Government of Ontario     |    

Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery

The Changing Shape of Ontario: a Guide to Boundaries, Names and Regional Governments - Page Banner

County of York

In 1953, the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto was created to administer common services for the City of the Toronto, the townships of East York, Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough and York as well as seven villages and towns that had been separated from these townships over time; each of these municipalities retained their mayors or reeves and councils. A 1966 amendment to the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto Act amalgamated the smaller municipalities into the surrounding townships, which became boroughs. North York became a city in 1980; Etobicoke, Scarborough and York followed suit in 1984.

Effective January 1, 1998, the Metropolitan government was abolished and Toronto, East York, Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough, and York were amalgamated to form the new City of Toronto.

With the creation of the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, what originally comprised the Townships of York, Etobicoke, and Scarborough were separated from the remainder of York County. In 1971, York County was replaced by the Regional Municipality of York.

County of York

County of York
No. 21a - The Southern Part of the Province of Ontario - (Detail) York
Province of Ontario. Department of Lands & Forests
RG 1-707 Ministry of Natural Resources topographic maps