Exterior cover of Field Book #1, 1817
Click to see a larger image (312K)
Exterior cover of Field Book # 1, 1817
David Thompson’s Treaty of Ghent Field Books
Reference Code: F 443-2
Archives of Ontario

The Archives of Ontario acquired the records of David Thompson in 1903 from the Ontario Department of Crown Lands, which had earlier acquired them from Thompson’s family after his death in 1857.

The David Thompson fonds consists of records that document his career as a fur trader, explorer, astronomer and mapmaker. The records include Thompson’s notebooks and journals, which document his journeys into what is now the interior of Canada and the northwest United States, the mapping and surveying of Canada, and relations between fur traders and aboriginal peoples.

Also included are field books of boundary surveys conducted by Thompson for the Treaty of Ghent Boundary Commission, miscellaneous outgoing correspondence largely relating to boundary issues with the United States in the 1830’s, hand-drawn copies of boundary surveys, and Thompson’s ‘Great Map of western Canada and the northwestern United States.

Field Book No. 1, 1817, p. 1

The fonds also contains records created after Thompson’s death including index entries made by the Department of Crown Lands after it acquired his journals and notebooks, as well as typed transcripts of the notebooks and journals created by Archives staff.

The Archives has completed an updated description of the David Thompson fonds (F 443) which includes entries from his many journals and notebooks documenting the daily experiences and observations of this celebrated Canadian explorer.


Click to see a larger image (216K)
Field Book No. 1, 1817, p. 1
David Thompson’s Treaty of Ghent Field Books
Reference Code: F 443-2
Archives of Ontario
Journal No. 31, 1817, p. 17
Click to see a larger image (181K)
Journal No. 31, 1817, p. 17
David Thompson’s notebooks and journals
Reference Code: F 443-1
Archives of Ontario

These records have been divided into six series:

F 443-1 - David Thompson’s notebooks and journals

David Thompson’s notebooks and journals (F 443-1) were created between 1789 and 1851 and there are 101 books in the collection. Thompson’s earliest writings between 1789 and 1812 document his travels to the interior of Canada and the United States while working for the Hudson’s Bay Company and the Northwest Company.

Entries combine astronomical observations with descriptions of the landscape, wildlife, climate, members of his travelling parties as well as the peoples and cultures encountered in the course of his explorations. These notebooks and journals provide unique documentation and insight into the daily life of a fur trader and explorer, as well as some of the earliest written descriptions of the landscape of western Canada.

Journals kept between 1812 and the late 1830’s describe various aspects of Thompson’s life and career following his retirement from the Northwest Company. Captured in these pages are Thompson’s two years in Terrebonne where, still a partner in Northwest, he drafted his ‘Great Map’ of western Canada and the northwestern United States.

Map: Field and Traverse Notes - Niagara River Survey, 1819
Click to see a larger image (92K)
Field and Traverse Notes - Niagara River Survey, 1819
David Thompson’s Treaty of Ghent Field Books
Reference Code: F 443-2
Archives of Ontario

F 443-2 - David Thompson’s Treaty of Ghent boundary survey fieldbooks

David Thompson’s Treaty of Ghent boundary survey fieldbooks (F 443-2) contain astronomical calculations recorded by Thompson in his capacity as surveyor for Britain under Article VI and VII of the Treaty of Ghent. The Archives of Ontario also holds the boundary maps prepared as a result of these surveys.

F 443-3 - David Thompson’s correspondence

David Thompson’s correspondence (F 443-3) consists of correspondence created by Thompson in the later years of his life. The majority of letters concern Thompson’s ideas about the provincial boundary line with the United States and are addressed to John Macauley, an Ontario land surveyor, and Samuel P. Hurd, who was Surveyor General of Ontario at that time.

F 443-4 - Transcripts of David Thompson’s journals and notebooks

Transcripts of David Thompson’s journals and notebooks (F 443-4) are also available. Undertaken between 1913-1916, staff of the Archives of Ontario typed transcripts of Thompson’s notebooks and journals. Not all of the journals have been transcribed and only journal No. 1 has been transcribed in its entirety.

F 443-5 - David Thompson’s boundary survey maps prepared under Articles VI and VII of the Treaty of Ghent

F 443-6 - Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada

One of the greatest gems in the Archives of Ontario’s collection is the Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada (F 443-6). This map, also known as the ‘Great Map’, is based on survey data compiled during Thompson’s twenty years of travel and exploration in the fur trade.

A full-scale reproduction of this remarkable map is on permanent display in the Archives of Ontario’s Reading Room. The original is safe and protected in vault storage and can be viewed on request.

Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada by David Thompson, 1814
Click to see a larger image (314K)

Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada
by David Thompson, 1814 (Reproduction)
David Thompson fonds
Reference Code: F 443-6, AO 1541
Archives of Ontario, I0012850

Access to the original records in the David Thompson collection is restricted for conservation purposes. The textual records in the David Thompson collection are available on microfilm either in the Archives of Ontario’s Reading Room or through the Archives Microfilm Interloan Service.

For more information follow these links:

  • David Thompson fonds - Background Information
  • David Thompson fonds - Microfilm Listings
  • David Thompson's notebooks and journals (Series F 443-1)
  • David Thompson's Treaty of Ghent boundary survey fieldbooks (Series F 443-2)
  • David Thompson's correspondence (Series F 443-3)

Couverture du carnet n° 1, 1817
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (312ko)
Couverture du carnet n° 1, 1817
Carnets et journaux de David Thompson
Code de référence : F 443-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont acquis les documents de David Thompson en 1903 auprès du Ministère des Terres de la couronne de l’Ontario, qui les avait acquis à son tour de la famille de Thompson après son décès en 1857.

Le fonds David-Thompson se compose de documents qui décrivent sa carrière de commerçant de fourrures, d’explorateur, d’astronome et de cartographe. Les documents comprennent les carnets et les journaux de Thompson, qui documentent ses voyages dans les régions qui sont aujourd’hui l’intérieur du Canada et le Nord-Ouest des États-Unis, ses travaux de cartographie et d’arpentage du Canada, ainsi que les relations entre les commerçants de fourrures et les peuples autochtones.

Le fonds contient les carnets de notes de David Thompson dans le cadre des travaux d’arpentage des frontières qu’il a effectués à la demande de la commission des frontières du Traité de Gand, ainsi que des lettres qu’il a écrites au sujet de la frontière avec les États-Unis durant les années 1830, des croquis de travaux d’arpentage des frontières, ainsi que la « Grande Carte » de l’Ouest du Canada et du Nord-Ouest des États-Unis.

Page 1 du « Carnet de notes arpentage de 1817 »

Le fonds contient également des dossiers créés après le décès de Thompson, y compris des entrées d’index effectuées par le Ministère des Terres de la couronne après son acquisition des journaux et carnets de Thompson, ainsi que des transcriptions de ces documents, dactylographiées par le personnel des Archives.

Les Archives ont complété une mise à jour de la description du Fonds David-Thompson (F 443), qui contient des extraits de ses nombreux journaux et carnets décrivant les expériences et les observations quotidiennes de ce grand explorateur canadien.


Cliquer pour un agrandissement (216ko)
Page 1 du « Carnet de notes arpentage de 1817 »
Carnet de notes de David Thompson sur le traité de Gand
Code de référence : F 443-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Journal No. 31, 1817, p. 17
Click to see a larger image (181K)
Journal No. 31, 1817, p. 17
Carnets et journaux de David Thompson
Code de référence : F 443-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Ces documents sont répartis en six séries :

F 443-1 - Carnets et journaux de David Thompson

Les carnets et journaux de David Thompson (F 443-1) ont été créés entre 1789 et 1851. La collection comprend 101 livres. Les premiers écrits de Thompson, entre 1789 et 1812, décrivent ses voyages à l’intérieur du Canada et des États-Unis alors qu’il était employé de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest.

Ces documents contiennent des observations astronomiques ainsi que des descriptions des paysages, des animaux, du climat, des personnes qui accompagnaient Thompson, ainsi que des personnes qu’il a rencontrées et des cultures qu’il a découvertes lors de ses voyages. Ces carnets et journaux offrent un aperçu et une description uniques de la vie quotidienne d’un commerçant de fourrures et explorateur, ainsi que certaines des premières descriptions écrites des paysages de l’Ouest canadien.

Journals kept between 1812 and the late 1830’s describe various aspects of Thompson’s life and career following his retirement from the Northwest Company. Captured in these pages are Thompson’s two years in Terrebonne where, still a partner in Northwest, he drafted his ‘Great Map’ of western Canada and the northwestern United States.

Map: Field and Traverse Notes - Niagara River Survey, 1819
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (92ko)
Notes d'observation et de traverse - arpentage de la Niagara, 1819
Carnets d'observations de David Thompson sur
Reference Code: F 443-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

F 443-2 - Carnets de notes de David Thompson sur l’arpentage des frontières en vertu du Traité de Gand

Les carnets de notes de David Thompson sur l’arpentage des frontières en vertu du Traité de Gand (F 443-2) contiennent des calculs astronomiques effectués par Thompson à titre d’arpenteur pour la Grande-Bretagne en vertu des articles VI et VII du Traité de Gand. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario possèdent également les cartes des frontières dessinées à la suite de ces travaux.

F 443-3 - Correspondance de David Thompson

La correspondance de David Thompson (F 443-3) a été rédigée au cours des dernières années de sa vie. La majorité des lettres présentent les idées de Thompson au sujet de la frontière entre la province et les États-Unis, et ont été envoyées à John Macauley, un arpenteur-géomètre de l’Ontario, et à Samuel P. Hurd, l’arpenteur général de l’Ontario de l’époque.

F 443-4 - Transcriptions des journaux et carnets de notes de David Thompson

Des transcriptions des journaux et carnets de notes de David Thompson (F 443-4) font également partie du fonds. Les transcriptions des carnets et journaux de Thompson ont été effectuées entre 1913 et 1916 par le personnel des Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Les journaux n’ont pas tous été transcrits et seulement le journal no 1 a été transcrit intégralement.

F 443-5 - Cartes de David Thompson sur l’arpentage des frontières, préparées en vertu des articles VI et VII du Traité de Gand

F 443-6 - « Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada »

L’un des plus grands joyaux de la collection des Archives publiques de l’Ontario est la « Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada » (F 443-6). Cette carte, également connue sous le nom de « Grande Carte », est le résultat de relevés effectués par Thompson durant ses vingt années de voyages et d’explorations dans le cadre du commerce des fourrures.

Une reproduction pleine grandeur de cette carte exceptionnelle est exposée en permanence dans la salle de lecture principale des Archives publiques de l’Ontario. L’original est en sécurité dans nos voûtes et vous pouvez le voir sur demande.

« Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada », par David Thompson, 1814
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (314ko)

« Map of the North-West Territory of the Province of Canada », par David Thompson, 1814
Fonds David Thompson
Code de référence : F 443-6, AO 1541
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0012850

L’accès aux documents originaux de la collection de David Thompson est limité, à des fins de conservation. Les dossiers textuels de la collection sont toutefois disponibles sur microfilm dans la salle de lecture principale des Archives publiques de l’Ontario ou par l’entremise du Service interprêt de microfilms des Archives.

Veuillez cliquer sur les liens suivants pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

  • Fonds David-Thompson - Renseignements généraux
  • Fonds David-Thompson - Liste des microfilms
  • Carnets et journaux de David Thompson (série F 443-1)
  • Carnets de notes de David Thompson sur l’arpentage des frontières en vertu du Traité de Gand (série F 443-2)
  • Correspondance de David Thompson (série F 443-3)