Donating to the Archives of Ontario

Why does the Archives of Ontario collect private records?


Established in 1903, the Archives of Ontario is Canada’s largest provincial archives. Our objective is also to capture the records of enduring provincial significance illustrating the history and development of Ontario.

We act as the guardian of Ontario’s documentary memory under the Archives and Recordkeeping Act (2006). As the official repository for the archival records of the Province of Ontario, we strive to acquire records from the private sector which document the many facets of Ontario's diverse society, and provide a reflection of the interaction between the government and its citizens.

The records in our collection are from individuals and organizations that tell the stories of Ontario’s people, document events and trends with wide-ranging social or political impact, and reflect the province’s cultural diversity.

Walking along the harbourfront, Toronto
Learn more about the types of records we collect.
Female military personnel working in an office
The Archives of Ontario works to broaden the representation of Ontario society in our collections.
Colourful photograph of a woman derssed in an elaborate costume for the Caribana festival in Toronto
The Archives of Ontario invites you to consider making a gift to the province by donating your records.
Black and white photograph of a woman, from the waist up, posing for the camera
Our rich and varied collection would not be possible without our donors. Learn more about those who have generously donated records to the Archives of Ontario.

Donating to the Archives of Ontario - Recent Donors

Pourquoi les Archives publiques de l’Ontario recueillent-elles des documents privés?

Créées en 1903, les Archives publiques de l’Ontario sont le plus grand service archivistique provincial du Canada. Notre objectif est aussi d’acquérir les documents d’intérêt provincial immuable qui illustrent l’histoire et le développement de l’Ontario.
En vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur les Archives publiques et la conservation des documents, nous campons le rôle de gardien de la mémoire documentaire de l’Ontario. En tant qu’organisme de dépôt officiel des archives de la province de l’Ontario, nous nous efforçons d’acquérir des documents du secteur privé qui témoignent des nombreuses facettes de la société diversifiée de l’Ontario et illustrent les interactions entre le gouvernement et ses citoyens.
Les documents de notre collection proviennent de particuliers et d’organisations qui racontent l’histoire des Ontariens, attestent des événements et des courants qui ont profondément marqué la vie sociale ou politique, et mettent en lumière la diversité culturelle de la province.

Marcher le long de la Harbourfront , Toronto
Apprenez-en davantage sur les types de documents que nous recueillons.
Les personnels militaires féminins travaillant dans un bureau
Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario travaillent à élargir la représentation de la société de l’Ontario dans ses collections.
Comment faire un don
Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario vous invitent à faire don de vos documents à la province.
Dons récents
Cliquez sur le lien pour vous renseigner sur le grand nombre de donatrices et donateurs généreux qui ont fait des dons de documents aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario.