Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of Government and Consumer Services




Online Resources at the Archives of Ontario

Materials to Support Inquiry-Based Learning

Montage of two documentary posters and a black and white photograph of nurses

Interested in learning with primary sources, but don’t know where to start? The Archives of Ontario provides a range of resources and lesson kits appropriate for students from grades 3 to 12, as well as online exhibits that feature primary source material from our extensive collections.

All our resource and lesson kits align with the Ontario curriculum and emphasize the skills of critical literacy, historical inquiry, interpretation, and analysis. Resources can be downloaded as either a Microsoft Word© file or a PDF for easy viewing and printing.

Have a suggestion for future resources? Contact us at Reference@ontario.ca to tell us what you need!

Activities Using Primary Sources

Primary Source Flashcards

Looking for a new way to help students build their language, literacy, and inquiry skills? The Archives of Ontario has created flashcards to support young learners – whether at home or in the classroom.

Our Alphabet Flashcards use primary sources from the Archives of Ontario’s collections to help students in grades 1-4* learn the letters of the alphabet, new vocabulary, and unique stories from Ontario’s past!

For students in grades 7/8, our Social Studies Flashcards will help them learn key terms used in Ontario’s social studies, history, and geography curriculum using primary sources from our collections.

For learners of all ages, our Black Histories Primary Source Cards use archival records to illustrate the layers of experience within Black Canadian history between 1793 and 1925. 

Designed to be viewed both on-screen as a PDF or printed onto paper, you can download the flashcards here:

*Note: the back of each card contains important information about each primary source – to best understand these historical notes, we recommend that younger learners look at them with an adult.

Lesson Plans by...

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Plans de leçons en ligne

Matériel d'appui à l'apprentissage par l'enquête

Montage posters and nurses

Vous aimeriez apprendre utilisant les sources primaires, mais vous ne savez pas par où commencer? Notre site Web propose plusiers  ressources d’apprentissage adaptées aux élèves de la 3e à la 12e année avec les sources primaires provenant de la vaste collection des Archives publiques de l’Ontario.

Tous nos trousse de ressources  sont axés sur les curriculum de l’Ontario et mettent l’accent sur la conscientisation critique, les méthodes d’enquête, d’interprétation et d’analyse historiques. Trousse de ressources en format Microsoft Word© ou PDF faciles à visualiser ou imprimer.

Vous avez des suggestions au sujet des ressources? Communiquez avec nous à reference@ontario.ca pour les partager!


Activités utilisant les sources primaires

Cartes-éclair d’information de source de première main

Vous recherchez un nouveau moyen d’aider les élèves à développer leurs compétences linguistiques, leur aptitude à lire et à écrire et leurs capacités de recherche? Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont créé des cartes-éclair que les jeunes apprenants peuvent utiliser aussi bien à la maison qu’en salle de classe.

Ces cartes-éclair Alphabet utilisent des sources de première main provenant des collections des Archives publiques de l’Ontario pour aider les élèves de la 1re à la 4e année* à apprendre les lettres de l’alphabet, du nouveau vocabulaire et des histoires précieuses du passé de l’Ontario!

Pour les élèves de la 7e à la 8e année, nos cartes-éclair d’etudies sociales les aideront à apprendre les principaux mots employés dans les cours de sciences humaines, d’histoire et de géographie de l’Ontario au moyen de sources de première main tirées de nos collections.

Conçues pour être visualisées à l’écran en format PDF ou imprimées, vous pouvez télécharger les cartes-éclair ici :

*Remarque : des renseignements importants sur chaque source de première main sont inscrits au verso des cartes. Nous recommandons donc que les jeunes apprenants les regardent avec un adulte.

Plans de leçon par…