Education at the archives of Ontario Banner

Meaningful Learning with Primary Sources

Video Resources for Teachers

Picture of Teacher

On March 11, 2014, the Archives of Ontario hosted a special one-day conference for teachers, with presentations focusing on the 2013 revised History, Social Studies, and Canadian and World Studies curricula. The event also featured presentations by Governor General award-winning teachers, cartoonist Scott Chantler, and a behind-the-scenes tour of the Archives of Ontario. This conference was sponsored by Canada’s History.

Recorded excerpts from each presentation are available to view below - click to watch and learn how archival records can bring the thrill of discovery to your classroom!


Canada’s History and the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Director of Programs Joel Ralph outlines the publications and initiatives of Canada’s History, with special emphasis on the Governor General’s History Award programme and past award recipients.

We’ll Get You Yet! Engaging Students through Historical Role Play

Teacher Diane Vautour of Loretto College (Toronto Catholic District School Board), discusses successful classroom lesson plans and activities, and reflects on the impact of winning the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching on her teaching practice.

Inquiry and Primary Sources: Archives of Ontario as a Resource for Teaching

Senior Coordinator, Educational Programming & Exhibitions Dr. Samantha Cutrara discusses the use of primary sources held by the Archives of Ontario throughout the inquiry process, and the integration of archival resources into lesson plans.

The CDDHS/DCMA Battlefields Tour Partnership & Project

Neil Orford, Head of the Canada & World Studies Department at Centre Dufferin District High School (Upper Grand District School Board) and a recipient of the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching, discusses the development, delivery, and impact of the Battlefields Tour Partnership & Project with the Dufferin County Museum & Archives.

Exploring Two Generals

Cartoonist and author Scott Chantler discusses his latest work, Two Generals, and talks about his experiences in turning archival records into an interesting and engaging narrative.

Email Alison.Little@ontario.ca, our Senior Coordinator of Education, for more information or complete a Booking Request Form [ PDF] to book a workshop.

Education at the archives of Ontario Banner

Les documents primaires comme outils d’apprentissage efficaces

Ressources vidéo pour les professeurs

Picture of Teacher

Le 11 mars 2014, les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont tenu une conférence spéciale d’une journée à l’intention des professeurs, axée sur les programmes-cadres d’histoire, d’études sociales et d’études canadiennes et mondiales révisés en 2013. La conférence comprenait également des exposés de professeurs récipiendaires des prix du Gouverneur général et du dessinateur Scott Chantler (en anglais seulement), de même qu’une visite des coulisses des Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Cette conférence était commanditée par Canada’s History.

Vous pouvez visionner des extraits vidéo de chaque exposé; il vous suffit de cliquer sur les liens ci-dessous pour découvrir comment les documents d’archives peuvent susciter l’engouement de vos élèves!


Canada’s History et le Prix d’histoire du Gouverneur général pour l’excellence en enseignement (Vidéo en anglais seulement )

Le directeur des programmes Joel Ralph décrit brièvement les publications et les initiatives de Canada’s History, en insistant tout particulièrement sur le programme du Prix d’histoire du Gouverneur général et les personnes qui ont obtenu ce prix dans le passé.

Susciter l’intérêt des élèves au moyen de jeux de rôles historiques (Vidéo en anglais seulement )

La professeure Diane Vautour du Loretto College (Toronto Catholic District School Board) parle d’activités et de plans de leçon qui fonctionnent bien en classe, puis se penche sur l’incidence qu’a eu son Prix d’histoire du Gouverneur général pour l’excellence en enseignement sur sa pratique d’enseignement.

Processus d’enquête et documents primaires : les Archives publiques de l’Ontario comme ressource pour l’enseignement (Vidéo en anglais seulement )

La coordonnatrice principale des programmes éducatifs et des expositions, Samantha Cutrara, discute de l’utilisation des documents primaires des Archives publiques de l’Ontario dans le cadre du processus d’enquête, ainsi que de l’intégration des ressources archivistiques dans les plans de leçon

Partenariat et projet du CDDHS et du DCMA sur les champs de bataille (Vidéo en anglais seulement )

Neil Orford, chef de la section des études canadiennes et mondiales à l’école secondaire Centre Dufferin District High School (Upper Grand District School Board) et récipiendaire du Prix d’histoire du Gouverneur général pour l’excellence en enseignement, discute de l’élaboration, de la mise en œuvre et de l’incidence du partenariat et projet avec le Dufferin County Museum & Archives sur les champs de bataille.

Découvrez l’œuvre Two Generals (Vidéo en anglais seulement )

Le dessinateur de bandes dessinées et auteur Scott Chantler parle de sa dernière œuvre, Two Generals, et de ses expériences dans l’utilisation de documents d’archives pour la création d’un récit intéressant et captivant.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les programmes de perfectionnement professionnel offerts par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario, veuillez visiter notre page de ressources ou écrire à Alison.Little@ontario.ca.