Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

Photograph of Harry
Click to see a larger image

Portrait of Harry Mason in military
uniform, [ca. 1914-1917]
Black and white print
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0050214

In July of 1915, a young man named Harry Mason enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, following the call to arms heard across the country. In less than two years, his brief military career would take him across Canada, through Europe, and expose him to the horrors of “the first modern war,” World War I.

Through all of this, his love for his sweetheart, Sadie Arbuckle, was constant. He wrote to her frequently, sometimes daily, and she responded just as faithfully. They each worked hard to pass on their experiences, but also to protect the other from the worst of it all. Their correspondence gives a detailed account of life for those at war and for those waiting for news back in Ontario. It also tells a love story.

These form a part of the Sadie Arbuckle fonds (F 848) at the Archives of Ontario, and, remarkably, the collection includes both Harry’s and Sadie’s letters. This exhibit offers a detailed look at these records, and demonstrates what love, life and remembrance meant for two young Ontarians whose lives were changed forever by the Great War.

Group of soldiers standing at attention,[ca. 1918]
Click to see a larger image

Group of soldiers standing at attention,[ca. 1918]
Unknown photographer. Canadian Expeditionary Force albums
Reference Code: C 224-0-0-11-43
Archives of Ontario, I0004878

Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

Harry Mason en uniforme militaire, [vers 1914-1917]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Harry Mason en uniforme militaire,
[vers 1914-1917]
Photographie noir et blanc
fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0050214

En juillet 1915, un jeune homme du nom de Harry Mason s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien après un appel aux armes lancé partout au pays. En moins de deux ans, sa brève carrière militaire lui fait traverser le Canada et le transporte jusqu’en Europe, où il sera confronté aux horreurs de la « première guerre moderne », la Première Guerre mondiale.

Tout au long de ce périple, l’amour de Harry pour sa bien-aimée, Sadie Arbuckle, reste intact. Il lui écrit souvent, parfois tous les jours. Elle lui répond aussi loyalement. Les deux correspondants s’efforcent de transmettre leurs expériences, et d’ignorer le pire pour s’en prémunir. Leurs lettres offrent un récit détaillé de la vie d’un homme parti à la guerre et de celle d’une femme restée en Ontario, en attente de nouvelles. Elle raconte aussi une histoire d’amour.

Cette correspondance fait partie du fonds Sadie Arbuckle (F 848) des Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Fait remarquable, on y retrouve à la fois des lettres de Harry et de Sadie. En plus d’inviter à la découverte d’archives, la présente exposition témoigne du pouvoir de l’amour, de la vie et des souvenirs de deux jeunes Ontariens qui ont vu leur existence à jamais transformée par la Grande Guerre.

Group of soldiers standing at attention,[ca. 1918]
Click to see a larger image

Group of soldiers standing at attention,[ca. 1918]
Photographie noir et blanc
Albums photos de la Première guerre mondiale
Code de référence : C 224-0-0-11-43
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004878