Gallery Exhibits at the Archives of Ontario

Ontario - On the Map - Banner graphic


Ontario: On the Map - October 22, 2009 - February 3, 2010


Map of Muskoka
Click to see a larger image (K)

Tremaines Map of Upper Canada, 1862
By George R. Tremaine
Published by George C. Tremaine, Toronto
Print with added watercolour
Reference Code: A 11
Archives of Ontario, I0030774

The first exhibit that showcased original records from our collection was Ontario - On the Map. These original maps, the earliest dating from the 17th century, illustrate how the purpose of early provincial maps changed from tools for settlement and exploitation of resources to tools for understanding the evolving cultural and physical landscape of Ontario. Maps are such a routine part of our lives today that we take for granted their accuracy and practicality.

We can instantly plot the most direct, or most scenic, route to our destination by using a computer or consulting a current road map.

As Ontario Evolved

We may not realise that our easy access to maps is based on over three centuries of making maps, created as peoples understanding of the physical and cultural landscape changed.

Ontario Road Map
Click to see a larger image (K)

Road map of Ontario (west of Toronto) showing
all main roads, 1898
Reference Code: C 279-0-0-0-58
Archives of Ontario, I0004753

The maps on display were visual representations of how people perceived our province at different stages of its development from the initial, partial record of its landscape; through use of the land for its resources and for settlement; to the growth and expansion of urban centres and rural areas.


The detailed drawings of towns, buildings, roads, railways, canals and bridges indicate healthy settlements and a prosperous province. Although some parts had not yet been settled, most of it had been comprehensively surveyed with townships and roads.

The map below map conveys how the railways moved goods internationally from centres in the American mid-west to the east coast. The network of railways also became denser, reaching such areas as northern Ontario where they linked with the railway being built to the Canadian west. The portraits of politicians attest to government cooperation in creating this linked system.


Map of Muskoka
Click to see a larger image

Map of the Province of Ontario, Canada,1875-1876
John Cameron Publishers
Reference Code: A 2
Archives of Ontario, I0030783

The map to the right reveals successive periods of surveying from the 18th through 19th centuries: long lots along southwestern shorelines from the French occupation; Colonel Thomas Talbots road surveys along the Talbot Road; and townships surveyed around that road.





Click to see a larger image
Map of the Western District in the
Province of Canada, 1847
By William Billyard and Richard Parr
Printed by Scobie & Balfour, Toronto
Print with added watercolour
Reference Code: RG 1, Acc. 18627
Archives of Ontario, I0030807

Every summer tourists from cities like Toronto, Cleveland, New York and Pittsburg took the train to Gravenhurst and crossed the platform at Muskoka Wharf to board a steamship, which would travel through the inland lakes to the numerous hotels and cottages along the shores (as listed).

Map of Muskoka
Click to see a larger image

Map and Chart of the Muskoka Lakes: Tourist and canoeist index,1899
Published by G.W. Marshall, Toronto
Coloured print
Reference Code: C 60
Archives of Ontario, I0030832

L’exposition Ontario - On the Map comprenait plus de 60 cartes originales. C’est la première exposition de ce genre organisée par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario. La galerie est ouverte pendant les heures d’ouverture normale des Archives, et l’entrée est gratuite. Pour plus de renseignements, contacter : reference@ontario.ca.

Gallery Exhibits at the Archives of Ontario

Ontario - On the Map - Banner graphic


Ontario - On the Map (L’Ontario en cartes) - 22 octobre 2009 - 3 février 2010


Map of Muskoka

Tremaines Map of Upper Canada, 1862
(Carte Tremaines du Haut-Canada, 1862)
Par George R. Tremaine
Publié par by George C. Tremaine, Toronto
Gravure avec aquarelle
Code de référence : A 11
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0030774

La première exposition présentant des documents d’archives originaux de notre collection s’intitulait Ontario - On the Map. Ces cartes originales, dont les plus anciennes remontent au 17e siècle, illustrent comment la vocation des premières cartes provinciales a évolué, d’outils pour l’établissement et l’exploitation des ressources à des outils pour comprendre la transformation du paysage physique et culturel de l’Ontario. Les cartes sont aujourd’hui un objet de la vie courante à tel point que leur précision et leur utilité nous paraissent naturelles.

Aujourd’hui, nous pouvons tracer l’itinéraire le plus direct ou le plus pittoresque pour atteindre notre destination en utilisant un ordinateur ou en consultant une carte routière actualisée.

La transformation de l’Ontario

Nous ne le savons peut-être pas, mais si les cartes sont si facilement accessibles aujourd’hui, c’est grâce aux données cartographiées pendant près de trois siècles au fil des transformations des paysages physiques et culturels.

Ontario Road Map

Road map of Ontario (west of Toronto) showing
all main roads, 1898
(Carte routière de l’Ontario (ouest de Toronto)
indiquant les principaux axes routiers, 1898)
Code de référence Code: C 279-0-0-0-58
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0004753

Les cartes exposées sont des représentations visuelles de la perception de notre province à différentes étapes de son développement, de l’inventaire initial et partiel de ses paysages à la croissance et à l'expansion des agglomérations et des zones rurales en passant par l’utilisation des terres pour l’exploitation des ressources et les établissements humains.


Les dessins détaillés des villes, des routes, des voies ferrées, des canaux et des ponts sont la marque d’établissements en bonne santé et d’une province prospère. Bien que certaines parties de la province n’aient pas encore été habitées, il existait déjà des relevés détaillés des routes et des cantons.

La carte ci-dessous montre les principales routes de chemin de fer empruntées pour le transport international de marchandises entre les grands centres du Midwest et la côte Est américaine. On voit que le réseau ferroviaire s’est densifié pour atteindre le nord de l’Ontario, effectuant la jonction avec le chemin de fer en direction de l’Ouest du Canada. Les portraits de politiciens attestent de la participation du gouvernement à la construction de ce réseau.


Map of Muskoka

Map of the Province of Ontario, Canada,1875-1876
(Carte de la Province de l’Ontario, Canada, 1875-1876)
John Cameron Publishers
Code de référence : A 2
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0030783

La carte à droite révèle les périodes successives d’arpentage entre le 18e et le 19e siècles : on voit de longues parcelles de terrain le long des rives sud-ouest qui correspondent à l’occupation française ; les données d’arpentage du Colonel Thomas Talbot le long de la route Talbot Road; et les levés topographiques des cantons autour de cette route.






Map of the Western District in the
Province of Canada, 1847
Carte du District ouest, Province du Canada, 1847
Par William Billyard and Richard Parr
Imprimeurs : Scobie & Balfour, Toronto
Gravure avec aquarelle
Code de référence: RG 1, Acc. 18627
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0030807

Chaque été, des touristes venus de grandes villes, comme Toronto, Cleveland, New York et Pittsburg, prenaient le train jusqu’à Gravenhurst et franchissaient la plate-forme du quai de Muskoka pour embarquer à bord d’un bateau à vapeur, qui parcouraient les lacs intérieurs jusqu’aux nombreux hôtels et chalets aménagés le long des rives.

Map of Muskoka
Map and Chart of the Muskoka Lakes: Tourist and canoeist index,1899
(Carte et plan des lacs Muskoka : Index des touristes et des canoteurs, 1899) Publié par G.W. Marshall, Toronto
Gravure en couleur
Code de référence: C 60
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0030832

L'Ontario en cartes comprenait plus de 60 cartes originales, et était la premiere exposition du gentre présentée par les Archives publique de l'Ontario. La gallerie est ouverte durant les heures régulières des Archives, et l'admission est gratuite. Pour plus de renseignements, contactez reference@ontario.ca