Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of
Government and Consumer Services




Recognizing Our Donors: Corporations and Groups - Page Banner

Corporations and Groups


Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario

The Business and Professional Women's Clubs of Ontario (BPW Ontario) was formed in the early 1930s as the provincial wing of the Canadian Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs. These clubs aim to foster equality and improve the economic, political, social and employment conditions of working women through education, awareness, advocacy and mentoring within a supportive network. Additional records of BPW Ontario’s activities, mostly dating from the 1970s to the 1990s, were donated to the Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario fonds (F 207) in 2019, adding to the documentary history of women’s rights in Ontario.

[Return to top of page]


Centre for Women's Studies in Education (CWSE)

The Women’s Educational Research Centre (WERC)—a library and resource centre for research about feminism and women’s issues related to education—was established in 1976 as part of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) at the University of Toronto. When the WERC dissolved in 1998, its collection of approximately 300 feminist-themed posters was transferred to the Centre for Women’s Studies in Education (CWSE) at OISE, which continued to acquire similar posters from a wide variety of sources, including governments, academia, NGOs, and cultural groups. The CWSE donated the posters to the Archives of Ontario in 2017, and the Centre for Women's Studies in Education (CWSE) fonds (F 4698) serves as invaluable evidence documenting the history of women’s activism in the province.

[Return to top of page]


Dairy Farmers of Ontario

The Dairy Farmers of Ontario is the marketing group for Ontario dairy farmers, formed in August 1995 following the merger of the Ontario Milk Marketing Board and the Ontario Cream Producers’ Marketing Board. The group’s latest donation to the Dairy Farmers of Ontario fonds (F 4464) in 2017 documents the growth and unique activities of Ontario’s largest farming sector, and is a valuable addition to the agricultural records in the Archives’ holdings.

[Return to top of page]


The Laidlaw Foundation

The Laidlaw Foundation is a Toronto-based philanthropic organization established in 1949 by Walter C. and Robert A. Laidlaw. The Foundation donated its records to the Archives in 2017. The Laidlaw Foundation fonds (F 4699) documents the organization’s funding activities to benefit charitable, educational, conservation and cultural organizations in Ontario.

[Return to top of page]

Lynx Images Incorporated

Lynx Images Incorporated, founded in 1988, is an integrated documentary film production company, book publisher, and distributor that produced historical documentary programs and accompanying books. After the company ceased operation in 2017, partners Andrea Gutsche, Barbara Chisholm, and Russell Floren donated a number of Lynx Images Inc.’s films and related records to the Archives. The Lynx Images Incorporated fonds (F 4696) documents many of Ontario’s lesser-known people, places, and stories that would otherwise be lost to history.

[Return to top of page]


Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA)

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) was founded in 1964 as a provincial voice for local faculty associations. The OCUFA donated its records to the Archives in 2017. The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations fonds (F 4703) documents the organization’s work to represent university faculty associations, and its advocacy for post-secondary education in Ontario.

[Return to top of page]


Toronto and North York Hunt

Founded in 1843, the Toronto and North York Hunt (TNYH) is one of the oldest fox hunting sports clubs in North America and was the first organized hunt association west of Montreal. The club’s records were first donated in 2009, and further records were added to the Toronto and North York Hunt fonds (F 4586) in 2018. Most of the records date from the TNYH’s incorporation in 1932 to the early 2000s, and document the association’s members, its business and social activities, and the history and traditions of fox hunting in Ontario.

[Return to top of page]

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Hommages à nos donateurs : Entreprises et groupes  - bannière

Liste des donneurs

Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario

Le Business and Professional Women's Clubs of Ontario (BPW Ontario) a été créé au début des années 1930 à titre d’aile provinciale de la Fédération canadienne des Clubs des femmes de carrières commerciales et professionnelles. Ces clubs ont pour but d’encourager l’égalité et d’améliorer les conditions économiques, politiques, sociales et d’emploi des femmes qui travaillent grâce à l’éducation, à la sensibilisation, à la représentation et au mentorat au sein d’un réseau soutenant. D’autres documents des activités de BPW Ontario, datant principalement des années 1970 aux années 1990, ont été donnés au fonds Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario (F 207) en 2019, ajoutant ainsi au patrimoine documentaire des droits des femmes en Ontario.

[Retour au haut de la page]


Centre for Women's Studies in Education (CWSE)

Le Women’s Educational Research Centre (WERC) — une bibliothèque et centre de ressources pour la recherche sur le féminisme et les questions relatives aux femmes en lien avec l’éducation — a été fondé en 1976 pour faire partie de l’Institut d'études pédagogiques de l'Ontario (IEPO) à l’Université de Toronto. Au moment de la dissolution du WERC en 1998, sa collection d’environ 300 affiches sur le thème du féminisme a été transférée au Centre for Women’s Studies in Education (CWSE) à l’IEPO, qui a continué d’acquérir des affiches similaires de sources très diversifiées, y compris des gouvernements, des universités, des ONG et des groupes culturels. Le CWSE a fait don des affiches aux Archives publiques de l'Ontario en 2017, et le fonds Centre for Women's Studies in Education (CWSE) (F 4698) constitue une preuve inestimable qui documente l’histoire de l’activisme des femmes dans la province.

[Retour au haut de la page]


Dairy Farmers of Ontario

Dairy Farmers of Ontario est le groupe marketing des producteurs laitiers de l'Ontario, formé en août 1995 à la suite de la fusion de la Commission ontarienne de commercialisation du lait et de la Commission ontarienne de commercialisation de la crème. Le plus récent don du groupe au fonds Centre for Women's Studies in Education (CWSE) (F 4698) en 2017 documente la croissance et les activités uniques du plus important secteur agricole de l'Ontario, et constitue un apport précieux aux documents agricoles des avoirs des Archives.

[Retour au haut de la page]



Laidlaw Foundation

La Laidlaw Foundation est un organisme philanthropique basé à Toronto et établi en 1949 par Walter C. et Robert A. Laidlaw. La Fondation a fait don de ses documents aux Archives en 2017. Le fonds Laidlaw Foundation (F 4699) documente les activités de financement de l'organisme au profit d'organismes caritatifs, éducatifs, de conservation et culturels en Ontario.

[Retour au haut de la page]

Lynx Images Incorporated

Fondée en 1988, la société Lynx Images Incorporated est une société intégrée de production de films documentaires, un éditeur et un distributeur ayant réalisé des émissions documentaires historiques et des livres d'accompagnement. Après que l'entreprise eut cessé ses activités en 2017, les partenaires Andrea Gutsche, Barbara Chisholm et Russell Floren ont fait don de plusieurs films et documents connexes de Lynx Images Inc. aux Archives. Le fonds Lynx Images Incorporated (F 4696) documente un grand nombre de personnes, lieux et histoires de l'Ontario moins connus qui autrement auraient sombré dans l'oubli.

[Retour au haut de la page]

Union des Associations des Professeurs des Universités de l'Ontario (OCUFA)

L’Union des Associations des Professeurs des Universités de l'Ontario (OCUFA) a été fondée en 1964 pour se faire la voix provinciale des associations régionales de professeurs. L’OCUFA a fait don de ses documents aux Archives en 2017. Le fonds Union des Associations des Professeurs des Universités de l'Ontario (F 4703) documente le travail de l’organisme pour représenter les associations de professeurs d’université, ainsi que ses activités de représentation en faveur de l’éducation postsecondaire en Ontario.

[Retour au haut de la page]




Toronto and North York Hunt

Fondé en 1843, le Toronto and North York Hunt (TNYH) est l’un des plus anciens clubs sportifs de chasse au renard en Amérique du Nord, et fut la première association de chasse structurée à l’ouest de Montréal. Les documents du club ont d’abord été donnés en 2009, et d’autres documents furent ajoutés au fonds Toronto and North York Hunt (F 4586) en 2018. La plupart des documents datent de la constitution en personne morale de la TNYH, en 1932, jusqu’au début des années 2000, et traitent des membres de l’association, de ses activités commerciales et sociales ainsi que de l’histoire et des traditions de la chasse au renard en Ontario.

[Retour au haut de la page]