Gallery Exhibits at the Archives of Ontario

Photograph of the Entrance to the Helen McClung exhibit gallery

The move to a purpose-built home has allowed the staff to preserve, promote, and showcase the Archives’ collection like never before. The Helen McClung Exhibit Area has carefully controlled temperature, humidity and light levels, allowing members of the public to view exhibits that incorporate the display of original records.

The Exhibit Area has been designed for maximum flexibility, with movable cases and temporary gallery walls. This allows us to safely display many formats of archival records, framed artworks, and three-dimensional objects.

Entrance to the Exhibit Area is free to the public during Archives of Ontario business hours:

  • Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8.30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Tuesday and Thursday from 8.30 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
View of Gallery with On the Map Exhibit

Our Exhibits

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150 explores the Era of Confederation through the stories of four family groups in Ontario, and how their lives intersected with larger historical forces of the period. The exhibit uses reproductions of images, and textual records, and artefacts from the Archives of Ontario and other institutions across the province to show multiple perspectives on life in Ontario during the late 19th century. Family Ties also includes a look at how Ontario celebrated the Centennial anniversary of Confederation in 1967.

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150 runs until May 2018.

  • Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm
    Tuesday and Thursday 8:30 am to 8:00 pm
    Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm
Admission is free.

Why Helen McClung?

The Helen McClung Exhibit Area is named for the first woman in Ontario who, upon her appointment as acting Archivist of Ontario, achieved deputy minister status. She served from 1939 to 1950.

McClung enjoyed connecting students to historical documents, and in 1947, she initiated an innovative travelling exhibit that toured schools in the province.

Notre galerie


L’aire d’exposition Helen McClung

Le déménagement dans un emplacement spécialement aménagé a permis au personnel de préserver, de promouvoir et de mettre en évidence les collections des Archives comme jamais auparavant. Dans l’aire d’exposition Helen McClung, la température, l’éclairage et le degré d’humidité sont minutieusement contrôlés, ce qui permet de présenter au public des expositions comprenant des documents originaux.

L’aire d’exposition a été conçue pour présenter une souplesse maximale et est dotée de présentoirs mobiles et de cloisons temporaires. Ainsi, nous pouvons exposer en toute sécurité des documents d’archives, des œuvres d’art encadrées et des objets de divers formats.

Le public a accès gratuitement à l’aire d’exposition pendant les heures d’ouverture des Archives publiques de l’Ontario à partir de,

  • lundi, mercredi, vendredi de 8 h 30 à 17 h
  • mardi et jeudi de 8 h 30 à 20 h
  • samedi de 10 h à 16 h

 

L’aire d’exposition Helen McClung

Nos Expositions


Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans

Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans explore l'ère de la Confédération à travers les histoires de quatre groupes de la famille en Ontario, et comment leurs vies ont été touchées par les forces historiques plus importantes de la période. À l’aide de reproduction de documents textuels et d’images uniques aux collections des Archives publiques de l’Ontario , ainsi que des reproductions et des artefacts provenant d’institutions de la province, l'exposition fournit de multiples points de vue sur la vie en Ontario au cours de la fin du 19e siècle. Les liens familiaux comprend aussi un regard sur la façon dont l'Ontario a célébré le centenaire de la Confédération en 1967.

Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans est présentée jusqu’au mai 2018.

  • Horaire : du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h

les mardis et les jeudis, de 8 h 30 à 20 h
les samedis, de 10 h à 16 h

L’entrée est gratuite.

Pourquois Helen McClung ?


L’aire d’exposition Helen McClung est nommée en l’honneur de la première femme de l’Ontario qui, après avoir été nommée archiviste intérimaire de l’Ontario, a acquis le statut de sous-ministre. Elle a été en poste de 1939 à 1950.

Mme McClung aimait faire connaître les documents historiques aux élèves, et en 1947, elle a lancé une exposition itinérante novatrice dans les écoles de l’Ontario.