The Toys of Our Childhood - Page Banner


Diorama

Diorama
T. Eaton Company Records
Reference Code: F 229-308-0-730
Archives of Ontario

Much of the magic of the festive season swirls around children and toys and there's nothing more heart-warming than seeing a young face light up upon opening a Christmas gift and discovering a longed-for toy inside.

Most of us can remember a favourite toy from our childhood. Maybe you still have it. Maybe it's been passed down to a child or grandchild and is still being enjoyed. Maybe it eventually broke and fell out of use. Or, maybe it simply disappeared over the years.

But, whatever happened, those toys still have the power to evoke childhood memories. Memories of what seems a simpler time. And memories of holiday seasons past when the most important things in the world came wrapped in brightly coloured paper.





Last Christmas the Archives of Ontario remembered an Eatons Christmas and we asked members of the public to send us their memories of how Eatons, with its Toyland, catalogue and Santa Claus parade impacted on their lives. We had many delightful responses and posted a sampling of them on our memories page.

Fall and Winter Catalogue, 1943-44: Little Angel Dolls

Fall and Winter Catalogue, 1943-44
T. Eaton Company Records
Reference Code: F 229-1-0-148
Archives of Ontario

One particularly poignant letter stood out and illustrated how the memory of a cherished toy stays with us.

“ Dear Santa: On Christmas 1944 I was 8 years old. I received an Eatons Doll that year that had been ordered for me by my brother who had been killed in November of that same year, off the coast of Newfoundland, while serving in the Canadian Navy.

I would dearly love to see a picture of the Eaton Doll produced for 1944, as I gave the doll away to a little girl who didn't have a doll, many years ago. Would that be possible? Your Eaton Memories Page is wonderful, it brought tears of joy to my heart!

Sincerely Lorraine G. Livingston”.

Repeated attempts by the Archives to contact Ms. Livingston were unsuccessful but we hope we can reach her with this virtual exhibit. We hope too, that, among the images we've included, she finds that treasured doll she gave away so many years ago. Maybe as you look through our Toyland Gallery you'll see a toy that evokes a special memory of your own.

UPDATE: On December 20, 2007 and we received this email from Mrs. Livingston.

“Hi: Yes, I am the Mrs. Livingston you have been searching for. Thank you for finding me and showing me a photo of my precious doll of the past. It has indeed brought back memories that are engraved in my mind for ever. Eaton's has been a Canadian icon that will never fade away from our memories-those wonderful decorated downtown Toronto Eaton's store windows, the toy floor, the cakes decorated and displayed for Christmas, and that wonderful memory of Santa himself holding children on his lap while their photo was taken. Then each child got to choose a toy to take home. What a memory! Those are but a few of Eaton's gifts of Christmas to their faithful shoppers and friends. Thank you again, sincerely L.G. Livingston,..... and Merry Christmas!”






The Archives of Ontario wishes you and yours a happy and healthy holiday season and invites you to step back in time and remember The Toys of Our Childhood.

Merry Christmas, Ms. Livingston, wherever you are.

Next: Toys from the Late 1800s

Photo: Little Girl and Doll

T. Eaton Company Records
Reference Code: F 229-162-0-1215
Archives of Ontario





Cover: No. 72 Christmas Catalogue, 1905 (Toronto)

No. 72 Christmas Catalogue, 1905 (Toronto)
T. Eaton Company Records
Reference Code: F 229-231-0-5
Archives of Ontario

This festive season the Archives of Ontario has found historical images and film clips in its holdings that span different eras and reflect on the changing nature of toys and of times gone by.

These images are just a few from the huge collection held at the Archives of Ontario.

Visit the Archives or view our on-line databases including our Visual Database that contains over 9,000 historical images.

To learn more about the collections used in this exhibit, click here.







Acknowledgements:

The Archives of Ontario thanks Sears Canada for giving permission to use images from the T. Eaton Company fonds held at the Archives of Ontario.







Note: There are a number of video files included in this virtual exhibit. To view them you will need either a Windows Media Player or a Quicktime Player. Both of these applications are available for free download.

If you wish to download a free player application click on one of the icons to the right or one of the links above to go to the appropriate web site.

Windows Media Playet Logo Apple Quicktime Logo

Les jouets de notre enfance - bannière









Diorama

Diorama
Fonds T. Eaton Company
Code de référence : F 229-308-0-730
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Une grande part de la magie du temps des Fêtes tourne autour des enfants et des jouets. Rien ne fait plus chaud au coeur que de voir s’illuminer le visage d’un enfant qui déballe un paquet de Noël et découvre le jouet tant désiré.

La plupart d’entre nous avons en mémoire un jouet favori de notre enfance. Quelques-uns d’entre vous l’avez peut-être conservé. D’autres l’ont peut-être légué à un enfant ou petit-enfant dont il fait aujourd’hui le bonheur. Ou bien ce jouet a fini par se briser, il ne sert plus ou a tout simplement disparu.

Qu’importe leur sort, ces jouets ont conservé leur pouvoir de ressusciter nos souvenirs d’enfance. Nos souvenirs d’un temps où tout semblait plus simple. Des souvenirs du temps des Fêtes de nos jeunes années, lorsque les choses les plus importantes au monde nous arrivaient enveloppées dans du papier chamarré.








À l’occasion du Noël de l’an passé, comme les Archives publiques de l’Ontario avaient fait revivre un Noël du magasin Eaton, nous avions invité les gens du public à nous raconter la façon dont le magasin, avec son Royaume des jouets, son catalogue et sa parade de Noël avaient marqué leur enfance. Nous avons reçu de nombreuses lettres charmantes et en avons fait un florilège pour notre page des souvenirs.

Catalogue Automne-hiver, 1943-44

Catalogue Automne-hiver, 1943-44
Fonds T. Eaton Company
Code de référence : F 229-1-0-148
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Une de ces lettres nous a particulièrement touchés. Elle montre à quel point nous restons attachés au souvenir d’un jouet chéri.

« Cher Père Noël : J’avais 8 ans en 1944. Pour la Noël, j’ai reçu en cadeau une poupée Eaton que mon frère avait commandée pour moi. Celui-ci a été tué au combat en novembre de la même année, au large de Terre-Neuve, alors qu’il servait dans la Marine canadienne.

J’aimerais tant voir une photo de la poupée Eaton qui avait été produite en 1944, car j’ai donné ma poupée à une petite fille qui n’en avait pas, il y a de cela bien longtemps. Serait-ce possible? Votre Page des souvenirs Eaton est merveilleuse, elle m’a fait verser des larmes de joie!

Merci beaucoup. Lorraine G. Livingston”.

MISE À JOUR : Le 20 décembre 2007, nous avons reçu ce courriel de madame Livingston.

“Bonjour. Oui, je suis la madame Livingston que vous cherchiez. Merci de m'avoir retracé et de m'avoir montré des photos de ma précieuse poupée du passé. Elles ont fait resurgir des souvenirs gravés pour toujours dans ma mémoire. Eaton a étë une institution canadienne importante qui restera toujours dans nos mémoires - ces merveilleuses vitrines du magasin Eaton du centre-ville de Toronto, les gâteaux décorés et exposés pour Noël, et le merveilleux souvenir du Père Noël lui-même tenant les enfants sur ses genoux pour une photo. Chaque enfant pouvait ensuite choisir un jouet à ramener à la maison. Quel souvenir ! Ce ne sont que quelques-uns des cadeaux de Noël d'Eaton à sec lients et amis. Merci encore... et Joyeux Noël !”








Le personnel des Archives a essayé plusieurs fois de joindre Mme Livingston, mais sans succès, aussi espérons-nous pouvoir la rejoindre par le truchement de l’exposition virtuelle. Nous espérons également que, parmi les images qui y sont incluses, elle retrouvera la poupée dont elle s’est séparée il y a bien longtemps.

Peut-être qu’en visitant notre galerie des jouets du Royeume des jouets, vous aussi rencontrerez l’image d’un jouet qui ranimera de précieux souvenirs.








Le personnel des Archives vous souhaite ainsi qu’aux vôtres d’heureuses fêtes de fin d’année et vous invite, à travers l’exposition virtuelle, à un agréable voyage dans le temps.

Suivante : Jouets de la fin du XIXe siècleJoyeux Noël à vous, Mme Livingston, où que vous soyez.

Photographie :
Fonds T. Eaton Company
Code de référence : F 229-162-0-1215
Archives publiques de l'Ontario








Catalogue de Noël no. 72, 1905 (Toronto)

Catalogue de Noël no. 72, 1905 (Toronto)
Fonds T. Eaton Company
Code de référence : F 229-231-0-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Pour les fêtes de cette année, les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont retrouvé dans leurs réserves des images et des extraits de films historiques, de différentes époques, qui montrent l’évolution des jouets et la transformation de notre monde.

Ces images ne sont qu’une parcelle de l’immense collection des Archives publiques de l’Ontario.

Venez visiter les Archives ou consultez nos bases de données en ligne, y compris notre Base de données des documents visuels qui contient plus de 9 000 images historiques.





Remerciements

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario tiennent à remercier Sears Canada pour lui avoir permis d'utiliser les images du fonds T. Eaton Company conservé aux Archives.





Note: Cette exposition virtuelle contient un certain nombre des fichiers vidéo. Pour les visualiser vous aurez besoin de le lecteur Windows Media ou Quicktime Player. Ces deux lecteurs peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement.
Si vous désirez télécharger un lecteur gratuit, cliquez sur un des icones à droite ou sur un des liens ci-dessus pour aller au site web approprié. Lien vers le site de le lecteur Windows Media Lien vers le site de QuickTime