Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of Government and Consumer Services




CFPL-Tv Archives ontario banner

This exhibit will undergo a significant update to its content and technical specifications, and will be relaunched in the future.

In the meantime, below is a selection of clips from the CFPL-TV fonds available for viewing on our YouTube channel.


When television station CFPL in London first went on the air on November 28, 1953, it was just the second private broadcaster in Canada. It quickly became an integral part of the cultural fabric of the London area, and a vital communications link throughout southwestern Ontario.

CFPL was started by Walter J. Blackburn, publisher of the London Free Press. In fact, the call letters CFPL stood for “Free Press London.” The station started out as a CBC affiliate. The CBC television network itself had only started broadcasting two years earlier.

The original donation to the Archives of Ontario in June 2002 consisted of approximately 2700 reels of film and was accompanied by a very generous financial donation to cover the costs of cleaning and cataloguing the vast quantity of material. There has since been a further donation that includes the news footage for the years 1968-1978.


CFPL-TV, Television Newsreel Air-Cuts, November 4-6, 1954
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-1-1-63
Archives of Ontario

This silent video features CFPL-TV daily news program edited air-cuts (i.e. film prepared as the visual component of news stories for the London, Ontario television station's daily news broadcasts). News stories in this video include coverage of recent snowy weather, preparations for Remembrance Day, and a recent football game between the University of Western Ontario Mustangs and the University of Toronto Varsity Blues with Lester B. Pearson in the stands.


Louis Armstrong interview in Port Stanley, Ontario, December 1956
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-3-0-3
Archives of Ontario

In this clip from December 1956, a CFPL-TV news reporter interviews jazz legend Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong. Topics include the role of jazz in spreading goodwill and whether he would want to perform behind the Iron Curtain.


CFPL-TV, Footage of Storybook Gardens and Slippery the Seal, ca. 1957-1958
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-3-0-10
Archives of Ontario

This video features sound and silent CFPL-TV footage of Slippery the Seal, who escaped from and subsequently was returned to London, Ontario's Storybook Gardens. In June 1958, Slippery swam in the Thames River, Lake St. Clair, the Detroit River and into Lake Erie before being caught near Sandusky, Ohio. It features scenes of Storybook Gardens, crowds, a parade in Slippery's honour, and of course the famous seal.


CFPL-TV, Education Week 1958, 1958
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-7-1-173
Archives of Ontario

This video features a group of grade 3 students from Victoria Public School in London, Ontario as part of CFPL-TV's Education Week 1958. The television station followed the students from kindergarden to grade 8.


CFPL-TV, Footage of Ontario Progressive Conservative Party leadership convention, 1961
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-5-1-30
Archives of Ontario

This video documents the Ontario Progressive Conservative Party leadership convention of 1961 in London, Ontario, in which John Robarts became leader of the party. The footage was used for CFPL-TV’s At Home programme.


CFPL-TV celebrates Hanukkah, ca. 1962
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-7-1-171
Archives of Ontario

In this archival footage, CFPL-TV reporter Bob Reinhart visits B’nai Israel Synagogue in London, Ontario and learns about Hanukkah for the television programme Panorama.


CFPL-TV, Footage of St. Thomas student trip to Expo 67, ca. 1967
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-5-1-99
Archives of Ontario

This video features CFPL-TV reporter George Clark accompanying a busload of 38 students from St. Thomas, Ontario as they travel to and visit Montreal's Expo 67 World's Fair. Note: sound starts at 01:23.


CFPL-TV, Footage of Pierre Trudeau election campaign, 1968
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-5-1-32
Archives of Ontario

This video is a compilation of footage taken by CFPL-TV of Pierre Elliot Trudeau in London, Ontario during the 1968 federal election campaign.


CFPL-TV, Television Newsreel Air-Cuts, June 28, 1973
CFPL-TV fonds
F 4396-1-1-4605
Archives of Ontario

This silent video features CFPL-TV daily news program edited air-cuts (i.e. film prepared as the visual component of news stories for the London, Ontario television station's daily news broadcasts). News stories in this video include coverage of Londoners waiting in the rain for Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip to arrive on their royal tour, a fire in downtown Chatham, a review of “What the Butler Saw” at the Talbot Theatre, London students running the Ontario Ministry of Labour’s “SPIEL” Student Program that provided information on employment rights to the labour force.

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Le bandeau inclut le texte Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario présentent Miroir, Miroir

Le contenu et les spécifications techniques de cette exposition feront l’objet d’une importante mise à jour, et l’exposition sera relancée plus tard.

Entre-temps, vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection d’extraits tirés du fonds CFPL-TV et que vous pouvez visionner sur notre chaîne YouTube.


Lorsque la station de télévision CFPL de London a fait son entrée sur les ondes le 28 novembre 1953, il ne s’agissait que du deuxième radiotélédiffuseur privé au Canada. La station devint rapidement partie intégrante du tissu culturel de la région de London, ainsi qu’un lien de communication essentiel dans tout le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario.

La station CFPL a été créée par Walter J. Blackburn, éditeur de London Free Press. En fait, les lettres CFPL sont un acronyme de « Free Press London ». La station a fait ses débuts à titre de station affiliée à CBC, le réseau de langue anglaise de Radio-Canada, qui lui-même n’avait commencé à radiodiffuser que deux ans plus tôt.

Le don original fait aux Archives publiques de l'Ontario en juin 2002 était composé d’environ 2 700 bobines de films et était accompagné d’une généreuse contribution financière afin d’assumer les frais pour nettoyer et cataloguer la vaste quantité de matériel. Depuis, un autre don a été versé incluant des reportages de 1968 à 1978.


CFPL-TV, éléments visuels des actualités télévisées, 4 au 6 novembre 1954
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-1-1-63
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo muette présente des extraits finaux d’une émission quotidienne d’information de CFPL-TV  (c.-à-d., film préparé à titre de composante visuelle de reportages pour les journaux télévisés quotidiens de la station de télévision de London (Ontario)). Cette vidéo comprend des reportages sur le temps enneigé récemment, les préparatifs pour le jour du Souvenir et un récent match de football entre les Mustangs de l’Université Western et les Varsity Blues de l’Université de Toronto, auquel assiste Lester B. Pearson dans les estrades.


Entrevue de Louis Armstrong à Port Stanley (Ontario), décembre 1956
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-3-0-3
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Dans ce clip de décembre 1956, un journaliste de CFPL-TV interviewe la légende du jazz Louis « Satchmo » Armstrong. Les sujets comprennent le rôle du jazz dans la manifestation de la bonne volonté et l’éventualité de donner un spectacle derrière le Rideau de fer.


CFPL-TV, séquence des jardins Storybook Gardens et du phoque Slippery, vers 1957-1958
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-3-0-10
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo présente des séquences avec son et muettes de CFPL-TV à propos du phoque Slippery, qui s'est évadé des jardins Storybook de London (Ontario), et qui y est éventuellement retourné. En juin 1958, Slippery a nagé dans la rivière Thames, le lac St. Clair, la rivière Detroit et le lac Érié avant d'être attrapé près de Sandusky (Ohio). La vidéo présente des scènes des jardins Storybook, de foules, d'un défilé en l'honneur de Slippery et, bien entendu, du célèbre phoque.


CFPL-TV, Education Week 1958, 1958
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-7-1-173
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo met en vedette un groupe d'élèves de 3e année de l'école publique Victoria de London (Ontario) dans le cadre de la Semaine de l'éducation 1958 de CFPL-TV. La station de télévision a suivi les élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année.


CFPL-TV, séquence du congrès à la direction du Parti progressiste conservateur de l’Ontario, 1961
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-5-1-30
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo documente le congrès à la direction du Parti progressiste conservateur de l'Ontario de 1961 à London (Ontario), au cours duquel John Robarts est devenu le chef du parti. La séquence a été utilisée dans le cadre de l'émission At Home de CFPL-TV.


CFPL-TV célèbre Hanoukka, vers 1962
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-7-1-171
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Dans ces images d’archives, le reporter de CFPL-TV, Bob Reinhart, visite la synagogue B’nai Israel à London, en Ontario, et s’informe au sujet de Hanoukka pour l’émission de télévision Panorama.


CFPL-TV, séquence d’une sortie éducative d’élèves de St. Thomas à Expo 67, vers 1967
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-5-1-99
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Dans ce vidéo, le journaliste George Clark de CFPL-TV accompagne 38 élèves de St. Thomas lors d’un voyage à Montréal pour visiter l’exposition universelle EXPO 67. Le son débute à 1 :23.


CFPL-TV, séquence de la campagne électorale de Pierre Trudeau, 1968
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-5-1-32
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo est une compilation de séquences prises par CFPL-TV de Pierre Elliot Trudeau à London (Ontario) durant la campagne électorale fédérale de 1968.


CFPL-TV, éléments visuels des actualités télévisées, 28 juin 1973
Fonds CFPL-TV
F 4396-1-1-4605
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Cette vidéo muette présente des extraits finaux d’une émission quotidienne d’information de CFPL-TV (c.-à-d., film préparé à titre de composante visuelle de reportages pour les journaux télévisés quotidiens de la station de télévision de London (Ontario)). Les reportages dans cette vidéo incluent la couverture de résidents de London qui attendent sous la pluie l’arrivée de la reine Elizabeth et du prince Philip dans le cadre de leur visite royale, un incendie au centre-ville de Chatham, une critique de la pièce « What the Butler Saw » au théâtre Talbot, ainsi que des étudiants de London dirigeant le programme étudiant « SPIEL » du ministère du Travail de l’Ontario, qui offrait des renseignements en matière de droit du travail à la population active.