Frequently Asked Questions About the Archives of Ontario  

Archives of Ontario Public Policy on Copyright and Terms of Use for Archival Materials


Introduction


The Canadian Copyright Act gives a creator the exclusive right to reproduce, perform, or publish his/her work. The archival materials in the holdings of the Archives of Ontario all have creators.

The Archives of Ontario will make or, in certain cases, allow its customers to make one digital OR print copy of any archival material in its holdings for research or private study, unless donors or copyright holders have expressly prohibited copying or other restrictions apply (e.g. to preserve the archival materials).

The Archives of Ontario Library will make copies of single periodical articles, or of portions of books and other published works, for research or private study, in accordance with the Copyright Act.

The Copyright Act also applies to archival materials obtained through requests made under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

For uses other than research or private study, researchers must submit a Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit or Broadcast form.

Different Types of Copyright and Access Restrictions


Different types of copyright access and restrictions may apply to archival materials. The following represents the most common types:

  • Restrictions placed on archival materials by the donor (Private Records).

    Some donors have placed restrictions on the release of their archival materials. They may request that the materials remain closed for a specific number of years, or that names in the documents can not be revealed in publication. In these cases, customers must obtain the donor's written permission before consulting and/or publishing the materials. These are just sample restrictions. Actual cases vary from donor to donor. However, even when there are no specific restrictions on private materials, customers must obtain the copyright owner’s written permission before publishing (except where copyright has expired). The Archives’ staff will assist you with this as much as available resources allow, but they can not always determine who holds copyright. When the copyright holder is not clearly known or locatable, the customer is responsible for determining who holds copyright and for locating the copyright owner.

  • Terms of Use for archival materials that are Crown Copyright (Government Records).

    The Archives administers crown copyright only for original materials in our collection. If we hold the original materials, we can grant permission to publish as long as the materials are properly cited and a Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit or Broadcast form. has been submitted to the Archives. We do not administer Crown Copyright for other crown jurisdictions (e.g., Federal or from other Provinces). In those cases, you must go directly to the source.

    If we do not hold the original archival materials, we cannot grant permission to publish the materials in any type of media; electronic, paper or other kind. When the Archives does not hold the original materials to which Crown Copyright applies, and the researcher wishes to publish, the researcher must seek permission to do so from the organization/person where the original material is held. We can however, give the researcher one copy for personal or research purposes.

  • Expired Copyright

    Copyright doesn’t last forever. Once copyright has expired, customers can publish the archival materials freely and without condition with one exception; Crown works that are unpublished remain protected under copyright law in perpetuity.

    The following outlines some of the more common examples of when copyright expires:

    • Fifty years after the death of the author for literary works.

    • Fifty years after publication (i.e., after copies of the work have been made available to the public) for Crown records.

    • Fifty years after the creation of a sound recording.

    • When a photo was taken by the author on or before 31 December 1948.

    • Where the author of the photograph is a corporation in which the shares are widely held, copyright expires 50 years from the time the photograph is made.

    • Where the author of the photograph is a corporation in which the majority of voting shares are owned by a natural person who would have qualified as the author if there were no corporation, the term is the life of that person plus 50 years.

  • Restrictions placed on archival materials by the Copyright Act.

    All reproductions are subject to the Copyright Act of Canada. Customers are urged to consult the Copyright Act when the copyright issues raise questions. Please note: The Archives’ role is not to interpret the Act. Customers must be aware of how copyright law may apply to their research and consult the Act when questions arise. Please remember to leave enough lead time to research copyright ownership and obtain written permissions should the need arise. Also remember to keep a record of any “Permission to Publish” records that relate to the materials you publish.

Please note that the “Terms Governing Use” field in the Archives’ Descriptive Database (ADD) often has some general information on copyright.

The Following Conditions Apply to All Customers Who Copy Archival Materials Held by the Archives Of Ontario:


  1. Customers warrant that they will not use the Archives’ collection of archival materials in a manner that would infringe the rights of others. Nor will they distort, mutilate or otherwise modify or use the copyrighted work(s) in any way that will prejudice the honour or reputation or in any way violate the moral rights of the creator or author of the work(s). Any liability that may arise in the use of a copy of Archival material is assumed in full by the customer. The Archives accepts no responsibility for unauthorized use of collection material by customers.

  2. Customers can request reproductions of archival materials and make self-serve prints and digital images from the self-serve microfilm reels found in the reading room. Copies of all archival materials, whether from the online exhibits on our website or from our records, and whether in digital or paper format, can only be used for personal or research purposes. You are required to submit a Request for Permission to Publish, Exhibit or Broadcast form. for any copy(ies) that will be used for anything other than research and/or private study.

  3. Please be aware that you are solely responsible for any infringement of copyright in the use of reproductions or self serve copies of Archival materials, either from the microfilm printers or from the computers (in digital or paper format). The Archives of Ontario will not be held responsible for any copyright infringement.

  4. Reproductions made by the user do not represent an official version or a copy made with the endorsement of the Archives of Ontario. Reproductions will not be represented as a true copy of the original material unless certified as such by the Archivist of Ontario.

  5. Cameras may be used in the facility to obtain photographic copies of archival material. However, users must complete a Self-Serve Digital Copying Service Form to do so. These forms are available from the Reference staff.

  6. The Copyright owner, whether the Archives, a corporation or an individual should always be properly acknowledged if the material is used for anything other than private research or study. It is the sole responsibility of all researchers to ensure they have appropriate copyright clearance for any materials to be published.

  7. The Archives of Ontario provides access to archival material for personal research and private study purposes only. We make no representation or warranty, either express or implied, of any kind with respect to archival materials and do not vouch for or warrant the availability, accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any archival materials. Nor are we responsible for the content of any archival materials. Any reliance on the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of archival materials will be at your own risk.

  8. In no event shall the Archives of Ontario or Her Majesty the Queen in right of Ontario or any of their Ministers, employees or agents be liable for any liabilities, losses, costs, damages and expenses arising from or directly or indirectly related to your use of, or your inability to use, the archival materials or any part or service of it.

Dated: February 27th, 2012

The Archives of Ontario reserves the right to update these terms and conditions at any time. Users will be notified of updates on the Archives of Ontario website. Users who do not agree to updated terms and conditions may have their researcher’s card revoked at the sole discretion of the Archives of Ontario.

Donating to the Archives of Ontario - Contact Us

Politique des Archives publiques de l’Ontario sur le droit d’auteur et l’utilisation des documents d’archives


Introduction


La Loi sur le droit d’auteur du Canada donne à l’auteur d’une œuvre le droit exclusif de reproduire, d’exposer ou de publier celle-ci. Tous les documents des Archives publiques de l’Ontario ont des auteurs.

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario feront une copie numérique OU imprimée de tout document en leur possession ou, dans certains cas, permettront au client de faire lui-même cette copie, à des fins de recherche ou d’étude privée, à moins que le donateur du document ou le titulaire du droit d’auteur ne s’y oppose expressément ou que d’autres restrictions ne s’appliquent (p. ex., préservation du document).

La bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l’Ontario copiera des articles de périodiques ou des portions de livres et d’autres œuvres publiées à des fins de recherche ou d’étude privée, conformément à la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

La Loi sur le droit d’auteur s’applique aussi aux documents obtenus suite à une demande présentée conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.

Si un chercheur a besoin d’une copie d’un document à des fins autres que la recherche ou l’étude privée, il doit soumettre une Demande de permission de publication, exposition ou diffusion .

Modalités d’accès et restrictions


Les documents d’archives sont assujettis à différentes modalités d’accès et restrictions fondées sur le droit d’auteur. Voici les plus courantes.

  • Restrictions imposées par le donateur (documents privés).

    Certains donateurs ont assujetti la divulgation de leurs documents d’archives à des restrictions. Ils peuvent exiger que ces documents demeurent inaccessibles pendant un certain nombre d’années, ou que les noms qui s’y trouvent ne soient pas publiés. Dans ces circonstances, le client doit obtenir l’autorisation écrite du donateur avant de consulter ou de publier les documents. Ce ne sont là que des exemples de restrictions. Celles-ci varient selon le donateur. Cependant, même lorsque des documents privés ne font l’objet d’aucune restriction particulière, le client doit obtenir l’autorisation écrite du titulaire du droit d’auteur avant de les publier (sauf lorsque le droit d’auteur a expiré). Le personnel des Archives peut vous aider à ce sujet dans la limite de ses ressources, mais il ne peut pas toujours déterminer le titulaire du droit d’auteur. Lorsque le personnel ne peut identifier ou localiser clairement ce titulaire, il revient au client de le faire.

  • Modalités d’utilisation des documents d’archives dont la Couronne est titulaire du droit d’auteur (documents du gouvernement).

    Les Archives administrent le droit d’auteur de la Couronne uniquement pour les documents originaux qui font partie de leur collection. Si nous possédons les documents originaux, nous pouvons accorder la permission de les publier pourvu qu’ils soient cités correctement et qu’une Demande de permission de publication, exposition ou diffusion nous ait été fournie. Nous n’administrons pas le droit d’auteur de la Couronne pour les documents d’autres territoires (p. ex., le gouvernement fédéral et les autres provinces). Vous devez alors vous adresser à la source de ces documents.

    Si les documents d’archives originaux ne se trouvent pas dans notre collection, nous ne pouvons accorder la permission de les publier sous quelque forme que ce soit (électronique, papier, etc.). Si le chercheur souhaite publier un document visé par le droit d’auteur de la Couronne que les Archives n’ont pas dans leur collection, il doit obtenir la permission de l’organisme ou de la personne qui détient le document original. Cependant, nous pouvons en remettre une copie au chercheur à des fins personnelles ou de recherche.

  • Expiration du droit d’auteur

    Le droit d’auteur n’est pas permanent. Lorsqu’il a expiré, le client peut publier les documents d’archives sans restriction, à une exception près : les documents inédits de la Couronne demeurent protégés en permanence par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

    Voici les circonstances les plus courantes dans lesquelles le droit d’auteur expire :

    • Cinquante ans après le décès de l’auteur dans le cas des œuvres littéraires.

    • Cinquante ans après la publication (c.-à-d. après que des exemplaires de l’œuvre ont été rendus publiques) dans le cas des documents de la Couronne.

    • Cinquante ans après la création dans le cas d’un enregistrement sonore.

    • Dans le cas de photographies, si elles ont été prises par l’auteur le 31 décembre 1948 ou avant.

    • Dans le cas d’une photographie dont l’auteur est une personne morale comptant un grand nombre d’actionnaires, le droit d’auteur expire 50 ans après la date où la photographie a été prise.

    • Lorsque l’auteur d’une photographie est une personne morale dont la majorité des actions avec droit de vote sont détenues par une personne physique qui aurait été considérée l’auteur de la photographie si la personne morale n’avait pas existé, le droit d’auteur subsiste jusqu’à la fin de la cinquantième année suivant le décès de la personne.

  • Restrictions imposées aux documents d’archives en vertu de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur

    Toutes les reproductions sont visées par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur du Canada. Le client est invité à consulter la Loi sur le droit d’auteur s’il s’interroge sur le droit d’auteur. Remarque : Les Archives n’ont pas pour rôle d’interpréter la Loi. Le client doit être conscient de l’application de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur à ses recherches, et il doit consulter la Loi en cas de doute. Il doit réserver assez de temps pour identifier les titulaires de droit d’auteur et obtenir des autorisations écrites au besoin. En outre, le client doit conserver les autorisations obtenues pour tous les documents qu’il publie.

Des renseignements généraux sur le droit d’auteur figurent dans le champ « Terms Governing Use » de la Base de données des descriptions de documents d’archives (en anglais seulement).

Modalités s’appliquant aux clients qui copient des documents des Archives publiques de l’Ontario


  1. Les clients attestent qu’il n’utiliseront pas la collection de documents des Archives de manière à porter atteinte aux droits d’auteur. Ils ne doivent pas déformer, endommager ou modifier les œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur d’une manière qui nuirait à l’honneur ou à la réputation ou qui enfreindrait d’une manière quelconque les droits moraux du créateur ou de l’auteur des œuvres. Ils assument entièrement toute responsabilité découlant de l’utilisation d’une copie de documents d’archives. Les Archives se dégagent de toute responsabilité quant à l’utilisation non autorisée des documents de sa collection par ses clients.

  2. Les clients peuvent demander des reproductions de documents d’archives et faire des reproductions physiques ou numériques d’images des microfilms des bobines libre-service se trouvant dans la salle de lecture. Les copies de tous les documents d’archives, qu’ils proviennent des expositions en ligne affichées sur notre site Web ou de notre collection et qu’ils existent sous forme numérique ou sur papier, doivent être employées uniquement à des fins personnelles ou de recherche. Vous devez présenter une Demande de permission de publication, exposition ou diffusion dans le cas de toute copie qui servira à des fins autres que l’étude privée ou la recherche.

  3. Veuillez prendre note que vous seul serez tenu responsable de toute violation du droit d’auteur à la suite de l’utilisation de reproductions ou de copies libre-service de documents d’archives, faites au moyen des imprimantes pour microfilms ou des ordinateurs (sous forme numérique ou sur papier). Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario se dégagent de toute responsabilité pour toute violation éventuelle du droit d’auteur.

  4. Une reproduction faite par un usager ne représente pas une version ou une copie officielle effectuée avec le consentement des Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Une reproduction ne doit pas être présentée comme une copie authentique d’un document original à moins d’être certifiée comme telle par l’archiviste de l’Ontario.

  5. L’utilisation d’un appareil photo aux Archives est autorisée afin de faire des copies photographiques de documents d’archives. Les usagers doivent cependant remplir un formulaire de copie numérique libre-service au préalable. Ce formulaire peut être obtenu auprès du personnel des services de référence.

  6. Le titulaire du droit d’auteur, qu’il s’agisse des Archives, d’une personne morale ou d’un particulier, doit toujours être mentionné si les documents sont employés à des fins autres que l’étude privée ou la recherche. Il revient exclusivement aux chercheurs d’obtenir des titulaires de droit d’auteur l’autorisation de publier des documents.

  7. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario donnent accès à des documents d’archives à des fins de recherche personnelle et d’étude privée uniquement. Nous ne faisons aucune assertion ni ne donnons aucune garantie, expresse ou implicite, en ce qui concerne les documents d’archives ou leur disponibilité, leur exactitude, leur exhaustivité ou leur utilité. Les usagers qui s’appuient sur l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité ou l’utilité des documents d’archives le font à leurs risques.

  8. Ni les Archives publiques de l’Ontario ni Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l’Ontario ni ses ministres, employés ou représentants ne sauraient être tenus responsables des pertes, coûts, dommages et dépenses découlant directement ou indirectement de l’utilisation ou de l’incapacité d’utiliser les documents d’archives en tout ou en partie.

Le 27 février 2012

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario se réservent le droit de mettre à jour les présentes modalités en tout temps. Les usagers en seront informés sur le site Web des Archives. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario se réservent le droit de révoquer la carte d’inscription – chercheur (chercheuse) des usagers qui ne sont pas d’accord avec les modalités mises à jour.