Motion Pictures banner

Motion Pictures: Immigration Films from the Vaults of Toronto’s Archives

When: 6 p.m., Thursday, March 8
Where: Palmerston Theatre, Toronto Public Library – Palmerston Library, 560 Palmerston Ave, Toronto, ON.

How is the experience of immigration and making home in Toronto represented in film?

The Archives of Ontario, in collaboration with York University Libraries’ Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections and The Regent Park Film Festival’s Home Made Visible project, is hosting a film screening event that will explore the ways in which the medium has contributed to Toronto’s narrative of multiculturalism, and how one project is preserving the home movie footage of Indigenous and Visible Minority Canadians.

Motion Pictures

The event will feature a diverse set of short films held in the collections of the Archives of Ontario and the Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections. From works recognizing the cultural contributions of immigrant communities to intimate first-person accounts documenting the struggles and successes of earlier waves of immigration, these films demonstrate the role of moving images within the creation and dissemination of stories of immigration in Toronto and Ontario, and the integral functions of Toronto-area archives in the preservation of such films.

The event will also feature a short presentation by Home Made Visible, an innovative project that works with Indigenous and Visible Minority Canadians to preserve their personal history by digitizing their movies and sharing their stories – for themselves and their communities.

Part of the Myseum of Toronto’s 2018 Intersections Festival.

We hope to see you there!

Œuvres cinématographiques banner

Œuvres cinématographiques : films sur l'immigration provenant des voûtes des Archives de Toronto


Cet événement est offert en anglais seulement.

Date : Jeudi 8 mars à 18 h
Endroit : Théâtre Palmerston, Bibliothèque publique de Toronto – bibliothèque Palmerston, 560, avenue Palmerston, Toronto (Ontario)

Comment représente-t-on l’expérience de l’immigration et de l’établissement à Toronto dans les films?

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario, en collaboration avec les Archives et collections spéciales Clara Thomas des bibliothèques de l'Université York et du projet Home Made Visible du Regent Park Film Festival, organisent un visionnement de films qui explorera les façons dont ce médium a contribué à l’histoire du multiculturalisme de Toronto et comment un projet préserve les films maison des Autochtones et des minorités visibles au Canada





Œuvres cinématographiques


L'événement mettra en vedette un ensemble diversifié de courts métrages conservés dans les collections d'Archives publiques de l'Ontario et des Archives et collections spéciales Clara Thomas. Qu'il s'agisse d'œuvres soulignant les contributions culturelles des collectivités immigrantes ou de récits intimes racontés à la première personne documentant les luttes et succès des premières vagues d'immigration, ces films démontrent le rôle joué par les images animées dans la création et la diffusion de récits d'immigration à Toronto et en Ontario, ainsi que les fonctions essentielles des archives de la région de Toronto pour préserver de tels films.

L'événement mettra également en vedette une courte présentation faite par Home Made Visible, un projet novateur qui collabore avec les Autochtones et les minorités visibles du Canada pour préserver leur histoire personnelle en numérisant leurs films et en partageant leurs histoires – pour eux-mêmes et pour leurs collectivités.

S'inscrit dans le cadre du festival Intersections 2018 de Myseum of Toronto.

Nous espérons vous y voir!