Canadians and Ontarians take great pride and interest in their health care system. The individuals and institutions that help care for our health affect each one of us at some time in our lives. The story of who we are as individuals and collective societies is rooted in our health and well-being.

Photo: Well baby clinic, Hamilton, [ca. 1930] (detail)
Well baby clinic, Hamilton, [ca. 1930] (detail)
Public Health Nursing photographs
Black and white print
Reference Code: RG 10-30-2, 1.14.5
Archives of Ontario, I0005274

The Archives of Ontario is proud to hold an important key to the province’s heritage through the health-related records that it acquires, preserves, and makes accessible to the public. This exhibit presents the variety and scope of medical records held by the Archives of Ontario. It illustrates how medical records are used for historical research and other purposes in addition to their primary function of providing health care.

Of course some health information is very personal and private and is only disclosed according to protection of privacy legislation. As well, any items with personal information that are featured in this display have been selected due to the significant period of time that has elapsed since these records were created, as allowed by privacy legislation.

Photo: Well baby clinic, Hamilton, [ca. 1930]
Well baby clinic, Hamilton, [ca. 1930]
Public Health Nursing photographs
Black and white print
Reference Code: RG 10-30-2, 1.14.5
Archives of Ontario, I0005274


Acknowledgements
Associated Medical Services Incorporated 1937 - Logo


This online exhibit is based on a travelling exhibit sponsored by Associated Medical Services Inc.

Associated Medical Services, Inc. (AMS) was established in 1936 by Dr. Jason Hannah as a pioneer prepaid not-for-profit health care organization in Ontario. With the advent of Medicare AMS became a charitable organization supporting innovations in academic medicine and health services, specifically the history of medicine and health care, as well as innovations in health professional education and bioethics.

Les Canadiens et Canadiennes ainsi que les Ontariens et Ontariennes sont très fiers de leur régime de soins de santé et ils s’y intéressent beaucoup. Les personnes et les établissements qui nous aident en matière de soins de santé nous touchent tous, à un moment ou l’autre de notre vie. Ce que nous sommes, en tant que personnes et sociétés collectives, tient à notre santé et à notre bien-être.

Photographie : Clinique pour bébés, Hamilton, [vers 1930] (détail)
Clinique pour bébés, Hamilton, [vers 1930] (détail)
Photographies des soins infirmiers en santé publique
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : RG 10-30-2, 1.14.5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005274

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario sont fières de détenir une importante clé du patrimoine provincial grâce aux dossiers relatifs à la santé qu’elles acquièrent, préservent et rendent accessibles au public. Cette exposition présente la diversité et l’ampleur des dossiers médicaux que détiennent les Archives publiques de l'Ontario. Elle illustre comment les dossiers médicaux servent à effectuer des recherches historiques et à d’autres fins en plus de jouer leur premier rôle, qui était de permettre d’offrir des soins de santé.

Certains renseignements sur la santé sont évidemment très personnels et privés : ils ne sont donc divulgués qu’en accord avec la législation relative à la protection de la vie privée. De même, tout élément renfermant des renseignements personnels qui est mis en vedette dans cette présentation-ci a été choisi à cause du temps considérable qui s’est écoulé depuis la création de ces dossiers, tel que le permet la législation relative à la protection de la vie privée.

Photographie : Clinique pour bébés, Hamilton, [vers 1930]
Clinique pour bébés, Hamilton, [vers 1930]
Photographies des soins infirmiers en santé publique
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : RG 10-30-2, 1.14.5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005274


Remerciements
Associated Medical Services Incorporated 1937 - Logo


Cette exposition en ligne est basée sur une exposition ittinérante commanditée par Association Medical Services, Inc.

Associated Medical Services, Inc. (AMS), fondée en 1936 par le docteur Jason Hannah, a été une pionnière des soins de santé pré-payés sans buts lucratifs en Ontario. Après l'entrée en vigueur de l'assurance-maladie, AMS est devenue un organisme de charité; AMS soutient l'innovation dans les domaines des sciences médicales et des services de santé, en particulier l'histoire de la médicine et des soins de santé, ainsi que l'innovation en matière d'éducation des professionnels de la santé et de bioéthique.