Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of
Government and Consumer Services




Recognizing Our Donors: Individuals - Page Banner

Donor List:


Bob O’Donnell

Jacques Duperon Baby and his sons, James and Francis, were active in the fur trade, land ownership, the public service, the justice system, and the militia during the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Baby Point in St. Clair, Ontario is named after Jacques Duperon Baby, who amassed vast amounts of land in the area. The latest donations to the Jacques Duperon Baby family fonds (F 2128), in 2006 and 2018, were from Bob O’Donnell, who acquired the records from his great-aunt, Teresa O’Donnell Baby. The materials included in the most recent donation date between 1818 and ca. 1967 and document the lives and business ventures of this prominent Ontario family over several generations.

[Return to top of page]


Robert W. Runciman

The Honourable Robert (Bob) William Runciman is a former Progressive Conservative member of the Ontario Legislature, representing the Leeds-Grenville riding from 1981 to 2010. He also served as a minister in the governments of Mike Harris and Ernie Eves from 1995 to 2003, and in the Senate of Canada from 2010 to 2017. Thanks to Runciman’s latest donation in 2017, the Robert W. Runciman fonds (F 4432) now includes his political and legislative papers from his seven years in the Canadian Senate, adding to the documentation of his prestigious political and legislative career.

.

[Return to top of page]


John Smith

J.C. Smith was an amateur photographer who documented Ridgetown, Ontario in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. John Smith, J.C. Smith’s great-grandson, donated the J.C. Smith fonds (F 4700) in 2017. The 280+ photographs document individuals, families, residential and commercial architecture, schools, cottages, and tombstones in or near Ridgetown. Digital images of most of the photographs are available in the Visual Database.

[Return to top of page]


Kathy Walkinshaw

Kathy Walkinshaw donated additional records to the Gillies Brothers Company fonds (F 150) in 2019. The Gillies Brothers Company was a lumber company operating from the mid nineteenth century to 1978, primarily in eastern Ontario. The newly donated records are an important source of information about the company’s work in Petawawa, and include worker accident reports and financial documents.

[Return to top of page]

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Hommages à nos donateurs : Particuliers - bannière


Liste des donneurs






Bob O’Donnell

Jacques Duperon Baby et ses fils, James et Francis, ont été actifs dans les secteurs du commerce des fourrures, de la propriété foncière, de la fonction publique, du système de justice et de la milice au cours du 18e siècle et du début du 19e siècle. Baby Point à St. Clair (Ontario) tient son nom de Jacques Duperon Baby, qui a accumulé un grand nombre de terrains dans la région. Les plus récents dons faits au fonds de la famille Jacques Duperon Baby (F 2128), en 2006 et 2018, l’ont été par Bob O’Donnell, qui a acquis les documents de sa grand-tante, Teresa O’Donnell Baby. Les documents inclus dans le plus récent don datent d’entre 1818 et environ 1967, et racontent la vie et les entreprises commerciales de cette importante famille ontarienne pendant plusieurs générations.

[Return to top of page]

Robert W. Runciman

L'honorable Robert (Bob) William Runciman est un ancien député du Parti progressiste-conservateur à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, qui a représenté la circonscription de Leeds-Grenville de 1981 à 2010. Il a également été ministre dans les gouvernements de Mike Harris et d'Ernie Eves de 1995 à 2003, et a siégé au Sénat du Canada de 2010 à 2017. Grâce au plus récent don de M. Runciman en 2017, le fonds Robert W. Runciman (F 4432) inclut maintenant ses documents politiques et législatifs de ses sept années passées au Sénat canadien, ajoutant à la documentation de sa prestigieuse carrière politique et législative.

[Retour au haut de la page]

John Smith

J.C. Smith était un photographe amateur ayant documenté Ridgetown (Ontario) à la fin du 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle. John Smith, arrière-petit-fils de J.C. Smith, a fait don du fonds J.C. Smith (F 4700) en 2017. Les quelque 280 photographies documentent des particuliers, des familles, l’architecture résidentielle et commerciale, les écoles, les chalets et les pierres tombales à Ridgetown et dans les environs. Des images numériques de la plupart des photographies se trouvent dans la base de données des documents visuels.

[Retour au haut de la page]

Kathy Walkinshaw

Kathy Walkinshaw a fait don de documents supplémentaires au fonds Gillies Brothers Company (F 150) en 2019. La Gillies Brothers Company était une société forestière en activité du milieu du 19e siècle jusqu’en 1978, principalement dans l’Est ontarien. Les nouveaux documents reçus en don constituent une source importante de renseignements à propos des activités de la société à Petawawa, et comprennent des rapports d’accidents de travail et des documents financiers.

[Return to top of page]