Researching Franco-Ontarians at the Archives of Ontario
 

Introduction



Painting: Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
F. S. Challener
Oil on canvas 166.4 cm x 135.9 cm
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619849

September 25th is now Franco-Ontarian Day in Ontario, celebrating the vital contributions of the province’s Francophone communities. The date marks the anniversary of the Franco-Ontarian flag’s unveiling in 1975. It also commemorates the 400th anniversary of Samuel de Champlain and Étienne Brûlé's journeys to what is now Ontario.

At the Archives of Ontario, we acquire, preserve and showcase records related to Ontario’s history, and we have some significant collections that help tell the story of the French presence in the province.

French explorers and missionaries began travelling throughout Ontario during the 17th and 18th centuries. The first European settlement was Ste.-Marie-Among-The-Hurons (1639-1649) near Midland, and French-speaking settlers arrived in the Windsor area starting in 1749. Our cartographic holdings include original French maps from this time period, as well as maps and plans documenting Francophone settlement areas. Our library holdings contain original works by early explorers.And our private records include documents created by early settlers, fur traders, merchants and politicians.

Francophones settled in various areas across Ontario during the 19th and 20th centuries, mainly in the northeast, southwest, Georgian Bay, Ottawa, and Prescott-Russell area. Today Ontario is now home to close to 600,000 Francophones of all origins, the largest Francophone population outside of Quebec. Our government records detail milestone events and movements like the struggle for French-language education, the creation of the Office of Francophone Affairs, and the development of French-language provincial services from the 1960s on. We also have collections of French-language newspapers from the early 20th century up until the 1980s.

The records of numerous Franco-Ontarian families give unique insight into Francophone communities from the 18th century to the present. The Max LeMarchant deGodart du Plany collection consists of research notes, genealogies and correspondence of several French families. Our holdings on the Dionne quintuplets – the first known birth of quintuplets, in 1934 – are of special interest because both the family and then news of the children’s tragic exploitation became world-famous.

General Resources


Our online exhibit, French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries, is a great introduction to the early Francophone history of the province.

Government Services for Franco-Ontarians


Since the 1970s, the Ontario government has been committed to offering services to citizens in the French language. The responsibility for overseeing this task has been with a number of different government ministries, branches and departments since then.

Note: Access to many of these series is restricted under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs


The naming of a Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs first occurred in 1978. The Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs is also holds another portfolio within the Ontario cabinet.

The Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs oversees development of policy within the Ontario government as it relates to the provision of French language services, and is responsible to the Cabinet and Legislative Assembly for the provision of these services. Since 1986, the Minister is responsible for the administration of the French Language Services Act. The Minister also oversees operation of the agencies in the Ontario government concerned with the provision of French language services, such as the Office of the Government Coordinator of French Language Services and the Office of Francophone Affairs.

  • RG 77-6 Correspondence of the Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs 1986-1991

Office of Francophone Affairs


Created in 1985 the Office of Francophone Affairs assists with the development of French language initiatives and services throughout the Ontario government. The Office advises the government on the development and implementation of French language services and on relations with the Franco-Ontarian community. The office also provided grants to assist community services for francophones.

  • RG 77-2 Office of Francophone Affairs communications and community relations correspondence 1976-1993 40.1 metres of textual records 20 year restriction

  • RG 77-4 Policy and projects records of the Office of Francophone Affairs 1977-2003 38.3 metres of textual records 100 year restriction RG 77-7 Correspondence of the Executive Director of the Office of Francophone Affairs 1986-1990 9 metres of textual records 20 year restriction

  • RG 77-8 Records of the Community Support Fund 1981-2001 14 metres of textual records 20 year restriction

  • RG 77-9 Records relating to the implementation of the French Language Services Act 1986-1991 5.5 metres of textual records 20 year restriction

  • RG 77-10 Corporate program records of the Office of Francophone Affairs 1987-2000 6.3 metres of textual records 100 year restriction


From 1979 to 1985 the Government Coordinator of French Language Services was responsible for co-ordinating the individual French-language programs of all agencies of the Ontario government, and making recommendations to the government that would further the development of these services. In addition the Coordinator was the chairman of an Interministerial Committee of Coordinators whose members were responsible for developing French language services in their respective ministries.

  • RG 77-1 Correspondence of the Government Coordinator of French Language Services 1969-1982
  • RG 77-3 Correspondence of the Executive Secretary to the Office of the Coordinator on Bilingualism 1968-1981
  • F 47-16 Ontario Arts Council Franco-Ontarian grants files 1969-2004
    Series consists of records created and maintained by the Ontario Arts Council documenting grants made to Franco-Ontarian individuals and organizations involved in arts, culture and literature.

French Education in Ontario


The issue of French-language education in Ontario has been a contentious one since Confederation. The government began offering French education in a systematic way beginning in the late 1960s. Note that many of these series contain restrictions on access due to privacy reasons.

Department of Education

From 1912 to 1927 French language education beyond Form 1 was forbidden in publicly-funded primary and secondary schools. It was the Department of Education’s responsibility to ensure compliance with these restrictions.

  • RG 2-102 English-French school correspondence files and inspection summary registers 1911-1927

  • RG 2-42 Department of Education select subject files [18--]-1964, predominant 1885-1913

  • RG 5-1 Correspondence of Sir James Whitney 1874-1914

  • RG 2-157 Report of the Commissioners on Schools in the Counties of Prescott and Russell in which the French Language is Taught 1893

  • RG 2-158 Report of the Commissioners on Public Schools in Ontario in which the French Language is Taught 1889

Ministry of Education

The Ontario government continued to resist funding French-language education in Ontario until the Symons Commission and the Beriault Committee in 1968, when the Ministry of Education began ensuring that Ontarians had access to high quality education at the primary and secondary levels in French.

  • RG 2-176 Files and report of the Ministerial Commission on French Language Secondary Education (Symons Commission) 1968-1973

  • RG 2-167 Research files and report of the Committee on French Language Schools in Ontario (Beriault Committee) 1967-1968

Office of the Assistant Deputy Minister, French Language Education

The Assistant Deputy Minister, French Language Education advised the Minister and the Deputy Minister on all matters pertaining to the education of Francophones at the elementary and secondary levels between 1980 and 1993.

  • RG 2-185 Files of the Assistant Deputy Minister for Franco-Ontario Education 1972-1996

  • RG 2-276 Ministry of Education French Language Professional Development and Cultural Activities Program funding files 1979-1996

French Language Education Policy and Programs Branch

Starting in 1993 the French Language Education Policy and Programs Branch has developed curricula for French elementary and secondary education that defined provincially consistent requirements, developed standards for student achievement, developed policies for language planning and student cultural development and established provincial secondary education policy as it related to French language schools. The branch also facilitated partnerships that expanded the use of technology in French language schools, administered French language education funding programs, coordinated research and analysis in terms of content and process with respect to French language education, planned, developed and coordinated liaison activities with the ministry and with other ministries and agencies as they related to French language education, monitored and advised on issues pertaining to liaison with the French language community.

  • RG 2-290 Learning Materials Fund (French-language) development files 1974-1996

  • RG 2-379 French language education in Ontario operational files 1973-2003

Council for Franco-Ontarian Education

As a result of the Report of the Ministerial Commission on French Language Secondary Education and the recommendations of the task force on re-organization, a permanent planning board, the Council on French Language Schools was formed in 1972 to ensure the continuing development of elementary and secondary French language education in Ontario.

  • RG 2-200 Council for Franco-Ontarian Education operational files 1969-1996

Franco-Ontarian Families


Numerous records of Ontario families held at the Archives help document the lifestyles of everyday Ontarians from the Eighteenth Century to the present.

  • F 2128 Jacques Duperon Baby family fonds 1759-1866, 1946
    Jacques Duperon Baby (1731-1789) and his sons, James and Francis, were involved in the fur trade, the public service, Justice, landownership, and the militia during the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Francis Baby was a member of the Upper Canada Legislative Assembly. Francois Baby, brother of Jacques Duperon, and his descendents played an important role in Quebec's politics and economy during the late 18th and 19th centuries.

  • F 318 Max LeMarchant deGodart du Planty collection [194-]-1979
    Collection consists of research notes, genealogies and correspondence on the du Planty family, the Godart family and their branches, as assembled by Max LeMarchant de Godart du Planty. Families mentioned include Dongan (Dungan), Van Buskirk and a large number of other French (continental) families.

  • F 493 Jean Baptiste Rousseau family fonds 1774-1953
    Jean Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812) was an early merchant and mill owner in Ancaster, York and Kingston, Ontario, who died while serving in the War of 1812.

    Rousseau served in the Indian Department, 1775-1779, and then traded on the north shore of Lake Ontario, at Kingston and along the Humber River. In 1795, he moved to Ancaster where he bought a saw and grist mill. He was married twice. He married his first wife, Marie Martineau, in Montreal in 1780. After the breakup of this marriage in 1786, he married Margaret Clyne (1759-1823) and had two sons, George and Joseph Brant (1799- 1868). Rousseau died while serving in the War of 1812.

Dionne Quintuplets


In 1934 one Franco-Ontario family would become among the most famous families in the world and would become the top tourist attraction in the province. The first known birth of quintuplets occurred on May 28, 1934 near Callandar, Ontario and news quickly spread around the world. The girls were made guardians of the Dr. Allan Roy Dafoe by order of the provincial government under claims that the parents were unfit to ensure their survival. They were later made wards of the crown until their eighteenth birthday.

The government built a hospital for the children that allowed tourists to watch them play. An estimated 3 million people would visit the hospital between 1936 and 1943 and the government would make $51 million dollars off of them in revenue for the government through tourism, film appearances and numerous sponsorships. In 1943 their parents were able to win back custody of their children, but they would continue to make public appearances throughout their childhood.

  • C 9 Fred Davis and Yvonne Leroux fonds [the official photographers of the quintuplets] 1924-1978

  • F 10 Mitchell F. Hepburn fonds

  • RG 3-9 Premier Mitchell F. Hepburn public correspondence records

  • RG 3-10 Premier Mitchell F. Hepburn private correspondence

  • F 12 Gordon Conant fonds

  • F 1322 Joseph Sedgwick fonds

  • RG 4-53 Dionne Quintuplets Official Guardian records 1934-1954

  • RG 22-3560 Nipissing District Surrogate Court Dionne quintuplets records 1934-1942, 1955, 1964-1970

  • F 4392-58 St. Lawrence Starch Company Dionne quintuplets files 1933-1999

Other Records


  • F 1080 Percy James Robinson fonds. Mr. Robinson was an historian, specializing in 17th and 18th century Ontario, and is the author of Toronto under the French regime. The fonds consists of his research notes and materials, and correspondence pertaining to Ontario’s French and First Nations history in the 17th and 18th centuries (and other related topics).

  • F 378 Hiram Walker Historical Museum collection. The Hiram Walker Historical Museum collection consists of records deposited with or collected by the Hiram Walker Historical Museum, Windsor. The collection consists of records pertaining to the history of the Windsor and Detroit area, 1749-1971, including the Francophone presence. The collection includes correspondence, land papers, financial records, legal instruments, and certificates from various pioneer families, businesses, churches, associations and societies. The collection also contains materials compiled by George Fortune Macdonald and Neil F. Morrison, local historians and collectors.



Newspapers


Finding Aid L 23, Original and Microfilm Newspaper Collections in the Archives of Ontario [Word, PDF]

Additional Internet Resources


Logo for the Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française of the University of Ottawa



Map: Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c. Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]

Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c.
Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]
Reference Code: C 78, A0 4943
Archives of Ontario

[Return to top of page]

Ressources au sujet de l’histoire des Noirs aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario
 

Introduction



Painting: Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
Étienne Brûlé à l’embouchure de la rivière Humber
F. S. Challener
Huile sur toile; 166,4 x 135,9 cm
Collection d’œuvres d’art du gouvernement de l’Ontario, 619849

En Ontario, le 25 septembre est désormais le Jour des Franco-Ontariens et des Franco-Ontariennes, qui commémore les contributions vitales des communautés francophones de la province. La date marque l’anniversaire du dévoilement du drapeau franco-ontarien en 1975, ainsi que le 400e anniversaire des premiers voyages de Samuel de Champlain et d’Étienne Brûlé dans ce qui est aujourd’hui l’Ontario.

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario acquièrent, préservent et présentent les documents liés à l’histoire de l’Ontario. Nous avons des collections considérables qui contribuent à éclairer l’histoire de la présence française dans la province.

Les explorateurs et les missionnaires français ont commencé à parcourir l’Ontario aux 17e et 18e siècles. Le premier peuplement européen se trouvait à Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons (1639-1649), près de Midland, et des colons francophones sont arrivés dans la région de Windsor dès 1749. Nos archives cartographiques comprennent des cartes françaises originales de cette époque, ainsi que des cartes et des plans décrivant les zones de peuplement francophones. Notre bibliothèque contient des œuvres originales des premiers explorateurs. Enfin, nos collections privées comprennent des documents créés par les premiers colons, commerçants de fourrures, marchands et politiciens.

Des francophones se sont établis en Ontario au 19e et au 20e siècle, surtout dans les régions du Nord-Est, du Sud-Ouest, de la baie Georgienne, d’Ottawa et de Prescott-Russell. Aujourd’hui, l’Ontario compte près de 600 000 francophones de toutes les origines, soit la plus importante population francophone hors Québec. Nos documents gouvernementaux décrivent des événements et des mouvements marquants comme la lutte pour l’éducation en français, la création de l’Office des affaires francophones et le développement des services provinciaux en français à compter des années 1960. Nous avons aussi des collections de journaux en français datant du début du 20e siècle jusqu’aux années 1980.

Les documents de nombreuses familles franco-ontariennes offrent des perspectives uniques sur les communautés francophones du 18e siècle à aujourd’hui. La collection Max LeMarchant deGodart du Plany comprend des notes de recherche, des généalogies et de la correspondance de plusieurs familles françaises. Nos collections relatives aux quintuplées Dionne – les premières quintuplées connues, nées en 1934 – sont particulièrement intéressantes parce que la famille et, plus tard, l’exploitation tragique des enfants ont connu une célébrité internationale.

Ressources générales


Notre exposition en ligne, L’Ontario français aux 17e et 18e siècles, est un excellent aperçu des débuts de l’histoire francophone de la province.

Services gouvernementaux pour les Franco-Ontariennes et les Franco-Ontariens


Depuis les années 1970, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à offrir des services en français à ses citoyens. Bon nombre de directions et de ministères différents se sont partagé la tâche de veiller à cet engagement.

Remarque : L’accès à la plupart de ces séries est restreint conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée.

Ministre délégué aux Affaires francophones


La première nomination d’un ministre délégué aux Affaires francophones remonte à 1978. Le ministre délégué aux Affaires francophones gère aussi un autre portefeuille au sein du Conseil des ministres de l’Ontario.

Il supervise l’élaboration de politiques liées à l’offre de services en français au sein du gouvernement de l’Ontario, en plus d’être responsable, devant le Conseil des ministres et l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, de l’offre de ces services. Depuis 1986, le ministre est chargé de l’administration de la Loi sur les services en français. De plus, il supervise le fonctionnement des organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario qui s’occupent d’offrir des services en français, comme le Bureau du coordonnateur provincial des services en français et l’Office des affaires francophones.

  • RG 77-6 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance du ministre délégué aux Affaires francophones de 1986 à 1991

Office des affaires francophones


Créé en 1985, l’Office des affaires francophones aide à la conception d’initiatives et de services en français au sein du gouvernement de l’Ontario. L’Office offre des conseils au gouvernement concernant la création et la mise en place de services en français et concernant les relations avec la communauté franco-ontarienne. De plus, il a offert des subventions pour soutenir les services communautaires destinés aux francophones.

  • RG 77-2 (en anglais seulement) Communications de l’Office des affaires francophones et correspondance sur les relations communautaires de 1976 à 1993; 40,1 m de documents textuels; restriction de 20 ans

  • RG 77-4 (en anglais seulement) Documents sur les politiques et les projets de l’Office des affaires francophones de 1977 à 2003; 38,3 m de documents textuels; restriction de 100 ans

  • RG 77-7 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance du directeur général de l’Office des affaires francophones de 1986 à 1990; 9 m de documents textuels; restriction de 20 ans

  • RG 77-8 (en anglais seulement) Documents du Fonds soutien à la communauté de 1981 à 2001; 14 m de documents textuels; restriction de 20 ans

  • RG 77-9 (en anglais seulement) Documents sur l’application de la Loi sur les services en français de 1986 à 1991; 5,5 m de documents textuels; restriction de 20 ans

  • RG 77-10 (en anglais seulement) Documents de programmes ministériels de l’Office des affaires francophones de 1987 à 2000; 6,3 m de documents textuels; 100 ans de restriction


De 1979 à 1985, le coordonnateur provincial des services en français était chargé de la coordination des programmes individuels en français de tous les organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario ainsi que de la formulation de recommandations au gouvernement qui avaient pour but de faire progresser le développement de ces services. De plus, il présidait un comité interministériel de coordinateurs, dont les membres étaient chargés de créer des services en français au sein de leurs ministères respectifs.

  • RG 77-1 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance du coordonnateur provincial des services en français de 1969 à 1982
  • RG 77-3 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance du secrétaire de direction de l’Office of the Coordinator on Bilingualism de 1968 à 1981
  • F 47-16 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers de subventions franco-ontariennes du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario de 1969 à 2004
    La série est constituée de dossiers créés et maintenus par le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, qui consignent les subventions accordées aux personnes et aux organisations franco-ontariennes qui œuvrent dans les domaines des arts, de la culture et de la littérature.

Éducation en langue française en Ontario


L’éducation en langue française en Ontario constitue un point litigieux depuis la Confédération. Le gouvernement a commencé à offrir des services d’éducation en langue française de façon systématique à la fin des années 1960. Il est important de noter que bon nombre de ces séries comportent des restrictions d’accès pour des raisons de protection de la vie privée.

Ministère de l’Éducation

De 1912 à 1927, l’éducation en langue française au-delà de la 1re année était interdite dans les écoles primaires et secondaires publiques. Le ministère de l’Éducation était chargé d’assurer la conformité avec ces restrictions.

  • RG 2-102 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers de correspondance d’écoles bilingues et registres des sommaires d’inspection de 1911 à 1927

  • RG 2-42 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers-matières choisis du ministère de l’Éducation [18--] à 1964, majoritairement de 1885 à 1913

  • RG 5-1 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance de sir James Whitney de 1874 à 1914

  • RG 2-157 (en anglais seulement) Rapport des commissaires des écoles des comtés de Prescott et de Russell, où l’on enseignait le français en 1893

  • RG 2-158 (en anglais seulement) Rapport des commissaires des écoles publiques de l’Ontario, où l’on enseignait le français en 1889

Ministère de l’Éducation

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a continué de s’opposer au financement de l’éducation en langue française dans la province jusqu’à la mise sur pied de la Commission Symons et du Comité Beriault, en 1968. C’est à partir de ce moment que le ministère de l’Éducation s’est assuré d’offrir aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens un accès à de l’enseignement en français de haute qualité aux niveaux primaire et secondaire.

  • RG 2-176 (en anglais seulement) ossiers et rapport de la Commission ministérielle sur l’éducation secondaire en langue française (Commission Symons) de 1968 à 1973

  • RG 2-167 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers et rapport de recherche du Comité sur les écoles de langue française de l’Ontario (Comité Beriault) en 1967 1968

Bureau du sous-ministre adjoint, Éducation en langue française

De 1980 à 1993, le sous-ministre adjoint, Éducation en langue française, conseillait le ministre et le sous-ministre sur les questions liées à l’éducation des francophones aux niveaux élémentaire et secondaire.

  • RG 2-185 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers du sous-ministre adjoint, Éducation en langue française de 1972 à 1996

  • RG 2-276 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers de financement du Programme de perfectionnement professionnel et d’activités culturelles en français du ministère de l’Éducation de 1979 à 1996

Direction des politiques et programmes d’éducation en langue française

Depuis 1993, la Direction des politiques et programmes d’éducation en langue française a élaboré des programmes d’éducation en langue française pour les niveaux élémentaire et secondaire qui définissent des exigences uniformes à l’échelle de la province. De plus, elle a établi des normes de réussite des élèves, élaboré des politiques d’aménagement linguistique et de développement culturel des élèves, et mis en œuvre une politique d’éducation secondaire à l’échelle de la province pour les écoles francophones. La Direction a aussi créé des partenariats qui ont étendu l’utilisation de la technologie dans les écoles francophones, administré des programmes de financement d’éducation en langue française, coordonné la recherche et l’analyse liées au contenu et au processus d’éducation en langue française, planifié, élaboré et coordonné les activités de liaison avec le ministère de l’Éducation et d’autres ministères et organismes en ce qui a trait à l’éducation en langue française, et surveillé la liaison avec la communauté francophone en plus d’offrir des conseils sur des questions connexes.

  • RG 2-290 (en anglais seulement) Fichiers de développement du Fonds pour le matériel didactique (en français) de 1974 à 1996

  • RG 2-379 (en anglais seulement) Fichiers d’exploitation sur l’éducation en langue française en Ontario de 1973 à 2003

Conseil de l’éducation franco-ontarienne

En réponse au rapport de la Commission ministérielle sur l’éducation secondaire en langue française et aux recommandations du groupe de travail sur la réorganisation, une commission de planification permanente, le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation des écoles de langue française, a été créée en 1972 pour assurer le développement continu de l’éducation en langue française aux niveaux élémentaire et secondaire en Ontario.

  • RG 2-200 (en anglais seulement) Fichiers de fonctionnement du Conseil de l’éducation franco-ontarienne de 1969 à 1996

Familles franco-ontariennes


De nombreux documents sur les familles ontariennes conservés aux Archives publiques permettent de consigner le style de vie des Ontariennes et des Ontariens du 18e siècle à aujourd’hui.

  • F 2128(en anglais seulement) Fonds Famille de Jacques Duperon Baby de 1759 à 1866, et en 1946
    Jacques Duperon Baby (1731-1789) et ses fils, James et Francis, ont pris part à la traite des fourrures, ont travaillé au sein de la fonction publique et dans les domaines de la justice et de la propriété foncière en plus d’être membres d’une milice pendant les 18e et 19e siècles. Francis Baby était membre de l’Assemblée législative du Haut-Canada. François Baby, frère de Jacques Duperon, et ses descendants ont joué un rôle important dans la politique et l’économie du Québec à la fin du 18e siècle et au 19e siècle.

  • F 318 (en anglais seulement) Collection Max LeMarchant de Godart du Planty [194-] à 1979
    La collection, rassemblée par Max LeMarchant de Godart du Planty, comprend des notes de recherche, des généalogies et de la correspondance portant sur la famille Planty, la famille Godart et leurs branches. Parmi les familles mentionnées, citons la famille Dongan (Dungan), la famille Van Buskirk et de nombreuses autres familles françaises (européennes).

  • F 493 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Famille de Jean Baptiste Rousseau de 1774 à 1953
    Jean Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812) était l’un des premiers marchands et propriétaires de moulin à Ancaster, à York et à Kingston, en Ontario. Il est mort alors qu’il prenait part à la guerre de 1812.

    Rousseau a travaillé au Département des Affaires indiennes de 1775 à 1779 avant de faire du commerce sur la rive nord du lac Ontario, à Kingston et le long de la rivière Humber. En 1795, il s’est installé à Ancaster où il a acheté une scierie et un moulin à broyer le grain. Il s’est marié deux fois. Il s’est d’abord marié avec Marie Martineau, à Montréal, en 1780. Après la fin de son mariage, en 1786, il s’est marié à Margaret Clyne (1759 à 1823) avec qui il a eu deux garçons, George et Joseph Brant (1799 à 1868). Il est mort alors qu’il prenait part à la guerre de 1812.

Les quintuplées Dionne


En 1934, une famille franco-ontarienne allait devenir l’une des familles les plus connues au monde et l’une des plus grandes attractions touristiques de la province. Les quintuplées sont nées le 28 mai 1934 près de Callander, en Ontario, et la nouvelle s’est vite répandue partout dans le monde. La garde des filles a été confiée au Dr Allan Roy Dafoe, sur ordonnance du gouvernement provincial, car, selon certaines affirmations, les parents n’étaient pas aptes à assurer leur survie. Elles sont ensuite devenues pupilles de la Couronne jusqu’à leur majorité.

Le gouvernement a construit un hôpital destiné aux quintuplées, où les touristes pouvaient aller les voir jouer. On estime que 3 millions de personnes ont visité l’hôpital de 1936 à 1943 et que le gouvernement a empoché 51 millions de dollars grâce au tourisme, à des apparitions dans des films et à de nombreuses commandites ayant découlé du phénomène. En 1943, les parents ont pu reprendre la garde des quintuplées, mais ces dernières ont continué de faire des apparitions publiques pendant leur enfance.

  • C 9 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Fred Davis et d’Yvonne Leroux [photographes officiels des quintuplées] de 1924 à 1978

  • F 10 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Mitchell F. Hepburn

  • RG 3-9 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers de correspondance publique du premier ministre Mitchell F. Hepburn

  • RG 3-10 (en anglais seulement) Correspondance privée du premier ministre Mitchell F. Hepburn

  • F 12 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Gordon Conant

  • F 1322 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Joseph Sedgwick

  • RG 4-53 (en anglais seulement) Documents du tuteur officiel des quintuplées Dionne de 1934 à 1954

  • RG 22-3560 (en anglais seulement) Documents sur les quintuplées Dionne de la Cour des successions du district de Nipissing de 1934 à 1942, en 1955 et de 1964 à 1970

  • F 4392-58 (en anglais seulement) Dossiers sur les quintuplées Dionne de la St. Lawrence Starch Company de 1933 à 1999

Autres documents


  • F 1080 (en anglais seulement) Fonds Percy James Robinson M. Robinson, auteur du livre Toronto During The French Regime, était un historien spécialiste de l’Ontario des 17e et 18e siècles. Les fonds comprennent ses notes et ses documents de recherche ainsi que de la correspondance sur l’histoire des Français et des Premières nations aux 17e et 18e siècles en Ontario (et sur d’autres sujets connexes).

  • F 378 (en anglais seulement) Collection du musée historique Hiram Walker. La collection du musée historique Hiram Walker de Windsor comprend des documents remis au musée ou récupérés par ses responsables. La collection comprend des documents liés à l’histoire de la région de Windsor et de Détroit, de 1749 à 1971, y compris la présence francophone. De plus, elle comprend de la correspondance, des documents relatifs aux terres, des documents financiers, des instruments juridiques et des certificats ayant appartenu à diverses familles, entreprises, églises, associations et sociétés qui ont participé à la colonisation. La collection comprend aussi des documents compilés par George Fortune Macdonald et Neil F. Morrison, historiens et collectionneurs locaux.



Journaux


Instrument de recherche L 23, Collections de journaux originaux et sur microfiche des Archives publiques de l’Ontario [Word, PDF] (Ce document est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ressources Internet supplémentaires


Logo du Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française de l'Université d'Ottawa



Map: Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c. Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]

Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c.
Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]
Reference Code: C 78, A0 4943
Archives of Ontario