

  • The Art Gallery of Ontario becomes home to the Henry Moore Sculpture Centre, which houses the largest public collection of works by this British sculptor. Moore's bronze work, Two Large Forms (1966–1969) greets visitors at the gallery's entrance.

  • The Mouvement Souveraineté-Association merges with the Ralliement National to create the Parti Québécois, René Lévesque is selected as the party's first leader.

  • Dr. Martin Luther King is assassinated in Memphis, Tennessee. He had devoted his life to a non-violent fight for racial equality. James Earl Ray would confess to the assassination on March 10, 1969.

  • The Prague Spring is a brief period of liberation in Czechoslovakia orchestrated by leader Alexander Dubcek. The Soviet Union and other Warsaw Pact nations are alarmed by the changes and ultimately overthrow Dubcek.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1968 – Year End Show 1968 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-20
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1968 – Year End Show 1968 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1968 :


En 1968, nous avons été témoins de la première greffe du cœur réussie et de la Trudeaumanie. « La rétrospective de 1968 fait un retour sur certains des événements importants qui se sont produits dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario en 1968. Tous les événements dont nous parlerons cet après-midi nous ont touché tous et toutes, soit de façon directe, nous causant des joies et des peines, soit de façon indirecte, suscitant chez nous des sentiments de sympathies ou de choc. »
Montage d'images pour 1968

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1968 :


  • Pierre Trudeau remporte le congrès d’investiture du Parti libéral de 1968, succédant à Lester Pearson. Trudeau remporte également l’élection fédérale avec un gouvernement majoritaire. Il s’agit du premier gouvernement majoritaire des années 1960.

  • Le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario devient l’hôte du Centre de sculpture Henry Moore, qui accueille la collection publique la plus importante d’œuvres de ce sculpteur britannique. L’œuvre en bronze de Moore, Two Large Forms (1966 à 1969) salue les visiteurs à l’entrée du musée.

  • Le Mouvement Souveraineté-Association fusionne avec le Ralliement national pour former le Parti québécois; René Lévesque est choisi comme premier chef du parti.

  • Le Dr Martin Luther King est assassiné à Memphis, au Tennessee. Il a dévoué sa vie à un combat non violent pour l’égalité raciale. James Earl Ray confesse être l’assassin le 10 mars 1969.

  • Le Printemps de Prague est une courte période de libération en Tchécoslovaquie, orchestrée par le dirigeant Alexander Dubcek. L’Union soviétique et les autres pays du Pacte de Varsovie sont alarmés par les changements et ils finissent par renverser Dubcek.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1968 - bulletin de fin d'année 1968
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-20
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1968 - bulletin de fin d'année 1968
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario