Education Workshops at the Archives of Ontario

Onsite Education Workshops at the Archives of Ontario


Montage of two documentary posters and nurses

The Archives is a place where things happen. The collection, preservation, and interpretation of Ontario’s history takes place at the Archives of Ontario and a visit to your provincial archives will offer your students the opportunity to understand the power of primary sources in an interactive and hands-on environment.

In our specially designed classroom space, students will be introduced to the concept of an archive and how one can search for and interpret material that can aid them in their learning. In all of our workshops, students will get a chance to go on a behind-the-scenes tour of the Archives, including a visit to the Reading Room, Preservation Lab, and Conservation Vaults.

All workshops are free, run by experienced educators, and link with the Social Studies, History, and Canadian and World Studies curricula.

Exhibit-Linked Workshops

Unable to visit the Archives of Ontario? Want a more interactive experience than using a lesson plan? Bring the Archives to your class.

How to Book


To book an onsite visit, complete a Booking Request Form [PDF] and a member of our team will get back to you to confirm details.

Please note: your visit is not confirmed until you have received a written booking confirmation. If for any reason you are unable to attend your session, please inform Archives staff at least one week in advance. Insufficient notice may result in a cancellation fee.

Timing


All our onsite programs are designed to be a half day long, but start and end times can usually be arranged to suit you. Our normal business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Supervision


All programming is led by Archives staff. We kindly ask that teachers remain with their groups for the duration of the program and supervise students. Please note that the Archives of Ontario is not responsible for accidents or injuries incurred while in the building or on the grounds.

A minimum number of adult supervisors is required to accompany each school group:

  • Elementary (K-8) 1:10
  • Secondary (9-12) 1:15

Cost


All programming is free of charge!

Ateliers

Ateliers éducationnels sur place aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Montage de deux affiches documentaires

Il y a de l’action aux Archives. C’est là que se font la collecte, la conservation et l’interprétation des documents concernant l’histoire de l’Ontario. Une visite aux archives provinciales donnera aux élèves l’occasion de comprendre l’importance des documents primaires dans un environnement interactif et axé sur la pratique.

Dans nos salles de classe spécialement conçues, les élèves seront initiés au concept des archives et à la façon de procéder pour chercher et interpréter des documents qui favoriseront leur apprentissage. Lors de tous nos ateliers, les élèves auront la chance de faire un tour dans les coulisses des Archives, y compris la salle de lecture, le laboratoire de préservation et les voûtes de conservation.

Les programmes éducatifs des Archives publiques de l’Ontario sont liés au curriculum de la province, sont offerts gratuitement et constituent pour les élèves une occasion unique d’explorer les documents primaires pour se renseigner sur le passé.

Ateliers axés sur le contenu

Vous ne pouvez pas visiter les Archives ? Vous voulez une expérience plus interactive qu’un plan de leçon ? Faites venir les Archives dans votre classe.

Réservations

Cliquez ici pour demander une réservation [PDF], et un membre de notre équipe communiquera ensuite avec vous pour confirmer les détails.

Veuillez noter que votre visite n’est pas confirmée tant que vous n’avez pas reçu de confirmation de réservation écrite. Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de participer à la séance prévue pour une raison quelconque, veuillez en informer le personnel des Archives au moins une semaine à l’avance. Un préavis insuffisant pourrait entraîner des frais d’annulation.

Horaire


Tous nos ateliers itinérants ont été conçus pour être offerts pendant une période d’un cours ou entre 45 et 60 minutes. Ces ateliers peuvent se prolonger en prenant des dispositions préalables et peuvent être offerts en tout temps entre 8 h 30 et 16 h 30.

Supervision


Tous les programmes sont dirigés par le personnel des Archives. Nous demandons au personnel enseignant de rester avec les groupes pour la durée du programme et de continuer à superviser les élèves. Veuillez noter que les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ne sont pas responsables des blessures ou des accidents pouvant survenir à l’intérieur de l’édifice ou sur ses terrains.

Un nombre minimum de superviseurs adultes doivent accompagner chaque groupe scolaire :

  • Primaire (3e-8e année) 1:10

  • Secondaire (9e-12e année) 1:15

Coût


Tous les programmes sont offerts gratuitement!